Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plural ventilation holes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings appear to only show a singular ventilation hole. No new matter should be entered.
Drawings were received on 13 January 2026. These drawings are unacceptable. It is unclear if any changes to the drawings were made. Any apparent changes were not explained in detail, in either the drawing amendment or remarks section of the amendment paper.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 20, 22, 25 and 29, the phrases “locking shoulders” should be replaced by --locking projections-- to coincide with the terminology already used within the Specification.
In claim 1, line 20 the term “slated” should be replaced by --slanted--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The last line of Claim 1 describes a snap-fit engagement. The original disclosure does not provide support for this specific manner of coupling between the cap and guide rod. Claims 2, 3, 6 and 8 inherit these issues of new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US 10,219,587) in view of Foxcroft et al. (US 4,821,670), Shea (US 5,690,534) and Paik et al. (US 10,512,308).
Regarding claim 1, Chan et al. discloses an apparatus with a whistle (46), comprising:
a plug member (20, 40) having lock arms (23, 24) extending forward from both sides of a base and a guide rod (41) extending forward from the base in such a way as to be located between the lock arms (Figs. 1 and 8 as shown); and
a socket member (30) having a chamber open on a front end thereof by means of an upper plate and a lower plate located to face each other so that the socket member is coupled to the plug member (chamber is defined by indentation 37 and sidewalls annotated below as upper and lower plates in Fig. 2), the chamber is allowed to accommodate the guide rod therein (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the guide rod is configured as the whistle, and when the plug member is coupled to the socket member, the whistle is accommodated in the chamber (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the whistle comprises:
the guide rod extending integrally from the base of the plug member (Fig. 2 as shown), having a front opening (46) at a front end portion thereof, a space portion formed therein (Fig. 2 shows an opening exposing a space formed in the distal end of 41) and communicating with the front opening (Fig. 2 as shown), and an air ventilation hole (Fig. 4 shows an air ventilation hole on the side thereof) formed close to the front end portion thereof to allow the space portion to communicate with the outside.
Chan et al. fails to disclose ventilation holes and a whistle cap fitted to the front end portion of the guide rod to allow a passage to be formed on the front opening of the guide rod; wherein the guide rod includes slanted inner surfaces formed on an inner surface at the front end portion, and locking shoulders formed at distal ends of the slanted inner surfaces, the slated inner surfaces being tapered to widen outwardly toward the front opening at the front end portion, the locking shoulders being defined by a stepped increase in an inner diameter of the guide rod, and wherein the whistle cap includes locking protrusions configured to correspond to and engage with the locking shoulders, such that, during insertion of the whistle cap through the front opening into the guide rod, the locking protrusions are pressurized against the locking shoulder to allow the whistle cap to come into close contact with the front end portion of the guide rod and be coupled thereto through a snap-fit engagement.
Foxcroft et al. teach ventilation holes (24c, 26c).
From this teaching of Foxcroft et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple ventilation holes to the whistle as the provision of plural holes provides complex harmonics that enhances the audibility of the whistle tone.
Shea teaches a whistle cap (16).
From this teaching of Shea, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a whistle cap to the whistle opening as a means for adjusting the airflow towards the ventilation holes. Separate whistle caps reduce manufacturing complexity by providing a separate structure whose details are not limited by molding difficulties.
Paik et al. teach a slanted inner surface (301) tapered to widen toward an opening (Fig. 14 as shown), locking shoulders (302) defined by a stepped increase in an inner diameter (Fig. 14 as shown), a whistle cap (310) includes protrusions (312) to engage with the shoulders.
From this teaching of Paik et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to secure the whistle cap of Shea to the interior of whistle of Chan et al. with the slanted walls, protrusion and shoulders to reduce the parts required to install the whistle cap reducing complexity and simplifying assembly.
Figure 2 of Chan et al.
Regarding claim 6, Chan et al. further discloses wherein the plug member or the socket member has a cross bar and a strap hooking bar (25, 28) selectively located on one side of a body thereof to connect a strap or belt thereto.
Regarding claim 8, Chan et al. further discloses wherein the plug member or the socket member has a connection member (34) provided integrally with one side of the body thereof.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millan (US 2014/0109615) in view of Foxcroft et al., Shea and Paik et al.
Regarding claim 1, Millan discloses an apparatus with a whistle (80), comprising:
a plug member (35) having lock arms (Fig. 2 shows two opposed lock arms) extending forward from both sides of a base and a guide rod (80) extending forward from the base in such a way as to be located between the lock arms (Fig. 2 as shown); and
a socket member (45) having a chamber (90) open on the front end thereof by means of an upper plate and a lower plate located to face each other so that the socket member is coupled to the plug member (Fig. 2 as shown), the chamber is allowed to accommodate the guide rod therein (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the guide rod is configured as the whistle, and when the plug member is coupled to the socket member, the whistle is accommodated in the chamber (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the whistle comprises:
the guide rod extending integrally from the base of the plug member, having a front opening at a front end portion thereof (Fig. 2 as shown), a space portion formed therein and communicating with the front opening (Fig. 2 as shown).
Millan fails to disclose ventilation holes and a whistle cap fitted to the front end portion of the guide rod to allow a passage to be formed on the front opening of the guide rod; wherein the guide rod includes slanted inner surfaces formed on an inner surface at the front end portion, and locking shoulders formed at distal ends of the slanted inner surfaces, the slated inner surfaces being tapered to widen outwardly toward the front opening at the front end portion, the locking shoulders being defined by a stepped increase in an inner diameter of the guide rod, and wherein the whistle cap includes locking protrusions configured to correspond to and engage with the locking shoulders, such that, during insertion of the whistle cap through the front opening into the guide rod, the locking protrusions are pressurized against the locking shoulder to allow the whistle cap to come into close contact with the front end portion of the guide rod and be coupled thereto through a snap-fit engagement.
Foxcroft et al. teach ventilation holes (24c, 26c).
From this teaching of Foxcroft et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple ventilation holes to the whistle as the provision of plural holes provides complex harmonics that enhances the audibility of the whistle tone.
Shea teaches a whistle cap (16).
From this teaching of Shea, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a whistle cap to the whistle opening as a means for adjusting the airflow towards the ventilation holes. Separate whistle caps reduce manufacturing complexity by providing a separate structure whose details are not limited by molding difficulties.
Paik et al. teach a slanted inner surface (301) tapered to widen toward an opening (Fig. 14 as shown), locking shoulders (302) define by a step increase in an inner diameter (Fig. 14 as shown), a whistle cap (310) includes protrusions (312) to engage with the shoulders.
From this teaching of Paik et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to secure the whistle cap of Shea to the interior of whistle of Millan with the slanted walls, protrusion and shoulders to reduce the parts required to install the whistle cap reducing complexity and simplifying assembly.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Millan, Foxcroft et al. and Shea as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Milward et al. (US 2021/0169180).
Regarding claim 2, Millan discloses the invention except for wherein the chamber of the socket member is divided into a central chamber for accommodating the guide rod therein and coupling chambers formed on both sides of the central chamber to insert the lock arms of the plug member thereinto; wherein the central chamber and the coupling chambers of the socket member are divided by means of partitions, and the inner top and bottom of the central chamber face each other to form a guide groove therebetween so that the guide rod is smoothly inserted into the central chamber through the guide groove.
Milward et al. teach a central chamber (130) and coupling chambers (114, 116) separated by partitions (122, 124).
From this teaching of Milward et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include separate chambers defined by partitions within the buckle body of Millan wherein the entrance of the central chamber defines a guide groove as such a configuration would ensure proper alignment of the male and female members during insertion and enhance the structural strength of the female member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims amendments have been addressed above. Applicant’s arguments appear to be centered upon the differences between the cap of Shea and the cap of Paik et al. Applicant notes the different location of each cap. However, the teaching of Paik et al. is introduced to show the method of joining whistle interior components was known in the prior art. The equivalence of the cap’s in function is irrelevant.
Conclusion
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677