DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-8, 11, 14, and 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3,4, 6-9, 11,12, and 14-16 of co-pending Application No. 18098425.This is a provisional non statutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, both the present application and claim 1 of application number 18/098425 discloses the use of a musical instrument having a body defining a sound chamber for the musical instrument (1), the body (2) comprising: a soundboard (18a); a back including a first sonic channel (100) having a plurality of substantially polygonal-shaped sections (see figure 4); and a lateral sidewall connecting the soundboard (18a)and the back.
The present application does not discloses the sonic channel formed in the inner surface of the soundboard.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in the present application to include the sonic channel formed in the inner surface of the soundboard in order to securely insert the channels.
Regarding claim 2, both the present application and claim 11 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of the plurality of substantially polygonal-shaped sections (102, 104, 106, 108, 110) of the back are grouped into five rows and three columns.
Regarding claim 3, both the present application and claim 12 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein the back includes multiple
back braces (50) with at least one back brace skeletonized.
Regarding claim 4, both the present application and claim 6 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a skeletonized back brace (240) has an alternating pattern of hexagonal voids and pairs of triangle voids that yields solid, integral X-shaped regions within the skeletonized back brace.
Regarding claim 5, both the present application and claim 8 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein at least one of the multiple back braces (240) is bounded by the first sonic channel (200).
Regarding claim 6, both the present application and claim 9 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein all of the multiple back braces (240) are bounded by the first sonic channel (200).
Regarding claim 7, both the present application and claim 3 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a musical instrument wherein the body is made of a domestic hardwood.
Regarding claim 8, both the present application and claim 16 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein the musical instrument is a guitar (1).
Regarding claim 11, both the present application and claim 4 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein the soundboard (18a) includes
multiple braces with at least one brace skeletonized.
Regarding claim 12, both the present application and claim 5 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a soundboard that includes a skeletonized top brace and two skeletonized X-braces (50,52).
Regarding claim 14, both the present application and claim 12 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a at least one skeletonized brace has an alternating pattern of hexagonal voids (82) and pairs of triangle voids (84) that yields solid, integral X-shaped (50,52) regions within the skeletonized brace.
Regarding claim 16, both the present application and claim 7 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of multiple braces include X-braces, a bridge plate, a tone bar (56), a fretboard plate (58), a top brace (60), an angled brace (62), a horizontal brace (64), and a fan brace (67).
Regarding claim 17, both the present application and claim 14 of application number 18/098425 disclose the use of a wherein at least one of the multiple braces is bounded by a second sonic channel (200).
Regarding claim 18, both the present application and claim 15 of application number 18/098425 disclose the that all of the multiple braces are bounded by the second sonic channel (200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, it appears that the braces (50, 52) form an “X” brace. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McPherson (WO03054850A2).
Regarding claim 1, McPherson discloses a body (12) defining a sound chamber for the musical instrument, the body comprising: a soundboard (22); a back including a first sonic channel (48) having a plurality of substantially polygonal-shaped sections (see figure 11); and a lateral sidewall connecting the soundboard (34) and the back (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 3, McPherson discloses a body wherein the back includes multiple back braces (48) with at least one back brace skeletonized (see figure 11, and the apertures in the braces).
Regarding claim 4, McPherson discloses a body wherein the back includes multiple back braces with at least one back brace skeletonized (see the apertures in the braces (48) in figure 11).
Regarding claim 5, wherein at least one of the multiple back braces is bounded by the first sonic channel (the sonic channel that is beneath the block in figure 11).
Regarding claim 6, wherein all of the multiple back braces are bounded by the first sonic channel (see figure 11, and the additional channels that are bounded by the sonic channel that is beneath the block in figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPherson (WO03054850A2) in view of Tucker (US6011205).
Regarding claim 7, McPherson discloses a body (12) defining a sound chamber for the musical instrument, the body comprising: a soundboard (22); a back (see the back in figure 11) including a first sonic channel (48) having a plurality of substantially polygonal-shaped sections (see figure 11); and a lateral sidewall connecting the soundboard (34) and the back (see figure 11).
McPherson does not disclose the specific use of a body made from hardwood.
Tucker et al discloses the use of a guitar body made from hardwood (column 2, line 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McPherson to include the hardwood as disclosed in Tucker in order to provide a body that produces a specific sound.
McPherson and Tucker do not disclose the specific use of domestic hardwood.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McPherson to include the hardwood as disclosed in Tucker and the domestic wood as recited by the applicant in order to produce a device with high strength characteristics.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the musical instrument is a guitar (page 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the soundboard includes multiple braces with at least one brace skeletonized (see the braces in apertures in figure 13).
Claims 9, 10, and 12-20 would be allowable if the double patenting and 35 USC 112 rejections are overcome.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837