Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhang et al. (CN208509194U), cited by applicant in view of Anklesaria (US 7,808,392 B1) previously cited and Mayfield (US 11/212,929 B2).
Re claim 1: Zhang et al. teaches an electronic device, comprising: a device assembly (200) including a housing *exterior portion or (200); a first magneto coupler (210) coupled to the housing; a clip member (10) having a second magneto coupler (34); wherein the second magneto coupler of the clip member is capable of being magnetically coupled to the first magneto coupler that is coupled to the housing (paragraph [0025]), the clip member and the housing together forming a clipping device, the clip member configured to form a closed end of the clipping device with the housing (see figure 1 in which the clip member (10) has a V-shape one end of which is a closed end and in which can be attached to the housing), the second magneto coupler being disposed proximate to the closed end of the clipping device (see figure 1); wherein the clipping device allows the housing to be attached to, and detached from, an edge of a non-metallic or non-magnetic item (such as a collar, paragraph [0008], the closed end of the clipping device configured to prevent the edge of the non-metallic or non-magnetic item from passing completely through the clipping device. Zhang et al. does not specifically teach as set forth that the magnetic coupling of the second magneto coupler to the first magneto coupler allows the housing to be attached to a non-edge portion of anon-metallic or non- magnetic item when the item is placed between the first magneto coupler and the clip member, the non-edge portion of the non-metallic or non-magnetic item being located inwardly from an edge of the non-metallic or non-magnetic item by a distance that is greater than a longest dimension of the clip member. Anklesaria teaches in a similar environment a clipping arrangement formed by first and second magnetic couplers (42 and 46) wherein the clipping device allows a housing (43) to be attached to a non-edge portion of a non-metallic or non- magnetic item when the item is placed between the first magneto coupler and the clip member (see figure 2, noting that the attachment to the clothing can take place anywhere, .e.g. at an edge of the clothing or somewhere within the clothing spaced from an edge) the non-edge portion of the non-metallic or non-magnetic item being located inwardly from an is edge of the non- metallic or non-magnetic item by a distance that is greater than a longest dimension of the clip member (when the magnetic coupling arrangement is made to the clothing spaced from the edge by a distance that is greater than a longest dimension of the clip member. Note there is no strap connecting element (47) to element (44) that would limit where on a piece of clothing the device can be clipped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Anklesaria into the arrangement of Zhang et al. to predictably provide an arrangement that not only is capable of clipping a device to an edge of clothing but also to non-edge portions of clothing making a device more versatile in its placement of attachment to clothing. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention. Additionally claim 1 now sets forth by amendment that the magnetic coupler is disposed on an end portion of the clip member instead of a middle location as taught in Zhang et al. Mayfield teaches in a similar environment that clipping devices can include magneto coupler disposed on end portions of a clip member (see arrangement in figures 1-3) providing an alternative placement of a coupler performing a similar clipping operation. It would have been obvious before the filing of the invention by one of ordinary skill in the art to relocate the couples as taught by Zhang et al.in the arrangement of Zhang et al. and Anklesaria as applied to predictably provide an alternative location of the couplers in or on the clip member to perform a similar operation of clipping. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 4: Note in Zhang et al. figures 1 and 2 elements (34) and (210) are magnets as indicated by the designation S/N and N/S
6. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN208509194U), cited by applicant in view of Anklesaria (US 7,808,392 B1) and Mayfield as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Ellis et al. (US 9,265,294 B2), previously cited.
Re claims 2: The teaching of Zhang et al. in view of Anklesaria and Mayfield is discussed above and incorporated herein. Additionally note Anklesaria discloses that arrangement taught therein can be used to attach any type of electronic component (column 3, lines 27-30) but not specifically stating a speaker. Ellis et al. teaches in a similar environment that one possible electronic component that can be attached to a garment can be a speaker, speaker assembly (which inherently includes a transducer and any magnet of the speaker separate from the magneto couplers to produce audio), column 5, lines 28-32 providing an additional use of providing audio to a user of the garment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Ellis et al. into the arrangement of Zhang et al. in view of Anklesaria and Mayfield as applied to predictably provide audio to the user of the garment. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
7. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN208509194U), cited by applicant in view of Anklesaria (US 7,808,392 B1) and Mayfield as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Pillarisetty et al., previously cited.
Re claims 3: The teaching of Zhang et al. in view of Anklesaria and Mayfield is discussed above and incorporated herein. Additionally note Anklesaria discloses that arrangement taught herein can be used to attach any type of electronic component (column 3, lines 27-30) , but does not specifically state a camera system. Pillarisetty et al. teaches in a similar environment that one possible electronic component that can be attached to a garment can be a camera system (which inherently includes an image assembly), column 5, lines 9-10 providing an additional use of providing images for a user of the garment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Pillarisetty et al. into the arrangement of Zhang et al. in view of Anklesaria and Mayfield as applied to predictably provide images for a user of the garment. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
8. Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN208509194U), cited by applicant in view of Anklesaria (US 7,808,392 B1) and Mayfield as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Harchol., previously cited.
Re claims 5-6: The teaching of Zhang et al. in view of Anklesaria and Mayfield as applied is discussed above and incorporated herein. Zhang et al. and Anklesaria do not teach that either the second magnetic coupler (claim 5) or the first magnetic coupler (claims 6) is a ferromagnetic metal. Harchol teaches in a similar environment that magnetic couplers can include ferromagnetic materials (such as iron) paragraph [0028] as an alternative to a magnet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to substitute either magneto coupler (magnet) taught in Zhang et al., Anklesania and Mayfield as applied with a ferromagnetic coupler as taught by Harchol to predictably provide an alternative arrangement of magnetic attraction between elements. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-30 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U. S. C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly discovery prior art (Mayfield) satisfying the newly recited features in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 7/29/26