DETAILED ACTION
The Action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination, Amendments, and Remarks filed on 7/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending claims. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are written in independent form.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of a claim for priority as a continuation of U.S. Application 17/672,141, filed on 02/15/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 15 contain the subject matter “determining, based on the capability information, the transformation, and the first data request, that requesting the source to perform the requested transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources relative to requesting second data from which the requested first data is computable;” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.It is not clearly stated in the written description any determination that requesting the source to perform the requested transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources is “based on the capability information, the transformation, and the first data request” nor that the increase in net consumption of computing resources is “relative to requesting second data from which the requested first data is computable”.
It is noted that while Applicant states in the Remarks dated 7/16/2026 that the “support [for the amendments] may be found in paragraph [0043], discussing FIG. 4”, the cited paragraph merely recites “The data source 410 sends communication 470 to the data agent sidecar 145A, including the requested data, transformed according to the transformations requested in the "source" portion of the work order. After receiving the responsive data, the data agent sidecar 145A performs any transformations that were not supported by the data source 410 (operation 480). In the example above, the data agent sidecar 145A converts the data of column "C" to string format.” (Specification Para. [0043]) which appears unrelated to the scope/details of the amended limitation and does not even mention or reference “capability information” or “net consumption of computing resources”. Further, after review of the rest of the Specification, the only references to any “increase in net consumption of computing resources” are found as reciting “a determination that requesting the second source to perform the requested second transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources” (Specification Para. [0067]), “a determination that requesting the second source to perform the second transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources” (Specification Para. [0074]), and “a determination that requesting the second source to perform the second transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources” (Specification Para. [0080]) with no added clarification as to what the determining is based on or what the increase in net consumption of computing resources is relative to.For purposes of compact prosecution and based on the previously recited claims and Paragraphs [0067], [0074], and [0080] of the Specification for support, the claim limitation and its subsequent limitation that was amended by Applicant to recite being “based on the determining” are being interpreted as: “[[determining,]] based on the capability information, the transformation, [[and]] the first data request, and a determination that requesting the source to perform the requested transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources
Dependent Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 inherit the deficiencies of their parent claims and are therefore being rejected based upon the same reason(s) stated for their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0158999) and further in view of Chan et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0254330, hereinafter referred to as Chan).
Regarding Claim 1:
Yoo teaches a method comprising:
Receiving, by one or more processors and from an application, a first data request for first data from a source, the first data request comprising a first transformation request for a transformation;
Yoo teaches “The transforming of contents includes checking the capability information of the user terminal by a service distributor and requesting the media contents transformation information into the contents transcoder when the media contents transformation is required; and receiving the media contents transformation information by the contents transcoder and responding by using the service distributor. The requesting includes generating a request message format so as to request the media contents transformation information, wherein the request message format includes a message format, a terminal IP, a video attribute, an audio attribute, a terminal protocol, a service server IP and a service server port.” (Paras. [0030] – [0031])
Accessing capability information for the source,
Yoo teaches “terminal capability information determining unit” (Para. [0017]).
The capability information indicating that the source supports the transformation;
Yoo teaches “That is, when there are no codecs supported by the terminal in the contents transcoder receiving the media contents, the media contents are re-directed to the contents transcoder having codecs supported by terminal (S108). The redirected media contents are transformed into the contents suitable for the terminal capability information (S108). The transformed media contents are transmitted to terminal protocols that can be accommodated in the user terminal.” (Para. [0060])
Based on the capability information, the transformation, the first data request, and a determination that requesting the source to perform the requested transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources,
Yoo teaches “When the capability information of a currently connected user terminal is different from the capability information of the existing connected user terminal, a new media contents transformation thread should be added (S508) and the transformed media contents are provided to the currently connected user terminal (S509). FIG. 7 shows formats of transformation information, a transformation requesting and a transformation stop message based on terminal capability information according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention.” (Paras. [0068]-[0069]).
generating a second data request to the source for second data, the second data request not comprising a second transformation request for the transformation,
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.” (Para. [0056])
The second data comprising values from which the requested first data is computable by performing the transformation;
Yoo teaches “the terminal capability information determining unit 3132 determines a transformation option so that the incompatible media contents are compatible with the user terminal and the encoding unit 3133 determines an option suitable for the terminal capability information to transform the media contents with the determined values.” (Para. [0053]) thereby teaching the computable result of a transformation by performing the transformation using “contents with determined values”.
Receiving, via a network and in response to the second data request, the second data;
Yoo teaches “Referring to FIG. 7, the service distributor 200 checks the capability information of the user terminal, and requests the media contents transformation information to the contents transcoder when the media contents transformation is required.” (Para. [0070])
Performing the transformation on the second data to generate the requested first data; and
Yoo teaches “Referring to FIG. 7, the service distributor 200 checks the capability information of the user terminal, and requests the media contents transformation information to the contents transcoder when the media contents transformation is required.” (Para. [0070])
Yoo explicitly teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as recited above except:
Providing, to the application, the requested first data.
However, in the related field of endeavor of knowledge-intensive data processing, Chan teaches:
Providing, to the application, the requested first data.
Chan teaches “Further, although the example process 300 is performed based on an update of database data, similar processes and techniques may be performed in response to updates in transformation objects and/or filter objects.” (Para. [0050])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chan and Yoo at the time that the claimed invention was effectively filed, to have combined the system, method, and apparatus for incompatible media contents transformation, as taught by Yoo, with the enhanced data taught by Chan.
One would have been motivated to make such combination because the references (Yoo and Chan) teach features that are analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as databases. An ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Yoo’s system with enhanced data. (See Chan [Abstract], [0029], [0050], [0058], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
Receiving, from the application, a third data request for third data from a second source, the third data request comprising a third transformation request for a second transformation;
Yoo teaches “Request message formats requesting the media contents transformation information includes include a message format 400, a terminal IP 401, a video attribute 402, an audio attribute 403, a terminal protocol 404, a service server IP 405 and a service server port 406. The message format 400 represents a type of message for the request and the response. The terminal IP 401 represents an IP belonging to the user terminal. The video attribute 402 represents attribute information such as a file format, a video codecs, a video bit rate, a frame rate and a resolution of an attribute related to a video of the media contents to be transformed. The audio attribute 403 represents attribute information such as an audio codecs, an audio sample rate, an audio bit rate and an audio channel of an attribute related to an audio of the media contents to be transformed.” (Paras. [0071]-[0072])
accessing second capability information for the second source, the second capability information indicating that the second source supports the second transformation;
Yoo teaches “When a user terminal having the same capability information is connected, the user terminal receives the transformed media contents (S409) by additionally connecting only a service session (S408) in a session in which the existing media contents are being transformed, such that a load of the media contents transformation can be minimized.” (Para. [0067]).
based on the second capability information, the second transformation, and the third data request, generating a fourth data request to the second source for the third data, the fourth data request comprising the second transformation; and
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.” (Para. [0056])
providing, to the application, the requested third data.
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.” (Para. [0056]).
Chan further teaches “Further, although the example process 300 is performed based on an update of database data, similar processes and techniques may be performed in response to updates in transformation objects and/or filter objects.” (Para. [0050])
Regarding Claim 3:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the source is a file server and the second source is a database server.
Chan teaches “a first server and…a second server in a cluster of two servers” (Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 4:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the transformation comprises a filter.
Chan teaches “data transformation processes based on filter queries.” (Para. [0029])
Regarding Claim 5:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the transformation comprises a projection.
Chan teaches “a looping data transformation application” (Par. [0032]) and “projection” (Para. [0112])
Regarding Claim 6:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the first data request comprises a third transformation request for a second transformation;
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.)” (Para. [0056])
wherein the capability information indicates that the source supports the second transformation;
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.)” (Para. [0056])
wherein the generating of the second data request is further based on the second transformation; and
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.)” (Para. [0056])
wherein the second data request comprises a fourth transformation request for the second transformation.
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.)” (Para. [0056])
Regarding Claim 7:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the receiving of the first data request is performed by a data access sidecar.
Yoo teaches “Hereinafter, when another user terminal having the same capability information is connected and receives the transformed media contents, the transformed media contents are conveyed into the user terminal from a stack portion at the transformed second queue 530. Since the same transmitting daemon is used, the transformation and transmitting load of the media contents can be minimized.)” (Para. [0056])
Regarding Claim 8:
Some of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 1.
Chan and Yoo further teach:
a memory that stores instructions (Yoo – Para. [0004]); and
one or more processors configured by the instructions to perform operations (Yoo – Para. [0035]).
Regarding Claim 9:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 14:
Chan and Yoo further teach:
wherein the application is running on the device.
Chan teaches “data management device associated with a looping data-driven application” (Para. [0051])
Regarding Claim 15:
Some of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 1.
Chan and Yoo further teach:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the one or more processors to perform operations.
Chan teaches “Various techniques (e.g., methods, systems, non-transitory computer-readable storage memory storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors, etc.) are described herein for managing and processing large amounts of complex and high-velocity data by capturing and extracting high-value data from low value data using big data and related technologies.” (Para. [0028])
Regarding Claim 16:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 20:
All of the limitations herein are similar to some or all of the limitations as recited in Claim 6.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendments, filed on 7/16/2026, are acknowledged.
In light of the Patent Board Decision dated 6/30/2026, the 101 rejection of claims 1-20 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
On pages 2-3 of the Remarks filed on 7/16/2026, Applicant argues that Yoo does not teach the amended limitation of "determining, based on the capability information, the transformation, and the first data request, that requesting the source to perform the requested transformation would increase net consumption of computing resources relative to requesting second data from which the requested first data is computable." because “In Yoo's system, data is transformed when "the capability of a currently connected user terminal is different from the capability of the existing connected user terminal."3 In Yoo, "a load of the media contents transformation can be minimized" by "connecting only a service session (S408) in a session in which the existing media contents are being transformed."4 Thus, Yoo determines whether to perform a transformation based on whether the needed transformation is already being performed or not.” and “By contrast, in the present claims, the determining step is comparing the options of "performing the requested transformation" and "requesting second data from which the requested first data is computable."”Applicant’s argument is moot in light of the 112(a) rejection for the argued limitation and related amendments failing to comply with the written description requirement. The 112(a) rejection and the interpretation of the argued limitation for the purpose of compact prosecution is discussed in full in the rejection above.
On page 3 of the Remarks filed on 7/16/2026, Applicant argues that Yoo does not teach the amended limitation of "based on the determining, generating a second data request to the source for second data, the second data request not comprising a second transformation request for the transformation, the second data comprising values from which the requested first data is computable by performing the transformation." because “in Yoo, savings are realized by skipping a requested transformation entirely, since an earlier request is performing that transformation” and Yoo does not make such a request. When Yoo does not include a request for a transformation, it instead requests already-transformed data, not "values from which the requested first data is computable by performing the transformation.".Applicant’s argument is not convincing to overcome the previously cited prior art. Upon further review of the Yoo reference and consideration of the amended limitation in its broadest reasonable interpretation, Yoo was determined as teaching the amended limitation which has been addressed in full in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amit et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0117341) teaches transforming a non-transformed stored logical data object (LO) device into a transformed LO and system thereof. The method comprises: a) in response to a respective transformation request, logically dividing the non-transformed LO in a first segment and one or more non-transformed subsequent segments, the segments having predefined size; b) generating a header for the respective transformed LO; c) processing said first segment; d) overwriting said first segment by said generated header and said transformed first segment; e) indexing said first transformed segment and said one or more non-transformed subsequent segments as constituting a part of said transformed LO; f) generating at least one index section; and g) updating the indication in the header to point that the non-transformed LO has been transformed in the transformed LO comprising said generated header, said first transformed segment, said one or more subsequent segments comprising data in non-transformed form and said at least one index section.
Atallah. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0141838) teaches preparing data for subsequent analysis. The method obtains a data model that encodes a data sources as a tree of logical tables. Each logical table has its own physical representation and includes logical fields. Each logical field corresponds to either a data field or a calculation that spans logical tables. The method associates each logical table in the data model with a corresponding concept in a concept graph. The concept graph embodies hierarchical inheritance of semantics. For each logical field, the method assigns a semantic role to the logical field based on a concept corresponding to a logical table. The method also validates the logical field based on its semantic role. The method also displays transformations to clean the logical field based on validating the logical field. The method transforms the logical field according to a user selection, and updates the logical table.
Bagga et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0250154) teaches dynamic network database integration. Specifically, the system typically provides dynamic correlation, transformation and combination of data stored at a plurality of database locations. In some aspects, the system receives a retrieval request for retrieving one or more records. The system then typically retrieves, transforms and dynamically integrates unstructured data stored at disparate database locations to construct one or more structured records. The system may also construct the one or more structured records such that the one or more structured records are compatible with the user interface of the user device application API. The system may also be configured to facilitate dynamic modification of the retrieval request, in run-time, using custom HTTP headers.
Bhagwat et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0104390) teaches namespace and content manipulation within a storage system includes: defining policy rule(s), each policy rule dictating: how namespaces within the storage system may be transformed; and/or how content stored within the storage system may be transformed; receiving a request for access to a particular data set stored within the storage system; parsing the request to determine one or more transformations requested therein and/or required thereby; determining whether the particular data set is compliant with the one or more transformations; in response to determining the particular data set is compliant with the one or more transformations, providing access to the particular data set; and in response to determining the particular data set is not compliant with the one or more transformations, performing the one or more transformations to generate a transformed data set, and providing access to the transformed data set.
Caruana et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0370870) teaches content transformations can include transformation of content items in a CMS repository from a source format to a target format. Such transformations can be performed using a transformation node cluster having multiple nodes, each of which is configured for a specific content transformation type. Router nodes can receive requests for content items and route content items to transformation nodes having a proper content transformation type to either transform a requested content item to the target format or perform an intermediate transformation as part of a transformation chain. A transformation node cluster can be dynamically configurable based on estimates of expected loads for the various types of transformations. Systems, methods, and articles of manufacture are also described.
Liu et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0011905) teaches partitioning a computation task into subtasks. A processing node of a computation engine may generate a database query for retrieving an electronic data segment associated with at least one of the subtasks from a database. The database query may include pre-processing instructions for a database management system (DBMS) associated with the database to pre-process the electronic data segment before providing the electronic data segment to the processing node. The pre-processing instructions may include at least one of: filtering, projection, join, aggregation, count, and user-defined instructions. The generated query may be provided to the DBMS.
Markram et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0285716) teaches simplifying a neural network model includes providing the neural network model to be simplified, defining a first temporal filter for the conveyance of input from a neuron to an other spatially-extended neuron along the arborized projection, defining a second temporal filter for the conveyance of input from yet another neuron to the spatially-extended neuron along the arborized projection, replacing, in the neural network model, the first, spatially-extended neuron with a first, spatially-constrained neuron and the arborized projection with a first connection extending between the first, spatially-constrained neuron and the second neuron, wherein the first connection filters input from the second neuron in accordance with the first temporal filter and a second connection extending between the first spatially-constrained neuron and the third neuron.
James et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0236194) teaches generating disparate forms of machine data. Network connections are established between these components and processors of data intake and query system (DIQS). The DIQS conducts network transactions on a periodic and/or continuous basis with the machine components to receive disparate data and ingest certain of the data as entries of a data store that is searchable for DIQS query processing. The DIQS may receive queries to process against the received and ingested data via an exposed network interface. In one example embodiment, the DIQS receives a query identifying data to be processed, dynamically generates a query processing scheme based on the state of the data to be processed, such as streaming or at rest, and dynamically communicates the query processing scheme to a query executor based on the state of the data to be processed.The reference further teaches “The ability to identify the state of the underlying data subject to the query and generate and modify query processing schemes based on the state of the underlying data enable the distributed computing system to decrease computing resource usage” (para. [0350]), “if the underlying data is data at rest, a corresponding specific optimizer 1912 can determine the location of the underlying data and push certain processes or transformations to other computing devices as applicable” (Para. [0368]) and “In this way, the general optimizer 1910 can reduce the amount of processing resources used by the data intake and query system. In some cases, the general optimizer 1910 can also perform projection push down and filter promotion.” (Para. [0379]).The reference also teaches “the at rest optimizer determines whether a connector or data source, such as an external data store, supports predicate or push down projections, and pushes down the predicates or projections if they are supported.” (Para. [0384])
Bhattacharjee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,896,182) teaches processing and executing queries against one or more dataset. As part of processing the query, the system determines whether the query is susceptible to a significantly imbalanced partition. In the event, the query is susceptible to an imbalanced partition, the system monitors the query and determines whether to perform a multi-partitioning determination to avoid a significantly imbalanced partition.The reference further teaches “in addition, the query coordinator 1004 can have access to similar information about other dataset sources and/or communicate with the dataset sources to determine their processing capabilities and how to interact with them (non-limiting examples: number of partitions to use, processing that can be pushed to the dataset source, etc.).” (Col. 75 Lines 40-60)
Pandis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,528,599) teaches data processing engines implement tiered data processing for distributed data in local and remote data stores. Requests to access distributed data including a data object in a remote data store are received at a data processing engine. A query plan is generated to service the access request. Different operations in the query plan are identified and assigned to one or more remote query processing engines that may access the remote data object. Requests to perform the different operations are sent to the one or more remote query processing engines. A final result is generated for the request based on the results received for the different operations from the remote query processing engine and results from operations performed with respect to locally stored data.The reference further teaches “”Pushing down aggregation may reduce the amount of data that needs to be sent back from the remote data store to the data processing engine. Instead of returning all rows for each object scanned from a remote data store, for instance, smaller, aggregated subset of rows may be returned. Similar operations, such as filtering items, projecting items, or other operations, such as sorting operations may be pushed down. For example, the group by clause in query 730 may be remotely assigned 748 (as indicated by the remote assignment arrow from aggregation operation 802 to scan operation 814). In FIG. 8B, the group by clause may be performed as part of aggregation operation 834.” (Col. 18 Lines 35-54).
Zhou et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0073867) teaches a query processing method including decomposing an SQL into logical plans based on data source feature information, to obtain a logical plan set, where the data source feature information is stored in an internal data source feature library of a query engine, and the internal data source feature library is stored in cache space of the query engine; generating physical plans for the logical plan set based on the data source feature information, to obtain a physical plan set; determining query costs of the physical plan set based on the data source feature information, to obtain a physical plan with a highest priority; and executing the physical plan with the highest priority, to obtain a query result queried by a user. The embodiments of this application further disclose a data source registration method and a query engine.The reference further teaches “the data source feature information includes at least one of the following: identification information of a data source, a data source granularity, calculation that the data source allows to push down, calculation that the data source does not allow to push down, an SQL syntax used to push down calculation to the data source, cross-data center information of the data source, whether to provide cache support information for the data source, and whether to monitor load information of the data source.” (Para. [0020]) and
/ROBERT F MAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2154 9/1/2026