DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 117-125 and 129-135 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4226164, Carter.
In regards to claim 129, Carter discloses a method of replacing a broken connector connecting emplaced first (14) and second (12) conduits with a split coupler (22), comprising: removing said broken connector from said emplaced first and second conduits (col. 2, lines 38-47); radially disposing a first semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit (col. 1, lines 30-40; and Figs. 2-4); radially disposing a second semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit (col. 1, lines 30-40; and Figs. 2-4); and axially moving at least one of said first or second semi-cylindrical members to axially align and interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members (Fig. 4); wherein said emplaced first and second conduits need not be cut to dispose said split coupler thereabout.
In regards to claim 117, Carter discloses axially sliding at least one of said first or second semi-cylindrical members to axially align and interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members (Figs. 1 and 4).
In regards to claim 118, Carter discloses interlocking said first and second semi-cylindrical members to form a substantially cylindrical coupler having a coupler inner surface which defines a throughbore.
In regards to claim 119, Carter discloses aligning (i) first threads (32) coupled to a first semi-cylindrical member inner surface and extending between first semi-cylindrical member first and second terminal edges and (ii) second threads (34) coupled to a second semi-cylindrical member inner surface and extending between second semi-cylindrical member first and second terminal edges to form spiral threads.
In regards to claim 120, Carter discloses axially moving said coupler to dispose about a threaded end of said second conduit (Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 121, Carter discloses axially sliding said coupler to dispose about said threaded end of said second conduit.
In regards to claim 122, Carter discloses rotating said coupler about said threaded end of said second conduit.
In regards to claim 123, Carter discloses comprising rotating said coupler to engage a flanged end (18) of said first conduit.
In regards to claim 124, Carter discloses coupling said first and second conduits via said coupler.
In regards to claim 125, Carter discloses connecting said first and second conduits via said coupler.
In regards to claim 130, Carter discloses said emplaced first and second conduits provide a passageway for fluid(s).
In regards to claim 131, Carter discloses said emplaced first and second conduits provide a passageway for liquid(s).
In regards to claim 132, Carter discloses a method of replacing a broken connector connecting emplaced first and second conduits with a split coupler, comprising: removing said broken connector from said emplaced first and second conduits; radially disposing a first semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; radially disposing a second semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; axially moving at least one of said first or second semi-cylindrical members to axially align and interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members; and engaging a protrusion (50) outwardly extending from each of first semi-cylindrical member first and second terminal edges with a recess (56) inwardly extending into each of second semi-cylindrical members first and second terminal edges to interlock said first and second semi- cylindrical members.
In regards to claim 133, Carter discloses engaging a protrusion outwardly extending from each of first semi-cylindrical member first and second terminal edges in a circumferential direction with a recess inwardly extending into each of second semi-cylindrical members first and second terminal edges in a circumferential direction to interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members.
In regards to claim 134, Carter discloses method of replacing a broken connector connecting emplaced first and second conduits with a split coupler, comprising: removing said broken connector from said emplaced first and second conduits; radially disposing a first semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; radially disposing a second semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; axially moving at least one of said first or second semi-cylindrical members to axially align and interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members; and gripping one or more grip elements coupled to a first semi-cylindrical member outer surface to facilitate interlocking said first and second semi-cylindrical members.
In regards to claim 135, Carter discloses method of replacing a broken connector connecting emplaced first and second conduits with a split coupler, comprising: removing said broken connector from said emplaced first and second conduits; radially disposing a first semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; radially disposing a second semi-cylindrical member about said first conduit; axially moving at least one of said first or second semi-cylindrical members to axially align and interlock said first and second semi-cylindrical members; and gripping one or more grip elements coupled to a second semi-cylindrical member outer surface to facilitate interlocking said first and second semi-cylindrical members.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679