DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11-13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO (US20240251278A1) in view of JANG (US20220322199A1).
Regarding claim 1, GUO teaches a sensing data reporting method, comprising:
receiving sensing data request information from a control network element, the sensing data request information including sensing data reporting information of target sensing data to be reported to a target network element (GUO teaches a terminal device receiving a "second sensing instruction" (sensing data request information) that originates from a first core network element, such as a sensing control network element. This instruction indicates that the terminal device is to perform a sensing operation related to a "target sensing task" and contains information regarding a second core network element (the target network element) to which the data should be reported, para. 0059-64);
generating, by processing circuitry of a terminal device, the target sensing data according to the sensing data reporting information included in the sensing data request information (GUO discloses that the apparatus (terminal device) includes a processor (processing circuitry). After receiving the second sensing instruction, the terminal device performs a sensing operation related to the target sensing task according to the instruction so as to obtain (generate) corresponding sensing data, para. 0059-64);
establishing, based on the sensing data request information, a communication session according to address information of the target network element to which the target sensing data is to be reported over a period of time (GUO teaches reporting data through a "user plane mode," which involves establishing communication to send a data packet to the target network element based on its address information (e.g., an IP address parsed from a network element ID or domain name, para. 0065-69); and
reporting the target sensing data to the target network element via the communication session (GUO teaches that the terminal device reports the obtained sensing data to the second core network element (target network element). Specifically, it reports the sensing data in a user plane mode, which includes sending a data packet carrying the sensing data to the second core network element, para. 0059-69).
GUO is silent to teaching that wherein the address information being included in a user equipment route selection policy received from the control network element when the communication session between the terminal device and the target network element is not established.
In the same field of endeavor, JANG teaches a method wherein the address information being included in a user equipment route selection policy received from the control network element when the communication session between the terminal device and the target network element is not established (JANG teaches receiving a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule from a Policy Control Function (PCF) via an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). JANG teaches obtaining a URSP rule that includes a traffic descriptor with an IP address and requesting the establishment of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session corresponding to the route selection descriptor, fig. 5, 7, para. 0129-135, sensing information, para. 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO with the teaching of JANG in order to improve wireless service and meet the demand for wireless service (see JANG, para. 0003-5).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1, wherein the user equipment route selection policy includes a sensing data parameter in a traffic descriptor parameter (JANG, para. 0129, fig. 7, 702).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1, wherein the establishing comprises: establishing the communication session according to one of the address information and virtual address information of the target network element included in the user equipment route selection policy, wherein the communication session is an IP type session when the one of the address information and the virtual address information is included in an IP descriptor of the user equipment route selection policy, and an Ethernet type session when the one of the address information and the virtual address information is included in a non-IP descriptor of the user equipment route selection policy (JANG teaches URSP rules containing IP and non-IP descriptors, para. 0129, fig. 7, 702).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting the target sensing data comprises: encapsulating the target sensing data into a data packet according to the user equipment route selection policy; and transmitting the data packet to the target network element via the communication session (GUO teaches encapsulating target sensing data into a data packet via user plane mode).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the target sensing data to the target network element via the communication session when the communication session between the terminal device and the target network element is established (GUO, fig. 7, 708).
Regarding claim 12, GUO teaches an information generation method performed by a control network element, the method comprising:
generating sensing data request information, the sensing data request information including sensing data reporting information of target sensing data to be reported by a terminal device to a target network element over a period of time (GUO, fig. 7,700-706, teaches that the terminal device is to perform a sensing operation related to a "target sensing task" and contains information regarding a second core network element (the target network element) to which the data should be reported, para. 0059-64);
generating a user plane, the user plane including address information of the target network element to which the terminal device is to establish a communication session for the target sensing data to be reported (GUO discloses that the apparatus (terminal device) includes a processor (processing circuitry). After receiving the second sensing instruction, the terminal device performs a sensing operation related to the target sensing task according to the instruction so as to obtain (generate) corresponding sensing data, para. 0059-64, fig. 7,708); and
transmitting, by the control network element, the sensing data request information to the terminal device (GUO, fig. 7,700-706).
GUO is silent to teaching that comprising generating a user equipment route selection policy, the user equipment route selection policy including address information of the target network element to which the terminal device is to establish a communication session for the target data to be reported; and transmitting the user equipment route selection policy.
In the same field of endeavor, JANG teaches a method comprising generating a user equipment route selection policy, the user equipment route selection policy including address information of the target network element to which the terminal device is to establish a communication session for the target data to be reported; and transmitting the user equipment route selection policy (JANG teaches receiving a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule from a Policy Control Function (PCF) via an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). JANG teaches obtaining a URSP rule that includes a traffic descriptor with an IP address and requesting the establishment of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session corresponding to the route selection descriptor, fig. 5, 7, para. 0129-135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO with the teaching of JANG in order to improve wireless service and meet the demand for wireless service (see JANG, para. 0003-5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the information generation method according to claim 12, wherein the generating the user equipment route selection policy comprises: adding a sensing data parameter to a traffic descriptor parameter of a preset user equipment route selection policy (JANG, para. 0059, sensing information), and writing the address information of the target network element to the traffic descriptor parameter (JANG, para. 0107).
Regarding claim 17, GUO teaches a sensing data reporting apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
receive sensing data request information from a control network element, the sensing data request information including sensing data reporting information of target sensing data to be reported to a target network element (GUO teaches a terminal device receiving a "second sensing instruction" (sensing data request information) that originates from a first core network element, such as a sensing control network element. This instruction indicates that the terminal device is to perform a sensing operation related to a "target sensing task" and contains information regarding a second core network element (the target network element) to which the data should be reported, para. 0059-64);
generate the target sensing data according to the sensing data reporting information included in the sensing data request information (GUO discloses that the apparatus (terminal device) includes a processor (processing circuitry). After receiving the second sensing instruction, the terminal device performs a sensing operation related to the target sensing task according to the instruction so as to obtain (generate) corresponding sensing data, para. 0059-64);
establish, based on the sensing data request information, a communication session according to address information of the target network element to which the target sensing data is to be reported over a period of time (GUO teaches reporting data through a "user plane mode," which involves establishing communication to send a data packet to the target network element based on its address information (e.g., an IP address parsed from a network element ID or domain name, para. 0065-69); and
report the target sensing data to the target network element via the communication session (GUO teaches that the terminal device reports the obtained sensing data to the second core network element (target network element). Specifically, it reports the sensing data in a user plane mode, which includes sending a data packet carrying the sensing data to the second core network element, para. 0059-69).
GUO is silent to teaching that wherein the address information being included in a user equipment route selection policy received from the control network element when the communication session between the terminal device and the target network element is not established.
In the same field of endeavor, JANG teaches a method wherein the address information being included in a user equipment route selection policy received from the control network element when the communication session between the terminal device and the target network element is not established (JANG teaches receiving a User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule from a Policy Control Function (PCF) via an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). JANG teaches obtaining a URSP rule that includes a traffic descriptor with an IP address and requesting the establishment of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session corresponding to the route selection descriptor, fig. 5, 7, para. 0129-135, sensing information, para. 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO with the teaching of JANG in order to improve wireless service and meet the demand for wireless service (see JANG, para. 0003-5).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO and JANG as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Di Girolamo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0022029 A1; hereinafter “Di Girolamo”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1.
The combination of GUO and JANG is silent to teaching that comprising: transmitting first sensing capability identification information to the control network element when the terminal device has a self-sensing capability.
In the same field of endeavor, Di Girolamo teaches a method comprising transmitting first sensing capability identification information to the control network element when the terminal device has a self-sensing capability (see Di Girolamo, fig. 5, para. [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO and JANG with the teaching of Di Girolamo in order to fully utilize UE capabilities and improve utilization of UE (see Di Girolamo, para. [0002-3]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 4, further comprising:
displaying a prompt interface, wherein the prompt interface includes a prompt area and a selection area, and the prompt area being configured to query whether sensing data uploading is allowed (see Di Girolamo, fig. 14, para. [0313]); and
transmitting the first sensing capability identification information to the control network element in response to a selection operation to allow the sensing data reporting being received via the selection area (see Di Girolamo, fig. 5, steps 1-3, para. [0158-160]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 4 and 5, respectively.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of GUO and JANG teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 1.
The combination of GUO and JANG is silent to teaching that wherein the sensing data reporting information includes at least one of a sensing data type, a reporting frequency of the target sensing data, a maximum number of reporting times of the target sensing data, a reporting start time of the target sensing data, a reporting end time of the target sensing data, or a reporting start condition of the target sensing data.
In the same field of endeavor, Di Girolamo teaches a method wherein the sensing data reporting information includes at least one of a sensing data type, a reporting frequency of the target sensing data, a maximum number of reporting times of the target sensing data, a reporting start time of the target sensing data, a reporting end time of the target sensing data, or a reporting start condition of the target sensing data (see Di Girolamo, fig. 8, 812, para. [0097], report mode, periodic/aperiodic, reporting time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO and JANG with the teaching of Di Girolamo in order to fully utilize UE capabilities and improve utilization of UE (see Di Girolamo, para. [0002-3]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 7, wherein the sensing data reporting information includes the sensing data type and the sensing data type includes ambient event data; and the generating the target sensing data includes generating the target sensing data when the terminal device detects the ambient event data (see Di Girolamo, fig. 8, 812, para. [0097], report mode, periodic/aperiodic, reporting time).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 7, wherein the sensing data reporting information includes the reporting frequency of the sensing data; and the generating the target sensing data includes generating the target sensing data according to the reporting frequency of the sensing data (see Di Girolamo, fig. 8, 812, para. [0097], report mode, periodic/aperiodic, reporting time).
Regarding claims 16 and 20, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ryden et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0120479A1; hereinafter "Ryden").
Regarding claim 8, the combination of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo teaches the sensing data reporting method according to claim 7.
The combination of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo is silent to teaching that wherein the sensing data reporting information includes the reporting start condition of the target sensing data, and the reporting start condition of the sensing data includes a preset threshold; and the generating the target sensing data includes generating the target sensing data when the terminal device detects that self-sensing data exceeds the preset threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryden teaches a method wherein the sensing data reporting information includes the reporting start condition of the target sensing data, and the reporting start condition of the sensing data includes a preset threshold (see Ryden, para. [0091,105,110]); and the generating the target sensing data includes generating the target sensing data when the terminal device detects that self-sensing data exceeds the preset threshold (see Ryden, fig. 7, 708,710).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUO, JANG and Di Girolamo with the teaching of Ryden in order to improve power consumption efficiency and network resource (see Ryden, para. [0013]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LI (US20210194970A1), WU (US20250142300A1), and FU (US20230217347A1) teaches wireless communication systems.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648