DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because it should read “user’s neck”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, “said bi-directional C-shaped guide component” lacks antecedent basis. The guide component is not previously recited to be bi-directional.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by “in both directions”. The directions are not previously introduced.
Regarding claims 9-10, “said mechanical stop devices” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 6 and 8 depend from the above claim(s) and are rejected for the above reason as they do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,123,592 to Raymond.
Regarding claim 1, Raymond discloses a rigid C-shaped guide (10) engaging a shoulder carrying strap (3), said guide having means for being securely affixed to an upper portion of an upper body garment (H-shaped cutout – Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Raymond discloses wherein said C-shaped guide is oriented to prevent upward translation of such shoulder carrying strap toward a wearer's neck (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Raymond discloses wherein said C-shaped guide is oriented to prevent downward translation of said shoulder carrying strap off the user shoulder (Col. 4, lines 41-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raymond in view of US Patent 8,508,921 to Su.
Regarding claim 4, Raymond discloses a rigid, C-shaped guide member, but fails to disclose a separate guide member and base. However, Su discloses a mounting arrangement including a clip (11); a mounting base (10); and secure affixation means (Fig. 1 – connection between clip and base) between said clip and said mounting base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used a separate base and guide member in Raymond because it only involves constructing a formerly integral structure in various connected elements. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Further, the modification would allow for individual replacement of the guide member as needed.
Regarding claim 5, the combination from claim 4 discloses wherein said secure affixation means are alternately used to orient said bi directional C-shaped guide component (Su Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 6, the combination from claim 4 discloses wherein said C-shaped guide alternately prevents upward translation of said shoulder strap toward the user neck (Raymond Fig. 1) or downward translation of said shoulder strap off the shoulder (Raymond Col. 4, lines 41-45).
Regarding claim 7, the combination from claim 4 discloses wherein said mounting base comprises mechanical stop means (Su Fig. 1 – 1021, right/left) in both directions.
Regarding claim 8, the combination from claim 4 discloses cooperative sliding alignment provisions between said C-shaped guide and said mounting base (Su – 101/111).
Regarding claim 9, the combination from claim 4 discloses wherein said mechanical stop devices comprise over travel stops (Su – 1021, right/left) preventing said C-shaped guide component from disengaging from said mounting base upon application of force.
Regarding claim 10, the combination from claim 4 discloses wherein said mechanical stop devices comprise at least one cooperative locking tab (Su – 1111) and notch (Su – 1022).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose configurations similar to that disclosed by applicant.
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734