DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0106917 A1 to Kim.
Re-claim 1, Kim discloses an electric parking brake comprising: a brake system having a braking portion installed in a rear wheel of a vehicle (see paragraph 42) that provides a friction force to the rear wheel, an Electric Parking Brake (EPB) drives motor 10 configured to operate the braking portion; an EPB power line (see figures and lines extending between the ECU elements and the motor) transfers a control signal to the EPB driving motor; a Brake Electronic Control Unit (ECU) including a first EPB control module 100 that controls the EPB driving motor through the EPB power line; and a redundant control unit 200 interposed between the brake system and the Brake ECU and configured to control the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 2, the redundant control unit 200 monitors a connection state between the Brake ECU and the EPB driving motor in real time through the EPB power line (see at least paragraphs 43-47 and 63-67).
Re-claim 3, the redundant control unit 200 directly controls the EPB driving motor when the first EPB control module fails to control the EPB driving motor (via switch 220).
Re-claim 4, the redundant control unit 200 disconnects the Brake ECU from the EPB driving motor on the EPB power line and connect to the EPB driving motor (via switch 220). Unit 200 changes switch condition during periods when unit 100 is inoperative.
Re-claim 5, the redundant control unit 200 includes: a switch 220 for switching the EPB power line; and a second EPB control module (see various configurations for unit 200 in figures 3-5) to control the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 6, the redundant control unit 200 further includes: a monitoring device (as part of 240, see paragraph 65) is connected to the EPB power line; a communicator receives an EPB driving signal transmitted from outside; a redundant integrated controller (such as 240 and/or 250) to which the monitoring device and the communicator are connected (see at least paragraphs 63-67).
Re-claim 7, the monitoring device monitors a state of the EPB driving motor through the EPB power line. The BUS line communicates between the first ECU and second ECU.
Re-claim 8, the redundant integrated controller operates the switch 220 to switch the EPB power line from the first EPB control module 100 to the second EPB control module 200.
Re-claim 9, the redundant integrated controller issues a command for operating the EPB driving motor to the second EPB control module, such as during periods when unit 100 is inoperative.
Re-claim 10, in a normal mode, the EPB power line connect the first EPB control module 100 to the EPB driving motor 10, and in a redundant mode, the EPB power line connects the second EPB control module 200 to the EPB driving motor (via changing the condition of the switch 220).
Re-claim 11, the redundant integrated controller operate the switch only when a signal indicating that the first EPB control module is in an abnormal state is received from the monitoring device (see paragraphs 65-66).
Re-claim 12, the EPB power line includes a first power line for improving (or increasing) a braking force of the brake system, and a second power line for reducing (such as a retraction command) a braking force of the brake system, and the switch 220 include a first switch configured to switch the first power line, and a second switch configured to switch the second power line. Various figures are shown with multiple switches, one of which is connected to the primary power source. In addition, power commands are carried over the power lines for both increasing and decreasing the brake force. A decrease is one in which the power transmission is reversed to the motor, so as to operate the motor in the reverse direction, thus decreasing the braking force. It is noted that the instant specification is relatively silent regarding the intent of the instant claim, and fails to fully explain what the applicant intends for patent coverage.
Re-claim 13, the EPB power line is divided into an ECU portion connecting the Brake ECU to the redundant control unit, and a redundant portion connecting the redundant control unit to the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 14, Kim discloses a method for controlling an electric brake comprising: at a redundant control unit 200, detecting an input of an Electric Parking Brake (EPB) driving signal through a communication line; at the redundant control unit, monitoring an EPB power line connecting the Brake Electronic Control Unit (ECU) to an EPB driving motor of a brake system; at the redundant control unit, operating a switch 220 when the EPB driving motor fails to operate; and at the redundant control unit, operating the EPB driving motor (see at least paragraphs 43-47 and 63-67).
Re-claim 15, the EPB driving signal is a signal instructing a second EPB control module of the redundant control unit to operate the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 16, the operation of the switch includes: at a redundant integrated controller of the redundant control unit (i.e. portion 250), issuing a command for switching the EPB power line to the switch (see at least paragraph 65); at the switch, disconnecting the Brake ECU 100 from the EPB driving motor; and at the switch, connecting a second EPB control module 200 of the redundant control unit to the EPB driving motor 10.
Re-claim 17, operating of the EPB driving motor includes: at the redundant integrated controller, issuing an EPB driving command to the second EPB control module; and at the second EPB control module, operating the EPB driving motor. The second unit 200 operates the parking brake as requested.
Re-claim 18, the redundant integrated controller 200 is configured to operate the switch 220 by the EPB driving signal.
Re-claim 19, the redundant control unit 200 operates the switch 220 to switch a connection of the EPB power line from a normal mode to a redundant mode.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0168724 A1 to VandenBerg, III et al.
Re-claim 1, VandenBerg discloses an electric parking brake comprising: a brake system having a braking portion installed in a rear wheel of a vehicle (as is common in the art) that provides a friction force to the rear wheel, an Electric Parking Brake 250 drives a motor (see paragraph 75) configured to operate the braking portion; an EPB power line (see figures and motor control line) transfers a control signal to the EPB driving motor; a Brake Electronic Control Unit (ECU) including a first EPB control module 120 that controls the EPB driving motor through the EPB power line; and a redundant control unit 122 interposed between the brake system and the Brake ECU and configured to control the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 2, the redundant control unit 122 monitors a connection state between the Brake ECU and the EPB driving motor in real time through the EPB power line (see at least paragraphs 69 and 86).
Re-claim 3, the redundant control unit 122 directly controls the EPB driving motor when the first EPB control module fails to control the EPB driving motor.
Re-claim 13, the EPB power line is divided into an ECU portion connecting the Brake ECU 120 to the redundant control unit 122, and a redundant portion connecting the redundant control unit to the EPB driving motor, see figure 2. A first motor control signal is transmitted from unit 120 to unit 122, and a second motor control signal is transmitted from unit 122 to the EPB motor 250.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-11 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VandenBerg, III et al. in view of Kim.
Re-claims 4, 5, 8, 11, 18 and 19, Vandenberg fails to teach the presence of switches for disconnecting the Brake ECU 120 from the EPB driving motor and connecting the second EPB control module of the redundant control unit to the EPB motor when it is determined the Brake ECU 120 is faulty or abnormal.
Kim teaches a parking brake system having a Brake ECU (first controller) and a redundant control unit, each connected to a EPB driving motor. The redundant controller is provided with switches that interconnect either the Brake ECU with the driving motor, or a controller of the redundant controller, as well as alternate power sources, when it is determined that the Brake ECU is abnormal or faulty. This arrangement provides for a fully redundant control for the EPB driving motor, thus ensuring a desired operation as commanded by vehicle conditions or driver request. Therefore, as per the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the redundant control unit of VandenBerg with various switches for disconnecting and connecting the Brake ECU or redundant controller with the EPB driving motor as shown in Kim, as this would have ensured a single control arrangement for the parking brake.
Re-claims 6 and 7, VandenBerg teaches the redundant control unit having a monitoring device, and communication lines (i.e. CAN) connected thereto (see at least paragraphs 33 and 36).
Re-claims 9 and 15, the redundant controller issues commands for operating the EPB driving motor, see paragraph 38 and note the presence of an arbitration module within the redundant controller 122.
Re-claim 10, paragraph 38 further indicates communication paths between the first EPB control module 120 and the redundant EPB control module 122, and the driving motor 250.
Re-claim 14, VandenBerg teaches a method for controlling an electric brake comprising: at a redundant control unit 122, detecting an input of an Electric Parking Brake (EPB) driving signal through a communication line (see at least paragraphs 69 and 86); at the redundant control unit, monitoring an EPB power line connecting the Brake Electronic Control Unit (ECU) to an EPB driving motor 250 of a brake system; at the redundant control unit, operating the EPB driving motor. However, VandenBerg fails to teach at the redundant control unit, operating a switch when the EPB driving motor fails to operate.
Kim teaches an electric brake system having a primary ECU and a secondary ECU, the secondary ECU operates a switch 220 when it is determined that the primary is malfunctioning. This provides a redundant control that disables the connection between the primary ECU and the electric brake motor, such that multiple commands from plural ECU’s are prevented. Therefore, as per the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the redundant control unit 122 of VandenBerg with switches for disconnecting the primary ECU during a malfunction event as taught by Kim, thus disconnecting the malfunctioning ECU from the electric brake motor.
Re-claims 16 and 17, VandenBerg teaches a redundant integrated controller (i.e. plural processors, see paragraph 36) in the redundant control unit 122, issuing EPB driving commands to the second EPB control module, and operating the parking motor. However, VandenBerg fails to teach the presence of switches for disconnecting the Brake ECU 120 from the EPB driving motor and connecting the second EPB control module of the redundant control unit to the EPB motor when it is determined the Brake ECU 120 is faulty.
Kim teaches a parking brake system having a Brake ECU (first controller) and a redundant control unit, each connected to a EPB driving motor. The redundant controller is provided with switches that interconnect either the Brake ECU with the driving motor, or a controller of the redundant controller, as well as alternate power sources. This arrangement provides for a fully redundant control for the EPB driving motor, thus ensuring a desired operation as commanded by vehicle conditions or driver request. Therefore, as per the teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the redundant control unit of VandenBerg with various switches for disconnecting and connecting the Brake ECU or redundant controller with the EPB driving motor as shown in Kim, as this would have ensured a single control arrangement for the parking brake.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of DE 10 2019 215 536 A1 to Baehrle-Miller et al.
Re-claim 20, Kim fails to specify that before detecting the input (i.e. as best understood by the Office a park brake request), at a first EPB control module of the Brake ECU, operating the EPB driving motor.
Baehrle-Miller et al. teach a parking brake motor test routine carried out at a start-up of a vehicle (see paragraph 17 of the translation). This provides a method of testing the functionality of the parking brake motors prior to movement of the vehicle, and thus alert the driver to any potential issues. Therefore, as per the teachings of Baehrle-Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the parking brake system of Kim with a method of operating the EPB motor prior to receiving an input request thus carrying out a test routine as taught by Baehrle-Miller et al., thus ensuring the proper operation of the EPB driving motor.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VandenBerg et al. in view of Kim as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Baehrle-Miller et al.
Re-claim 20, VandenBerg et al. as modified by Kim fail to teach that before detecting the input , at a first EPB control module of the Brake ECU, operating the EPB driving motor.
Baehrle-Miller et al. teach a parking brake motor test routine carried out at a start-up of a vehicle (see paragraph 17 of the translation). This provides a method of testing the functionality of the parking brake motors prior to movement of the vehicle, and thus alert the driver to any potential issues. Therefore, as per the teachings of Baehrle-Miller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the parking brake system of VandenBerg et al. with a method of operating the EPB motor prior to receiving an input request thus carrying out a test routine as taught by Baehrle-Miller et al., thus ensuring the proper operation of the EPB driving motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang, Heise, Frenzel, Alfter, Shah, Hecker and Lee each teach a electric parking brake control arrangement.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
January 21, 2026
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616