DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 6/30/2025. The objections to the Drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the Specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claims 5 and 6 are cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-4 and 7-19 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/30/2025. The drawing is Figure 3.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term “mini light” in claim 1 and claim 19 lack antecedent basis in the Specification. The term “string light” in claim 1 and claim 19 lack antecedent basis in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
§ 112(a)
Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1 and 19, applicant has added the limitation “each bulb of the plurality of bulbs being a mini light to inhibit the plurality of housing lights from emitting heat into the interior space of said housing” in lines 18-20 of claim 1 and lines 18-20 of claim 19. On page 4, lines 8-13, of the originally filed specification, the lighting mechanism includes a plurality of housing lights 36 vertically arranged along each corner between the front wall 24, the first 28 and second 30 side walls, and the rear wall 26. Figure 1 shows a plurality of housing lights 36 consisting of a plurality of bulbs spaced from each other. There is nothing in the originally filed claims, specification or drawings to support this newly added limitation of a mini light and the structural relationship to achieve inhibiting emitting heat into the interior space of said housing. Thus, the newly added limitation is deemed to be NEW MATTER.
Claims 2-4, 7-18 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
§ 112(b)
Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 19, the term “mini light” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite.
The term “mini” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Thus, as used to qualify the type of light, the term renders the same indeterminate and the claim (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Claims 2-4 and 7-18 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) in view of Brown (US20150077975A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Statham, in light of indefiniteness, teaches an illuminated cooler assembly [cooler 10, Figure 1] comprising:
a housing [tub 112, Figure 2] having a bottom wall [bottom 218, Figure 2] and a peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206, Figure 2] being attached to and extending upwardly from the bottom wall defining an interior space [where cooler 10 is configured as a generally rectangular box, Figure 2; 0012], the peripheral wall having an upper edge defining an opening into the interior space [top surface of tub 112 where light sensor 404 is positioned, Figure 4; 0019], the peripheral wall having a front wall, a rear wall, a first side wall, and a second side wall [where cooler 10 is configured as a generally rectangular box with four sidewall panels 206, Figure 2; 0012];
a lid [lid 114, Figure 1] being positionable on the housing and abutting the upper edge to selectively cover the opening [where switch 402 detects whether the lid 114 is closed when the lid applies pressure to the upper edge of tub 112, Figure 4; 0019];
a lighting mechanism being coupled to at least one of the housing and the lid, the lighting mechanism illuminating the interior space [where upper lights 202 and lower lights 204 positioned on sidewall panels 206 provide interior illumination, Figure 2; 0014],
the lighting mechanism including: a plurality of housing lights being coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall [where interior illumination for cooler 10 may be provided using upper lights 202 and lower lights 204 located on one or more sidewall panels 206 of tub 112; 0014];
the housing light of the plurality of housing lights being a string light [where lights 202 are light strips, visible Figure 2, where string light is interpreted in light of a plurality of spaced bulbs] wherein each housing light of the plurality of housing lights includes a plurality of bulbs [where the first light source comprises a strip of light-emitting diodes, Figure 2; claim 5] being spaced from each other [where the light emitting diodes are spaced along the light strip of light source 202, Figure 2];
a power mechanism being coupled to the lighting mechanism [electrical system 40 includes a power source 406 and a controller 408 connected to upper lights 202 and lower lights 204, Figure 4; 0020]; and
an activation mechanism [where electrical system 40 includes automatic switch 402, Figure 4; 0019] being coupled to the lighting mechanism and the power mechanism [where controller 408 is connected to switch 402, upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019], the activation mechanism actuating the lighting mechanism [where if the switch 402 is on and ambient light is low the lights 202 and 204 turn on, Figure 5; 0023] but
Statham does not teach the plurality of housing lights being vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall.
However, Brown teaches a cooler adapted to receive a removable lighting assembly [0002] where a plurality of housing lights [where four elongate light members 51, 52, 53, and 54 extend down into the container 12, Figure 1] is vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall [where sidewall 16 has four sides defining four corners 21, 22, 23 and 24 with elongate recesses 31, 32, 33 and 34 for the light members, Figure 2; 0049; 0050], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing more continuous light along the height of the cooler [Statham, 0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where the plurality of housing lights being vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall in view of the teachings of Brown where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing more continuous light along the height of the cooler [Statham, 0016].
Claim 1 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “to inhibit the plurality of housing lights from emitting heat into the interior space of said housing” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP § 2114.
Regarding Claim 2, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches the peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206, Figure 1] further comprising a front wall, a rear wall, a first side wall, and a second side wall [where cooler 10 is configured as a generally rectangular box with four sidewall panels 206, Figure 2; 0012].
Regarding Claim 4, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches the where the lid [lid 114, Figure 4] is pivotably coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206 of tub 112, Figure 4].
Regarding Claim 7, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches the power mechanism comprises a housing power source [where electrical system 40 includes a power source 406, Figure 4; 0020] being electronically coupled to the plurality of housing lights [where controller 408 is connected to the upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019].
Regarding Claim 9, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches the lighting mechanism further comprising a plurality of lid lights being coupled to an interior side of the lid [where in addition other lights may be used such as lights positioned on an inner surface 216 of lid 114 for coolers with a large distance between sidewall panels 206; 0016].
Claim 3 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) and Brown (US20150077975A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ahlstrom et al. (US11414238B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Statham teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches a pair of handles [handles 116, Figure 1] coupled to one of the first and second side walls [sidewall panel 206, Figure 1; 0012], but does not explicitly teach the handles are pivotably coupled.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 12] where the handles [handles 130, an alternative embodiment of handles 30, Figure 12 and 13; 0078] are pivotably coupled [where rigid loop 131 mounts to channel 137, Figure 12 and 13; 0078] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., improving ease of use by adapting the handles to different carrying angles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where the handles are pivotably coupled in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable, i.e., improving ease of use by adapting the handles to different carrying angles.
Regarding Claim 13, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches a pair of handles [handles 116, Figure 1] being pivotably coupled [see Ahlstrom as applied to the rejection of claim 3 above] to an exterior surface of the peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206, Figure 1; 0012].
Regarding Claim 14, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where a lip is coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 12] where a lip is coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall [where ledge 86 of cooler 10 sits along an inner surface, Figure 3; 0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., providing support for interior cooler accessories such as a basket [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where a lip is coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., providing support for interior cooler accessories such as a basket [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Regarding Claim 15, Statham, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 and does not teach where the lip is positioned proximate to the upper edge.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 3] where a lip [ledge 86 Figure 3; 0052] is positioned proximate to the upper edge [where ledge 86 sits along an inner surface of base 12 at the top of food basin 20, Figure 3; 0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., providing support for interior cooler accessories such as a basket [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where the lip is positioned proximate to the upper edge in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing support for interior cooler accessories such as a basket [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Regarding Claim 16, Statham, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 and does not teach where a basket being removably positionable within the interior space, the basket being removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 3] where a lip [ledge 86 Figure 3; 0052] where a basket [basket 84, Figure 3] is removably positionable within the interior space [where the basket may be placed in cooler 10; 0051] and the basket is removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space [where the basket 84 may be supported along ledge 86 along inner surface; 0052] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., improving utility of the cooler by providing additional separate food storage [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham where a basket is removably positionable within the interior space, the basket is removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., improving utility of the cooler by providing additional separate food storage [Ahlstrom, 0052].
Regarding Claim 17, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1, and does not teach where an exterior side of the lid has a well being formed therein, the well being configured to hold a beverage container.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 3] where an exterior side of the lid [lid 14, Figure 1] has a well [drink holders 80, Figure 1] formed therein, the well being configured to hold a beverage container [where the lid may have a plurality of drink holders 80; 0048], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., preventing sand, bugs, or dirt from contaminating an open drink by providing a place to hold the drink above ground.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where an exterior side of the lid has a well formed therein, the well being configured to hold a beverage container in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing sand, bugs, or dirt from contaminating an open drink by providing a place to hold the drink above ground.
Regarding Claim 18, Statham teaches the invention of claim 1, and does not teach where a latch has a first portion and a second portion, the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the peripheral wall, the second portion being positioned on the lid, the first portion aligning with and being engageable with the second portion when the lid is covering the opening.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 3] comprising a latch having a first portion [catches 66, Figure 8] and a second portion [latches 62, Figure 8], the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the peripheral wall [where the catches 66 are on the front surface of cooler 10, Figure 8; 0050], the second portion being positioned on the lid [where the latches 62 extend from the lids grips 93, Figure 8; 0050], the first portion aligning with and being engageable with the second portion when the lid is covering the opening [where the latches 62 engage with the catches 66 to seal lid 14 to base 12, Figure 8; 0070] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., improving the thermal performance of the cooler by providing a secure seal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where a latch has a first portion and a second portion, the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the peripheral wall, the second portion being positioned on the lid, the first portion aligning with and being engageable with the second portion when the lid is covering the opening in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., improving the thermal performance of the cooler by providing a secure seal.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) and Brown (US20150077975A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ebert (US10767852B1).
Regarding Claim 8, Statham teaches the invention of claim 7 and further teaches the activation mechanism [where electrical system 40 includes automatic switch 402, Figure 4; 0019] comprises:
a housing processor [controller 408, Figure 4] being coupled to the housing power source and to the plurality of housing lights [where controller 408 is connected to the upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019], the housing processor being configured to actuate the plurality of housing lights [where controller 408 illuminates upper lights 202 and lower lights 204 when ambient light is below a threshold in step 504, Figure 5; 0023;0024]; and
the housing processor [controller 408, Figure 4] actuating the plurality of housing lights when a housing switch [automatic switch 40, Figure 4] is separated from the lid [lid 114, Figure 4] whereby the plurality of housing lights illuminates the interior space [where the controller 408 is activated when the switch 402 is in the on position and illuminates the lights in step 508, Figure 5; 0023; 0024]; but
Statham does not teach the housing switch is a housing contact plate being coupled to the peripheral wall, the housing contact plate being electronically coupled to the housing processor;
a lid contact plate being coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening; and
the housing processor actuating the plurality of housing lights when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate whereby the plurality of housing lights illuminates the interior space.
However, Ebert teaches a lighting assembly to illuminate a portable storage case [col. 1, lines 5-9] where a housing contact plate [where nonmechanical field switch may be attached to the body 110; col. 7, lines 32 - 51] is coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall 114, Figure 6], the housing contact plate being electronically coupled to the housing processor [where nonmechanical field switch 160 may be provided along the same circuit as the control board 156; col. 7, lines 18 - 31];
a lid contact plate [where passive field element 162 may attach to lid 124; col. 7, lines 32 - 51] is coupled to the lid [lid 124, Figure 6] the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening [where the nonmechanical field switch and passive field element are brought into engagement in the lid 124 closed position; col. 7, lines 43-51]; and
the housing processor [control board 156, Figure 5] actuating the plurality of housing lights [where multiple lighting elements are attached to lid 124 or case body 110; col. 5, lines 41 - 55] when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate [where in the open position, nonmechanical field switch 160 may close the circuit or otherwise permits the voltage to lighting assembly 136; col. 7, lines 18-31] whereby the plurality of housing lights illuminates the interior space [where the light assemblies illuminate multiple locations of body volume 118; col. 5, lines 41-59], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the substitution of mechanical switch for non-mechanical switches another and yield predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to where a housing contact plate being coupled to the peripheral wall, the housing contact plate being electronically coupled to the housing processor; a lid contact plate being coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening; and the housing processor actuating the plurality of housing lights when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate whereby the plurality of housing lights illuminates the interior space in view of the teachings of Ebert where the substitution of two elements for another would have yielded predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Claim 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) and Brown (US20150077975A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Partee et al. (US10393415B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Statham teaches the invention of claim 9 and does not teach where the power mechanism further comprises a lid power source being electronically coupled to the plurality of lid lights.
However, Partee teaches a cooler [cooler 900, Figure 9A] where the power mechanism [advanced mobile energy storage device (AMESD) 200, Figure 2] further comprises a lid power source [energy storage component 205, Figure 2] being electronically coupled [where the light interface module 1137 includes power drivers for interior lights 965, Figure 11; col. 36, lines 50-55] to the plurality of lid lights [interior lights 965, Figure 9A], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., providing redundancy such that lid lights will function even if the housing power source fails.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to where the power mechanism further comprises a lid power source being electronically coupled to the plurality of lid lights in view of the teachings of Partee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., providing redundancy such that lid lights will function even if the housing power source fails.
Regarding Claim 12, Statham, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and does not teach the lid power source further comprising:
a solar panel being coupled to an exterior side of the lid; and
a battery being electronically coupled to the solar panel.
However, Partee teaches a cooler [cooler 900, Figure 9A] where the power source [power input 227, Figure 2] comprises a solar panel [solar power source 810, Figure 9B] coupled to an exterior side of the lid [lid 930, Figure 9B] and a battery [where the energy storage component 205 may be a lithium-ion battery; col. 7, lines 10-22 ] being electronically coupled to the solar panel [where solar energy supplies power to power inputs 227 and passes through charge controller 235 and input power converter 30 to energy storage component 205, Figure 2; col. 9 line 62 - col.10 line 8], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., providing redundancy such that lid lights will function even if the housing power source fails.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to where the lid power source further comprises a solar panel being coupled to an exterior side of the lid and a battery being electronically coupled to the solar panel in view of the teachings of Partee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., providing redundancy such that lid lights will function even if the housing power source fails.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) in view of Brown (US20150077975A1) and Partee et al. (US10393415B1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ebert (US10767852B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Statham, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and does not teach the activation mechanism further comprising:
a lid processor is coupled to the lid power source and to the plurality of lid lights, the lid processor being configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights; a housing contact plate being coupled to the peripheral wall;
a lid contact plate being coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate being electronically coupled to the lid processor, the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening; and
the lid processor actuating the plurality of lid lights when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate whereby the plurality of lid lights illuminates the interior space.
However, Ebert teaches a lighting assembly to illuminate a portable storage case [col. 1, lines 5-9] where a lid processor [control board 156, Figure 5] is coupled to the lid power source [power source 154, Figure 5] and to the plurality of lid lights [light source 138, Figure 4], the lid processor being configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights [where the control board is configured to selectively direct the voltage or current from power source 154 to lighting assembly 136; col. 6, lines 64-66];
a housing contact plate [passive field element 162, Figure 6] being coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall 114, Figure 6];
a lid contact plate [non-mechanical field switch 160, Figure 6] being coupled to the lid [lid 124, Figure 6], the lid contact plate being electronically coupled to the lid processor [where nonmechanical field switch 160 may be provided along the same circuit as the control board 156; col. 7, lines 18 - 31], the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening [where the nonmechanical field switch and passive field element are brought into engagement in the lid 124 closed position; col. 7, lines 43-51]; and
the lid processor actuating the plurality of lid lights when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate whereby the plurality of lid lights illuminates [where in the open position, nonmechanical field switch 160 may close the circuit or otherwise permits the voltage to lighting assembly 136; col. 7, lines 18-31] the interior space [body volume 118; col. 5, lines 41-59], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the substitution of a mechanical switch for a nonmechanical field switch and passive field element and yield predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to the have where the activation mechanism further comprises: a lid processor coupled to the lid power source and to the plurality of lid lights, the lid processor being configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights; a housing contact plate coupled to the peripheral wall; a lid contact plate coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate electronically coupled to the lid processor, the lid contact plate aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening; and the lid processor actuating the plurality of lid lights when the housing contact plate is separated from the lid contact plate whereby the plurality of lid lights illuminates the interior space, where in view of the teachings of Ebert where the substitution of known elements for another would have yielded predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Statham (US20150253066A1) in view of Brown (US20150077975A1), Partee et al. (US10393415B1), of Ebert (US10767852B1), Lin et al. (US20210365075A1), Chen et al. (US20150130700a1) and Ahlstrom et al. (US11414238B2).
Regarding Claim 19, Statham, in light of indefiniteness, teaches an illuminated cooler assembly [cooler 10, Figure 1] comprising:
a housing [tub 112, Figure 2] having a bottom wall [bottom 218, Figure 2] and a peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206, Figure 2] being attached to and extending upwardly from the bottom wall defining an interior space [where cooler 10 is configured as a rectangular box, Figure 2; 0012], the peripheral wall having an upper edge defining an opening into the interior space [top surface of tub 112 where light sensor 404 is positioned, Figure 4; 0019], the peripheral wall having a front wall, a rear wall, a first side wall, and a second side wall [where cooler 10 is configured as a generally rectangular box with four sidewall panels 206, Figure 2; 0012];
a lid [lid 114, Figure 1] being positionable on the housing and abutting the upper edge to selectively cover the opening [where switch 402 detects whether the lid 114 is closed when the lid applies pressure to the upper edge of tub 112, Figure 4; 0019], the lid being pivotably coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206 of tub 112, Figure 4];
a lighting mechanism being coupled to at least one of the housing and the lid, the lighting mechanism illuminating the interior space [where upper lights 202 and lower lights 204 positioned on sidewall panels 206 provide interior illumination, Figure 2; 0014], the lighting mechanism comprising:
a plurality of housing lights being coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall [where interior illumination for cooler 10 may be provided using upper lights 202 and lower lights 204 located on one or more sidewall panels 206 of tub 112; 0014];
a plurality of lid lights being coupled to an interior side of the lid, the plurality of lid lights being arranged across the interior side of the lid [where, in addition, other lights may be used such as lights positioned on an inner surface 216 of lid 114 for coolers with a large distance between sidewall panels 206; 0016]; the housing light of the plurality of housing lights being a string light [where lights 202 are light strips, visible Figure 2, where string light is interpreted in light of a plurality of spaced bulbs] wherein each housing light of the plurality of housing lights includes a plurality of bulbs [where the first light source comprises a strip of light-emitting diodes, Figure 2; claim 5] being spaced from each other [where the light emitting diodes are spaced along the light strip of light source 202, Figure 2];
a power mechanism being coupled to the lighting mechanism [electrical system 40 includes a power source 406 and a controller 408 connected to upper lights 202 and lower lights 204, Figure 4; 0020], the power mechanism comprising:
a housing power source [power source 406, Figure 4] being coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall panel 206, Figure 1; 0022], the housing power source being electronically coupled to the plurality of housing lights [where controller 408 is connected to switch 402, upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019];
an activation mechanism [where electrical system 40 includes automatic switch 402, Figure 4; 0019] being coupled to the lighting mechanism and the power mechanism [where controller 408 is connected to switch 402, upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019], the activation mechanism actuating the lighting mechanism [where if the switch 402 is on and ambient light is low the lights 202 and 204 turn on, Figure 5; 0023], the activation mechanism comprising:
a housing processor [controller 408, Figure 4] being coupled to the housing power source and to the plurality of housing lights [where controller 408 is connected to the upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019]; but
Statham does not teach where the plurality of housing lights is vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall.
However, Brown teaches a cooler adapted to receive a removable lighting assembly [0002] where a plurality of housing lights [where four elongate light members 51, 52, 53, and 54 extend down into the container 12, Figure 1] is vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall [where sidewall 16 has four sides defining four corners 21, 22, 23 and 24 with elongate recesses 31, 32, 33 and 34 for the light members, Figure 2; 0049; 0050], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing more continuous light along the height of the cooler [Statham, 0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham have where the plurality of housing lights is vertically arranged along each junction between the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the rear wall in view of the teachings of Brown where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing more continuous light along the height of the cooler [Statham, 0016].
Claim 1 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “to inhibit the plurality of housing lights from emitting heat into the interior space of said housing” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. The courts have held that: (1) "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and (2) a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP § 2114.
Statham does not teach a lid power source being coupled to the lid, the lid power source being electronically coupled to the plurality of lid lights, the lid power source comprising:
a solar panel being coupled to the exterior side of the lid; and
a battery being electronically coupled to the solar panel; and
Statham does not teach a lid processor being coupled to the lid power source and to the plurality of lid lights, the lid processor being configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights;
However, Partee teaches a solar energy storage cooler [cooler 900, Figure 9A; col. 1, lines 14-17] where a lid power source [energy storage component 983, Figure 9C] is coupled to the lid [below secure compartment 970 of lid 930, Figure 9C; col. 33, lines 14 - 32], the lid power source is electronically coupled to the plurality of lid lights [where the light interface module 1137 includes power drivers for interior lights 965, Figure 11; col. 36, lines 50-55], the lid power source comprising:
a solar panel [solar power source 810, Figure 9B] being coupled to the exterior side of the lid [lid 930, Figure 9B]; and
a battery [where the energy storage component 205 may be a lithium-ion battery; col. 7, lines 10-22 ] being electronically coupled to the solar panel [where solar energy supplies power to power inputs 227 and passes through charge controller 235 and input power converter 30 to energy storage component 205, Figure 2; col. 9 line 62 - col.10 line 8]; and
Partee further teaches a lid processor [processor 1125, Figure 11] being coupled to the lid power source [where the processor monitors the state of charge 215 of energy storage compartment 205, Figure 11; col. 40, lines 4-15] and to the plurality of lid lights [through light interface 1137, Figure 11], the lid processor being configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights [where processor 1125 can use the lid closure detector to turn on interior lights 965, Figure 9A; col. 45, lines 54-59],
where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., providing power redundancy such that the lid lights will function if the housing power source fails and connection to the electrical grid is unavailable [Partee, col. 1, lines 18-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to where a lid power source is coupled to the lid, the lid power source electronically coupled to the plurality of lid lights, the lid power source comprising: a solar panel being coupled to the exterior side of the lid; and a battery being electronically coupled to the solar panel; and a lid processor is coupled to the lid power source and to the plurality of lid lights, the lid processor configured to actuate the plurality of lid lights, in view of the teachings of Partee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., providing power redundancy such that lid lights will function if the housing power source fails and connection to the electrical grid is unavailable [Partee, col. 1, lines 18-35].
Statham does not teach a housing contact plate being coupled to the peripheral wall, the housing contact plate being electronically coupled to the housing processor, the housing contact plate being positioned on the upper edge along the rear wall; and
the lid contact plate being coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening.
However, Ebert teaches a lighting assembly to illuminate a portable storage case [col. 1, lines 5-9] a housing contact plate [passive field element 162, Figure 6] is coupled to the peripheral wall [sidewall 114, Figure 6];
a lid contact plate [nonmechanical field switch 160, Figure 6] being electronically coupled to the lid processor [where nonmechanical field switch 160 may be provided along the same circuit as the control board 156; col. 7, lines 18 - 31], the lid contact plate coupled to the lid [lid 124, Figure 6], the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening [where the nonmechanical field switch and passive field element are brought into engagement in the lid 124 closed position; col. 7, lines 43-51]; and
the lid processor [control board 156, Figure 5] actuating the plurality of housing lights and the plurality of lid lights [where multiple lighting elements are attached to lid 124 or case body 110; col. 5, lines 41 - 55] when the electrical circuit is opened whereby the plurality of housing lights and the plurality of lid lights illuminate the interior space [where in the open position, nonmechanical field switch 160 may close the circuit or otherwise permits the voltage to lighting assembly 136; col. 7, lines 18-31], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the substitution of mechanical switch for non-mechanical switches another and yield predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to where a housing contact plate is coupled to the peripheral wall, the housing contact plate is positioned on the upper edge along the rear wall; and a lid contact plate electronically coupled to the lid processor, the lid contact plate coupled to the lid, the lid contact plate being aligned with and touching the housing contact plate when the lid is covering the opening, in view of the teachings of Ebert where the substitution of two elements for another would have yielded predictable results, i.e., preventing mechanical wear associated with mechanical switches that may jam or stick with exposure to moisture and debris during travel.
Statham teaches the housing processor [controller 408, Figure 4] and lid processor [see Partee as applied above] are configured to actuate the plurality of housing lights and the plurality of lid lights [where, in addition, lights positioned on an inner surface 216 of lid 114 may be used for coolers with a large distance between sidewall panels 206; 0016] when the electrical circuit is opened whereby the plurality of housing lights and the plurality of lid lights illuminate the interior space [where controller 408 is connected to the upper lights 202, lower lights 204 and power source 406, Figure 4; 0019] but Statham does not teach where the housing contact plate is electronically coupled to the housing processor; the housing and lid contact plates close an electrical circuit between the housing processor and the lid processor when the housing contact plate is touching the lid contact plate, where the housing contact plate is positioned on the upper edge along the rear wall.
However, Lin teaches a hinge switch [hinge switch 102, Figure 4] where the housing contact plate [second electrical contact 120, Figure 4] is electronically coupled to the housing processor [processor 801, Figure 8]; the housing contact plate and lid contact plate [first electrical contact 110, Figure 4] close an electrical circuit between the housing processor [processor 801, Figure 8] and the lid processor [controller 830 with GPIO pin 831, Figure 8] when the housing contact plate is touching the lid contact plate [where when the first electrical contact 110 and second electrical contact 120 form an electrical connection, processor 801 asserts a signal to GPIO pin 831; 0037], where the housing contact plate is positioned on the upper edge along the rear wall [at A of device 100 base 141, Figure 3], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique of induction to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., coordinating functions in the lid and housing to reduce power consumption [Lin, 0025].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where the housing contact plate is electronically coupled to the housing processor; the housing and lid contact plates close an electrical circuit between the housing processor and the lid processor when the housing contact plate is touching the lid contact plate, where the housing contact plate is positioned on the upper edge along the rear wall in view of the teachings of Lin where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., coordinating functions in the lid and housing to reduce power consumption [Lin, 0025].
Statham does not teach where the electrical circuit transfers the electrical charge from the battery to the housing power source when the electrical circuit is closed,
However, Chen teaches a two body electronic apparatus [0007] where the electrical circuit [formed by first connector 114 and second connector 154 between first processor 115 and second processor 155; Figure 2;0038] transfers the electrical charge from the battery [first battery 218, Figure 2] to the housing power source [second battery 258] when the electrical circuit is closed [where the first body 210 and the second body 250 may provide power to each other through the first connector 114 and the second connector 154; 0038], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., optimizing energy usage by balancing power across separate battery systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where the electrical circuit transfers the electrical charge from the battery to the housing power source when the electrical circuit is closed in view of the teachings of Chen where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., optimizing energy usage by balancing power across separate battery systems.
Statham teaches a pair of handles [handles 116, Figure 1] coupled to one of the first and second side walls [sidewall panel 206, Figure 1; 0012], but does not teach where each of the pair of handles are pivotably coupled to one of the first and second side walls;
a lip is coupled to the interior surface of the peripheral wall;
a basket is removably positionable within the interior space, the basket being removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space;
wherein an exterior side of the lid has a well being formed therein, the well being configured to hold a beverage container; and
a latch has a first portion and a second portion, the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the front wall, the second portion being positioned on the lid, the first portion aligning with and being engageable with the second portion when the lid is covering the opening.
However, Ahlstrom teaches a cooler [cooler 10, Figure 12] where the handles [handles 130, an alternative embodiment of handles 30, Figure 12 and 13; 0078] are pivotably coupled [where rigid loop 131 mounts to channel 137, Figure 12 and 13; 0078]
a lip is coupled to an interior surface of the peripheral wall [where ledge 86 of cooler 10 sits along an inner surface, Figure 3; 0052];
where a basket [basket 84, Figure 3] is removably positionable within the interior space [where the basket may be placed in cooler 10; 0051] and the basket is removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space [where the basket 84 may be supported along ledge 86 along inner surface; 0052];
where an exterior side of the lid [lid 14, Figure 1] has a well [drink holders 80, Figure 1] formed therein, where the well is configured to hold a beverage container [where the lid may have a plurality of drink holders 80; 0048]; and
a latch having a first portion [catches 66, Figure 8] and a second portion [latches 62, Figure 8], the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the peripheral wall [where the catches 66 are on the front surface of cooler 10, Figure 8; 0050], the second portion being positioned on the lid [where the latches 62 extend from the lids grips 93, Figure 8; 0050], the first portion aligning with and being engageable with the second portion when the lid is covering the opening [where the latches 62 engage with the catches 66 to seal lid 14 to base 12, Figure 8; 0070] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., expanding the functionality of the cooler through accessories that increase storage space (e.g., beverage holders and a basket) and enhance portability (e.g. a latch and handles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Statham to have where each of the pair of handles are pivotably coupled to one of the first and second side walls; a lip is coupled to the interior surface of the peripheral wall; a basket is removably positionable within the interior space, and the basket is removably coupled to the lip when the basket is positioned in the interior space; wherein an exterior side of the lid has a well being formed therein, where the well is configured to hold a beverage container; and a latch has a first portion and a second portion, the first portion being positioned on an exterior surface of the front wall, the second portion being positioned on the lid, and the first portion aligns with and is engageable with the second portion when the lid is covers the opening in view of the teachings of Ahlstrom where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, i.e., expanding the functionality of the cooler through accessories that increase storage space (e.g., beverage holders and a basket) and enhance portability (e.g. a latch and handles).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2025 in regards to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 and 11 of the remarks regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) Applicant preemptively argues Statham does not teach arranging each housing light vertically along a corresponding junction, or corner, of the housing, wherein each housing light is a string light with a plurality of bulbs as amended. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2025 in regards to claim 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13-15 of the remarks, regarding the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. §103, Applicant argues that Statham in combination with Brown is not obvious because the continuous light as taught by Brown would result in heat emissions along the entire length of each of the four elongate light members and would render the prior art invention, a cooler, unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, Brown teaches a cooler [0002] and the light members [51,52,53 and 54, Figure 1] are comprised of a light emitting device such as a light emitting diode (LEDs) [0055]. Statham also teaches a cooler with lights [0012;0013] and discusses how LEDs do not create excess heat [0018]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a lighting feature from a cooler to another cooler without introducing excess heat. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
On page 15-16 of the remarks, Applicant further argues with respect to the amended claim 19 reciting string lights including a plurality of bulbs that modifying Brown in view of Statham would not render the limitation obvious because the light strips taught by Statham would need to be bent to cover the corners of the cooler, causing the same issues of reducing efficiency of the cooler. Applicant arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Applicant admits Statham teaches light strips, which appear to include bulbs which are spaced from each other along the length of each strip. Statham further teaches a vertical orientation of the light strips in Figure 6. Brown teaches the placement of vertical light members at the corners of the cooler, Figure 1, and may be comprised of a light emitting device such as a light emitting diode (LEDs), 0055. Statham discusses how LEDs are preferred because they do not create excess heat, 0018. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a lighting feature such as LED light strips as taught by Statham at the corners of a cooler as taught by Brown without introducing excess heat. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 2-4 and 8-18 except for their dependence upon claim 1. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763