Response to Amendment
This office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 12/10/2025. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 4 and 8-12 have been canceled. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL
The Office notes that there is a typo on page “Amendments to the claims” recites “Claims 1 and 9-13 are presently amended. Claims 7-8 are currently canceled.”, but it should be Claims 1 and 5 are presently amended. Claims 4, and 8-12 are currently canceled.
Response to Argument
Claim 1 have been amended to overcome the 112(b) rejection. Therefore, 112(b) rejection for claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Status of Claims
5. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1 is in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 20090328025– hereinafter Johnson), in view of Weigross (US 10956533 – hereinafter Weigross) and further in view of Ims (US 7,246,146 – hereinafter Ims).
Claim 1 is rejected, Johnson teaches a computerized method for automatically updating a legacy computer application comprising (Johnson, abstract and summary):
providing an automated application update tool (Johnson, US 20090328025, para [0008-0009], The invention utilizes a widget version manager, which can be part of a widget container, to automatically manage versions of widgets. In one embodiment, the widget version manager can intercept request for widgets from Web pages and can return responses according to a store of information that the manager maintains.);
configuring the automated application update tool to (Johnson, para [0008-0009].):
automatically log into a development environment used to update the legacy computer application (Johnson, para [0008-0009], The invention utilizes a widget version manager, which can be part of a widget container, to automatically manage versions of widgets. In one embodiment, the widget version manager can intercept request for widgets from Web pages and can return responses according to a store of information that the manager maintains.);
parse a computer application into a plurality of page elements (Johnson, para [0040], Listbox control 304 can be a list of the current widgets the user has on their mashup page. Para [0021-0025]. Para [0039-0040].);
identify one or more legacy elements of each page of the plurality of page elements(Johnson, para [0040], Selection 306 can illustrate that the user has selected the stock quotes widget. Para [0021-0025]. Para [0039-0040].);
identify each application elements to be updated extant on each page as provided in the first database of identified application elements to be updated(Johnson, para [0025], If so, the user can be optionally prompted to upgrade, as shown by step 170. In step 172, a widget version can be determined/acquired. This widget version is the same version last used by a requester having a historic record for that widget saved in data store 120, unless an upgrade was opted for (step 170). The widget version determined by step 172 is a version specified by the user/specific or general defaults can be used in step 172. In step 174, the determined widget version can be used to handle the quest 150. In step 176, the request history data store 120 can be updated to reflect a current date 123, and widget version 124 used by the requester 122, which affects how version manager 110 handles future requests. Para [0026], a mashup can be a Web application (or Web page) that uses content from more than one source to create a completely new service. Para [0039-0040], Listbox control 310 can be a list of the versions for the widget selected in selection 306. Selection 308 can illustrate that the user has selected version 0.2a of the stock quotes widget. Change log 316 can illustrate a preview of the changes for the selected version of the currently selected widget. Text 314 can illustrate the current version of the widget that the user is running. Upgrade conflicts 316 can list known compatibilities or differences in the currently selected widget version.);
automatically replace each application elements to be updated with a corresponding second database of updated application elements(Johnson, para [0021-0025], The determined version of the widget is executed, which produces response 152 for the original request 150. Para [0026], a mashup can be a Web application (or Web page) that uses content from more than one source to create a completely new service. Para [0039], Upgrade 306 can be a button in which can enable the upgrading of the widget to the newer version.); and
format an updated version of the legacy computer application to replace the legacy computer application(Johnson, para [0021-0025], The determined version of the widget is executed, which produces response 152 for the original request 150. Para [0026], a mashup can be a Web application (or Web page) that uses content from more than one source to create a completely new service. Para [0039-0040], Upgrade 306 can be a button in which can enable the upgrading of the widget to the newer version.).
Johnson does not explicitly teach
providing a first database of identified legacy application elements to be updated, wherein the identified legacy application elements comprise outdated user interface components of the legacy computer application;
providing a second database of updated application elements comprising modern- version user interface components to replace the identified legacy application elements to be updated;
using login credentials;
parse a computer application into a plurality of page elements by navigating through multiple pages of the legacy computer application;
navigate to subsequent pages of the legacy computer application using hyperlinks present on each page;
However, Weigross teaches
providing a first database of identified legacy application elements to be updated, wherein the identified legacy application elements comprise outdated user interface components of the legacy computer application (Weigross, US 10956533, column 1, line 46 to 61. Fig. 1 and column 2, line 21-23, The system queries user interface (UI) elements of the one or more desktop based legacy system applications. See operation 104.);
providing a second database of updated application elements comprising modern- version user interface components to replace the identified legacy application elements to be updated (Weigross, column 1, line 46 to 61. Fig. 1 and column 2, line 24-27, The system maps the UI elements of the one or more desktop based legacy system applications to HTML UI elements associated with the one or more HTML based applications. See operation 106.);
parse a computer application into a plurality of page elements by navigating through multiple pages of the legacy computer application(Weigross, column 3, line 14 to 22, By utilizing this technology, the system 204 may query all of the UI attributes of a legacy system application and map them correctly to a Web/HTML versions in order to transform Windows based UI elements to Web/HTML UI elements. On top of that, the system 204 opens a web-socket between the Web/HTML version of the application and the original Windows based application to transfer data and events based on user actions in the Web/HTML version and responses from the original Windows based application.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Weigross into Johnson to map the user interface (UI) elements of the desktop based legacy system application to HTML UI elements and to transfer responses from the desktop based legacy system application to the HTML based application as suggested by Weigross (See abstract and summary).
Johnson and Weigross do not explicitly teach
using login credentials;
navigate to subsequent pages of the legacy computer application using hyperlinks present on each page;
However, Ims teaches
using login credentials(Ims, column 7, line 54 to 57, This first screen is usually a logon screen. The user information is sent back and forth with each request and helps to map requests to host sessions open on the server.)
navigate to subsequent pages of the legacy computer application using hyperlinks present on each page(Ims, US 7,246,146, column 8, line 21 to 23, Referring still to FIG. 6, the current screen within the legacy host system is displayed to the user in box 618 within the frame window. The contents of box 618 change as the user navigates within the legacy host system. Column 7, line 59 to 67, Browser 502 displays the list of HREF style hot links 522 that represent each screen in the host system 506 as received from navigation system 510. An example of such a web page style navigation window is illustrated in FIG. 6. Each screen within the host system to which a user might wish to navigate is represented by a selectable "hot" link 602-612, which, when selected, such as by clicking with a mouse, sends a request to navigation system 510 to retrieve the appropriate screen within host system 506.);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Ims into Johnson and Weigross to receive demand for special contents from host. Existing files from host are then retrieved by server and formatted into XML or HTML. The formatted files are sent to host to retrieve special contents by host, using hypertext interconnection included in files as suggested by Ims (See abstract and summary).
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim1, Johnson, Weigross and Ims teach the computerized method of claim 1 further comprising:
configuring the automated application update tool to publish updated version of the computer application to a web-based service (Johnson, para [0023], The version data store 130 can include widget versioning information, such as a widget version identifier 132, a date 133 of release for that version, and version details 134. The version details 134 can specify changes for this version of the widget, known changes to a data source from which the widget pulls data, compatibility data with past versions, and the like. The user profile data store 140 can include request (i.e., user and/or requesting device) specific settings relating to widget version management. Para [0024-0025], In step 168, a query can be made to data stores 120 and 130 to determine if a new widget version has been added since a last request by this requestor. Para [0026], a mashup can be a Web application (or Web page) that uses content from more than one source to create a completely new service. Weigross, summary. ).
Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim2, Johnson, Weigross and Ims teach the computerized method of claim 2, wherein the application update tool comprises a password to the development environment (Johnson, para [0021], FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram showing a widget version manager 110 able to automatically manage mashup widget versions in accordance with an embodiment of the inventive arrangements disclosed herein. The widget version manager 110 can be part of a widget container 105. The widget version manager 110 can access a request history data store 120, a version data store 130, and/or a user profile data store 140. An actual location of each data store 120-140 is irrelevant, so long as the widget version manager 110 has access to that data store. Ims, column 7, line 54 to 57, This first screen is usually a logon screen. The user information is sent back and forth with each request and helps to map requests to host sessions open on the server.).
Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 3, Johnson, Weigross and Ims teach the computerized method of claim 3, wherein the wherein the automatic application update tool uses a natural language processing algorithm to determine an understanding of a content of each page of the computer application (Johnson, para [0008-0009], Mashups pull content from a URI addressable source and include an eventing mechanism to facilitate interactions with other mashup elements, which can include other widgets. ).
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Johnson, Weigross and Ims teach the computerized method of claim 5, wherein the automatic application update tool uses a machine learning functionality to optimize the understanding of the content of each page of the computer application (Johnson, para [0008], Mashups pull content from a URI addressable source and include an eventing mechanism to facilitate interactions with other mashup elements, which can include other widgets. Para [0009], Still another default action can be to query a user's profile (assuming one is maintained) for user specific settings and select a widget to use based upon these settings. Additionally, when a widget has been upgraded between the current request and the last use of the widget by the user, the user can be notified of the widget version update and can be presented an option to upgrade to the new version or not.).
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 6, Johnson, Weigross and Ims teach the computerized method of claim 6, wherein the automatic application update tool creates a modern looking version of each computer application page(Johnson, para [0002-0003], Mashup pages have become increasingly popular on the Web. A mashup page is a Web interface that combines data from more than one source into a single integrated interface. Many of these mashup pages employ the use of widgets to display content from different sources. Each widget controls the presentation characteristics of data from a given content generator (i.e., a URI addressable source). Interactions between widgets are provided through the use of eventing mechanisms.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199