The amendments filed 12/3/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 11 newly recite the limitation “wherein the corner wall is positioned at an angle that is more than 35 and less than 55 degrees with respect to each of its two adjacent walls. There is no support in the Application as originally filed for this specific range of angles newly recited by the claim. The range limitation is therefore considered new matter and cannot be considered on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitations "each of its two adjacent walls" and “its two adjacent side walls” respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “at least one stackable container”, followed by references to “the stackable container” in the claim. It is not clear which of the potential plurality of stackable containers is being referenced to as “the stackable container”.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation "the two stacked containers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “quickly attachable” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quickly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one accessory having an attachment base quickly attachable to and detachable from the slot strip, on the outside of the stackable container”. From this wording, it is unclear whether the limitation “on the outside of the container” is referring to the attachment base, or the slot strip. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to the slot strip on the outside of the container.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a corner wall between two adjacent walls". It is unclear whether this limitation refers to the previously claimed corner wall or to a new and additional corner wall. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to an additional corner wall.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the corner wall". It is unclear which corner wall is being limited by the claim (claim 1 “a corner wall” of claim 4 “a corner wall”). For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to the claim 1 corner wall.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the slot strip". It is unclear which of the “at least two slot strips” of claim 11 are being referred to by the limitation. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to “the at least two slot strips”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the attachment bar ends". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig (of record) in view of Freelander (of record) and US Patent No. 3,276,832 (Reilly hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1-3, Craig discloses: A portable storage system comprising: at least one stackable container having an outwardly facing slot strip (74 faces outward, see Fig. 1 below) attached to a corner wall of the stackable container; and at least one accessory (31) having an attachment base (71) quickly attachable to and detachable from the slot strip, on the outside of the stackable container.
[AltContent: textbox (Corner Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Attachment Bar)][AltContent: arrow]
Craig fails to disclose wherein a protrusion on a lid of the stackable container fits into a self-aligning slot at a bottom of an upper stackable container to align the two stacked containers.
However, with reference to Fig. 3, Freelander discloses a portable storage system having a stackable container (12), wherein a protrusion (34) on a lid (24) of the stackable container fits into a self-aligning slot (i.e., space between wheel 22 and frame at 20) at a bottom of an upper stackable container (upper 12 in Fig. 3) to align the two stacked containers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the storage system of Craig to have included a lid to facilitate stacking of wheeled containers as taught by Freelander for the purposes of preventing the wheeled containers from rolling away while allowing for stacking to realize reduced floor space required for storage of multiple wheeled containers (Freelander, column 1, lines 27-48).
Craig in view of Freelander fails to disclose wherein the corner wall is positioned at an angle that is more than zero and less than ninety degrees with respect to each of its two adjacent walls,
However, with reference to Figs. 1-5 and 8, Reilly discloses a corner element wherein an angled corner wall has a slot strip (21) and is positioned at an angle that is more than zero and less than ninety degrees with respect to each of two adjacent walls (see figs. 8 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Adjacent Wall)][AltContent: textbox (Corner Wall)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Adjacent Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the corner wall of Craig in view of Freelander to have an angled portion positioned more than zero and less than 90 degrees relative to adjacent walls as taught by Reilly for the purposes of facilitation of attachment of accessories to the corner wall (such as the resilient corner cover 29 of Reilly). Further note that since at pages 35 and 37 of the Specification, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed angle, and in fact recites that “The angles 844 and 845 of the corner wall with respect to the front wall 842 and side wall 843, respectively, may be any angle”, and “while in other embodiments, front wall 842 and side wall 843 meet at a 90 degree angle without an intermediate corner wall 841 between them, creating a square corner”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formed the corner at a specific angle, since the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein multiple slot strips (74) to allow attachment of an attachment bar (rear 31, see Fig. 1).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including latches (71) on two ends of the attachment bar (rear 31).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one stackable container has a corner wall (of 16) between two adjacent walls of the at least one stackable container (i.e. front and side surfaces of the element 16 of Craig).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip (74) is attached to the corner wall (16).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the slot strip has two bent edges, each bent edge attached to one of the two adjacent walls of the at least one stackable container (i.e. both bent edges of strip 74 appear attached to the wall of 16).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein a gap is created between the slot strip and the corner wall (center of slot strip 74 is raised relative to edges, see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the attachment base (71) has attachment hooks (72) to be inserted into the slot strip (74) using the gap between the slot strip and the corner wall (column 3, lines 42-45).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one accessory comprises one of a device holder (41), and a long-handle tool (42).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein another quick release accessory is coupled with the attachment bar, wherein the another quick release accessory comprises one of a tool holder, and a parts bin (i.e. holder/bin 41 can be placed on rear shelf 31).
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig discloses: A stackable container comprising: side walls (spanning corner walls) and corner walls (16); at least two slot strips (74), outwardly facing, coupled with the corner walls; an attachment bar (31) coupled from outside of the stackable container with the at least two outwardly facing slot strips; and a quick release accessory (41) coupled with the attachment bar.
Craig fails to disclose wherein a protrusion on a lid of the stackable container fits into a self-aligning slot at a bottom of an upper stackable container to align the two stacked containers.
However, with reference to Fig. 3, Freelander discloses a portable storage system having a stackable container (12), wherein a protrusion (34) on a lid (24) of the stackable container fits into a self-aligning slot (i.e., space between wheel 22 and frame at 20) at a bottom of an upper stackable container (upper 12 in Fig. 3) to align the two stacked containers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the storage system of Craig to have included a lid to facilitate stacking of wheeled containers as taught by Freelander for the purposes of preventing the wheeled containers from rolling away while allowing for stacking to realize reduced floor space required for storage of multiple wheeled containers (Freelander, column 1, lines 27-48).
Craig in view of Freelander fail to disclose wherein each of the corner walls is positioned at an angle that is more than zero and less than ninety degrees with respect to each of its two adjacent side walls.
However, with reference to Figs. 1-5 above, Reilly discloses a corner element wherein a corner wall (25) has slots (26) and is positioned at an angle that is more than zero and less than ninety degrees with respect to each of two adjacent walls (at 24) (see figs. 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the corner wall of Craig in view of Freelander to have an angled portion positioned more than zero and less than 90 degrees relative to adjacent walls as taught by Reilly for the purposes of facilitation of attachment of accessories to the corner wall (such as the resilient corner cover 29 of Reilly). Further note that since at pages 35 and 37 of the Specification, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed angle, and in fact recites that “The angles 844 and 845 of the corner wall with respect to the front wall 842 and side wall 843, respectively, may be any angle”, and “while in other embodiments, front wall 842 and side wall 843 meet at a 90 degree angle without an intermediate corner wall 841 between them, creating a square corner”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formed the corner at a specific angle, since the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including latches on the attachment bar (at 71).
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including an attachment base (31) coupled with the quick release accessory (See fig. 1).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the attachment base includes attachment hooks (71) to couple with the slot strip (74).
In re claim 18, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the quick release accessory (41) comprises one of a parts bin and a tool holder (see Fig. 1).
In re claim 19, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the corner walls have angles with respect to side walls surrounding the corner walls (e.g. 90 degree or less angles).
In re claim 20, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention including wherein the attachment bar ends are angled to match corner walls angles (bar ends at 71 must be matched in angle to the plane of the slot strips for attachment).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US. Patent No. 5,221,132 (Combs et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention except wherein an arm deployed between the quick release accessory and the attachment base.
However, with reference to Figs. 6 and 7, Combs et al. discloses a transportable storage system wherein a tool support includes an arm (14) between an accessory (tools 20, see Fig. 7), and an attachment base (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the attachment base of Craig in view of Freelander and Moss et al. to have included an arm as taught by Combs et al. for the purposes of allowing for custom movement of the tool/holder into a more useful position for a user to retrieve and place objections thereon.
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention except wherein the attachment bar comprises a magnetic attachment bar.
However, Combs et al. discloses wherein an attachment bar (14) is magnetic (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the attachment bar of Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly to have been magnetic for the purposes of ensuring secure placement of tools/objects and preventing inadvertent loss/misplacement thereof.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 4,976,450 (Ellefson hereinafter).
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly discloses the claimed invention except wherein the attachment bar comprises a molle panel.
However, with reference to Fig. 2, Ellefson discloses a portable tool car wherein an attachment bar (80) includes a series of apertures for attachment of objects (82) capable of being considered a “molle panel” (Applicant’s specification page 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the attachment bar of Craig in view of Freelander and Reilly to have included a series of apertures for attachment/placement of objects as taught by Ellefson for the predictable purposes of ensuring secure attachment and retention of long handle tools and other similarly shaped objects while facilitating organization and easy retrieval of the items.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the Remarks that Craig alone is “not stackable”, and therefore none of the other references utilized cure this deficiency. However, Craig is considered stackable, as one container of Craig is capable of being simply placed upon another container of Craig, and the Freelander reference (not argued by Applicant in these Remarks), teaches the stackability of wheeled objects by utilizing a lid to facilitate stackability contrary to Applicant’s assertion.
Applicant’s arguments to the non-supported range of 35-55 degrees of the angle of the corner wall are not persuasive, as the limitation is not being considered on the merits for the reasons asserted above in re 35 USC 112 first paragraph.
Applicant argues the Reilly does not teach a corner wall that is part of the containers and between adjacent walls. However, with reference to Fig. 8 above, Reilly does teach an angled corner wall as claimed, and the proposed combination of Craig in view of Freelander teaches the claimed limitations.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PG Pub No. 2005/0263527 to Maldonado discloses a portable storage system with a stackable container having slots (32) at corner surfaces between side walls, wherein the slots are used to attach accessories (e.g. 36) having attachment bases (28) to the container.
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733