DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 17-22, 27-33, 35-37, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruyama et al. (US 2006/0028095).
With respect to claim 1, Maruyama et al. discloses a vibration apparatus (Figs 6 and 11), comprising: a conductive substrate (item 13); at least one vibration layer (items #1 to #9) at one surface of the conductive substrate (Fig 6); and at least one electrode layer (items IE1 to IE 8) at one surface of the at least one vibration layer (Fig 6), wherein the at least one vibration layer and the at least one electrode layer are alternately arranged in a stack on the surface of the conductive substrate (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 2, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one vibration layer is configured to vibrate in response to signals applied to the conductive substrate and the at least one electrode layer (Paragraph 42).
With respect to claim 3, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conductive substrate is connected to a first signal line, and wherein an electrode layer among the one or more electrode layers adjacent to the conductive substrate is connected to a second signal line different from the first signal line (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 4, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one vibration layer is a plurality of vibration layers, and the at least one electrode layer is a plurality of electrode layers, or wherein the at least one electrode layer is provided to be equal to the number of the at least one vibration layer (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 5, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein a first electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers is connected to a first signal line and a second electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers is connected to a second signal line (Fig 6), and wherein the first electrode layer is adjacent to the second electrode layer and the second signal line is different from the first signal line (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 6, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first signal line and second signal line are connected to a driver arranged to apply a first voltage signal to the first signal line and a second voltage signal to the second signal line (Fig 6), and wherein the second voltage is different from the first voltage (Fig 6), or wherein a difference between the first voltage signal and the second voltage signal alternates between a positive voltage and a negative voltage (Paragraph 112), and/or wherein a magnitude of a difference between the first voltage signal and the second voltage signal varies with time (Paragraph 112).
With respect to claim 7, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conductive substrate is configured to be supplied with a different voltage to an electrode layer adjacent to the conductive substrate among the one or more electrode layers such that a potential difference is applied across a vibration layer of the one or more vibration layers sandwiched between the conductive substrate and the electrode layer adjacent to the conductive substrate (Figs 1B and 6, wherein the specifics of the signals applied to the vibration apparatus do not further limit the structural features of the device and are related to operational aspects of the device, and the device of Maruyama et al.is “configured to” received the claimed signals).
With respect to claim 8, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 2, wherein the conductive substrate is configured to be supplied with a signal having a polarity different from a polarity of a signal supplied to an electrode layer adjacent to the conductive substrate among the one or more electrode layers (Fig 6, wherein the specifics of the signals applied to the vibration apparatus do not further limit the structural features of the device and are related to operational aspects of the device, and the device of Maruyama et al.is “configured to” received the claimed signals).
With respect to claim 9, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein two adjacent electrode layers of the plurality of electrode layers are configured to be supplied with a different voltage to each other such that a potential difference is applied across a vibration layer of the one or more vibration layers sandwiched between the two adjacent electrode layers (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 10, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein two adjacent electrode layers of the plurality of electrode layers are configured to be supplied with signals having different polarities (Fig 6, wherein the specifics of the signals applied to the vibration apparatus do not further limit the structural features of the device and are related to operational aspects of the device, and the device of Maruyama et al.is “configured to” received the claimed signals).
With respect to claim 12, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more signal lines electrically coupled to the conductive substrate and the at least one electrode layer (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 14, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein two adjacent electrode layers of the plurality of electrode layers are electrically insulated from each other by a corresponding vibration layer of the plurality of vibration layers disposed between the two adjacent electrode layers (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 17, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein each electrode layer has a size different from a size of at least one adjacent vibration layer of the plurality of vibration layers, or has a size less than or equal to a size of the at least one adjacent vibration layer (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 18, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 17, wherein each electrode layer has a size less than a size of a corresponding vibration layer of the plurality of vibration layers and is disposed centrally on the corresponding vibration layer (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 19, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers further comprises a contact pattern (items R1 to R4) extending to the corresponding vibration layer and being exposed at an outside of the stack (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 20, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 19, wherein the contact pattern of each electrode layer does not overlap a contact pattern of an adjacent electrode layer among the plurality of electrode layers (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 21, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 19, further comprising at least one signal line electrically coupled to the conductive substrate and at least one contact pattern of the plurality of electrode layers (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 22, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conductive substrate and an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers are supplied with signals having different polarities (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 27, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 22, further comprising at least one signal line electrically coupled to the conductive substrate and the uppermost electrode layer (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 28, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of vibration layers are unimorph-driven or bimorph-driven (Paragraph 86).
With respect to claim 29, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the one surface of the conductive substrate further comprises a patterned surface including a plurality of convex and/or concave features (Figs 11A-11D, wherein the right angle portions between the electrodes IE and lands R1-R4 include concave portions on both sides of the lands R1-R4).
With respect to claim 30, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 29, wherein the patterned surface overlaps the plurality of vibration layer (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 31, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the vibration layers comprises a three or more-angled polygonal shape, a non-tetragonal shape, a circular shape, or an oval shape (Figs 11A-11D).
With respect to claim 32, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the vibration layers comprises a piezoelectric material (items #1 to #9).
With respect to claim 33, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conductive substrate comprises one or more materials of an alloy of iron and nickel, stainless steel, aluminum, magnesium, a magnesium alloy, and an aluminum alloy ()Paragraph 5).
With respect to claim 35, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one vibration layer comprises a first piezoelectric material layer (item #9), a second piezoelectric material layer (item #8) and a third piezoelectric material layer (item #7), wherein the at least one electrode layer comprises a first electrode layer (item IE8), a second electrode layer (item IE7) and a third electrode layer (item IE6), wherein the conductive substrate and the second electrode layer are configured to be connected to a first voltage supply line (Fig 6), and wherein the first electrode layer and the third electrode layer are configured to be connected to a second voltage supply line different from the first voltage supply line (Fig 6) such that the first, second and third piezoelectric material layers vibrate in a thickness direction of the conductive substrate in response to application of first and second voltage signal, respectively, to the first and second voltage supply lines (Fig 6, paragraph 86).
With respect to claim 36, Maruyama et al. discloses a display apparatus (Figs 20-21), comprising: a display panel (item 61); and one or more vibration generating apparatuses (items 100-100b) configured to vibrate the display panel (Fig 21), wherein each of the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprises: a conductive substrate (Fig 6, item 13); at least one vibration layer (items #1 to #9) at one surface of the conductive substrate (Fig 6); and at least one electrode layer (items IE1 to IE8) at one surface of the vibration layer (Fig 6), and wherein the vibration layer and the electrode layer are alternately arranged in a stack on the surface of the conductive substrate (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 37, Maruyama et al. discloses the display apparatus of claim 36, wherein the display panel comprises a display part (item 61) between a base member (item 70) and a plate member (items 100a-100b), and wherein the plate member is provided as the conductive substrate of the vibration apparatus (Fig 6).
With respect to claim 39, Maruyama et al. discloses the display apparatus of claim 37, wherein the display panel comprises a first region and a second region, and wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise: a first vibration generating apparatus (item 100a) in the first region; and a second vibration generating apparatus (item 100b) in the second region (Fig 21).
With respect to claim 40, Maruyama et al. discloses the display apparatus of claim 39, further comprising a partition dividing the first region and the second region of the display panel (Fig 21, wherein there are numerous features that may be considered a “partition” between the first and second regions, including the screen itself)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al. in view of Kijima et al. (US 2018/0233653).
With respect to claim 11, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4.
Maruyama et al. does not disclose a protection layer disposed at the one surface of the conductive substrate and covering the plurality of vibration layers and the plurality of electrode layers.
Kijima et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus including a protection layer (items 47 and 55) disposed at the one surface of the conductive substrate and covering the plurality of vibration layers and the plurality of electrode layers (Fig 2).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the protection layer of Kijima et al. with the vibration apparatus of Maruyama et al. for the benefit of covering the conductors such that they are less exposed (Paragraph 68 of Kijima et al.).
With respect to claim 13, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 12.
Maruyama et al. does not disclose a protection layer covering a portion of the one or more signal lines, the at least one vibration layer, and the at least one electrode layer.
Kijima et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus including a protection layer (items 47 and 55) covering a portion of the one or more signal lines, the at least one vibration layer, and the at least one electrode layer (Fig 2).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the protection layer of Kijima et al. with the vibration apparatus of Maruyama et al. for the benefit of covering the conductors such that they are less exposed (Paragraph 68 of Kijima et al.).
With respect to claim 15, Maruyama et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4.
Maruyama et al. does not disclose an insulation layer at the one surface of the conductive substrate, the insulation layer including an opening region exposing a portion of the one surface of the conductive substrate, wherein the plurality of vibration layers overlap the opening region of the insulation layer.
Kijima et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus including an insulation layer (items 47 and 55) at the one surface of the conductive substrate, the insulation layer including an opening region exposing a portion of the one surface of the conductive substrate (Fig 2), wherein the plurality of vibration layers overlap the opening region of the insulation layer (Fig 2).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the insulation layer of Kijima et al. with the vibration apparatus of Maruyama et al. for the benefit of covering the conductors such that they are less exposed (Paragraph 68 of Kijima et al.).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Maruyama et al. and Kijima et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 15. Kijima et al. discloses that the insulation layer surrounds a vibration layer adjacent to the conductive substrate among the plurality of vibration layers (Fig 2), and wherein the conductive substrate and an electrode layer adjacent to the conductive substrate among the plurality of electrode layers are electrically insulated from each other by the vibration layer adjacent to the conductive substrate and the insulation layer (Fig 2).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al. in view of Yeh et al. (US 2011/0043077).
With respect to claim 38, Maruyama et al. discloses the display apparatus of claim 37.
Maruyama is silent with respect to the specific type of display being used, and therefore does not disclose that the display part comprises a plurality of pixels outputting light emitted from a light emitting device layer toward the base member.
Yeh et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus for a display panel in which the display part comprises a plurality of pixels outputting light emitted from a light emitting device layer toward the base member (Paragraph 66).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the LED display panel of Yeh et al. with the vibration apparatus of Maruyama et al. as the use of LED display panels is extremely well known and it has been held that the selection of a component based on an art-recognized suitability for an intended purpose is obvious (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-26, 34, and 41-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein at least one vibration layer between the conductive substrate and the uppermost electrode layer further comprises at least one first through hole, and wherein at least one electrode layer between the conductive substrate and the uppermost electrode layer further comprises at least one second through hole overlapping the at least one first through hole” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 23.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the magnesium alloy is an alloy of magnesium and lithium” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 34.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “a supporting member at one surface of the plate member, wherein the partition comprises one or more of first to third partition members, wherein the first partition member is disposed between the plate member and the supporting member, in a region between the first region and the second region, wherein the second partition member is disposed between the plate member and the supporting member to surround the first vibration generating apparatus, and wherein the third partition member is disposed between the plate member and the supporting member to surround the second vibration generating apparatus” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 41.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the plate member comprises: an internal plate coupled to the display part; a first external plate coupled to a first region of the internal plate corresponding to the first region of the display panel; and a second external plate coupled to a second region of the internal plate corresponding to the second region of the display panel, the second external plate being spaced apart from the first external plate” in combination with the remaining elements of claim 42.
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837