DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The Applicants amendments/remarks received 6/17/2026 are acknowledged. Claims 9-15 are amended; claims 1-8 are canceled; no claims are withdrawn; claims 9-15 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “at a location in the range of 40-70° North latitude and 40-70° South latitude” in lines 11-12 which should be “at a location in the ranges of 40-70° North latitude and 40-70° South latitude” because two ranges are recited.
Claim 13 recites “less than 5000 kg per 150 km-2 of ocean” in line 2 which should be “less than 5000 kg per 150 km2 of ocean”.
Claim 15 recites “Nitrosomonas europaea” in line 4 and “Nitrospina gracilis” in line 5 which should be “Nitrosomonas europaea” and “Nitrospina gracilis”, respectively, because taxonomic names are italicized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 8 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as set forth at pp. 3-5 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claim 8 due to cancelation of the claim and is withdrawn regarding claim 13 in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claims 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the ocean thermohaline" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and neither claim 9 nor 10 recite an ocean thermohaline; hence, the limitation lacks antecedent basis and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the ocean thermohaline" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 14 does not recite an ocean thermohaline; hence, the limitation lacks antecedent basis and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and does not resolve the indefiniteness; hence, claim 15 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection of claims 1-2 and 6-13 under 35 U.S.C. § 101, as set forth at pp. 5-9 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claims 1-2 and 6-8 due to cancelation of the claims and is withdrawn regarding claims 9-13 in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) over Markels 2002 (US 6,408,792 B1) in further view of Hovanec 2001 (US 6,265,206 B1), Yin et.al., 2012 (China Patent CN101759478B) as set forth at pp. 10-18 of the previous Office Action, is moot regarding claims 1-8 due to cancelation of the claims and is withdrawn regarding the remaining claims in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claims 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markels, US 6408792 (cite B, PTO-892, 3/17/2026; herein “Markels 2002”) in view of Lackner et al., US 2012/0302469 (cite A, attached PTO-892; herein “Lackner”), Reed, US 2017/0218407 (cite B, attached PTO-892; herein “Reed”) and Mdutyana et al., 2020 (cite U, attached PTO-892; herein “Mdutyana”).
Markels 2002 teaches methods of fertilizing the ocean to increase seafood production and to sequester carbon dioxide by applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean (Abst.; col. 5, ll. 39-64), wherein the ocean fertilizer comprises chelated iron, phosphate, nitrogen-fixing microorganisms and nutrients for the nitrogen-fixing microorganisms (col. 2, l. 48 – col. 3, l. 13; col. 4, ll. 46-50) wherein the iron chelate can be iron EDTA, i.e., ferric EDTA (col. 5, ll. 16-28) and wherein the phosphate can be monoammonium phosphate, i.e., ammonium phosphate (col. 5, ll. 16-28)).
Markels 2002 does not teach that the ocean fertilizer composition comprises a magnesium salt; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the ocean fertilizer composition to comprise a magnesium salt in view of the disclosure of Lackner.
Lackner teaches methods of sequestering carbon dioxide (Abst.) comprising fertilizing the ocean with compositions comprising MgO or Mg(OH)2 [0015], i.e., magnesium salts; hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002 wherein the ocean fertilizer comprises ferric EDTA, ammonium phosphate, nitrogen-fixing microorganisms, nutrients for the nitrogen-fixing microorganisms and magnesium salt, e.g., MgO or Mg(OH)2.
Markels 2002 teaches that the ocean fertilizer should comprise nitrogen-fixing microorganisms which produce nitrate (col. 2, ll. 48-52) but does not specifically teach that the nitrogen-fixing microorganisms are ammonia oxidizing bacteria and/or nitrite oxidizing bacteria; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the ocean fertilizer to comprise ammonia oxidizing bacteria and/or nitrite oxidizing bacteria in view of the disclosures of Reed and Mdutyana.
Reed teaches methods of sequestering carbon dioxide (CO2) with chemoautotrophic microorganisms (Abst.) wherein the CO2 can be carbon dioxide dissolved in sea water ([0017], [0039], [0057], [0059]) wherein the chemoautotrophic microorganisms can be Nitrosomonas species and/or Nitrospina species ([0036], wherein the sequestration of the CO2 is driven by the oxidation of electron donors [0081] wherein the electron donors can be ammonia/ammonium and/or nitrite ([0017], [0040]).
Additionally, Mdutyana teaches that net primary production fueled by nitrate equates with CO2 removal to the deep ocean wherein the nitrate is provided by oxidation of ammonium to nitrate (Abst.) Mdutyana teaches that the Southern Ocean’s carbon dioxide sink mainly comprises biological carbon production in oceanic waters followed by organic carbon export to the deep ocean (p. 1, “Introduction”). Mdutyana teaches that this mechanism makes the Southern Ocean the most important oceanic region for natural and anthropogenic CO2 removal (p. 1, “Introduction”). Mdutyana teaches that the nitrification relies on the oxidation of ammonium to nitrite by ammonia-oxidizing bacteria (AOB) and the oxidation of nitrite to nitrate by nitrite-oxidizing bacteria (NOB) (p. 2, “Introduction”). Mdutyana teaches that the Southern Ocean carbon dioxide sink is encompassed between 40-70° South latitude (Fig. 1).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed and Mdutyana wherein the ocean fertilizer comprises ferric EDTA, ammonium phosphate, magnesium salt, Nitrosomonas species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria and Nitrospina species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria because Reed teaches that Nitrosomonas species and/or Nitrospina species bacteria, i.e., ammonia oxidizing bacteria and/or nitrite oxidizing bacteria, capture CO2 from seawater by oxidizing ammonia/ammonium and/or nitrite and because Mdutyana discloses that ammonia oxidizing bacteria and/or nitrite oxidizing bacteria are crucial for the carbon dioxide sink of the Southern Ocean and wherein the ocean fertilizer is applied to the ocean at 40-70° South latitude because Mdutyana teaches that is the most important oceanic region for natural and anthropogenic CO2 removal; therefore, claim 9 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Mdutyana teaches that the potential for significant carbon export, i.e., carbon sequestration to the deep ocean, is greatest in the summertime (Abst.); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed and Mdutyana during the summer because summer is the season for highest carbon removal potential; therefore, claim 11 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 12, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed and Mdutyana at night in order to avoid sunburn by the intense summertime sunshine; therefore, claim 12 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Markels 2002 teaches that the concentration of the ocean fertilizer applied to ocean should be low enough that the nutrients do not precipitate (col. 2, ll. 30-34; col. 3, ll. 1-13); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the concentration of the ocean fertilizer applied to the ocean is a result effective variable wherein too high a concentration is deleterious. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to vary the concentration of ocean fertilizer per km2 of ocean that met the perceived need and would arrive at the claimed concentration of less than 5000 kg per 150 km2 of ocean; therefore, claim 13 is prima facie obvious. See also MPEP 2144.05 II.A. “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%)".
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana and Markels, US 2009/0119978 (cite C, attached PTO-892; herein “Markels 2009”).
The discussion of Markels 2002, Lackner, Reed and Mdutyana regarding claims 9 and 11-13 set forth in the rejection above is incorporated herein.
Markels 2002 teaches fertilizing the ocean in the Gulf Stream (col. 4, ll. 17-56; col. 6, ll. 6-15) but does not specifically recite applying the ocean fertilizer at an end of an ocean thermohaline or upstream of an abyssal cataract. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to apply the ocean fertilizer at an end of an ocean thermohaline upstream of an abyssal cataract in view of the disclosure of Markels 2009.
Markels 2009, like Markels 2002, teaches methods of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean. Markels 2009 teaches that the ocean fertilizer is applied to the current, i.e., ocean thermohaline, when it “curves to the right as it circulates slowly moving to the center of the Sargasso Sea where it forms a low hump and slowly sinks through the thermocline” [0013] eventually ending up in the depths of the ocean ([0002], [0015]).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002, Lackner, Reed and Mdutyana wherein the ocean fertilizer is applied at an end of the ocean thermohaline upstream of an abyssal cataract because Markels 2009 discloses applying the ocean fertilizer to a thermocline current upstream of the depths of the ocean; therefore, claims 10 and 14 are prima facie obvious.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana, Markels 2009 and Hovanec, US 6265206 (cite A, PTO-892, 3/17/2026; herein “Hovanec”).
The discussion of Markels 2002, Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana and Markels 2009 regarding claims 9 -14 set forth in the rejection above is incorporated herein.
The method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002, Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana and Markels 2009 comprises an ocean fertilizer comprising Nitrosomonas species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria and Nitrospina species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria, but none of the cited art discloses that the Nitrosomonas species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria is Nitrosomonas europaea or that the Nitrospina species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria is Nitrospina gracilis; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the Nitrosomonas species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria to comprise Nitrosomonas europaea and for the Nitrospina species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria to comprise Nitrospina gracilis in view of the disclosure of Hovanec.
Hovanec is drawn to ammonia and nitrite oxidizing bacteria for purifying aquacultures (Abst.; col. 1, ll. 20-37). Hovanec discloses that the bacteria responsible for ammonia oxidation is Nitrosomonas europaea (col. 1, ll. 38-59) and discloses that Nitrospina gracilis is a nitrite oxidizing marine bacteria (col. 1, ll. 60-67).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of applying an ocean fertilizer to the ocean made obvious by Markels 2002, Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana and Markels 2009 wherein the Nitrosomonas species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria is Nitrosomonas europaea and that the Nitrospina species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria is Nitrospina gracilis because Hovanec discloses that Nitrosomonas europaea is a species of ammonia oxidizing bacteria and that Nitrospina gracilis is a species of nitrite oxidizing bacteria; therefore, claim 15 is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments of the Applicant’s Response on pp. 1-3 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), 101 and 103 are moot as the rejections have been withdrawn. Applicant argues that Markels in view of Hovanec and Yin does not teach the amended claims. This is conceded. However, Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed, and Mdutyana makes obvious the methods of claims 9 and 11-13 as set forth on pp. 4-9 above; Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana and Markels 2009 make obvious the methods of claims 9-14 as set forth on pp. 9-10 above; and Markels 2002 in view of Lackner, Reed, Mdutyana, Markels 2009 and Hovanec make obvious the methods of claims 9-15 as set forth on pp. 10-11 above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRENT R CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651