DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objection
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “…(i) a selected one …and (i) another selected one...” in lines 2-3, for clarity it is suggested to applicant to change the “…(i) a selected one …and (i) another selected one...” to “…(i) a selected one …and (ii) another selected one...”.
Claim 18 recites “The circuit of claim 18” in line 1. A claim cannot depend on itself. It is presumed that the applicant meant for claims 18 to depend from claim 17.
Claims 19-20 are objected as being dependent of objected claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Metzgen (US 2023/0023021 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Metzgen ‘021 teaches, a circuit ([0073]- [0075} and Figs. 6-8. circuit 600) comprising: a switch matrix configured to receive a plurality of input signals, ([0075], [0079-[0080] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 receiving plurality of input signals via port 632) and output (i) a selected one of the plurality of input signals as a first intermediate signal ([0075], [0079-[0080] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 capable of directing signals received at multiple input ports 632(input signal) to multiple intermediate ports 634(intermediate signals)); and (i) another selected one of the plurality of input signals as a second intermediate signal([0075], [0079-[0080] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 capable of directing signals received at multiple input ports 632(input signal) to multiple intermediate ports 634(intermediate signals), the plurality output intermediate signals(634) correspond to first and second intermediate signals);
a first switch to receive the first intermediate signal and a first auxiliary signal, and output a first output signal ([0096], [0097] and Fig. 7, switch 200-21 in the redirection layer 628 receives intermediate signal from port 634 and auxiliary signals 626(bypass link 626) and produce output B0); and
a second switch to receive the second intermediate signal and a second auxiliary signal, and output a second output signal ([0096], [0097] and Fig. 7, switch 200-22 in the redirection layer 628 receives another intermediate signal from a port 634 and auxiliary signals 626(bypass link 626) and produce output B2).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-9, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzgen (US 2023/0023021 A1) in view of Ticknor et al(US 2013/0108215 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Metzgen ‘021 teaches, a circuit ([0073]- [0075} and Figs. 6-8. circuit 600) comprising: a first switch matrix configured to receive a first plurality of input signals, and output a first intermediate signal([0075], [0079-[0080],and figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 capable of directing signals received at multiple input ports 632(input signal) to multiple intermediate ports 634(intermediate signals)); a second switch matrix configured to receive a second plurality of input signals, and output a second intermediate signal([0075], [0086]-[0087] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 620 capable of directing signals received at the inputs 102 of the circuit (input signal) to multiple intermediate ports 630(intermediate signals));
a first switch configured to receive (i) the second intermediate signal from the second switch matrix and (ii) a first auxiliary signal, and output a second auxiliary signal([0082], [0093]-[0095] and Figs. 6-8, switch within redirection layer 624(e.g. switch 200-13, 200-14) receiving signals from the intermediate ports 630(second intermediate signal from the second matrix 620) and another signal via one of the plurality of swathes 200-n. The switch output signals to bypass links 626 which functions as the second auxiliary signal to the next stage); and a second switch configured to receive (i) the first intermediate signal from the first switch matrix and (ii) the second auxiliary signal from the first switch, and output an output signal([0075], [0096]-[0097] and Figs. 6-8, the redirection layer 628 comprising switches (e.g. 200-21), the switches 200-21 receiving signals from the intermediate ports 634(the first intermediate signal from the matrix 622) and signals from the bypass link 626(the second auxiliary signal from the first redirection layer 624) and the switches output the signals to the circuit output 104). Although Metzgen ‘021 implicitly teaches the first switch receiving first auxiliary signals as the switches (2x2 banyan switches 200-13) receiving signals which may be floating or dummy from other switches 200, Metzgen ‘021 does not explicitly teach, a first switch configured to receive a first auxiliary signal.
Metzgen ‘021 does not explicitly teach, a first switch configured to receive a first auxiliary signal.
Ticknor ‘215 teaches, a first switch configured to receive a first auxiliary signal ([0070], [0071], [0077] and Figs. 3, 6, a bypass switch (Fig. 6 element 614) located inside the module (e.g. Fig. 3 128) configured to receive signals from the internal matrix (second intermediate signal) and signal from the input/bypass lane (first auxiliary signal)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Metzgen ‘021, by incorporating the teaching of Ticknor ‘215, since such modification would provide a large size switch by interconnecting multiple modules of the expandable switch and communication between the modules as suggested by Ticknor ‘215 ([0007]).
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, a third switch matrix configured to receive a third plurality of input signals and output a third intermediate signal( [0027], [0106], [0107] , a third switch matrix capable of directing signals received at the second intermediate ports to multiple fourth intermediate ports); and a third switch configured to receive (i) the third intermediate signal from the third switch matrix and (ii) a third auxiliary signal, and output the first auxiliary signal that is received by the second switch( [0026], [0106], [0107] and Figs. 6-8, the matrix 622 can recursively comprise the same circuit architecture, including a third and four switch matrix and secondary bypass links (which functions as auxiliary signals)).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein the first switch matrix is further configured to output a third intermediate signal([0077] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 outputting multiple intermediate signals via port 634), wherein the second switch matrix is further configured to output a fourth intermediate signal( [0075], [0082] and Figs. 6-8, the switch matrix 620 outputting plurality of intermediate signals 630), wherein the output signal is a first output signal([0074], and Figs. 7-8, corresponds to the output B0), and wherein the circuit further comprises:
a third switch configured to receive (i) the fourth intermediate signal from the second switch matrix and (ii) a third auxiliary signal, and output a fourth auxiliary signal([0082] and Fig. 7, the second switch within the redirecting layer 624(e.g. switch 200-14) which receives signal from a first intermediate port 630(forth intermediate signal) and auxiliary input then output to a primary bypass link 626 (fourth auxiliary signal)); and a fourth switch configured to receive (i) the third intermediate signal from the first switch matrix and (ii) the fourth auxiliary signal from the third switch, and output a second output signal([0097] and Fig. 7, switch 200-22 which receives the signal from a third intermediate port 634 and the signal from primary bypass link 626 to output signal B1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein the first switch matrix is further configured to output a fifth intermediate signal([0077] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 outputting multiple intermediate signals via port 634), wherein the second switch matrix is further configured to output a sixth intermediate signal( [0075], [0082] and Figs. 6-8, the switch matrix 620 outputting plurality of intermediate signals 630), and wherein the circuit further comprises: a fifth switch configured to receive (i) the sixth intermediate signal from the second switch matrix and (ii) a fifth auxiliary signal, and output a sixth auxiliary signal([0082] and Fig. 7, the second switch within the redirecting layer 624(e.g. switch 200-15) which receives signal from a first intermediate port 630(forth intermediate signal) and auxiliary input then output to a primary bypass link 626 (fourth auxiliary signal)); and a sixth switch configured to receive (i) the fifth intermediate signal from the first switch matrix and (ii) the sixth auxiliary signal from the fifth switch, and output a third output signal([0097] and Fig. 7, switch 200-23 which receives the signal from a third intermediate port 634 and the signal from primary bypass link 626 to output signal B2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein the first switch matrix and the second and fourth switches provide a first switch matrix module ([0082]- [0083] and Figs. 6-8, the switch matrix 622 and the plurality of switches in the redirection layer 628), and
the second switch matrix and the first and third switches provide a second switch matrix module ([0081]- [0083] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 620 and the plurality of switches within the redirection layer 624), wherein the first and second switch matrix modules have the same design ([0108] an Figs. 6-8, the matrices 620 and 622 and the redirection layers 624 and 628 can be instances of the same circuit with equivalent properties).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein the output signal is a first output signal received by an output module( [0074] an Figs. 6-7, mapping to circuit output B0) , and wherein the circuit further comprises: a third switch matrix configured to receive a third plurality of input signals, and output a third intermediate signal([0079], [0106] and Figs. 6-8, a scalable system 600 which includes matrices 600 and 622, these recursive instances provide additional matrices required to handle large input signals); a fourth switch matrix configured to receive a fourth plurality of input signals, and output a fourth intermediate signal([0079], [0106] and Figs. 6-8, a scalable system 600 which includes matrices 600 and 622, these recursive instances provide additional matrices required to handle large input signals);
a third switch configured to receive (i) the fourth intermediate signal from the fourth switch matrix and (ii) a third auxiliary signal, and output a fourth auxiliary signal ([0066] and Fig. 7, switch 200-14 receiving matrix signal and auxiliary pass signal to output a primary by pass link 626(fourth auxiliary signal)); and a fourth switch configured to receive (i) the third intermediate signal from the third switch matrix and (ii) the fourth auxiliary signal from the third switch([0096] and Fig. 7, switch 200-22 it combines the matrix signal with bypass signal to output second output signal B1)., and output a second output signal to the output module( [0096] and Fig. 7, switch 200-22 it combines the matrix signal with bypass signal to output second output signal B1, both B0 and B1 can b routed to the same destination module).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Ticknor ‘215 further teaches, wherein the first switch matrix is configured to output a selected one of the first plurality of input signals as the first intermediate signal, or to allow the first intermediate signal to be electrically floating, or to output a ground signal as the first intermediate signal Ticknor ‘215 teaches, a first switch configured to receive a first auxiliary signal([0070], [0071], [0077] and Figs. 3, 6, the internal matrix outputting a an input signal as an output intermediate signal, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Metzgen ‘021, by incorporating the teaching of Ticknor ‘215, since such modification would provide a large size switch by interconnecting multiple modules of the expandable switch and communication between the modules as suggested by Ticknor ‘215 ([0007]).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Ticknor ‘215 further teaches, wherein the second switch matrix is configured to output a selected one of the second plurality of input signals as the second intermediate signal, or to allow the second intermediate signal to be electrically floating, or to output a ground signal as the second intermediate signal( ([0070], [0071], [0077] and Figs. 3, 6, the internal matrix inside the switch 129 outputting an input signal as an output intermediate signal, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Metzgen ‘021, by incorporating the teaching of Ticknor ‘215, since such modification would provide a large size switch by interconnecting multiple modules of the expandable switch and communication between the modules as suggested by Ticknor ‘215 ([0007]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein: the first switch is configured to output a selected one of the second intermediate signal or the first auxiliary signal as the second auxiliary signal([0082], [0093]-[0095] and Figs. 6-8, the redirection layer 624 comprising switches configured to direct a signal from the matrix(intermediate signal) to either a bypass link or a next stage); and the second switch is configured to output a selected one of the first intermediate signal or the second auxiliary signal as the output signal( [0096]-[0098] and Figs. 6-8, the redirection layer 628 which comprises switches selects between signals from the bypass link(auxiliary signal) and the matrix outputs(intermediate signals)).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, receiving, by a third switch matrix, a third plurality of input signals; outputting, by the third switch matrix, a third intermediate signal ( [0027], [0106], [0107] , a third switch matrix capable of directing signals received at the second intermediate ports to multiple fourth intermediate ports); receiving, by a third switch, the third intermediate signal from the third switch matrix and a third auxiliary signal; and outputting, by the third switch, the first auxiliary signal that is received by the first switch ( [0026], [0106], [0107] and Figs. 6-8, the matrix 622 can recursively comprise the same circuit architecture, including a third and four switch matrix and secondary bypass links (which functions as auxiliary signals)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, wherein: outputting, by the first switch matrix, the first intermediate signal comprises outputting a selected one of the first plurality of input signals as the first intermediate signal ([0077] and Fig. 7, matrix switch 622 outputting one of the selected input signals received via port 632); and outputting, by the second switch matrix, the second intermediate signal comprises outputting a selected one of the second plurality of input signals as the second intermediate signal([0076] and fig. 7, switch matrix 620 outputting one of the inputs 102 into intermediate port 624 ).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches, outputting, by the first switch, the second auxiliary signal comprises outputting a selected one of the second intermediate signal or the first auxiliary signal as the second auxiliary signa ([0082], [0093]-[0095] and Figs. 6-8, the redirection layer 624 comprising switches configured to direct a signal from the matrix(intermediate signal) to either a bypass link or a next stage and outputting, by the second switch, the output signal comprises outputting a selected one of the first intermediate signal or the second auxiliary signal as the output signal ( [0096]-[0098] and Figs. 6-8, the redirection layer 628 which comprises switches selects between signals from the bypass link(auxiliary signal) and the matrix outputs(intermediate signals)).
Regarding claim 18, Metzgen ‘021 teaches wherein the switch matrix is a first switch matrix, the plurality of input signals is a first plurality of input signals ([0077] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 622 and plurality of inputs 632), and wherein the circuit further comprises:
a second switch matrix configured to receive a second plurality of input signals ([0076] and Figs. 6-8, switch matrix 620 receiving plurality of signals from the input circuit 102), and
output a selected one of the second plurality of input signals as a third intermediate signal ([0082] an Figs. 6-8, signal output from switch matrix 620 to a first intermediate port 630); and a third switch to receive the third intermediate signal and a third auxiliary signal, and output the first auxiliary signal that is received by the first switch0082], [0093]-[0095] and Figs. 6-8, switch within redirection layer 624(e.g. switch 200-13, 200-14) receiving signals from the intermediate ports 630(second intermediate signal from the second matrix 620) and another signal via one of the plurality of swathes 200-n. The switch output signals to bypass links 626 which functions as the second auxiliary signal to the next stage).
Metzgen ‘021 does not explicitly teach, a third switch configured to receive a third auxiliary signal.
Ticknor ‘215 teaches, a third switch configured to receive a third auxiliary signal ([0070], [0071], [0077] and Figs. 3, 6, a bypass switch (Fig. 6 element 614) located inside the module (e.g. Fig. 3 128) configured to receive signals from the internal matrix (second intermediate signal) and signal from the input/bypass lane (first auxiliary signal)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Metzgen ‘021, by incorporating the teaching of Ticknor ‘215, since such modification would provide a large size switch by interconnecting multiple modules of the expandable switch and communication between the modules as suggested by Ticknor ‘215 ([0007]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations, Metzgen ‘021 further teaches: a third switch matrix and a fifth switch configured to generate the third auxiliary signal ([0026], [0106], [0107] and Figs. 6-8, the matrix 622 can recursively comprise the same circuit architecture, including a third switch matrix and fifth switch to generate third bypass links (which functions as auxiliary signals)).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Tillman et al(US 2010/0203860 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the first auxiliary signal is an electrically floating signal or an electrically grounded signal.
Tillman ‘860 teaches, wherein the first auxiliary signal is an electrically floating signal or an electrically grounded signal ([0033] and Fig. 5, electrically grounded signal being used as an input to a switch, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215, by incorporating the teaching of Tillman ‘860, since such modification would provide a calibration circuit for reducing second-order inter-modulation distortion, originating from imbalance between devices, in a differential passive mixer, as suggested by Tilman 860([0001]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the third auxiliary signal is an electrically floating signal, is a ground signal, or is a radio frequency (RF) input signal.
Tillman ‘860 teaches, wherein the third auxiliary signal is an electrically floating signal, is a ground signal, or is a radio frequency (RF) input signal ([0033] and Fig. 5, electrically grounded signal being used as an input to a switch, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215, by incorporating the teaching of Tillman ‘860, since such modification would provide a calibration circuit for reducing second-order inter-modulation distortion, originating from imbalance between devices, in a differential passive mixer, as suggested by Tilman 860([0001]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Becker et al(US 2012/0262007 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the first and second plurality of input signals are radio frequency (RF) signals.
Becker ‘007 teaches, wherein the first and second plurality of input signals are radio frequency (RF) signals ([0042], [0051], switch matrix configured for switching RF signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215, by incorporating the teaching of Becker ‘007, since such modification would provide a simple and effective systems and method for designing and implementing topologies for switching, as suggested by Becker ‘007([0006]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215 teaches all of the claim limitations except, a printed circuit board (PCB) or printed wiring board (PWB) comprising the circuit of claim 1.
Becker ‘007 teaches, a printed circuit board (PCB) or printed wiring board (PWB) comprising the circuit of claim 1([0047], [0049]-[0050], switching matrix maybe implemented on PCB or PWB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Metzgen ‘021 and Ticknor ‘215, by incorporating the teaching of Becker ‘007, since such modification would provide a simple and effective systems and method for designing and implementing topologies for switching, as suggested by Becker ‘007([0006]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474