DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on November 26, 2022 and April 25, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because no reference character was used to designate an element in figure 1 interpreted to be the dust cap as shown in figure 7.
Figure 8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Additionally, the extra label “(FIG. 8B)” in figure 8a should be removed.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0004 line 2, “is, however, desire…” should read “it is, however, the desire…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 13 include the term “base member” but the specification refers to this element as a “closure member” in paragraph 47. The terms in the specification should be the same terms used in the claims for clarity. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting the base member of claims 1, 3, 8, and 10 to be closure member 190 described in paragraph 47.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 1 and 8: The examiner suggests changing “the flexible ends” to “the flexible arms. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting the flexible ends to be the flexible arms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13 recite “the flexible arms extend over a greater axial extent of the associated optical fiber connector.” This limitation renders the claims indefinite because the term “greater” in claims 6 and 13 is a term of comparison. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are because it is unclear what the point of reference from which “greater” being measured. The term “greater” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting the limitation as the flexible arms extend over a portion of the associated optical fiber connector as disclosed in paragraph [0044] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US Patent 11,092,752).
Regarding claims 1 and 8; Li discloses a bulkhead adapter assembly and method of assembling a bulkhead adapter (see figures 19 through 23) comprising:
A bulkhead adapter assembly (optical fiber adapter figure 19) configured at a first end to receive an associated optical fiber connector housing a terminal end of an associate fiber (see abstract), and is joined to an associated closure at a second end, the bulkhead adapter assembly comprising:
An elongated holder (see figure 19 clamping seat 34 and fixing seat 37) having at least first and second flexible arms (85 and 86) extending axially outwardly from a first end of the holder including and opening (pin hole II 81) dimension to receive the associated optical fiber therein,
A shoulder (pressing buckle 86) formed at a terminal end of each of the flexible ends (pressing arm I 85) wherein each shoulder has an undercut (see figure 23) extending perpendicularly to the first axis that is configured to operatively engage the associated optical fiber connector, a central portion of the holder (Pin seat II 82) including a recess extending inwardly from the second end (fixing seat 37) of the holder, and an opening (Pin hole 81) through the central portion that receives the associated optical fiber therethrough;
A sleeve (insertion pin 38) dimensioned for axial receipt in the holder recess (mounting in the fixing seat 37 and clamping seat 34),
A hollow body (outer housing 36) having a recess that receives (see page 24, column 10, lines 65-67 and page 25, column 11, lines 1-3) the holder and sleeve in a first end of the body,
The body including an externally threaded first region (59) and an internally threaded second region (51);
A nut (fixing nut 62) including an internally threaded region (corresponding to the external thread I 59) that engages the hollow body (see page 21, column 4, lines 23-26);
A base member (Locking frame 105) having an externally threaded region that threadedly interconnects with the internally threaded second region of the body (see page 21, column 4, lines 64-67 and page 22, column 5, lines 1-8).
Regarding claims 3 and 10; Li discloses a first seal member and method of assembling a first seal member interposed between the nut and the body (see page 21, column 4, lines 27 and 28) and a second seal member interposed between the body and body and member (107 see page 23, column 12, line 30).
Regarding claims 4 and 11; Li discloses flexible arms and method of assembly (see figure 23) that includes:
A tapered surface (86) adjacent a terminal end thereof configured to abuttingly engage the associated optical fiber connector such that the arms diverge away from each other as the associated optical fiber connector is advanced relative to the flexible arms (85 and 86).
Regarding claims 5 and 12; Li discloses flexible arms and method of assembly (see figure 23) that includes:
A tapered surface (86) adjacent a terminal end thereof configured to abuttingly engage the associated optical fiber connector such that the arms diverge away from each other as the associated optical fiber connector is advanced relative to the flexible arms (85 and 86).
Regarding claims 6 and 13; Li discloses (see figure 23) the central portion (82) and method of assembly of the central portion (82) of the holder is located axially inward from terminal ends of the first and second flexible arms (85 and 86) such that arms extend over a greater axial extent of the associated optical fiber connector when received in the holder recess (column 12, lines 45-58 and col. 12, lines 37-44. When the optical fiber is inserted into the pin seat II (82), the elastic pressing arms (85) and elastic pressing buckle (86) will inherently extend over a portion of the optical fiber).
The examiner notes in claim 6 and 13 that the limitation " wherein the nut includes one or more indentations/notches configured to receive a mating, specially configured associated tool to rotate the nut onto the body and retain the holder and sleeve in the body" is an intended use of the nut. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)); that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)); and that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). See MPEP § 2111.02, II and MPEP § 2114, II.
Regarding claims 7 and 14; Li discloses (see figure 19) the nut (61) and method of assembly of the nut (61) includes one or more indentations/notches configured to receive a mating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent 11,092,752) in view of Allen (US 2010/0111484 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and 9 Li discloses a sleeve (see figure 19) but does not teach a specific material of the sleeve.
Allen teaches a ceramic sleeve in a component (see paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use ceramic as the material for a sleeve for its stability and precision when aligning optical fibers.
Conclusion
/T.N.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874