DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention II, drawn to a system for 2. controlling level in a vessel, in the reply filed on February 27, 2025, is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on October 16, 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, line 8, the recitation “said switch” should read –said pneumatic switch--; and
In claim 10, lines 9-10, the recitation “the switch” should read –the pneumatic switch--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the term “when” is typically used to include contingent limitations, which are only required if a precedent condition is/are met. Claim 10 recites the term “when” in line 16; however, the claim is unclear as to what are the precedent condition(s) and function(s) or condition(s) contingent to the precedent condition(s).
Claims 13 and 16 depend upon canceled claim 11. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that claims 13 and 16 depend upon claim 10.
Claims 12, 15 and 17 are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2944562 (“Glasgow”) in view of US2708849 (“Steenbergh”).
Regarding claim 10, Glasgow discloses a system for controlling level in a vessel, said system comprising:
a vessel (1) comprising a vessel float lever (30);
a pneumatic switch (defined mainly by 31 and 43) comprising a switch peg (60; see fig. 3) extending toward a switch lever (32);
wherein said vessel float lever applies a force (downward or upward force via prongs 40 or 41, respectively) upon said switch lever depending upon a level (3) of fluid (2) in said vessel;
a mount (mainly defined by 25, 26 and/or 27) for coupling said pneumatic switch to said vessel;
a pneumatic supply line (12) into said pneumatic switch, and a pneumatic supply out (23) line from said pneumatic switch, and wherein said switch has at least an open position (position causing drain 6 to open; see fig. 3) and a closed position (position where drain 6 is closed; see fig. 1), and wherein a location of said switch peg determines whether the switch is in the open position or the closed position (reciprocating positions of switch peg 60 determines opening and closing of drain 6);
wherein said pneumatic switch is fluidly coupled to a dump control (9) which controls fluid level within said vessel;
and wherein when said pneumatic switch engages said dump control, fluid is discharged from said vessel (via drain 6);
wherein when said pneumatic switch keeps said dump control in an open position (via actuating arm 40; see fig. 2) until desired level within vessel has been obtained whereby vessel float lever no longer applies downward force on said switch lever (when sufficient drainage is performed, float 4 lowers from position of fig. 2 to position of fig. 1, and downward force on switch lever 32 is stopped).
Glasgow discloses the invention as claimed except for said pneumatic supply comprising pressurized gas from said vessel.
However, Steenbergh teaches a pneumatic supply (21) comprising pressurized gas from a vessel (1), the vessel comprising a vessel float lever (30) and a pneumatic switch (at least partially defined by 20, 5 and 7) mounted to the vessel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Glasgow by configuring the said pneumatic supply to have pressurized gas from said vessel, as taught by Steenbergh, so the system would not require an auxiliary pneumatic supply.
Regarding claim 12, Glasgow discloses a dump control (9) in fluid communication with said pneumatic switch (mainly defined by 31 and 43), and wherein when a force (force applied via float arms 40 and 41) is applied to said switch lever (32), said pneumatic switch directs pressurized gas (via lines 10 and/or 11) to said dump control which begins draining (via outlet 6; see fig. 1) fluid from said vessel (1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Glasgow and Steenberg discloses said pneumatic supply (Steenbergh, 21) comprises air (Steenberg, air which is discharged through port 24 to atmosphere, or Glasgow, air discharge port 64).
Regarding claim 15, Glasgow discloses said switch lever (32) further comprises a lever pivot (75; see fig. 4) about which said switch lever pivots.
Regarding claim 16, Glasgow discloses said pneumatic switch (defined mainly by 31 and 43) further comprises a pneumatic discharge line (77 & 84, and/or 64) fluidly coupled to said pneumatic switch.
Claim 17, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasgow in view of Steenbergh, as applied to claim 10 above, alone or alternatively further in view of US2022/0403911 (“Neeb”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Glasgow and Steenbergh discloses the mount (Glasgow, mainly defined by 25, 26 and/or 27) as claimed except for the mount being 3D printed.
However, with regards to recitations pertaining to the method of manufacturing and/or assembly, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Alternatively, Neeb teaches (see paragraph [0030]) 3D printing fluid handling structure(s) (106 and 110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to further modify the combination of Glasgow and Steenbergh by 3D printing various parts of the system including the mount, as taught by Neeb, to be able to small batch
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed October 16, 2025, have been fully considered.
With regards to the drawings, in light of the replacement drawings filed 10/16/2025, this objection is now withdrawn.
With regards to the claim objections, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome the claim objections set forth in the prior Office action dated 3/27/2025; however, the current claim amendments have motivated new claim objection(s), see Office action, above.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 10-16 over Steenbergh, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, the amended claims have necessitated new ground(s) of rejection rendering Applicant's arguments regarding Steenbergh are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753