DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Request for Information under 37 CFR 1.105 No IDS was filed for this application. The applicant and/or the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application (see MPEP §§ 704.10 - 704.13). In response to this requirement, please provide a copy of any related and pertinent information, such as non-patent literature, published application(s) or patent(s) (U.S. or foreign), that was used to assist in the drafting of this application. The applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose information that is material to patentability (see 37 CFR § 1.56). A complete reply to the instant Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the instant Office action. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “branch point” of Claim 12 , and the “shuttle chamber provided between the first mixing chamber and the second mixing chamber” of Claims 2 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The instant Figures , such as Fig. 7, do not show any branching channel arrangement aside from the pneumatic channels. Further, the instant figures, such as Fig. 1, fail to show the shuttle chamber between the first/second mixing chambers, rather the chambers being arranged in a triangular arrangement. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 127 ” has been used to designate two separate channels such as in Fig. 7 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “ to transfer ultrasonic wave ” and should be amended to recite “ to transfer ultrasonic wave s ”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim s 1 and 19 , the claim s recite “a base”; however, this element is recited in isolation wherein the specific components of the device (channels, ports, and chambers) are not recited in relation to the base. As such, the cartridge is indefinitely arranged with respect to the base. Applicant may wish to include a recitation indicating the channels/chambers/ports are formed in the bas e and with respect to its recited surfaces . Further as in Claims 1 and 19 , the claims recite “accommodating a magnetic bead” and “accommodating a dry reagent” wherein it is unclear if the “accommodating” is intended to require that the bead/reagent be present as positively claimed elements, or if the “accommodating” is merely a capability of the chambers to accommodate the prospective contents. If the contents are intended as a positively required element, Applicant may wish to amend the claim to recite “ a magnetic bead/dry reagent contained in... ” instead of the chambers “accommodating”. (The term “accommodate” is interpreted broadly herein as “providing space for”.) Regarding Claim 5 , the claim recites “the shuttle channel comprises a siphon shape”. However, a “siphon” is not defined by a particular shape and affords numerous shapes which may result in a siphon ing action . The “siphon” aspect merely refers to the intended use of the shape to form a siphon flow without a pump. Applicant may wish to claim the particular shape, such as a n inverted U-shape. Examiner further notes that the instant filed specification does not particularly define what is meant by a “siphon shape” and the instant figures show a mostly straight channel configuration contrary to the inverted U-shaped arrangement normally understood as a siphon. Regarding Claim 12 , the claim recites “ wherein the mixing connection channel branches off from a branch point of the mixing channel connected to the lower portion of th e first mixing chamber ” wherein it is unclear at what position the branch point is located. Further, w here applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp. , 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The phrase “branches off from a branch point” in Claim 12 is contrary to the conventional meaning of branching channels , wherein one channel branches into two separate channels (forming a splitting or offshooting arrangement) . Instead, as seen through Applicant’s instant Fig. 7, such branching appears to refer to a mere narrowing of the channel 123 into the channel 127 contrary to the typical meaning of branching. Applicant may wish to amend the claim to instead recite a constriction point if in accordance with the instant disclosure. Further, given this singular channel arrangement see through Fig. 7, it is unclear how the limitations of Claim 11 are provided for, which requires a separate mixing channel connecting the metering chamber and the mixing chamber, wherein such connectivity provided by the mixing channel and the mixing connection channel with their respective separate chambers as in Claims 1 and 11 is an impossibility with the singular channel arrangement of Fig. 7. Claim 1 2 recites the limitation "the lower portion of the first mixing chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears Applicant intends the “a lower portion of the metering chamber and the first mixing chamber” of Claim 11, on which Claim 12 directly depends, to provide antecedence; however, it is unclear if the lower portion only refers to the metering chamber. Applicant may wish to amend Claim 11 to recite “a lower portion of the metering chamber and a lower portion of the first mixing chamber”. Claim 13 recites the limitations "the ultrasonic generator” and “the target analyte detection device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 1 4 recites the limitations "the heating unit” and “the target analyte detection device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. These elements of Claims 13 and 14 discussed above (generator, unit, device) do not appear to be positively required elements of the claimed cartridge and Applicant thereby may wish to cancel them from the claim and instead provide the specific structure of the cartridge affording such receivability of ultrasonic waves and heat in the respective chambers discussed by the claims. Claim 1 5 recites the limitation "the other side". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may wish to amend the claim to recite “ an other side”. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the height". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may wish to amend the claim to recite “ a height ”. Claim 17 recites “ a portion connected to the shuttle channel of the shuttle chamber ” and “ a portion connected to the mixing connection channel ” wherein it is unclear to which element the “a portion” is referring to. Applicant may intend “a portion of the shuttle/mixing channel” instead of “ connected to ”. Claim s 1, 18, and 20 recite the limitation "the fluid". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may wish to amend the claim to recite “ a fluid ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ririe et al. (US 2021/0095330 A1), hereinafter “ Ririe ”. Regarding Claim 1 , Ririe teaches a cartridge 10 for detecting a target analyte ( Fig. 1 and [0006]) , comprising: a base comprising a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and side surfaces connecting between the first surface and the second surface ( The annotated Fig. 1 below shows the surfaces of the cartridge 10 arranged commensurately as claimed.) ; a sample chamber into which a sample is introduced (See Fig. 1 showing the sample injection port 12 and the chamber 2 2 for receiving the sample. See also paras. [0039, 0047].) ; a first mixing chamber 58 connected to the sample chamber and accommodating a magnetic bead 56 (Fig. 1 and [0053]: “ The magnetic beads 56 are captured in blister 58 by a retractable magnet 50 ...”) ; a second mixing chamber 61 connected to the first mixing chamber 58 and accommodating a dry reagent ( Fig. 1 and [0057]: “ dried reagents may be spotted onto the location of blister 61 ” ) ; a shuttle chamber 62 connected to the second mixing chamber 61 for dissolving the dry reagent of the second mixing chamber 61 ( Fig. 1 – As the chamber 62 is commensurately structured as a mere “chamber” as claimed, said chamber 62 is thereby fully capable of performing the claimed dissolving function. ) ; a detection chamber 82 connected to the second mixing chamber 61 or the shuttle chamber 62 for detecting the target analyte (Fig. 1 and [0066]: “ The optics provided may be configured to capture images of all blisters 82 at once, or individual optics may be provided for each individual blister. ”) ; a mixing connection channel connecting the first mixing chamber 58 and the second mixing chamber 61 (See the annotated Fig. 1 below.) ; a shuttle channel connecting the second mixing chamber 61 and the shuttle chamber 62 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 below. ) ; a detection channel 78 connecting either the second mixing chamber 61 or the shuttle chamber 62 with the detection chamber 82 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 below. ) ; and a first pneumatic channel (Fig. 8 shows hoses 878 (the pneumatic channels) connecting the pressure source 895 to the pneumatic fittings (843a, for example) to provide gaseous communication therebetween for pressure actuation.) communicated with a first pneumatic port (Fig. 2a and [0045]: “... but individual blisters in the bladder assembly 710 include pneumatic fittings (illustratively fitting 724 a) allowing individual bladders within the bladder assembly 710 to be pressurized by a compressed gas source. ”) through which pneumatic pressure is supplied and connected to the second mixing chamber 61 ([0046]: “ When pouch 10 is placed within the instrument, the pneumatic bladder assembly 710 is pressed against one face of the pouch 10, so that if a particular bladder is inflated, the pressure will force the liquid out of the corresponding blister in the pouch 10. ” – See also para. [0057] regarding pressure actuation involving the mixing chamber 61. ) , wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is configured to dissolve the dry reagent in a sample solution provided from the first mixing chamber 58 ( Fig. 1 – As the chamber 62 is commensurately structured as a mere “chamber” as claimed, said chamber 62 is thereby fully capable of performing the claimed dissolving function. ) , and wherein the fluid in the second mixing chamber 61 is moved to the shuttle chamber 62 by positive pressure provided from the first pneumatic port, or the fluid in the shuttle chamber 62 is moved to the second mixing chamber 61 by negative pressure provided from the first pneumatic port ( Para. [0060] discusses increasing and decreasing the pressure in the second mixing chamber 61 and the shuttle chamber 62 to actuate a fluid contained therewithin between said second mixing chamber 61 and said shuttle chamber 62 to cause mixing. -- Examiner further notes that this recitation is drawn to a process recitation. As the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). ), as in Claim 1 . Further, Examiner generally notes that the variously designated channels, chambers, and ports of the device ( mixing channel, pneumatic port, etc.) are mere nominal designations not afforded particular patentable weight with regard to the function implied through the nominal designation. For example, the first/second mixing chambers are effectively claimed as mere chambers. Applicant must particularly point out and claim the specific structure which affords the sought function, such as a stirring mechanism within the mixing chambers for example. Regarding Claim 3 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the mixing connection channel directly connects the first mixing chamber 58 and the second mixing chamber 61 , and wherein the shuttle channel is separate from the mixing connection channel (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.), as in Claim 3. Regarding Claim 4 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 2 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is located below the second mixing chamber 61 (See Fig. 1, when the device is rotated 90 degrees clockwise, the shuttle chamber 62 is located below the second mixing chamber 62. The term “below” is a relative term having broad interpretation herein depending on the orientation of the device.), as in Claim 4. Regarding Claim 5 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle channel comprises a siphon shape (The “siphon shape” is indefinitely understood – see the 35 USC 112 section above. Herein, the “siphon shape” is interpreted as a U-shape, which is satisfied by the U-shape of the shuttle channel as seen through Fig. 1.), as in Claim 5. Regarding Claim 6 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle channel extends upward from a bottom of the second mixing chamber 61 and then extends downward through a U- shaped portion to be connected to the shuttle chamber 62 (Fig. 1 shows the siphon channel as having a U-shaped portion connecting the second mixing chamber to the shuttle chamber. Note that the terms “bottom” and “downward” are terms interpreted broadly herein depending on the orientation of the device wherein particularly orienting the device on its side satisfies the “bottom” and “downward” limitations.), as in Claim 6. Regarding Claim 7 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 2 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein a portion of the shuttle chamber 62 connected to the shuttle channel is located lower than a portion of the shuttle chamber 62 connected to the mixing connection channel ( Fig. 1 shows a portion of the shuttle chamber connected to the shuttle channel located lower than a portion of the shuttle chamber connected to the mixing connection channel depending on the orientation of the device, wherein the term “lower” is interpreted broadly herein depending on the orientation of the device. Additionally, the “portions” are interpreted broadly as mere arbitrary regions. ), as in Claim 7. Regarding Claim 8 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above further comprising a metering chamber connected to the sample chamber for quantifying the sample; a waste chamber connected to the metering chamber; and a waste channel connecting the metering chamber and the waste chamber (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.), as in Claim 8. Regarding Claim 9 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 8 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the first pneumatic channel is branched into a first branch channel and a second branch channel (Fig. 1 shows branching of the pneumatic channel 878 through the pneumatic valve assembly 808. – See also para. [0101].) , and wherein the first branch channel is connected to the second mixing chamber 61 ( Fig. 8 shows the piston 858 corresponding to a second mixing chamber, and Fig. 1 shows the pneumatic bladder 848 corresponding to the second mixing chamber. ) , and the second branch channel is connected to the waste channel (Fig. 2a shows gas bladder 726 connected to the waste channel , and Fig. 8 shows the piston 862 corresponding to the waste channel. ), as in Claim 9. Regarding Claim 10 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 9 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the metering chamber is connected to a junction where the first pneumatic channel is connected to the waste channel (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.) ; and wherein an angle between the first pneumatic channel and the waste channel is greater than an angle between the first pneumatic channel and a channel connected to the metering chamber at the junction (When viewed in the top-down view as in Fig. 1, the channel 38 fluidically connected to the channel junction has a lesser angle between itself and the pneumatic channel s of the valve assembly 808 compared with that of the waste channel. Further, different orientations of the device may afford different angles further satisfying the claim requirements. ), as in Claim 10. Regarding Claim 11 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 8 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above further comprising a mixing channel connecting a lower portion of the metering chamber and the first mixing chamber 58 (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.), as in Claim 11. Regarding Claim 12 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the mixing connection channel branches off from a branch point of the mixing channel connected to the lower portion of the first mixing chamber 58 ( Ririe teaches the branching channel arrangement in as much as is afforded by Applicant’s instant disclosure such as seen through Fig. 11 wherein such branching is not an offshoot/splitting of channels but rather two different portions of a same channel separated by an arbitrary point satisfied by the first mixing chamber 58 of Ririe . See further the 35 USC 112 section above. ), and wherein valves are respectively provided between the mixing channel and the mixing connection channel meet (the blister valve occluding the chamber 58) and the metering chamber (the valve 36) , and between the branch point and the shuttle chamber 62 (the valve 59) (See Fig. 1 showing the valves of the device as rectangles having diagonal lines.), as in Claim 12. Regarding Claim 13 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the second mixing chamber 61 comprises an ultrasonic receiving area adjacent to the ultrasonic generator of the target analyte detection device to transfer ultrasonic wave (As the second mixing chamber 61 of Ririe is commensurately structured as a “chamber”, it is commensurately fully capable of serving as an ultrasonic receiving area, given such ultrasonic receiving is provided as a mere “area” wherein the area in Ririe meets this limitation. Applicant may wish to claim the specific structure which corresponds/allows for ultrasonic receiving. See further the 35 USC 112 section above regarding the ultrasonic generator and the analyte detection device antecedent basis.), as in Claim 13. Regarding Claim 14 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the second mixing chamber 61 comprises a heat receiving area adjacent to the heating unit of the target analyte detection device to transfer heat (Similarly as above regarding Claim 13, a s the second mixing chamber 61 of Ririe is commensurately structured as a “chamber”, it is commensurately fully capable of serving as a heat receiving area, given such heat receiving is provided as a mere “area” wherein the area in Ririe meets this limitation. Applicant may wish to claim the specific structure which corresponds/allows for heat receiving. See further the 35 USC 112 section above regarding the heating unit and the analyte detection device antecedent basis. ), as in Claim 14. Regarding Claim 15 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is located below the second mixing chamber 61 ( See Fig. 1, when the device is rotated 90 degrees clockwise, the shuttle chamber 62 is located below the second mixing chamber 62. The term “below” is a relative term having broad interpretation herein depending on the orientation of the device. ) , the mixing connection channel is connected to one side of the shuttle chamber (See the annotated Fig. 1 above showing the mixing connection channel connected indirectly to one side of the shuttle chamber.) , and the shuttle channel is connected to the other side opposite to the one side of the shuttle chamber 62 (See the annotated Fig. 1 above showing the shuttle channel connected to the other side opposite the one side. ), as in Claim 15. Regarding Claim 16 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 15 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is provided with a width in a horizontal direction larger than the height in a vertical direction (Fig. 6 shows the chambers of the device having a width dimension greater than a height/depth dimension.), as in Claim 16. Regarding Claim 17 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 15 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein a portion connected to the shuttle channel of the shuttle chamber 62 is located lower than a portion connected to the mixing connection channel of the shuttle chamber 62 ( Fig. 1 shows a portion of the shuttle chamber connected to the shuttle channel located lower than a portion of the shuttle chamber connected to the mixing connection channel depending on the orientation of the device, wherein the term “lower” is interpreted broadly herein depending on the orientation of the device. Additionally, the “portions” are interpreted broadly as mere arbitrary regions. ), as in Claim 17. Regarding Claim 18 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above further comprising a second pneumatic channel communicated with a second pneumatic port through which pneumatic pressure is supplied and connected to the first mixing chamber 58 ( Fig. 9 and [0053]: “... applying pressure to blister 58 ...” ) , and wherein the fluid in the second mixing chamber 61 is moved to the shuttle chamber 62 by positive pressure provided from the first pneumatic port, and the fluid in the shuttle chamber 62 is moved to the second mixing chamber 61 by positive pressure provided from the second pneumatic port ( Para. [0060] discusses increasing and decreasing the pressure in the second mixing chamber 61 and the shuttle chamber 62 to actuate a fluid contained therewithin between said second mixing chamber 61 and said shuttle chamber 62 to cause mixing. -- Examiner further notes that this recitation is drawn to a process recitation. As the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). ), as in Claim 18. Regarding Claim 19 , Ririe teaches a cartridge 10 for detecting a target analyte ( Fig. 1 and [0006]) , comprising: a base comprising a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and side surfaces connecting between the first surface and the second surface ( The annotated Fig. 1 above shows the surfaces of the cartridge 10 arranged commensurately as claimed. ) ; a sample chamber into which a sample is introduced ( See Fig. 1 showing the sample injection port 12 and the chamber 22 for receiving the sample. See also paras. [0039, 0047]. ) ; a metering chamber connected to the sample chamber for quantifying the sample (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.) ; a first mixing chamber 58 connected to the metering chamber and accommodating a magnetic bead 56 ( Fig. 1 and [0053]: “The magnetic beads 56 are captured in blister 58 by a retractable magnet 50...” ) ; a liquid storage chamber 48 connected to the first mixing chamber 58 and storing a liquid (Fig. 1 and [0053]: “ The individual components needed for nucleic acid extraction illustratively reside in blisters 44, 46, 48 ...”) ; a second mixing chamber 61 connected to the first mixing chamber 58 and a ccommodating a dry reagent ( Fig. 1 and [0057]: “dried reagents may be spotted onto the location of blister 61” ) ; a shuttle chamber 62 connected to the second mixing chamber 61 for dissolving the dry reagent of the second mixing chamber 61 ( Fig. 1 – As the chamber 62 is commensurately structured as a mere “chamber” as claimed, said chamber 62 is thereby fully capable of performing the claimed dissolving function. ) ; a detection chamber 82 connected to the second mixing chamber 61 for detecting the target analyte ( Fig. 1 and [0066]: “The optics provided may be configured to capture images of all blisters 82 at once, or individual optics may be provided for each individual blister.” ) ; a metering channel connecting the sample chamber and the metering chamber (See the annotated Fig. 1 above.) ; a mixing channel connecting the metering chamber and the first mixing chamber 58 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 above. ) ; a mixing connection channel connecting the first mixing chamber 58 and the second mixing chamber 61 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 above. ) ; a liquid transport channel connecting the liquid storage chamber 48 and the first mixing chamber 58 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 above. ) ; a shuttle channel connecting the second mixing chamber 61 and the shuttle chamber 62 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 above. ) ; a detection channel connecting the second mixing chamber 61 and the detection chamber 82 ( See the annotated Fig. 1 above. ) ; and a first pneumatic channel communicated with a first pneumatic port through which pneumatic pressure is supplied and connected to the second mixing chamber ; and a second pneumatic channel communicated with a second pneumatic port throu gh which pneumatic pressure is supplied and connected to the first mixing chamber ( See Fig. 7 showing pneumatic bladder 844 corresponding to the first mixing chamber, and pneumatic bladder 848 corresponding to the second mixing chamber, each respective bladder comprising a pneumatic fitting/port 844a/848a to which a pneumatic channel is connected. ), as in Claim 19. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 2 and 20 , as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ririe . Ririe has been discussed above. Regarding Claim 2 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the mixing connection channel connects the first mixing chamber 58 and the shuttle chamber 6 2 (See the annotated Fig. 1 above, wherein the term “connects” is interpreted as requiring providing fluid communication between.), as in Claim 2. Further regarding Claim 2 , Ririe does not specifically teach the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is provided between the first mixing chamber 58 and the second mixing chamber 61 , as in Claim 2. However, mere change in orientation or position of elements absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Herein, one skilled in the art would not expect the device to function differently upon merely rearranging the position of the shuttle chamber wherein the particular sequence/connectivity of channels and chambers remains the same , and thus such location of the shuttle chamber relative to the first mixing chamber and second mixing chamber represents an obvious matter of design choice. Regarding Claim 20 , the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 19 as discussed above. Further, Ririe teaches the cartridge discussed above wherein the mixing connection channel and the shuttle channel are respectively connected to the shuttle chamber 62 (See the annotated Fig. 1 above, and further note that the mixing connection channel is indirectly connected to the shuttle chamber.) , and wherein the fluid in the second mixing chamber 61 is moved to the shuttle chamber 62 by positive pressure provided from the first pneumatic port, and the fluid in the shuttle chamber 62 is moved to the second mixing chamber 61 by positive pressure provided from the second pneumatic port ( Para. [0060] discusses increasing and decreasing the pressure in the second mixing chamber 61 and the shuttle chamber 62 to actuate a fluid contained therewithin between said second mixing chamber 61 and said shuttle chamber 62 to cause mixing. -- Examiner further notes that this recitation is drawn to a process recitation. As the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). ), as in Claim 20 . Further regarding Claim 20 , Ririe does not specifically teach the cartridge discussed above wherein the shuttle chamber 62 is provided between the first mixing chamber 58 and the second mixing chamber 61 , as in Claim 20. However, mere change in orientation or position of elements absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Herein, one skilled in the art would not expect the device to function differently upon merely rearranging the position of the shuttle chamber wherein the particular sequence/connectivity of channels and chambers remains the same , and thus such location of the shuttle chamber represents an obvious matter of design choice. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi, can be reached at telephone number ( 571 ) 270-3638 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is ( 571 ) 273-8300 . Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300): “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center ; and visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call ( 800 ) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or ( 571 ) 272-1000. /B.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798 /NEIL N TURK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798