DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the present application. Claims 1 and 3-11 have been amended and claims 12-19 are new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barron et al. (US PGPUB 20170082111) in view of Coxe, III (US PGPUB 20090265045) in view of Song et al. (US PGPUB 20180035572).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10; Barron teaches; A server chassis cooling fan control method comprising: (Barron; at least Figs. 1-5; [0016]; disclose a cooling fan that is utilized in server chassis cooling)
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the chassis, based on the collected state monitoring data; and (Barron; at least Figs. 2-7; paragraphs [0005] and [0043]; disclose mapping temperature data in a plurality of swept areas (i.e. zones) which is then used to calculate individual fan speeds such that each area is maintained within temperature constraints)
controlling cooling fans installed in the respective zones based on the generated chassis temperature distribution map. (Barron; at least paragraphs [0005] and [0045]-[0046]; disclose wherein the calculated fan speeds for each fan to maintain each swept area temperature within the constraints is set and controlled to achieve optimal cooling control of the system).
Barron appears to be silent on; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis;
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the, based on the collected state monitoring data;
However, Coxe teaches; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis; (Coxe; at least paragraph [0066]; disclose wherein each blade server mounted in a chassis includes a thermal sensor that is then assigned a representative zone wherein the system include collecting thermal data from each sensor from each blade server)
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the, based on the collected state monitoring data; (Coxe; at least Figs. 8-11; paragraphs [0053]-[0054] and [0066]; disclose a system and method for creating a thermal (i.e. temperature) distribution mapping of a chassis containing servers mounted within based on received thermal data from thermal sensors associated with each blade server, and wherein various fan modules are set to each thermal region/zone and are controlled to maintain temperatures within the given regions/zones).
Barron and Coxe are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or
similar problem solving area, of server rack cooling and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of creating chassis temperature distribution maps as taught by Coxe with the known system of a server cooling and control system as taught by Barron in order to provide a way to improve cooling efficiency which lowers operating costs as taught by Coxe (paragraph [0003]).
Barron and Coxe appear to be silent on; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis;
However, Song teaches; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis; (Song; at least paragraph [0014]; disclose a cooling control system for a server rack system in which each blade of a server rack includes an element management controller (i.e. baseboard management controller) that provides detected monitoring data to a the system for cooling generation).
Barron, Coxe, and Song are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or
similar problem solving area, of server rack cooling and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of collecting data from the element controller of each server blade as taught by Song with the known system of a server cooling and control system as taught by Barron and Coxe in order to provide a way better detect areas that require cooling so that airflow can be directed to specific zones thus saving on energy as the directed cooling requires less resources as taught by Song (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12; the combination of Barron, Coxe, and Song teach; The server chassis cooling fan control method of claim 1, wherein the chassis temperature distribution map is a map that represents a temperature distribution for the respective zones that are obtained by partitioning the chassis vertically and horizontally. (Coxe; at least Figs. 8-11).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17; the combination of Barron, Coxe, and Song teach; The server chassis cooling fan control method of claim 1, wherein the controlling comprises: calculating rotation speeds of cooling fans installed in the respective zones, based on the generated chassis temperature distribution map; and performing a third calibration step of calibrating calculated rotation speeds for cooling fans which are operated in excess of a threshold driving time. (Barron; at least paragraphs [0024] and [0041]-[0046]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18; the combination of Barron, Coxe, and Song teach; The server chassis cooling fan control method of claim 7, further comprising performing a fourth calibration of calibrating calculated rotation speeds when an air quality level is greater than or equal to a threshold level. (Barron; at least paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19; the combination of Barron and Coxe teach; The server chassis cooling fan control method of claim 1, further comprising performing a fifth calibration of calibrating calculated rotation speeds based on a distribution of rotation speeds of the cooling fans, wherein the performing a fifth calibration comprises reducing a rotation speed of a cooling fan when cooling fans positioned above, below, to the left, and to the right of the cooling fan are all operated at a maximum rotation speed. (Barron; at least paragraphs [0041]-[0046]).
Regarding Claim 11; Barron teaches; A server chassis cooling fan control method comprising: (Barron; at least Figs. 1-5; [0016]; disclose a cooling fan that is utilized in server chassis cooling)
collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis;
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the chassis, based on the collected state monitoring data; and (Barron; at least Figs. 2-7; paragraphs [0005] and [0043]; disclose mapping temperature data in a plurality of swept areas (i.e. zones) which is then used to calculate individual fan speeds such that each area is maintained within temperature constraints)
calculating rotation speeds of cooling fans which are installed in respective zones, based on the generated chassis temperature distribution map. (Barron; at least paragraphs [0024] and [0041]-[0046]).
Barron appears to be silent on; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis;
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the chassis, based on the collected state monitoring data; and
However, Coxe teaches; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis; (Coxe; at least paragraph [0066]; disclose wherein each blade server mounted in a chassis includes a thermal sensor that is then assigned a representative zone wherein the system include collecting thermal data from each sensor from each blade server)
generating a chassis temperature distribution map for respective zones of the chassis, based on the collected state monitoring data; and (Coxe; at least Figs. 8-11; paragraphs [0053]-[0054] and [0066]; disclose a system and method for creating a thermal (i.e. temperature) distribution mapping of a chassis containing servers mounted within based on received thermal data from thermal sensors associated with each blade server, and wherein various fan modules are set to each thermal region/zone and are controlled to maintain temperatures within the given regions/zones).
Barron and Coxe are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or
similar problem solving area, of server rack cooling and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of creating chassis temperature distribution maps as taught by Coxe with the known system of a server cooling and control system as taught by Barron in order to provide a way to improve cooling efficiency which lowers operating costs as taught by Coxe (paragraph [0003]).
Barron and Coxe appear to be silent on; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis;
However, Song teaches; collecting state monitoring data from a baseboard management controller (BMC) of each server mounted in a chassis; (Song; at least paragraph [0014]; disclose a cooling control system for a server rack system in which each blade of a server rack includes an element management controller (i.e. baseboard management controller) that provides detected monitoring data to a the system for cooling generation).
Barron, Coxe, and Song are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or
similar problem solving area, of server rack cooling and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of collecting data from the element controller of each server blade as taught by Song with the known system of a server cooling and control system as taught by Barron and Coxe in order to provide a way better detect areas that require cooling so that airflow can be directed to specific zones thus saving on energy as the directed cooling requires less resources as taught by Song (paragraph [0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 13 recite: “The server chassis control system of claim 2, wherein, for the generating the chassis temperature distribution map, the processor of the chassis management module is configured to:
generate the chassis temperature distribution map based on data related to a position and a temperature of each edge server,
wherein a temperature of each zone is calculated by applying a weighting according to an occupancy rate of each edge server positioned in each zone to a temperature value of the edge server and adding up the weighted values; and
perform a first calibration of calibrating the generated chassis temperature distribution map, based on a future workload that is predicted for each edge server.”
This application describes a way to cool an edge server chassis more intelligently in harsh environments. Instead of running all cooling fans the same way, the system gathers temperature and status data from each server’s baseboard management controller (BMC). It then builds a temperature map of the chassis by zone. Based on that zone-by-zone map, the system sets fan speeds separately for different zones. The map can be adjusted using predicted future workload, the zone’s position in the chassis, fan run-time, and air quality. The goal is to keep hot spots from causing damage while avoiding unnecessary fan power use.
The closest prior art of record is Barron et al. (US PGPUB 20170082111) in view of Coxe, III (US PGPUB 20090265045) in view of Song et al. (US PGPUB 20180035572). Barron discloses a server cooling system and method which generates a temperature distribution map for a server system, and in response, controls the fan speed of a plurality of fans according the temperature map. Coxe discloses a server chassis cooling system and method which creates a plurality of zones according to a plurality of server blades within a chassis. The system can assign a plurality of thermal sensors associated with a plurality of server blades to a plurality of zones, thus creating a mapping, and then control localized fans to cool based upon associated zone temperatures. Song discloses a thermal control system and method for a server system including extracting performance and temperature data from individual controllers associated with each server blade, and controlling thermal temperatures based upon received information. However, none of the cited references, alone or in combination, provide explicit recitation of monitoring an occupancy of each server, applying weights to monitored temperatures based upon the predicted occupancy, and then further calibrating the generated map on the predicted future occupancies of the various server blades. This allows for the system of the present application to proactively determine and respond to predicted temperature transients within the system, rather than performing reactionary control steps like the closest prior art of record.
Dependent claims 4-6 and 14-16, each depend upon objected to claims 3 and 13 respectively, and if incorporated with the identified claims in their entirety, would also be considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 4/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Barron et al. (US PGPUB 20170082111) in view of Coxe, III (US PGPUB 20090265045) in view of Song et al. (US PGPUB 20180035572).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gupta et al. (US PGPUB 20140278333): disclose a system and method for monitoring and modeling thermal behavior of server system, such that temperature patterns can be sufficiently monitored and utilized for cooling operations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117