DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walton et al (US 20210099030).
RE 1, Walton discloses a wireless charging module (102, 1300, 3200) comprising: a housing (1302, 3220, 3222) that defines an enclosure, the housing having a first surface that substantially defines a top side of the housing (Fig 1, 13, 32a-32b, par 100, 106-108); a transmitting coil (112, 1312, Fig 1, 13-14b) within the housing, the transmitting coil configured to be operable for transferring power wirelessly through a charging surface of the wireless charging module; and a magnetic alignment component (116, 1316, 3210) configured to magnetically couple with a complementary magnetic alignment component (118, 3270) of a mobile device for aligning the mobile device on the charging surface of the wireless charging module (par 102); wherein the magnetic alignment component of the wireless charging module is positioned above the first surface of the housing of the wireless charging module such that the magnetic alignment component of the wireless charging module is located higher in the Z axis (par 111) than the transmitting coil (Fig 32B, par 102, 111).
RE 2 wherein the magnetic alignment component of the wireless charging module is substantially concentric with the transmitting coil (Fig 1, 3a-3b, 13-14b, par 100, 103, 106-109, 121, 123).
RE 3, wherein the positioning of magnetic alignment component above the first surface of the housing and higher in the Z axis than the transmitting coil enables the magnetic alignment component to be closer to the complementary magnetic alignment component of the mobile device when the mobile device is positioned on the charging surface of the wireless charging module (Fig 32a-32a, par 102, 111).
RE 4, wherein the positioning of magnetic alignment component above the first surface of the housing and higher in the Z axis than the transmitting coil helps ensure that the magnetic alignment component (3210) and the complementary magnetic alignment component (3270) of the mobile device are close enough together when the mobile device is positioned on the charging surface of the wireless charging module to produce a sufficient magnetic force to pull the mobile device along the charging surface to properly align a receiving coil of the mobile device with the transmitting coil without requiring use of stronger magnets (Fig 30a-37; par 102).
Re 6, wherein: the wireless charging module comprises a compliant and/or flexible cover (3212) positioned along the first surface of the housing; and the magnetic alignment component is embedded within the compliant and/or flexible cover (Fig 32a-32b).
Re 7, wherein the compliant and/or flexible cover comprises elastomer in which the magnetic alignment component is embedded (Fig 32a-32b).
Re 8, wherein the magnetic alignment component (116/316/1316) comprises a magnetic ring substantially concentric with the transmitting coil (112/1312) and located higher in the Z-axis than the transmitting coil (fig 1, 3a-3b, 13-14b; par 100, 103, 107-109, 121-123).
RE 9, wherein: the wireless charging module comprises a compliant and/or flexible cover positioned along the first surface of the housing; and the magnetic ring is embedded within the compliant and/or flexible cover (Fig 32a-32b).
RE 11,wherein: the transmitting coil comprises an inductive charging coil within the housing, the inductive charging coil configured to be operable for transferring power wirelessly through the charging surface of the wireless charging module; and the magnetic alignment component is located higher in the Z-axis than the inductive charging coil such that the magnetic alignment component is closer to the complementary magnetic alignment component of the mobile device when the mobile device is positioned on the charging surface of the wireless charging module, whereby the closer positioning of the magnetic alignment component and the complementary magnetic alignment component helps ensure that the magnetic alignment component and the complementary magnetic alignment component produce a sufficient magnetic force to pull the mobile device along the charging surface to properly align a receiving coil of the mobile device with the inductive charging coil (fig 1, 3a-3b, 13-14b; par 100, 103, 107-109, 121-123) (Fig 32a-32a, par 102, 111).
RE 12, wherein the magnetic alignment component comprise a magnetic ring substantially concentric with the inductive charging coil and located higher in the Z-axis than the inductive charging coil (fig 1, 3a-3b, 13-14b; par 100, 103, 107-109, 121-123).
RE 13, wherein: the wireless charging module comprises a compliant and/or flexible cover positioned along the first surface of the housing; and the magnetic ring is embedded within the compliant and/or flexible cover (Fig 32a-32b).
RE 14, wherein the compliant and/or flexible cover comprises elastomer in which the magnetic ring is embedded (Fig 32a-32b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5, 10, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walton.
Walton expressly teaches that magnetic alignment components may be fixed or, alternatively, that any or all magnetic alignment components in a device, including annular and rotational alignment components, may be movable in the axial and/or lateral direction, and provides the reason for such axial movement: moving complementary magnets into closer proximity increases the magnetic forces holding the devices in alignment (par 102). Walton further expressly teaches that devices having annular magnetic alignment components may incorporate the various magnetic alignment arrangements (par 104).
Regarding claim 5, Walton discloses the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above and further discloses a magnetic alignment component positioned beneath an upper housing/cover structure that projects upward when the magnetic component is displaced axially (magnet 4010, shield 4040, return plate 4050 and upper structure 4022) (Figs. 40A–40B).
Walton fails to disclose the upwardly displaced portion of structure 4022 is extending upward from the first surface of the housing, it would have been obvious to configure the portion of the housing/cover overlying magnetic alignment component 4010 as an upwardly extending projection to accommodate the elevated position of the magnet.
Moving the magnetic alignment component axially toward the complementary magnetic alignment component decreases separation and increase magnetic attraction.
Regarding claim 10, Walton discloses an annular magnetic alignment component surrounding an inductive charging coil (par 101-103; Figs. 1, 3A–3B, 13–14B) and an axially movable magnetic alignment component that displaces the overlying surface upward (magnet 4010 and structure 4022) (Figs. 40A–40B).
It would have been obvious to employ Walton’s expressly disclosed annular magnetic alignment component as movable magnet 4010 and configure the resulting upward projection to correspond to the circular/annular footprint of the magnetic alignment component, thereby accommodating the annular component in its elevated position.
Such modification would have been a predictable application of Walton’s annular magnetic geometry to Walton’s movable-magnet embodiment, because any or all annular alignment components may be made movable axially (par 102).
Regarding claim 15, Walton discloses an annular magnetic alignment component surrounding the transmitting coil and an upper surface displaced upward by an axially movable magnetic alignment component (Figs. 13–14B, 40A–40B;par 100-103).
It would have been obvious to configure the upwardly projecting portion to correspond to the circular shape of Walton’s annular magnetic alignment component, thereby providing a circular projection containing the circular magnetic ring and accommodating axial movement of the ring toward the complementary device.
Regarding claim 16, Walton discloses magnetic alignment systems including both annular and rotational magnetic alignment components (par 100-101) and a device having an annular magnetic alignment component may also include a rotational magnetic alignment component (par 104).
Walton further discloses multiple magnetic components within a single device (first magnet 4110 and second magnet 4191, second magnet 4191 being coupled to sliding mechanism 4190) (Figs. 41A–41B).
It would have been obvious to configure one of Walton’s multiple magnetic alignment components according to Walton’s upwardly movable magnet arrangement of Figs. 32A–32B and 40A–40B because any or all annular and/or rotational alignment components may be movable axially (par 102).
Doing so reduces axial separation increases magnetic force holding the devices in alignment.
Regarding claim 17, Walton discloses annular magnetic alignment components arranged about a common charging axis (primary annular magnetic alignment component 116/316/1316) and additional rotational magnetic alignment components positioned relative to the annular alignment component (Figs. 1–14B; par 100-104, 121-123).
It would have been obvious to employ Walton’s disclosed magnetic components in the claimed concentric arrangement about the common charging axis in order to maintain translational alignment of the inductive charging coils while also providing the additional alignment function expressly taught by Walton.
Regarding claim 18, Walton discloses multiple magnetic alignment components (par 100-104; Figs. 41A–41B) and an axially movable magnetic alignment component that displaces an overlying surface upward (magnet 4010 and structure 4022) (Figs. 40A–40B).
It would have been obvious to position the second magnetic alignment component within the upwardly projecting portion according to Walton’s Figs. 32B and 40B to bring that component into closer axial proximity with its complementary component.
Doing so increases magnetic attraction.
Regarding claim 19, Walton discloses a flexible/pliable covering structure associated with an axially movable magnetic alignment component (pliable surface 3212 and magnet 3210; compliant structure 3922 and magnet 3910) (Figs. 32A–32B, 39A–39B), and Walton further discloses devices employing multiple magnetic alignment components (par 100-104; Figs. 41A–41B).
It would have been obvious to embed Walton’s second magnetic alignment component within the disclosed flexible covering structure when implementing the second magnetic alignment component as the movable component because any or all alignment components to be movable (par 102).
Such arrangement would predictably retain the movable magnetic component while permitting the axial displacement taught by Walton.
Regarding claim 20, Walton discloses magnetic alignment components supported by magnetic shields, return plates and supporting structures (magnet 3210, shield 3240 and return plate 3250; magnet 4010, shield 4040 and return plate 4050; magnets 4210, return plates 4250 and beams 4270) (Figs. 32A–32B, 40A–40B, 42–46).
Walton further expressly teaches a DC magnetic shield (314) disposed on a distal surface of primary magnets (326), wherein shield 314 may be adhered to primary magnets 326 to secure the magnets into position (Fig. 3B; par 123).
It would have been obvious to support the claimed magnetic alignment component using Walton’s disclosed shield/support arrangement because Walton expressly teaches the structure for securing the magnetic alignment component and redirecting magnetic flux (par 123) while permitting the magnetic alignment component to move axially to increase magnetic attraction (par 102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Christle I Marshall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876