DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Yamashita does not disclose at least one constant-potential wiring line which extends along a longitudinal direction of the drive device in a mounting area of the drive device. Yamashita discloses at least one constant potential wiring line (67; Paragraph 0086) which extends along a longitudinal direction of the drive device in a mounting area (element 50 [COF] is considered the mounting area; Paragraph 0077; Figures 4-5) of the drive device. Wherein the wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b, and the connection part 67b is oriented in a longitudinal direction in a mounting area (50) (Figures 2, 5)
Applicant argues Yamashita does not disclose constant-potential terminals at three or more places, which are arranged at respective position different from each other along the longitudinal direction, and which are electrically coupled to the constant-potential wiring line to which the same constant potential is applied. Yamashita discloses constant potential terminals wherein wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b, and 67a is connected to three power input terminals (61) at three or more places (Figures 2-5; Paragraph 0070). The constant potential terminals (wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b; wherein 67a is connected to three power input terminals 61; Figures 2-5; Paragraph 0070) are arranged at respective positions different from each other along the longitudinal direction (Figure 5), and which are electrically coupled to the constant potential wiring line (power wire 67) to which the same constant potential is applied
Applicant argues Yamashita does not disclose the drive device which includes a plurality of output terminals which is arranged along the longitudinal direction, and which is configured to individually output the drive signal. Yamashita discloses a drive device including a plurality of output terminals (63), wherein output wires (66) are connected to the output terminals (63) (Figure 5; Paragraphs 0055, 0074) and is arranged along the longitudinal direction (output terminals 63 are arranged in longitudinal direction; Figure 5), and which is configured to individually output the drive signal (Figure 5; Paragraphs 0056, 0074, 0079, 0086)
Therefore, Yamashita discloses all of the claimed limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita (U.S. Pub. 2021/0229428)
Regarding claim 1, a drive board configured to output a drive signal to be applied to a liquid jet head (4) having a plurality of nozzles (20) (Figures 2, 5; Paragraphs 0032-0034), the drive board comprising:
At least one drive device (52) which is mounted on a board surface of the drive board, and which is configured to generate the drive signal configured to jet liquid from the nozzles (Figures 2; Paragraphs 0055-0056)
At least one constant potential wiring line (67; Paragraph 0086) which extends along a longitudinal direction of the drive device in a mounting area (element 50 [COF] is considered the mounting area; Paragraph 0077; Figures 4-5) of the drive device, and to which a predetermined constant potential is applied (Figure 5; wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b; wherein connection part 67b is oriented in a longitudinal direction), wherein
The drive device includes a plurality of output terminals (63; output wires 66 connected to output terminals 63; Figure 5; Paragraphs 0055, 0074) which is arranged along the longitudinal direction (output terminals are arranged in longitudinal direction; Figure 5), and which is configured to individually output the drive signal (Figure 5; Paragraphs 0056, 0074, 0079, 0086)
Constant potential terminals (wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b; wherein 67a is connected to three power input terminals 61; Figures 2-5; Paragraph 0070) at three or more places, which are arranged at respective positions different from each other along the longitudinal direction (Figure 5), and which are electrically coupled to the constant potential wiring line to which the same constant potential is applied (Figure 5; Paragraphs 0055, 0070-0071, 0073-0076)
Regarding claim 2, the drive device has a pair of end portion areas, and a central area (51c) located between the pair of end portion areas along the longitudinal direction
The constant potential terminals (wire 67 includes three wires 67a and connection part 67b; wherein 67a is connected to three power input terminals 61; Figure 5; Paragraph 0070) are arranged in each of the pair of end portion areas and the central area (Figure 5)
Regarding claim 3, two or more of the constant potential terminals (67a connected to three power terminals 61; Figure 5; Paragraph 0070) are arranged in the central area (Figure 5; Paragraph 0070)
Regarding claim 4, the constant potential terminals at three or more places are evenly arranged along the longitudinal direction of the drive device (Figure 5)
Regarding claim 5, the constant potential wiring line includes at least one power supply wiring line (61) to which a power supply potential as the constant potential is applied; and a ground wiring line (62) to which a ground potential as the constant potential is applied (Figures 5-6; Paragraph 0069)
The drive board includes at least one of:
Power supply terminals at three or more places as the constant potential terminals at three or more places electrically coupled to the power supply wiring line
Ground terminals at three or more places as the constant potential terminals at three or more places electrically coupled to the ground wiring line (Figure 5)
Regarding claim 6, the power supply terminals at three or more places and the ground terminals at three or more places are provided respectively to a plurality of the power supply wiring lines and the ground wiring line (Figure 5)
Regarding claim 8, a plurality of the drive devices (52) is arranged side by side along the longitudinal direction on the board surface (Figure 5)
Regarding claim 9, a jet section (24) which is configured to jet the liquid based on the drive signal output from the drive board, and which as the plurality of nozzles (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0030, 0039)
Regarding claim 10, a liquid jet recording device comprising the liquid jet head (Figure 1; Paragraph 0030)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (U.S. Pub. 2021/0229428) in view of Kachi (U.S. Pub. 2006/0209138)
Regarding claim 7, Kachi discloses a drive device mounted on the board surface using flip chip mounting (Paragraph 0027)
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use flip-chip mounted devices, as taught by Kachi into the device of Yamashita, for the purpose of installing device circuits at a high density
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 December 5, 2025