The amendments filed 9/1/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 10,246,116 (Oltman et al. hereinafter) in view of US Patent No. 10,029,718 (Benning et al. hereinafter) and US Patent No. 3,698,733 (Isaacs hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1 and 5A, Oltman et al. discloses: A portable storage system comprising: a stackable container (100) having an optional lid (123, removable and therefore “optional” to a user, column 4, lines 3-9), a bottom surface (138), four side walls, and four corners; and a slot strip (108) attached to a corner of the stackable container, wherein the slot strip has a plurality of slots.
[AltContent: textbox (Bent Edges)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Slots)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Corners)][AltContent: textbox (Walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Oltman et al. fails to disclose wherein each wall is a plate extending in a first direction from the lid to the bottom surface and in a second direction, which is perpendicular to the first direction, extending from one corner to another corner and wherein the walls enclose a volume.
However, with reference to Fig. 17 below, Benning et al. discloses a storage cart wherein each wall (44, 52b, 62b, and 72) is a plate extending in a first direction from a lid (42b) to a bottom surface (108b) and in a second direction, which is perpendicular to the first direction, extending from one corner (74) to another corner and wherein the walls enclose a volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the cart of Oltman et al. to have extended the walls to between the lid and bottom and corners to removably enclose the storage volume of the cart as taught by Benning et al. for the predictable purposes of hiding contents from view to prevent theft, protecting contents from the elements and other environmental factions (dust, moisture, etc), as it is common in the art to provide removable walls to otherwise exposed storage systems.
Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. fail to disclose wherein the stackable containers are automatically aligned and automatically locked together when a stackable container is stacked on another stackable container.
However, Isaacs discloses wheeled stackable containers (10) wherein the stackable containers are automatically aligned and automatically locked together when a stackable container is stacked on another stackable container (due to corner joints at 52/54, column 4, lines 29-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the container of Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. to have included structure to facilitate automatic alignment and locking during stacking in order to ensure stable storage of the containers in a stacked configuration to minimize require floor space during storage/transportation (Isaacs, column 1, lines 46-50).
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein corner walls having a non- zero angle with respect to the walls of the stackable container (see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip has edges that are bent at an angle (See Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein multiple stackable containers, when stacked together form a vertically aligned column of slots longer than a length of the slot strip on a single stackable container (Note that any two of a plurality of identical containers of Oltman et al. could align as claimed).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the plurality of slots are useable to receive attachment hooks (note that if hooks were provided, the slots of Oltman et al. are capable of being intended to receive hooks, however the hooks are not positively recited as being part of the claimed container).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip structurally reinforces the stackable container (i.e. without legs 108, the upper container portion would collapse, column 2, lines 52-56: “legs 108 supporting the rim 104”).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein a gap is created between the slot strip and the corner wall to receive attachment hooks (note that the bottom of the strip 108 is not flush with the corner and forms a gap, and the gap could receive a properly shaped hook, while the hook is not positively recited in the claim).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip is made from one of metal, high-strength plastic, high-strength nylon, and metal alloy (column 6, lines 51-54).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses A slot strip (108) comprising: a panel with perforations attachable to corners of a stackable container (as in re claim 1 above); and two bent edges attachable to different walls of the stackable container (as in re claim 3 above, see Fig. 1 above), wherein each wall of the stackable container is a plate that in one direction extends an entire height of each side of the container and from another direction extends from one corner to another corner of the same side of the container, and wherein the walls enclose a volume, and wherein the stackable containers are automatically aligned and locked together when a stackable container is placed upon another stackable container (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the stackable container is lockable to other stackable containers to create a stack of multiple stackable containers (note that a separate cable type bicycle lock could be used to pass through the slots of stacked containers). Further note this limitation is not a limitation of the invention drawn to the slot strip in claim 9.
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein perforations are useable to receive attachment hooks (as in re claim 5 above).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip structurally reinforces the stackable container (as in re claim 6 above).
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the corners of the stackable container form a corner wall (see fig. 1 above). Further note this limitation is not a limitation of the invention drawn to the slot strip in claim 9.
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the stock strip is made from one of metal, high- strength plastic, high-strength nylon, and metal alloy (as in re claim 8 above).
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses A stackable container comprising: a front and back wall and two side walls; a corner wall between each two adjacent walls; and a slot strip attached to the corner wall, and wherein each wall is a plate that extends an entire height of each side of the container and further extends from one corner to another corner of the container, and wherein the walls and the corner walls enclose a volume, and wherein stackable containers automatically align and lock together when a stackable container is placed upon another stackable container (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein an attachment bar (104) attached across two adjacent slot strips (see figs. 1 and 5A).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the attachment bar comprises a magnetic bar (when the container is formed of metal, such as a well known and commonly used metal for storage carts such as stainless steel cited in column 6, lines 51-54, the bar would be magnetic/able to receive magnets).
In re claim 18, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the attachment bar comprises a molle panel (the slots 116 of bar 104 are interpreted as meeting the implied structural limitations for being a mole panel as interpreted by Applicant’s specification at pages 38-39).
In re claim 20, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip structurally reinforces the stackable container (as in re claim 6 above).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 5,438,938 (Meeker et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 19, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs discloses the claimed invention except wherein the attachment bar includes two latches to lock the attachment bar to the two adjacent slot strips.
However, Meeker et al. discloses an attachment bar (32) extending between corner strips (14), wherein the bar includes two latches (44, 46) to lock the attachment bar to the two adjacent slot strips (see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Oltman et al. in view of Benning et al. and Isaacs to have included a removable top wall/tray via attached latches as taught by Meeker et al. for the purposes of rending the upper container portion removable as usable as a separate tray (column 5, lines 28-40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/24/2025 with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733