DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on November 11, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 3, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on November 3, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/522474 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compound of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘474 application as evidenced by compound 17 in claim 14 of the ‘474 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/298802 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compound of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘802 application as evidenced by compound 21 in claim 14 of the ‘802 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10 – 12, and 14 – 20 of copending Application No. 17/683665 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compound of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 30-1 to 30-6 in claim 1 of the ‘665 application as evidenced by compound 45 in claim 16 of the ‘665 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US20220140259A1).
As per claims 1 – 8, and 10 – 13, Tsai teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein M1 is a transition metal, L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Tsai teaches compounds containing ligand LA
(Abstract). A particular compound taught by Tsai is compound
on Page 258. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is Ir; n1 is 2; n2 is 1; ring CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene group as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 5; X1 and X3 are N; X2 and X4 are C; X11 to X14 and X43 to X46 are all C(R); Y1 is O; R12 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3) where Q1 – Q3 are all a C1 alkyl group, namely -CH3 as required by claim 12, so that the ring is represented by Formula 1-2 in claim 4; R32, R33, and R46 are an C1 alkyl group substituted with deuterium, namely CD3 as required by claims 11 and 12; R45 is a C6 aryl group substituted with a combination of deuterium, alkyl and cycloalkyl groups; the remaining R groups, including R13 as required by claim 8, are hydrogen. Formula 1A is represented by Formula 1A-2 in claim 6. The compound is represented by Formula 5-1 in claim 13.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 9 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US20220140259A1) as applied to claims 1 – 8 and 10 – 13 above.
As per claims 9, Tsai teaches that other substituents off of the dibenzofuran group conjugated to the Iridium based core can include biphenyl groups, such as in compound
on Page 254. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the substituent of the compound above with the biphenylene substituent so that R45 is a group represented by Formula 10-61
, as required by claim 9.
Tsai includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Tsai being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of narrower FWHM and higher efficiency ([0182]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15, 16, and 19 Tsai teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region arranged between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0122]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, a cathode 160, and a barrier layer 170.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound ([010]: “In some embodiments, the organic layer may be an emissive layer and the compound as described herein may be an emissive dopant or a non-emissive dopant.”)
Tsai teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Tsai as Tsai demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 17, Tsai teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host ([0109]: “In some embodiments, the emissive region further comprises a host.”)
An amount of the host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the at least one of the organometallic compound in the emission layer, based on weight (In the Example device, as described in paragraph [0180], the host material is provided as the majority component in the emissive layer.)
As per claim 18, Tsai teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits a green light having a maximum emission wavelength of about 490 nm to about 550 nm (In [0180], Tsai teaches that the emitter materials are green, which is interpreted as providing light within the claimed wavelength.)
As per claim 20, Tsai teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is an electronic apparatus, Tsai meets the claimed limitations.)
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20170069848A1) in view of Hwang (US20200181184A1).
As per claims 1 – 14, Zeng teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
, wherein M1 is a transition metal, L1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A
and L2 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B
(Zeng teaches compounds of Formula II
([0027]). A particular compound taught by Zeng is compound F14
([0124]). While compound F14 does not contain the claimed silyl group, in Formula II, Zeng teaches that R10 may be selected from silyl groups ([0032]). Furthermore, Hwang teaches ligands of Formula 2B ([0012]). Hwang teaches that the silyl group in the fifth position of the pyridine ring provides excellent heat resistance and decomposition resistance characteristics to the compound, resulting in devices with high stability and long lifespan ([0184]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide compound F14 above with a silyl group and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is Ir; n1 is 2; n2 is 1; ring CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene group as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 5; X1 and X3 are N; X2 and X4 are C; X11 to X14 and X43 to X46 are all C(R); Y1 is O; R12 is -Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3) where Q1 – Q3 are all a C1 alkyl group, namely -CH3 as required by claim 12, so that the ring is represented by Formula 1-2 in claim 4; R32, and R33 are an C1 alkyl group substituted with deuterium, namely CD3 as required by claims 11 and 12; the remaining R groups, including R13 as required by claim 8, are hydrogen. Formula 1A is represented by Formula 1A-2 in claim 6. The compound is represented by Formula 5-1 in claim 13. The compound is the same as compound 1 in claim 14
.)
Zeng includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Zeng being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of high efficiency and long lifetime ([0019]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E). It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific compound of Zeng with a silyl group motivated by the desire to predictably provide excellent heat resistance and decomposition resistance characteristics to the compound, resulting in devices with high stability and long lifespan as taught by Hwang ([0184]).
As per claims 15, 16, and 19 Zeng teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region arranged between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination thereof, and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0074]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, a cathode 160, and a barrier layer 170.”)
Wherein the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound ([0133]: “According to another aspect of the present disclosure, an OLED is disclosed, wherein the OLED comprises an anode; a cathode; and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode. The organic layer comprises a composition of material comprising a mixture of a first compound and a second compound… wherein the second compound … having a structure according to Formula II.” & [0145]: “In some embodiments of the OLED, the organic layer is an emissive layer.”)
Zeng teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Zeng as Zeng demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 17, Zeng teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host ([0096]: “A novel combination of host compounds containing indol-fused hosts and emissive dopants containing benzofuran or azabenzofuran ligand is disclosed.”)
An amount of the host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the at least one of the organometallic compound in the emission layer, based on weight (In the Exmperimental Device, as described in [0192], the host is provided as the majority component as claimed.
As per claim 18, Zeng teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits a green light having a maximum emission wavelength of about 490 nm to about 550 nm (Table 2 shows that compounds of Formula II emit light in the green region, which is interpreted as reading on the claimed wavelengths.)
As per claim 20, Zeng teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0145]: “In some embodiments of the OLED, the OLED is incorporated into a device selected from the group consisting of a consumer product, an electronic component module, and a lighting panel.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789