DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the application filed 03 November 2023.
Claims 1-14 are pending and have been presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the manipulation of data" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the timeline context" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "The system" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "The method" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the manipulation of data" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the timeline context" in 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by GRIFFITH (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0314705).
1. GRIFFITH discloses A system for preventing breaking changes due to schema evolution comprising: a network (see abstract: system of networked collaborative datasets; [0047]: data interoperability over disparate computing system platforms); a dataset within the network (see [0047]: dataset having a first format); data within the dataset structured by a data format (see [0049]: receiving data representing a set of data); and data coordinates comprising at least one component for uniquely identifying data within the dataset (see [0085]: addressable identifiers to uniquely identify units of data); wherein the data comprises structural data that is managed in the same manner as data (see [0049]: set of data can be CSV, XML, JSON, XLS, unstructured, etc.); and wherein the at least one components are determined by the data format (see [0085]: addressable identifiers to link data in a first format and a dataset in a second format).
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data format comprises at least one of: row store, column store, JSON, parquet, XML, HTML and in-memory cache (see [0049]: set of data can be CSV, XML, JSON, XLS, unstructured, etc.).
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the data coordinates for JSON and parquet data formats comprise a key ID being used to identify data within the dataset (see [0101]: addressable identifier to identify a row, column and table; [0104]: reference a unit of data at a particular row or column).
8. GRIFFITH discloses A method for preventing breaking changes due to schema evolution comprising: providing a network (see abstract: system of networked collaborative datasets; [0047]: data interoperability over disparate computing system platforms); providing a dataset within the network (see [0047]: dataset having a first format); providing data within the dataset organized in a data format (see [0049]: receiving data representing a set of data); uniquely identifying data within the dataset using data coordinates comprising at least one component (see [0085]: addressable identifiers to uniquely identify units of data); and managing structural data as data (see [0049]: set of data can be CSV, XML, JSON, XLS, unstructured, etc.).
9. The method of claim 8, the data format comprises at least one of: row store, column store, JSON, parquet, and in-memory cache (see [0049]: set of data can be CSV, XML, JSON, XLS, unstructured, etc.).
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the data coordinates for JSON and parquet data formats comprise a key ID being used to identify data within the dataset (see [0101]: addressable identifier to identify a row, column and table; [0104]: reference a unit of data at a particular row or column).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRIFFITH (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2018/0314705) in view of JACOB (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2017/0364703).
6. The system of claim 1 (see GRIFFITH above), wherein the system further comprises a time context having a timestamp and timeline ID; the timestamp being used to provide the time context to the manipulation of data; and the timeline ID being used to identify the timeline context for the data coordinates (see JACOB below).
JACOB discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by GRIFFITH: wherein the system further comprises a time context having a timestamp and timeline ID (see [0070]: version controller tracks changes made to data over time, maintain pointers to previous data); the timestamp being used to provide the time context to the manipulation of data (see [0072]-[0073]: first and second versions of data persist and can be accessed at any time); and the timeline ID being used to identify the timeline context for the data coordinates (see [0073]: atomized data points allow for access to the current version of the data or the previous version). Having a version controller allows for tracking of changes over time and keeping subsequent versions without commensurate increases in memory (see [0073]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify GRIFFITH to include a time context, as disclosed by JACOB. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to track changes of data over time, as taught by JACOB. GRIFFITH and JACOB are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to managing datasets.
7. The system of claim 1 (see GRIFFITH above), wherein the system further comprises an autonomous historical log for keeping a record of all manipulations made to the data (see JACOB below).
JACOB discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by GRIFFITH: wherein the system further comprises an autonomous historical log for keeping a record of all manipulations made to the data (see JACOB [0070]: pointers to reference previous versions of data to track changes over time). Having a version controller allows for tracking of changes over time and keeping subsequent versions without commensurate increases in memory (see [0073]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify GRIFFITH to include a time context, as disclosed by JACOB. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to track changes of data over time, as taught by JACOB. GRIFFITH and JACOB are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to managing datasets.
13. The method of claim 8 (see GRIFFITH above), wherein the method further comprises: providing a time context having a timestamp and timeline ID; the timestamp being used to provide the time context to the manipulation of data; and the timeline ID being used to identify the timeline context for the data coordinates (see JACOB below).
JACOB discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by GRIFFITH: wherein the system further comprises a time context having a timestamp and timeline ID (see [0070]: version controller tracks changes made to data over time, maintain pointers to previous data); the timestamp being used to provide the time context to the manipulation of data (see [0072]-[0073]: first and second versions of data persist and can be accessed at any time); and the timeline ID being used to identify the timeline context for the data coordinates (see [0073]: atomized data points allow for access to the current version of the data or the previous version). Having a version controller allows for tracking of changes over time and keeping subsequent versions without commensurate increases in memory (see [0073]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify GRIFFITH to include a time context, as disclosed by JACOB. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to track changes of data over time, as taught by JACOB. GRIFFITH and JACOB are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to managing datasets.
14. The method of claim 8 (see GRIFFITH above), wherein the method further comprises providing an autonomous historical log for keeping a record of all manipulations made to the data (see JACOB below).
JACOB discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by GRIFFITH: wherein the system further comprises an autonomous historical log for keeping a record of all manipulations made to the data (see JACOB [0070]: pointers to reference previous versions of data to track changes over time). Having a version controller allows for tracking of changes over time and keeping subsequent versions without commensurate increases in memory (see [0073]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify GRIFFITH to include a time context, as disclosed by JACOB. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to track changes of data over time, as taught by JACOB. GRIFFITH and JACOB are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to managing datasets.
Claims 3 and 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the state of the art fails to anticipate, or render obvious, “… wherein the data coordinates for a row or column store data format comprises a uniquely identifiable virtual address comprising: the data coordinates having a network ID; dataset ID; and a record ID; the network ID being used to identify the network the data is located in; the dataset ID being used to identify the dataset the data is located in; and the record ID being used to identify the data located in the data format.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BRODT [2017/0075940] discloses associating timestamp information to track changes to rows in a database.
/EDWARD J DUDEK JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132