DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate both “protrusion” and “folded protrusion”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, and 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 2, it is suggested to amend “is lifted” to - -is configured to be lifted- -.
In claim 7, line 5, it is suggested to amend “which moves” to - -configured to move- -.
In claim 9, line 5, it is suggested to amend “applying heat” to - -configured to apply heat- -.
In claim 10, line 2, it is suggested to amend “is moved” to - -is configured to move- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a preforming portion forming a folding groove in a portion of a protrusion” and subsequently recites “ folding the protrusion” and “folded protrusion”. It is not clear what is required by these limitations. It is not clear if the protrusion has undergone some folding operation that is not clearly recited. Is the folding portion configured to fold the protrusion or the protrusion is already folded and part of the structural configuration of the apparatus (i.e., pre folded)? Are these terms referring to the same protrusion or are they separate structural elements. Clarification or amendment to the claim is required.
Regarding dependent claims 2-11, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0098751).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a pouch-type rechargeable battery (paragraph [0002]) , the apparatus comprising:
a preforming portion forming a folding groove (i.e., a line forming unit) (see figure 4 depicting groove 124A) (paragraph [0063]) in a portion of a protrusion (i.e., wing – w) of the pouch-type rechargeable battery (paragraph [0063]) (see figure 4);
a folding portion (i.e., pre-folding line) (see figure 6) disposed on a rear end of the preforming portion and folding the protrusion along the folding groove (paragraph [0065]);
a rolling portion (i.e., lower roller – 212B) disposed on a rear end of the folding portion and pressing the folded protrusion (see figures 12A-12D) (paragraph [0077]); and
a pressing portion (i.e., upper roller – 211B) disposed on a rear end of the rolling portion and fixing the folded protrusion (see figures 12A-12B) (paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the rolling portion includes, a roller (i.e., lower roller – 211B) (paragraph [0074]) pressing the folded protrusion (see figures 8A-8D); and a moving frame (see figures 8A-8D) (paragraph [0074]). As to the limitation “the roller is rotatably installed and which moves the roller in a longitudinal direction of the pouch-type rechargeable battery”, such limitations are interpreted to be functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus (see MPEP 2114(I)). It is submitted that the apparatus of Kim possess the requisite claimed structure (i.e., roller and moving frame), such that it would necessarily follow that the apparatus would be capable of performing the recited functionality.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches wherein the roller is disposed to be inclined with respect to a thickness direction of the pouch-type rechargeable battery (i.e., angle of roller may be 0° or more) (paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the pressing portion includes, a fixing bar fixing a terrace portion of the pouch-type rechargeable battery(see figures 8A-8D); and a pressing member (110A) spaced apart from the fixing bar and applying heat and pressure to the folded protrusion (paragraph [0074], [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the pressing member is in contact with the folded protrusion and is moved to be spaced apart from the protrusion (see figure 4) (paragraph [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0098751).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the roller has an inclination angle of 0 to 90° (paragraph [0074]). It is noted that Kim differ in the exact same inclination range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the inclination range of Kim overlap the instant claimed inclination and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate either:
all the limitations of claim 1 and claims 2-3
Applicant is encouraged to consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance. The prior art fails to teach the limitations as recited in claims 2-3 in combination with the features of claim 1.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Otohata et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0182119). Otohata teaches a battery with a folded protrusion (paragraph [0086]) (see figure 9).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723