Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
This Action is in reply to the January 21, 2026 Amendment under 37 CFR 1.111.
The Response follows a October 21, 2025 Non-Final Office Action. The January 21 Amendment, makes an amendment to each of the pending claims 1-12, 14-20. No New claims are added, and no claims are cancelled.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicants allege that for example, claim 1 is patentable because each and every element of the claim is not disclosed or suggested by the combined references. The rejection in question is a single reference 35 USC 102 to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0387709 A1 to Baykaner et al. (hereinafter Baykaner).
More precisely, within the Remarks section, at pages 11-12, in the Amendment, Applicants allege Baykaner does not teach or suggest one or more processors configured to “based on the signal corresponding to a tap input on a user terminal, control the display to display a user terminal image being displayed on the user terminal,” as recited in claim 1.
A close review of the Baykaner reference, shows (see, detailed description, including, to generate a command signal to trigger a corresponding action associated with the target object 208c, para. 0055, and Once the target exhibit has been identified using the location data, the apparatus may be configured to generate a command signal which triggers the playback of audio data providing factual information about the target exhibit to the first user. This audio data may be output via a loudspeaker adjacent the target exhibit, or via an audio headset worn by the first user, para. 0059) and Depending on the particular action, the present apparatus may be configured to generate the command signal automatically on identification of the target object or in response to a user input received from the first user (e.g. a touch input, gesture and/or voice command from the first user, para. 0064).
It is believed that a touch input function also includes a tap input. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1) to Baykaner is maintained and strengthened in view of the above.
Applicants are welcome to further amend and specify their claimed invention through whatever supported, and enabled language they possess in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0387709 A1 to Baykaner et al. (hereinafter Baykaner).
With regards to claim 1, Baykaner discloses:
1. An electronic apparatus comprising:
a display (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, Furthermore, the apparatus 101 may be one or more of an electronic device, a portable electronic device, a portable telecommunications device, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, a phablet, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a server, a smartphone, a smartwatch, smart eyewear, headphones, a virtual assistant device, a router, a wireless access point, and a module for one or more of the same, para. 0051);
a camera (see, Fig. 2, and detailed description, including, the location data may comprise data captured using one or more of a video camera, GPS, radar, lidar, WiFi and Bluetooth LE, para. 0057);
a communication interface (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, as above, the apparatus 101 may be one or more of an electronic device, a portable electronic device, a portable telecommunications device, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant, a tablet, a phablet, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a server, a smartphone, a smartwatch, smart eyewear, headphones, a virtual assistant device, a router, a wireless access point, and a module for one or more of the same, para. 0051);
a memory configured to store information (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, FIG. 1 shows an example apparatus 101 comprising a processor 102, memory 103, para. 0051); and
one or more processors configured to (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, FIG. 1 shows an example apparatus 101 comprising a processor 102, memory 103 (including computer program code) and transceiver 104 which are electrically connected to one another by a data bus 105. (see, para. 0051):
based on a specific object being identified from -a captured image obtained through the camera, identify a preset zone with respect to the specific object (see, detailed description, including, each object 208a-d may have a respective interaction zone within which the first user 206 is able to interact with the object 208a-d, and the apparatus may be configured to identify the target object 208c further based on the determined location of the first user 206 relative to the respective interaction zones of the plurality of objects 208a-d, para. 0061),
based on a user being identified from the captured image, identify whether the user is located within the preset zone (see, detailed description, including, each object 208a-d may have a respective interaction zone within which the first user 206 is able to interact with the object 208a-d, and the apparatus may be configured to identify the target object 208c further based on the determined location of the first user 206 relative to the respective interaction zones of the plurality of objects 208a-d., para. 0062, and the first user 306 is not currently located within the predefined interaction zone 310f, however, the apparatus would not identify the loudspeaker 308f as the target object, para. 0063), and
based on a signal corresponding to a user interaction being received by the communication interface and identifying that the user is located in the preset zone, control the display to display a user interface (UI) screen corresponding to a type of the user interaction (see, detailed description, including, to generate a command signal to trigger a corresponding action associated with the target object 208c, para. 0055, and Once the target exhibit has been identified using the location data, the apparatus may be configured to generate a command signal which triggers the playback of audio data providing factual information about the target exhibit to the first user. This audio data may be output via a loudspeaker adjacent the target exhibit, or via an audio headset worn by the first user, para. 0059) Depending on the particular action, the present apparatus may be configured to generate the command signal automatically on identification of the target object or in response to a user input received from the first user (e.g. a touch input, gesture and/or voice command from the first user). For example, the gaze of the first user alone may be sufficient to power-up or unlock the target object, but an additional user input may be required to activate a particular feature or obtain information. In this respect, the apparatus may comprise a list of actions for each object that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs. The list of actions may be predefined, for example set by manufacturer of the object, a user or an administrator. The list of actions may be updated over time to add, remove, replace, or modify one or more respective actions that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs, para. 0064) and
based on the signal corresponding to a tap input on a user terminal, control the display to display a user terminal image being displayed on the user terminal (see, detailed description, including, to generate a command signal to trigger a corresponding action associated with the target object 208c, para. 0055, and Once the target exhibit has been identified using the location data, the apparatus may be configured to generate a command signal which triggers the playback of audio data providing factual information about the target exhibit to the first user. This audio data may be output via a loudspeaker adjacent the target exhibit, or via an audio headset worn by the first user, para. 0059) and Depending on the particular action, the present apparatus may be configured to generate the command signal automatically on identification of the target object or in response to a user input received from the first user (e.g. a touch input, gesture and/or voice command from the first user, para. 0064).
With regards to claim 2, Baykaner discloses:
2. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
control the display to display an image including the specific object (see, detailed description, including, the first user 406 may wish to view his/her bank account information on an electronic display without anyone else being able to see this information, para. 0071),
control the display to display the UI screen to set a preset zone on the displayed image (see, detailed description, including, the apparatus 401 may be configured to identify the one or more further users (e.g. based on location data captured using a video camera or a user input captured using voice-recognition software), and store the identities of the one or more further users together with their respective permissions and/or interactions with the target object 408c, para. 0071) and
identify the preset zone based on a user command input through the UI screen (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the apparatus 401 may be configured to identify the one or more further users (e.g. based on location data captured using a video camera or a user input captured using voice-recognition software) para. 0071).
With regards to claim 3, Baykaner discloses:
3. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to, based on identifying that the user is located in the preset zone for a predetermined amount of time, identify that the user is located in the preset zone (see, detailed description, including, configured to identify the one or more further users (e.g. based on location data captured using a video camera or a user input captured using voice-recognition software), and store the identities of the one or more further users together with their respective permissions and/or interactions with the target object 408c, para. 0071, and the respective permissions may comprise access rights with or without corresponding time constraint, para. 0069).
With regards to claim 4, Baykaner discloses:
4. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
control the display to display an image including a plurality of specific objects, (see, Fig. 2, and detailed description, including, where multiple objects 208a-d are in close proximity to one another, there may be more than one object 208a-d within the field of view 209 of the first user 206, para. 0060) (see, detailed description, including, each object 208a-d may have a respective interaction zone within which the first user 206 is able to interact with the object 208a-d, para. 0061)
control the display to display the UI screen to set preset zones corresponding to the plurality of specific objects from the displayed image, (see, detailed description, including, configured to identify the target object 208c further based on the determined location of the first user 206 relative to the respective interaction zones of the plurality of objects 208a-d, para. 0061)and
identify the preset zones corresponding to the plurality of specific objects based on a user command input through the UI screen (see, detailed description, including, some objects 208a-d may require the first user 206 to be within a particular distance of the object 208a-d, or to look at the object 208a-d from a particular position, to enable said interaction, para. 0061).
With regards to claim 5, Baykaner discloses:
5. The electronic apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
control the display to display the UI screen representing a region based on each of the plurality of specific objects (see, detailed description, including, each object 208a-d may have a respective interaction zone within which the first user 206 is able to interact with the object 208a-d, and the apparatus may be configured to identify the target object 208c further based on the determined location of the first user 206 relative to the respective interaction zones of the plurality of objects 208a-d, para. 0061), and
identify at least one region that is selected based on a user command, from among regions identified based on each of the plurality of specific objects, as the preset zone (see, Fig. 3a, and detailed description, including, he television 308e has a predefined interaction zone 310e within which the first user 306 should be able to view the electronic display clearly (e.g. based on recommended viewing distances/angles for the television 308e). Since the first user 306 is not currently located within the predefined interaction zone 310e, however, the apparatus would not identify the television 308e as the target object, para. 0062).
With regards to claim 6, Baykaner discloses:
6. The electronic apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
store, in the memory, information about a plurality of preset zones mapped to face information of a plurality of users (see, detailed description, including, the apparatus may comprise a list of actions for each object that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs. The list of actions may be predefined, for example set by manufacturer of the object, a user or an administrator, para. 0064)
based on the face information of a first user being identified from the captured image obtained through the camera, obtain information about the plurality of preset zones mapped to the face information of the first user among the face information of the plurality of users (see, detailed description, including, the gaze of the first user alone may be sufficient to power-up or unlock the target object, but an additional user input may be required to activate a particular feature or obtain information. In this respect, the apparatus may comprise a list of actions for each object that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs, para. 0064), and
identify whether the first user is located in the plurality of preset zones mapped to the face information of the first user (see, Fig. 3b, and detailed description, including, predefined interaction zone 310f within which the first user 306 should be able to hear the audio output from the loudspeaker 308f clearly (e.g. based on recommended listening distances/angles for the loudspeaker 308f). Since the first user 306 is not currently located within the predefined interaction zone 310f, however, the apparatus would not identify the loudspeaker 308f as the target object, para. 0063).
With regards to claim 7, Baykaner discloses:
7. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
identify a control command corresponding to the type of the user interaction (see, detailed description, including, Depending on the particular action, the present apparatus may be configured to generate the command signal automatically on identification of the target object or in response to a user input received from the first user (e.g. a touch input, gesture and/or voice command from the first user) para. 0064), and
based on the control command being a command to control a UI screen provided by the user terminal, transmit, to the user terminal through the communication interface, a control signal to provide the UI screen corresponding to content displayed on the display in the user terminal (see, Fig. 4, and detailed description, including, the gaze of the first user alone may be sufficient to power-up or unlock the target object, but an additional user input may be required to activate a particular feature or obtain information. In this respect, the apparatus may comprise a list of actions for each object that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs. The list of actions may be predefined, for example set by manufacturer of the object, a user or an administrator, para. 0064-0065).
With regards to claim 8, Baykaner discloses:
8. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
identify whether the user terminal is located in the preset zone based on received signal strength indication (RSSJ) size information of a signal that is received from the user terminal (see, detailed description, including, term “signaling” may refer to one or more signals transmitted as a series of transmitted and/or received signals. The series of signals may comprise one, two, three, four or even more individual signal components or distinct signals to make up said signaling. Some or all of these individual signals may be transmitted/received simultaneously, in sequence, and/or such that they temporally overlap one another, para. 0083), and
based on identifying that the user terminal is located in the preset zone, identify that the user is located within the preset zone (see, detailed description, including, the television 308e has a predefined interaction zone 310e within which the first user 306 should be able to view the electronic display clearly (e.g. based on recommended viewing distances/angles for the television 308e), para. 0062).
With regards to claim 9, Baykaner discloses:
9. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to:
based on the specific object being identified from a first image obtained through the camera, identify a preset zone with respect to the specific object, and store, in the memory, information about the preset zone, (see, detailed description, including, information could be received from a central device (e.g. a server) configured to store location data for each of the plurality of objects 208a-d, para. 0059) and
based on the user being identified from a second image obtained through the camera, identify whether the user is located within the preset zone based on information about the preset zone stored in the memory (see, detailed description, including, some objects 208a-d may require the first user 206 to be within a particular distance of the object 208a-d, or to look at the object 208a-d from a particular position, to enable said interaction. To account for these scenarios, each object 208a-d may have a respective interaction zone within which the first user 206 is able to interact with the object 208a-d, and the apparatus may be configured to identify the target object 208c further based on the determined location of the first user 206 relative to the respective interaction zones of the plurality of objects 208a-d, para. 0061).
With regards to claim 10, Baykaner discloses:
10. The electronic apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UI screen corresponding to the type of the user interaction is the UI screen for providing a multi device experience (see, detailed description, including, Once the target exhibit has been identified using the location data, the apparatus may be configured to generate a command signal which triggers the playback of audio data providing factual information about the target exhibit to the first user. This audio data may be output via a loudspeaker adjacent the target exhibit, or via an audio headset worn by the first user, para. 0059) and Depending on the particular action, the present apparatus may be configured to generate the command signal automatically on identification of the target object or in response to a user input received from the first user (e.g. a touch input, gesture and/or voice command from the first user). For example, the gaze of the first user alone may be sufficient to power-up or unlock the target object, but an additional user input may be required to activate a particular feature or obtain information. In this respect, the apparatus may comprise a list of actions for each object that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs. The list of actions may be predefined, for example set by manufacturer of the object, a user or an administrator. The list of actions may be updated over time to add, remove, replace, or modify one or more respective actions that can be triggered by the apparatus in response to the corresponding command signals and/or accepted user inputs, para. 0064).
With regard to claim 11, claim 11 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 12, claim 12 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 13, claim 13 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 3 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 14, claim 14 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 4 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 15, claim 15 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 5 (an apparatus claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 16, claim 16 (an apparatus claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 11 (a method claim) with the addition of a memory (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, FIG. 1 shows an example apparatus 101 comprising a processor 102, memory 103, para. 0051) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 17, claim 17 (an apparatus claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 12 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 18, claim 18 (an apparatus claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 13 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 19, claim 19 (an apparatus claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 14 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 20, claim 20 an apparatus claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 15 (a method claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered
pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure, includes:
US 2014/0198030 A1 to Takazawa discusses - An image projection device for projecting an image on a projection object includes a detecting unit configured to detect a detection object present within an object space corresponding to the image projected by the image projection device; a recognizing unit configured to recognize an instruction motion of a user based on detection of the detection object by the detecting unit; and an output unit configured to generate an output corresponding to the instruction motion recognized within the object space by the recognizing unit from the instruction motion and the image projected by the image projection device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 2-6-2026