DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19, 22, 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 19 recites the broad recitation 6-12mm, and the claim also recites the endoscope of claim 17, wherein Y is at least 8mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “hinge tap and hinge grippers” in claim 22-23 is used by the claim to mean “an unidentified part of a hinge,” while the accepted meaning is “None found. Cursory search for the term 'Hinge Tap' yielded exercise routines.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 15, 16, 20, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tajima (JP 2016067620 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tajima teaches An endoscope comprising:
a proximal handle (fig. 1, element 11, p. 2, para. 1, operation unit 11) or interface; and
an insertion cord (fig. 1, element 12, p. 2, para. 1, insertion unit 12) extending distally from the handle or interface, the insertion cord including a bending section (fig. 1, element 16, p. 2, para. 1, bending section 16);
a control wheel (fig. 1, element 20, p. 2, para. 1, bending operation section 20) arranged at the handle and having a wheel rotation axis, the control wheel including protrusions (fig. 2, element 32, p. 3, para. 1, angle knobs 32) extending radially away from the wheel rotation axis, the control wheel being configured to control bending of the bending section by rotation of the control wheel around the wheel rotation axis (p. 2, para. 1, bending operation section for changing the bending angle of the bending section),
wherein at least one of the protrusions comprises a base part (fig. 6, element 50, p. 3, para. 5, main body portion 50) and an extension part (fig. 15, element 52, p. 6, para. 1, cam groove 52 supports the swinging motion of the cam 48) connected to the base part via a joint (fig. 15, element 48, p. 6, para. 1, cam groove 52 supports the swinging motion of the cam 48), the extension part being movable from a retracted position to an extended position (fig. 15, element P1, p. 6, para. 1, pushing angle knob in the inner diameter direction as indicated by the arrow P1 reduces the protruding amount).
Regarding claim 3, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the joint is a turning joint (fig. 15, element 52, p. 6, para. 1, cam groove 52 supports the swinging motion of the cam 48 as the angle knobs are pressed in, having a curved, turning shape).
Regarding claim 4, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the joint is a hinge joint (fig. 15, element 52, p. 6, para. 1, cam groove 52 forms a hinge about which the cam 48 rotates).
Regarding claim 10, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the extension part is an L-shaped extension part (fig. 15, element 52, p. 6, para. 1, cam groove 52 is shaped like a curved L shape) configured to provide a projection protruding towards the handle when the L- shaped extension part is in the extended position.
Regarding claim 11, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
further comprising an extension part lock (fig. 3, element 55, p. 4, para. 4, knob urging springs 55, the biasing force of the springs urges and maintains an extended configuration in the absence of applied force) releasably locking the extension part in the extended position.
Regarding claim 15, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the at least one of the protrusions comprises all the protrusions (fig. 14-16, all protrusions of Tajima are of the extending type).
Regarding claim 16, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the retracted position corresponds to a radius rmn, and the extended position corresponds to a radius rma and satisfying a relationship rma> (rmn + Y mm), wherein Y denotes a radius increase (fig. 15/16, radius changes as a result of retracting protrusions).
Regarding claim 20, Tajima teaches A visualization system comprising:
the endoscope of claim 1; and
a monitor connectable to the endoscope (p. 2, para. 2, image processing apparatus attached to the endoscope via connector 14 can be displayed on a monitor).
Regarding claim 22, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the joint comprises a hinge joint including a hinge tap and hinge grippers (fig. 14, element 52, p. 2, para. 5, cam groove 52 acts like a gripping part in that it secures the cam 48).
Regarding claim 23, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the joint comprises a hinge joint including a hinge tap and hinge grippers (fig. 14, element 52, p. 2, para. 5, cam groove 52 acts like a gripping part in that it secures the cam 48), wherein the base part comprises the hinge grippers (fig. 6, element 52), and wherein in the retracted position the extension part is folded back and over the base part (fig. 15, element 55, p. 4, para. 4, urging spring is folded back and over the base part by compression).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima.
Regarding claim 17, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 16,
Tajima does not explicitly teach wherein Y is at least 6 mm.
However, Tajima does teach adjusting the diameter of the knob assembly such that it would comfortably fit in the hands of a range of operators (p. 7, para. 1).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusions of Tajima to extend at least 6mm in order to comfortably fit an operator’s hand (Tajima p. 7, para. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 17,
Tajima does not explicitly teach wherein Y is at least 8 mm.
However, Tajima does teach adjusting the diameter of the knob assembly such that it would comfortably fit in the hands of a range of operators (p. 7, para. 1).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusions of Tajima to extend at least 8mm in order to comfortably fit an operator’s hand (Tajima p. 7, para. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 18,
Tajima does not explicitly teach wherein Y is at least 6 mm and at most 12 mm.
However, Tajima does teach adjusting the diameter of the knob assembly such that it would comfortably fit in the hands of a range of operators (p. 7, para. 1).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusions of Tajima to extend 6-12mm in order to comfortably fit an operator’s hand (Tajima p. 7, para. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the retracted position corresponds to a radius rmn and the extended position corresponds to a radius rma, wherein rma (rmm + Y mm),
Tajima does not explicitly teach wherein Y denotes a radius increase and is at least 6 mm and at most 12 mm.
However, Tajima does teach adjusting the diameter of the knob assembly such that it would comfortably fit in the hands of a range of operators (p. 7, para. 1).
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusions of Tajima to extend 6-12mm in order to comfortably fit an operator’s hand (Tajima p. 7, para. 1).
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schutz (US 20230172429 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Tajima teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Tajima does not explicitly teach wherein the control wheel comprises six protrusions.
However, Schutz teaches wherein the control wheel comprises six protrusions (fig. 2, element 15, [0047], hand wheel 5)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel of Tajima to include six protrusions as taught in Schutz in order to aid in steering the distal end of the endoscope (Schutz [0046-47]).
Regarding claim 13, Tajima in view of Schutz teaches The endoscope of claim 12,
Further, Tajima teaches wherein the at least one of the protrusions comprises the six protrusions (Tajima teaches having the multiple projections with features of claim 1, whereas Schutz teaches they number 6).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795