DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/12/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-19 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of further search and consideration, claim 1 is hereby rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Py US 5,613,957 A (previously cited), as cited in the IDS, in view of Palanker et al. US 2020/0315842 A1 (newly cited), as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks stating that “Py describes an apparatus for applying medicament to an eye by pressurizing a fluid in a drop cavity 38 using a piston 18 that moves toward nozzle 20 (FIG. 1) or by pressurizing the fluid in a drop cavity 154 using a bushing 142 that moves toward the nozzle 120 (FIGs. 3 & 4). In both embodiments, the fluid is ejected out the tight interface 25 formed between the outer nozzle portion 22 and the inner nozzle portion 24 formed by the abutting surfaces, which taper towards the tip of the nozzle 20 or 120. In both embodiments, the nozzle structure itself (nozzle 20 or 120) merely includes a passive, pressure-responsive tip interface (25 or 125) that opens when sufficient pressure is delivered from movement of the upstream piston 18 or bushing 142. Py does not disclose a nozzle head itself that expands and compresses along a longitudinal axis to pressurize fluid within a head chamber” on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Examiner acknowledged the remarks, but respectfully disagrees. According to the previous and current rejection, Examiner has established that the nozzle 20 comprises a nozzle head 12. Nozzle head 12, or outer body 12, according to the disclosure of Py, further comprises a bellows 30 and flange 32 (Col. 3, line 40-41 of Py; also the rejection of claim 3). Therefore, with the bellows 30 being a part of the nozzle head 12, the flexing movement of bellows 30 (Col. 3, line 47-48 of Py) along the longitudinal axis reads on the expansion and compression of the nozzle head 12. Thus, the limitation is met. See rejection of claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Py US 5,613,957 A (previously cited, hereinafter Py), as cited in the IDS, in view of Palanker et al. US 2020/0315842 A1 (newly cited, hereinafter Palanker).
Regarding claim 1, Py discloses a nozzle 20 (Fig. 1 – nozzle 20) for a fluid delivery device 10 (Fig. 1 – apparatus 10), the nozzle 20 (Fig. 1) comprising:
a nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 – outer body 12) defining a head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 – drop cavity 38) for a fluid (Col. 3, line 59-61 – “The drop cavity 38 is preferably dimensioned to hold less than 30 microliters of medicament”), the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) having at least one nozzle opening 25 (Fig. 1-2 – interface 25) through which fluid is configured to be selectively delivered from the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1) to a target site during use of the device 10 (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, line 9-23 – “The interface 25 is normally closed, but is opened when medicament of sufficient pressure is forced into the interface to release the medicament through the nozzle 20… Thus, the outer nozzle portion 22 can be flexed relative to the inner nozzle portion 24 to permit the passage of medicament through the interface 25 and out of the nozzle 20”, and Col. 3, line 56-59 – “a drop cavity 38… which is adapted to hold a predetermined volume of medicament for release through the nozzle 20 into the eye”), the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) being at least partially formed from a deformable material (Col. 3, line 18-22- “The outer body 12 is preferably molded from a relatively flexible plastic material in comparison to the inner body 14. Thus, the outer nozzle portion 22 can be flexed relative to the inner nozzle portion 24 to permit the passage of medicament”), the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) being selectively deflectable between an opened condition (Col. 3, line 16 – “…is opened…”) in which the at least one nozzle opening 25 (Fig. 1) is at least partially open to permit fluid flow therethrough Col. 3, line 15-17 – “The interface 25 is normally closed, but is opened when medicament of sufficient pressure is forced into the interface release the medicament through the nozzle 20 “) and a closed condition in which the at least one nozzle opening 25 (Fig. 1) is at least partially closed (Col. 3, line 15 – “The interface 25 is normally closed”) to restrict fluid flow therethrough (Col. 4, line 17-22 – “Then, once the medicament in the drop cavity 38 is released, the interface 25 returns to its normally closed state (i.e., the inner nozzle portion 24 is maintained in contact with the outer nozzle portion 22) to prevent air or foreign particles from passing through the nozzle and contaminating the remaining medicament within the apparatus”), wherein the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) is configured to expand along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 – bellows 30 of outer body 12 expands and compresses along the longitudinal axis, and Col. 3, line 47-49 – “The bellows 30 is adapted to flex… to move relative to the outer and inner bodies 12 and 14”) when transitioning to the opened condition (Col. 3, line 47-51, and Col. 5, line 14-18 – the opened condition transitions from the expanded bellows 30), and to compress along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, line 47-49) when transitioning to the closed condition (Col. 4, line 61-62, and Col. 5, line 6-11 – the closed condition transitions from the compressed bellows 30) thereby pressurizing the fluid within the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1, and Col. 4, line 61-65) and ejecting the fluid out through the at least one nozzle opening 25 (Fig. 1, and Col. 4, line 61-65)
However, Py does not disclose ejecting the fluid out through the at least one nozzle opening along a direction that is lateral to the longitudinal axis.
Palanker, in the same field of endeavor of fluid delivery system (Title), teaches ejecting the fluid out through the at least one nozzle opening 23 (Fig. 1 – one or more apertures 23) along a direction that is lateral to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1A, and Par. 62 – “ejection of droplets (24) from an aperture (23)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzle opening of Py to be lateral to the longitudinal axis as taught by Palanker, in order to provide and align the liquid stream to the target location and assure convenient and precise dosing (Para. 6 of Palanker). It also would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the nozzle opening of Py to be lateral to the longitudinal axis as taught by Palanker, since this claimed position of the nozzle opening does not change the its ability to disperse liquid. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the position of the nozzle opening disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (Par. 26 of Applicant’s PG-PUB), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was the position of a claimed element and altering the position of that claimed element would not have modified the operation of the device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device because it merely involved the rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is at least partially formed from a deformable and elastomeric material (Col. 3, line 18-22 of Py – “The outer body 12 is preferably molded from a relatively flexible plastic material).
Regarding claim 3, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) includes a first head end 32 (Fig. 1 of Py – flange 32), a second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py below), and a head body 22+30 (Fig. 1 of Py – outer nozzle portion 22 and bellows 30) separating and extending longitudinally between the first 32 (Fig. 1 of Py) and second head ends (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py below), a portion of the head body 22+30 (Fig. 1 of Py) defining a bellows 30 (Fig. 1 of Py) configured to be selectively compressed to urge the fluid through the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker, Col. 3, line 47-51 of Py – “The bellows 30 is adapted to flex inwardly to permit the piston body 16 and piston 18 to move relative to the outer and inner bodies 12 and 14, respectively, as indicated by the arrows in FIG. 1, to release medicament from the medicament chamber 33 through the nozzle 20”).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Py
Regarding claim 4, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein, as the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) transitions from the opened condition to the closed condition (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, second paragraph of Py), the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) becomes at least partially longitudinally compressed (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py, and Col. 4, line 53-55 of Py – after medicament is urged out of the interface 25 upon compression of the bellows, the coil spring 52 drives the piston/bellows back to the normal position, thus the bellows is partially compressed) and the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker) is at least partially closed (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py -– once medicament is urged out of the interface 25 upon compression of the bellows, the interface 25 returns to is normally closed state).
Regarding claim 5, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein as the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) transitions from the closed condition to the opened condition (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py, Fig. 1 of Py shows the bellows is in approximately the middle of its stroke from a closed position to an opening position of the nozzle head), the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) at least partially longitudinally expands to (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py – “the pressurized medicament opens the interface 25 by causing the outer nozzle portion 22 to flex relative to the inner nozzle portion 24 to release the medicament into the eye“) and open the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker) at least partially opens (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py – “the pressurized medicament opens the interface 25…”).
Regarding claim 6, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses further comprising a shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines) encircling at least a portion of the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 48-50 of Py – “The outer body 12 is seated against a surface of the ocular treatment apparatus, as indicated in phantom lines in FIG. 1, in order to be maintained in a stationary position”).
Regarding claim 8, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 6. The combination further discloses wherein a moisture chamber (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above) is defined between an outer surface of the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) and an interior surface of the shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – perimeter of phantom lines) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is in the closed condition (Fig. 1 of Py – when interface 25 is closed).
Regarding claim 9, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 8. The combination further discloses wherein the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) includes a first head end 32 (Fig. 1 of Py – flange 32), a second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), and a head body 22+30 (Fig. 1 of Py – outer nozzle portion 22 and bellows 30) separating and extending longitudinally between the first 32 (Fig. 1 of Py) and second head ends (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker) being adjacent the second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), the nozzle 20 (Fig. 1 of Py) further comprising a closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py – inner nozzle portion 24) connected to the second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), the closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py) engaging the shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is in the closed condition (Fig. 1 of Py – when the interface 25 is closed) to at least partially define the moisture chamber (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above – the inner nozzle portion 24 in combination with the annotated moisture chamber plug the medication from being exposed to the environment), the closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py) being spaced longitudinally from the shielding wall (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) is in the opened condition (Fig. 1 of Py – when interface 25 is open, inner nozzle portion 24 is some distance away from the phantom lines).
Regarding claim 10, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses further comprising an adapter 16 (Fig. 1 of Py – piston body 16) for selectively securing the nozzle 20 (Fig. 1 of Py) to a fluid-holding container 48 (Fig. 1 of Py – medicament container 48), the adapter 16 (Fig. 1 of Py) being connected to the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py – piston body 16 is connected to the outer body 12 via the rim 40 and inner body 14).
Regarding claim 11, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 10. The combination further discloses wherein the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) includes a first head end 32 (Fig. 1 of Py – flange 32) connected to the adapter 16 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 3, line 44-46 of Py – “The piston body 16 includes a lobe 34 which is snapped into a corresponding recess in the flange 32”), a second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), and a head body 22+30 (Fig. 1 of Py – outer nozzle portion 22 and bellows 30) separating and extending longitudinally between the first 32 (Fig. 1 of Py) and second head ends (see annotated Fig. 1 above), the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker) being adjacent the second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 above of Py).
Regarding claim 12, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 11. The combination further discloses further comprising:
a shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines) longitudinally extending from the adapter 16 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 36-38 of Py – “The apparatus 10 is preferably mounted within an ocular treatment apparatus substantially the same as the apparatus shown and described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,981,479”, thus the perimeter of the phantom lines extends along the longitudinal length of the device 10) and encircling at least a portion of the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 48-50 of Py – “The outer body 12 is seated against a surface of the ocular treatment apparatus, as indicated in phantom lines in FIG. 1, in order to be maintained in a stationary position”); and
a closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py – inner nozzle portion 24) connected to the second head end (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above), the closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py) engaging the shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is in the closed condition (Fig. 1 of Py – when the interface 25 is closed) so that the adapter 16 (Fig. 1 of Py), shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines), and closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py) collectively define a moisture chamber (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above – the inner nozzle portion 24 in combination with the annotated moisture chamber plug the medication from being exposed to the environment), the closure plate 24 (Fig. 1 of Py) being spaced longitudinally from the shielding wall (see annotated Fig. 1 of Py above) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is in the opened condition (Fig. 1 of Py – when interface 25 is open, inner nozzle portion 24 is some distance away from the phantom lines).
Regarding claim 13, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the at least one nozzle opening 23 (Fig. 1A of Palanker) comprises a plurality of nozzle openings (Par. 62 of Palanker – “One or more apertures (23) are positioned on the wall”).
Examiner notes that once the modification is made as discussed in claim 1, the nozzle opening 23 of Palanker will be incorporated into the device of Py, including the one or more lateral apertures.
Regarding claim 14, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the fluid is a therapeutic ophthalmic fluid and the target site is a user's eye (Abstract of Py – “apply medicament to an eye”).
Regarding claim 15, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses a fluid delivery device 10 (Fig. 1 of Py – apparatus 10) for delivering fluid to an eye of a user (Col. 1, line 36-37 of Py – “The present invention is directed to an apparatus for applying medicament to an eye”), comprising:
a cartridge 48 (Fig. 1 of Py) including a container 48 (Fig. 1 of Py – medicament container 48) and the nozzle 20 (Fig. 1 of Py) of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above) coupled to the container 48 (Fig. 1 of Py), the container 48 (Fig. 1 of Py) having an inner container chamber (Fig. 1 of Py – the space within container 48) configured to accommodate a fluid (Col. 4, line 32-33 of Py – “Medicament… from the container 48”), the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py) being in fluid communication with the container chamber (Fig. 1 of Py – the space within container 48) such that the fluid selectively flows from the container chamber (Fig. 1 of Py) to the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 33-35 of Py – “Medicament is therefore permitted to flow from the container 48… into the drop cavity 38 for release into the eye”); and
an applicator 16 (Fig. 1 of Py – piston body 16) configured to accommodate the cartridge 48 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 30-32 of Py – “The piston body 16 includes several apertures 50 extending through its top wall to couple the container 48 in fluid communication with the medicament”), the applicator 16 (Fig. 1 of Py) including an actuator 18 (Fig. 1 – piston 18 of Py) for selectively manipulating the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) between the opened condition and the closed condition (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py discusses the up position, down position, and middle position of the piston 18 which corresponds to the open and closed state of the interface 25 of the nozzle head 12).
Regarding claim 17, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 15. The combination further discloses wherein actuator 18 (Fig. 1 of Py) compresses the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) toward the closed condition to cause the fluid to eject from the holding chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py) via the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker, and Col. 4, line 11-13 of Py – “Then, on the downward stroke of the piston 18 (i.e., toward the nozzle 20), the medicament in the drop cavity 38 is forced through the channel 44 and into the interface 25”), the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker) at least partially closing as the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) is compressed (Col. 4, line 11-13 of Py discusses the downstroke of piston 18 when the interface 25 has not been fully pressurized to open yet).
Regarding claim 18, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 15. The combination further discloses wherein upon actuation of the application, the actuator 18 (Fig. 1 of Py):
moves to a loaded position, the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) decompressing to the opened condition (Col. 5, line 2-6 of Py – “The pressurized medicament flowing through the channel 44 opens the interface 25 by forcing the flexible outer nozzle portion 22 away from the inner nozzle portion 24 to open the nozzle and release the medicament”) as the actuator 18 (Fig. 1 of Py) moves to the loaded position (Col. 5, line 2-6 of Py – the outer nozzle portion 22 of nozzle head 12 expands as the piston is in the downstroke position); and subsequently
moves from the loaded position to a striking position, the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) compressing to the closed condition (Col. 5, line 6-9 of Py – “Then, once the medicament is released, the outer nozzle portion 22 returns to its normal position in contact with the inner nozzle portion 24 so as to close the interface 25”) as the actuator 18 (Fig. 1 of Py) moves to the striking position (Col. 5, line 6-9 of Py – outer nozzle portion 22 of nozzle head 12 shrinks as the piston 18 is in an up position), the fluid from the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py) being ejected from the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py) as the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) compresses (Col. 4, line 58-61 of Py – “when the piston body 16 is located in the up position, medicament is permitted to flow from the medicament chamber 33, through the slots 46, and into the drop cavity 38 to fill the drop cavity”).
Regarding claim 19, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 15. The combination further discloses a method of delivering fluid to a user's eye (Col. 1, line 36-37 of Py – “for applying medicament to an eye”), the method comprising:
providing the fluid delivery device 10 (Fig. 1 of Py) of claim 15 (See rejection of claim 15 above);
inserting the cartridge into the applicator 16 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, line 23-25 of Py – “a medicament container 48 coupled on one end to the piston body 16 for holding medicament”);
aligning an applicator opening 46 (Fig. 1 of Py – slots 46) of the applicator 16 (Fig. 1 of Py) with the user's eye (Col. 4, second paragraph – “medicament is permitted to flow… through the slots 46 and into the drop cavity 38… the medicament in the drop cavity 38 is forced… into the interface 25… to release the medicament into the eye”);
activating the actuator 18 (Fig. 1 of Py) to manipulate the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) from the opened condition to the closed condition (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py, and Col. 4, last paragraph of Py and Col. 5, first paragraph of Py); and
delivering fluid from the head chamber 38 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, second paragraph of Py), through the nozzle 12 (Fig. 1 of Py) and applicator openings 46 (Fig. 1 of Py, and Col. 4, second paragraph of Py), and to the user's eye as the nozzle head is manipulated from the opened condition to the closed condition (Col. 4, second paragraph of Py, and Col. 4, last paragraph and Col. 5, first paragraph of Py).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Py in view of Palanker as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Fyfe et al. US 2023/0271207 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Fyfe).
Regarding claim 7, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 6. The combination further discloses wherein the shielding wall (Fig. 1 of Py – phantom lines) being at least partially longitudinally offset from the at least one nozzle opening 25/23 (Fig. 1 of Py modified by Palanker – the outer surface of the ocular treatment apparatus, which is represented by the phantom lines, is longitudinally offset from the interface 25) when the nozzle head 12 (Fig. 1) is in the opened condition (Fig. 1).
However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein a portion of the shielding wall is at least partially longitudinally aligned with the at least one nozzle opening when the nozzle head is in the closed condition.
Fyfe, in the same field of endeavor of dispenser and distributor nozzle (Abstract), teaches wherein a portion of the shielding wall 160 (Fig. 1 – outer nozzle 160) is at least partially longitudinally aligned with the at least one nozzle opening 142 (Fig. 4 – slits 142) when the nozzle head 140 (Fig. 4 – distributer nozzle 140) is in the closed condition (Par. 18 – “In operation, the actuator can be actuated, such as by a user's hand or finger, to place the dispensing system into an active state. In some embodiments, the actuator is twisted clockwise to place the dispensing system into an active state. In some embodiments, when the actuator is twisted in a direction, such as clockwise, the outer nozzle 160 lifts to uncover the hole at the tip of the outer nozzle 160”, which indicates that in an “inactive” state, the shielding wall/outer nozzle 160 aligns and covers the slits 142).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of the combination to have the shielding wall partially longitudinally aligned with the one nozzle opening as taught by Fyfe, in order to allow the formula to distribute inside the nozzle (Par. 35 of Fyfe) so that it can be urged out of the openings once the nozzle head is in an activate state (Par. 35 of Fyfe).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Py in view of Palanker as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Stowe US 2020/0360180 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Stowe).
Regarding claim 16, Py in view of Palanker suggests the invention of claim 15. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the fluid delivery device is a non-gravitational fluid delivery device.
Stowe, in the same field of endeavor of fluid delivery device of ophthalmic application (Title), teaches wherein the fluid delivery device is a non-gravitational fluid delivery device (Par. 3 – “The device allows for the non-gravitational delivery of viscous ophthalmic drugs to the eye using one or more micro-streams”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of the combination to be a non-gravitational fluid delivery device as taught by Stowe, in order to helps the user efficiently guide eye drops effectively into their eyes without blink interference (Par. 10 of Stowe).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ivri US 2021/0322210 A1 teaches an ocular fluid delivery device with bellows and lateral ejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH DAO LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781