Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13, 14, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Pahlke (PGPUB 2020/0122963).
With respect to claim 1, Pahlke teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by a controller (fig. 3, 302) of an elevator system (fig. 1, 101), a sensor event associated with a location in a building (paragraph 0046); and
changing, by the controller, the state of at least one elevator associated with the location from an idle state to an active state (paragraph 0045).
With respect to claim 2, Pahlke teaches wherein obtaining, by a controller of an elevator system, a sensor event associated with a location in a building, comprises:
obtaining, by the controller, the sensor event associated with the location in the building from an elevator system node, the sensor event indicating an event detected by the elevator system node (paragraph 0046).
With respect to claim 3, Pahlke teaches wherein the event detected by the elevator system node comprises at least one of increased brightness, a motion event or a proximity event (paragraph 0045; wakeup/move).
With respect to claim 4, Pahlke teaches wherein the elevator system node comprises a destination operating panel, a destination guide, an intelligent landing call station or a sensor node (fig. 1, 113).
With respect to claim 5, Pahlke teaches wherein obtaining, by a controller of an elevator system, a sensor event associated with a location in a building, comprises: obtaining, by the controller, the sensor event associated with the location in the building from a building system, the sensor event indicating an increased power consumption of at least one system node at the location (paragraph 0045; out of low power, increased).
With respect to claim 7, Pahlke teaches controller of an elevator system, the controller comprising:
means for obtaining (fig. 3, 310/302) a sensor event associated with a location in a building (paragraph 0046); and
means for changing, (fig. 3, 310/302) the state of at least one elevator associated with the location from an idle state to an active state (paragraph 0045).
With respect to claim 8, Pahlke teaches wherein the means for obtaining are configured to obtain the sensor event associated with the location in the building from an elevator system node, the sensor event indicating an event detected by the elevator system node (paragraph 0046).
With respect to claim 9, Pahlke teaches wherein the event detected by the elevator system node comprises at least one of increased brightness, a motion event or a proximity event (paragraph 0045; wakeup/move).
With respect to claim 10, Pahlke teaches wherein the elevator system node comprises a destination operating panel a destination guide, an intelligent landing call station or a sensor node (113).
With respect to claim 11, Pahlke teaches wherein the means for obtaining are configured to obtain the sensor event associated with the location in the building from a building system, the sensor event indicating an increased power consumption of at least one system node at the location (paragraph 0045; out of low power, increased).
With respect to claim 13, Pahlke teaches elevator system comprising: at least one elevator (103); and the controller of any of claims 7.
With respect to claim 14, Pahlke teaches a computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium (fig. 2, 34/22 contain code) and comprising program code, which when executed by at least one processing unit, causes a controller of any of claims the method of any of claims 1.
With respect to claim 16, Pahlke teaches wherein the elevator system node comprises a destination operating panel, a destination guide, an intelligent landing call station or a sensor node (113).
With respect to claim 21, Pahlke teaches wherein the elevator system node comprises a destination operating panel a destination guide, an intelligent landing call station or a sensor node (113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahlke (PGPUB 2020/0122963).
With respect to claim 6, Pahlke does not teach wherein changing, by the controller, the state of at least one elevator associated with the location from an idle state to an active state, comprises:
changing, by the controller, the state of an elevator closest to the location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to detection of closest elevator would account for its change, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With respect to claim 12, Pahlke does not teach wherein the means for changing are configured to change the state of an elevator closest to the location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to detection of closest elevator would account for its change, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With respect to claims 17-20, Pahlke does not teach wherein changing, by the controller, the state of at least one elevator associated with the location from an idle state to an active state, comprises:
changing, by the controller, the state of an elevator closest to the location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to detection of closest elevator would account for its change, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837