Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/01/2023. Claims 1-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Working Vehicle Hitch Latching Mechanism.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites a “second memory” without any indication of a “first memory” in both claim 13 and its parent claim. For purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the claim to recite “a memory”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites a “third memory” without any indication of a “first memory” and “second memory” in both claim 17 and its parent claim. For purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the claim to recite “a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under U.S.C. 112(b) due to the claim limitation lacking clarity. The claim recites that the controller is programmed to “read identification information included in a wireless signal received by the receiver…” however the conditions for this limitation are unclear. Initially the claim recites “if the attaching switch is operated continuously for the second predetermined period or more after the controller has determined that the attachment is allowed to be attached” but also later recites “after a fourth predetermined period after the controller has determined that the attachment is allowed to be detached and determine that an attachment indicated by the identification information is attached to the hitch.”. In addition it is unclear whether “determine that an attachment indicated by the identification information is attached to the hitch” is intended to be an additional condition for the controller to read the identification or another step after reading the identification information due to the sentence structure. The examiner recommends segmenting the claim to more clearly recite the intent of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Beutin et al. (EP 2602134 B1; hereafter Beutin) as evidenced by Wieckhorst et al. (DE102021120758A1; hereafter Wieckhorst).
Regarding claim 1, Beutin discloses a working vehicle comprising:
a hitch to attach and detach an attachment thereto and ([0031]; “A trailer coupling 10a is attached to a towing vehicle 12, for example a cross member.”);
at least one operation switch to be operated to attach or detach the attachment to or from the hitch ([0058]; “For example, the locking drive 47c can be actuated by a switch 53, for example an electric push button.”);
a receiver to receive a wireless signal which is transmitted periodically from a transmitter in or on the attachment ([0041]; “For example, an RFID transponder 39a is arranged on the trailer 17, while the load carrier 90 has a different RFID transponder 39b.”), which includes identification information of the attachment ([0041]; “The RFID transponders 39a and 39b have different identification codes 70 and 71, so that the control unit 50a or 50b can recognize, based on the identification code 70 or 71, whether the trailer 17 or the load carrier 90 is coupled to the respective trailer coupling 10a or 10b.”), and
a controller to perform a predetermined process based on the identification information included in the wireless signal received by the receiver ([0049]; “Depending on the identification identifiers 71 or 71, for example an evaluation unit 77 of the control units 50a or 50b modifies signals from the rotary angle sensors 31a or 31b before forwarding these signals to the vehicle network 52.”), wherein
the hitch includes:
a latching mechanism operable selectively in a latching state in which the attachment is secured to the hitch and an unlatching state in which the attachment is not secured to the hitch ([0015]; “The control unit advantageously has a switching output for switching or controlling a drive of the trailer coupling, for example a locking drive for locking the coupling arm and/or unlocking the coupling arm, or an actuator for adjusting the coupling arm”); and
a latch actuator to actuate the latching mechanism between the latching state and the unlatching state while the at least one operation switch is being operated ([0059]; “The transmitter switch 57 can also be used to operate the locking drive 47d, and preferably also the actuator 46.”, and
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the at least one operation switch is operated continuously for a first predetermined period or more or for a second predetermined period or more, determine that the attachment is allowed to be detached from the hitch or is attached to the hitch and start the predetermined process, the first predetermined period being a period of time taken for the latching mechanism to switch from the latching state to the unlatching state, the second predetermined period being a period of time taken for the latching mechanism to switch from the unlatching state to the latching state. ([0017]; “Therefore, if the control unit detects the RFID transponder simultaneously or in close temporal proximity, it opens a time window within which the switch can be actuated or within which the actuation of the switch controls the locking drive or the actuator.”
Note: The variation between the operation switch being operated for a set duration compared to the control system opening a time window to perform the latching operating is merely a difference in design choice. Both methods perform the same operation of restricting the attaching/detaching operation to prevent misinputs.)
Although Beutin discloses using wireless communication to transmit identification information, Beutin does not disclose wireless communication that is compliant with a near field communication standard.
However Wieckhorst, does teach a receiver to receive a wireless signal which is transmitted periodically from a transmitter in or on the attachment, which includes identification information of the attachment, and which is compliant with a near field communication standard; ([0058]; “For convenience reasons, however, it may be provided that the sensor holder 16 remains on the attachment 3.”
[0059]; “Preferably, the sensor holder 16 has an NFC tag.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beutin with Wieckhorst. This modification would have been obvious because both Beutin and Wieckhorst cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (working machine attachment identification) and it would have been beneficial to utilize NFC technology as it provides two way communication vs RFID one-way communication.
Regarding claim 2, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 1. Additionally Beutin discloses the at least one operation switch includes a detaching switch to be operated to allow the attachment to be detached from the hitch ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it.”); and
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the detaching switch is operated continuously for the first predetermined period or more, determine that the attachment is allowed to be detached from the hitch and start a without-attachment predetermined process as the predetermined process, the without-attachment predetermined process being a process based on a precondition that the working vehicle is provided with no attachments. ([0015]; “The control unit advantageously has a switching output for switching or controlling a drive of the trailer coupling, for example a locking drive for locking the coupling arm and/or unlocking the coupling arm, or an actuator for adjusting the coupling arm, for example between a working position used for coupling a trailer or load carrier, and a rest position adjusted towards the body of the towing vehicle, into which the coupling arm is expediently adjusted when not in use.”)
Regarding claim 3, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 1. Additionally Beutin discloses the at least one operation switch includes an attaching switch to be operated to attach the attachment to the hitch ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it.”); and
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the attaching switch is operated continuously for the second predetermined period or more, determine that the attachment indicated by the identification information included in the wireless signal received by the receiver is attached to the hitch and start a with-attachment predetermined process as the predetermined process, the with-attachment predetermined process being a process based on a precondition that the working vehicle is provided with the attachment. ([0015]; “The control unit advantageously has a switching output for switching or controlling a drive of the trailer coupling, for example a locking drive for locking the coupling arm and/or unlocking the coupling arm, or an actuator for adjusting the coupling arm, for example between a working position used for coupling a trailer or load carrier, and a rest position adjusted towards the body of the towing vehicle, into which the coupling arm is expediently adjusted when not in use.”)
Regarding claim 4, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 2. Additionally Beutin discloses the at least one operation switch includes an attaching switch to be operated to attach the attachment to the hitch ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it.”); and
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the attaching switch is operated continuously for the second predetermined period or more, determine that the attachment indicated by the identification information included in the wireless signal received by the receiver is attached to the hitch and start a with-attachment predetermined process as the predetermined process, the with-attachment predetermined process being a process based on a precondition that the working vehicle is provided with the attachment. ([0015]; “The control unit advantageously has a switching output for switching or controlling a drive of the trailer coupling, for example a locking drive for locking the coupling arm and/or unlocking the coupling arm, or an actuator for adjusting the coupling arm, for example between a working position used for coupling a trailer or load carrier, and a rest position adjusted towards the body of the towing vehicle, into which the coupling arm is expediently adjusted when not in use.”)
Regarding claim 12, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 1. Additionally Beutin discloses the at least one operation switch includes a detaching switch to be operated to allow the attachment to be detached from the hitch ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it.”) and an attaching switch to be operated to attach the attachment to the hitch ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it.”); and
the controller is configured or programmed to:
when the detaching switch is operated continuously for the first predetermined period or more and a first actuation period has passed since a start of operation of the detaching switch, determine that the attachment is allowed to be detached from the hitch and start a without-attachment predetermined process as the predetermined process, the without-attachment predetermined process being a process based on a precondition that the working vehicle is provided with no attachments ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it. “
[0017]; “Only if the control unit can recognize a correct or authorized identification identifier can the control unit be set or... Ready to switch the locking drive or the actuator.”
Note: The variation between the operation switch being operated for a set duration compared to the control system opening a time window to perform the latching operating is merely a difference in design choice. Both methods perform the same operation of restricting the attaching/detaching operation to prevent misinputs.); and
when the attaching switch is operated continuously for the second predetermined period or more and a second actuation period has passed since a start of operation of the attaching switch, determine that the attachment is attached to the hitch and start a with-attachment predetermined process as the predetermined process, the with-attachment predetermined process being a process based on a precondition that the working vehicle is provided with the attachment. ([0016]; “For example, the control unit forms part of a system in which the control unit can be operated by means of a switch, for example a push button, a radio switch or another wireless switch, in order to, for example, unlock or lock the clutch arm or adjust it. “
[0017]; “Only if the control unit can recognize a correct or authorized identification identifier can the control unit be set or... Ready to switch the locking drive or the actuator.”
Note: The variation between the operation switch being operated for a set duration compared to the control system opening a time window to perform the latching operating is merely a difference in design choice. Both methods perform the same operation of restricting the attaching/detaching operation to prevent misinputs.)
Regarding claim 17, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 1. Additionally Beutin discloses a third memory to store a first set period which is equal to or longer than the first predetermined period and a second set period which is equal to or longer than the second predetermined period ([0013]; “Another preferred variant provides that the control unit has a memory in which data assigned to at least one identification identifier is stored and that it is designed to generate a message signal or a control signal depending on the at least one identification identifier and at least one piece of information stored in the memory.”
[0062]; “Therefore, if the control unit 50c recognizes the identification code 72, it releases the switch 53 or the transmit switch 57 to switch the locking drive 47c, preferably for a time window of, for example, 1s to 10s.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the time window as taught by Beutin would be saved in memory for the controller to determine the appropriate amount of time allotted to operate the switch. This would perform the same functions as the limitation disclosed by the applicant to perform the same result.); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to, when the at least one operation switch is operated continuously for the first set period or more or for the second set period or more, determine that the attachment is allowed to be detached from the hitch or is attached to the hitch and start the predetermined process. ([0017]; “Therefore, if the control unit detects the RFID transponder simultaneously or in close temporal proximity, it opens a time window within which the switch can be actuated or within which the actuation of the switch controls the locking drive or the actuator.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the RFID being within close proximity would be considered a condition for whether the attachment is allowed to be locked or unlocked. In addition, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the latch in locked that it would be ready to be unlocked and vice versa.)
Regarding claim 18, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 1. Additionally Beutin discloses the transmitter is a beacon transmitter to transmit an advertisement signal including identification information of the attachment in or on which the transmitter is provided ([0041]; “The RFID transponders 39a and 39b have different identification codes 70 and 71, so that the control unit 50a or 50b can recognize, based on the identification code 70 or 71, whether the trailer 17 or the load carrier 90 is coupled to the respective trailer coupling 10a or 10b.”); and
the receiver is a beacon scanner to receive the advertisement signal. ([0042]; “The RFID reading device 38 is expediently arranged directly on the coupling arm 13a or 13b, particularly preferably on the coupling body 15a or 15b, so that communication with the RFID transponder 39 can take place with as little interference as possible.”)
Claim 19 recites an attachment usage system that comprises limitations that are contained within the working vehicle as claimed in independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasoning.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Beutin as evidenced by Wieckhorst as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaudhari (US 10351061 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 2. Additionally Chaudhari discloses the controller is configured or programmed to perform, as the without-attachment predetermined process, a process to cause a user interface to output information indicating that the attachment is allowed to be detached. ([col. 9, lines 1-6]; “a display operatively connected to the controller, wherein the display is configured to display a display image including an alignment indicator on the display, the alignment indicator indicating alignment of the work vehicle with the implement for connecting the hitch couplers to the implement connectors.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that when the display is indicating that the hitch couplers and the implement connectors are not aligned that they are detached, thus can continue the with the without-attachment process.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beutin with Wieckhorst and Chaudhari. This modification would have been obvious because both Beutin, Wieckhorst and Chaudhari cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (working machine attachment control) and it would have been beneficial to display the current status of connection between the working vehicle and the attachment.
Regarding claim 10, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 3. Additionally Chaudhari discloses the controller is configured or programmed to perform, as the with-attachment predetermined process, a process to cause a user interface to output information indicating that the attachment is attached. ([col. 9, lines 1-6]; “a display operatively connected to the controller, wherein the display is configured to display a display image including an alignment indicator on the display, the alignment indicator indicating alignment of the work vehicle with the implement for connecting the hitch couplers to the implement connectors.”
Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that when the display is indicating that the hitch couplers and the implement connectors are aligned that they are attached, thus can continue the with the with-attachment process.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beutin with Wieckhorst and Chaudhari. This modification would have been obvious because both Beutin, Wieckhorst and Chaudhari cover subject matter within the same field of endeavor (working machine attachment control) and it would have been beneficial to display the current status of connection between the working vehicle and the attachment.
Regarding claim 11, Beutin in combination with Wieckhorst discloses all the limitations of 3. Additionally Beutin discloses a first memory to store one or more pieces of control data set for respective one or more of the attachments ([0013]; “Another preferred variant provides that the control unit has a memory in which data assigned to at least one identification identifier is stored”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to start, as the with-attachment predetermined process, a process including reading, from the first memory, one of the one or more pieces of control data that corresponds to one of the one or more attachments that is attached to the hitch ([0013]; “Another preferred variant provides that the control unit has a memory in which data assigned to at least one identification identifier is stored and that it is designed to generate a message signal or a control signal depending on the at least one identification identifier and at least one piece of information stored in the memory.”)
Although Beutin discloses locking/unlocking the attachment to the vehicle, Beutin does not disclose connecting/disconnection power to said attachment.
However Chaudhari does teach controlling output of power to the one of the one or more attachments based on the read one of the one or more pieces of control data. ([col. 1, lines 47-49]; “The implement receives rotary power from the PTO to drive the operation of the particular implement to which the tractor is connected.”
Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to disconnect power to the attachment when disconnecting the attachment to the vehicle as intended goal of detaching the attachment to the vehicle is to separate them from each other. It would then be obvious to disconnect the power cable that connects them.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/B.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668