DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a rotation mechanism that rotates the circular ring around a vertical axis in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hideki et al. (JP 2008-120883).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Hideki et al. discloses an olefin polymerization reactor (10) (see Machine Translation, paras. [0041]; [0042]; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a tubular powder container (10) forming a moving bed (MB) in which powder moves downward by gravity, and including a plurality of intermediate openings (i.e., the gaps between elements 20 and 12) provided spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction (see, paras. [0106]; [0108]; Figs. 1 and 2);
a gas container (12) that accommodates gas discharged from the plurality of intermediate openings (see paras. [0052]; [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2);
a powder feed pipe (L5) that feeds, to an upper portion of the tubular powder container, polyolefin powder or slurry containing polyolefin powder and olefin monomer liquid (see para. [0055]; Fig. 1);
a liquid feed pipe (L20) that feeds olefin monomer liquid to an inside of the tubular powder container (see para. [0053]; Fig. 1); and
a gas discharge pipe (L40) that discharges olefin monomer gas from the gas container to outside (see para. [0052]; [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein the tubular powder container (12) includes a plurality of unit tubes (30, 12) disposed side by side in the vertical direction, an axial direction of each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is disposed along the vertical direction, and the intermediate openings (i.e., the gap between elements 20 and 12) are formed between the unit tubes (30, 12) (see paras. [0106]; [0108]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization, wherein each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is a tapered tube of which outer diameter and inner diameter decrease downward (see para. [0042]; [0046]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization, wherein, in each pair of unit tubes (30, 12) adjacent to each other in the vertical direction, an upper end (20a) of a lower unit tube (30, 12) is set higher in position than a lower end (30b) of an upper unit tube (30, 12) (see para. [0115]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is disposed such that a lower portion (30b) of inner surface of each of the unit tubes is in contact with the moving bed (MB) and an upper portion of the inner surface of each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is not in contact with the moving bed (see para. [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein the liquid feed pipe (L20) includes a plurality of outlet openings (50) spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction in the tubular powder container (10) (see para. [0053]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein the liquid feed pipe (L20) includes a main pipe (L20) extending in the vertical direction and a plurality of branch pipes branching from the main pipe (see para. [0053]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein the main pipe (L20) is provided with a plurality of outlet openings (see para. [0053]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein a plurality of the liquid feed pipes is provided in the tubular powder container (10) so as to be spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and an olefin monomer liquid feed line (L20) is connected to each of the liquid feed pipes (see para. [0053]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, further comprising a hopper (65) that receives powder discharged from a lower-end opening of the tubular powder container (see para. [0056]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the reference Hideki et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, further comprising a baffle (20) for making a shape of a lower-end opening of the tubular powder container annular (see paras. [0049]; [0050]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, the reference Hideki et al. discloses a method for producing polyolefin using the olefin polymerization reactor (see paras. [0105]; [0113]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Claims 1-3, 7, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US 7,834,108).
Regarding claim 1, the reference et al. discloses an olefin polymerization reactor (10A) (see col. 7, lines 15-27; Fig. 4) comprising:
a tubular powder container (12) forming a moving bed in which powder moves downward by gravity (see col. 19, lines 9-30; Fig. 4), and including a plurality of intermediate openings (i.e., the gaps between elements 20 and 12) provided spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction (see, col. 7, lines 43-57; Figs. 4 and 5);
a gas container (12) that accommodates gas discharged from the plurality of intermediate openings (see, col. 7, lines 43-57; Figs. 4 and 5);
a powder feed pipe (L5) that feeds, to an upper portion of the tubular powder container, polyolefin powder or slurry containing polyolefin powder and olefin monomer liquid (see col. 9, lines 48-52; Fig. 4);
a liquid feed pipe (L20) that feeds olefin monomer liquid to an inside of the tubular powder container (see col. 9, lines 20-28; Fig. 4); and
a gas discharge pipe (L40) that discharges olefin monomer gas from the gas container to outside (see col. 9, lines 29-35; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein the tubular powder container (12) includes a plurality of unit tubes (30, 12) disposed side by side in the vertical direction, an axial direction of each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is disposed along the vertical direction, and the intermediate openings (i.e., the gap between elements 20 and 12) are formed between the unit tubes (30, 12) (see col. 7, lines 58-65; Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is a tapered tube of which outer diameter and inner diameter decrease downward (see col. 7, lines 58-65; Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, wherein each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is disposed such that a lower portion (30b) of inner surface of each of the unit tubes is in contact with the moving bed and an upper portion of the inner surface of each of the unit tubes (30, 12) is not in contact with the moving bed (see col. 7, lines 43-57; Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 14, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses the olefin polymerization reactor, further comprising a baffle (20) for making a shape of a lower-end opening of the tubular powder container annular (see col. 7, lines 43-57; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses a polyolefin production system comprising: the olefin polymerization reactor (10A) (see col. 7, lines 15-27; Fig. 4) ; a condenser (63-66) that condenses gas discharged from the gas discharge pipe (l40) to obtain olefin monomer liquid; and a pump (52) that feeds olefin monomer liquid obtained by the condenser to the liquid feed pipe (L20) (see col. 9, lines 12-28; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, the reference Ogawa et al. discloses a method for producing polyolefin using the olefin polymerization reactor (see col. 19, lines 1-30; Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Penick (US 4,705,621).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Hideki et al. is silent with respect to the branch pipes extending obliquely downward from the main pipe. The reference Penick teaches a catalytic reactor (10, 110) wherein a liquid phase is treated with a gaseous reactant in the presence of a fixed porous catalyst bed (15, 115), which is arranged in a sloped configuration within the catalytic reactor (10, 115) (see col. 1, lines 6-12; col. 2, lines 3-30; Figs. 1-2). The reference Penick further teaches that the catalytic reactor (10, 110) includes a liquid distributor means for distributing the liquid feed across a sloped surface of the catalyst bed (15, 115) (see col. 2, lines 7-21; Figs. 1-2). The reference Penick teaches that the liquid distributor means may include a main liquid feed pipe (12, 112) extending in the vertical direction and a plurality of branch pipes (20, 120) branching from the main pipe (12, 112), and wherein the branch pipes (20, 120) extend obliquely downward from the main pipe (see col. 2, lines 50-60; col. 5, lines 7-11; Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Penick, to modify the liquid feed pipe of Hideki et al. to include branch pipes extend obliquely downward from the main pipe as taught by Penick, and claimed by applicant, so as to facilitate uniform distribution of liquid across a sloped surface of the moving bed within the polymerization reactor Hideki et al., since the reference Penick teaches that such a modification advantageously allows for uniformly applying a liquid feed across a sloped surface of a porous catalyst bed (see col. 2, lines 7-21; Figs. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein each of the unit tubes is formed by a part of inner surface of the tubular powder container, and a partition plate disposed in the tubular powder container and horizontally partitioning an inside of the tubular powder container, and between each pair of unit tubes adjacent to each other in the vertical direction, a partition plate of a lower unit tube is disposed away from a partition plate of an upper unit tube in an outward direction of the upper unit tube, and the intermediate opening is formed between the partition plates, as recited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: a circular ring disposed outside of a lower-end portion of the tubular powder container and having an inner diameter larger than an inner diameter of a lower end of the tubular powder container; a hook member fixed to the circular ring and configured such that a tip end of the hook member enters a lower-end opening of the tubular powder container upward; and a rotation mechanism that rotates the circular ring around a vertical axis, as recited in claim 15.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774