DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 8/21/2026
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 9-12 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (KR 20080079913 A) (machine translation attached) in view of Coffman et al. (US 2015/0345068 A1), How to Customize or Remove Widgets – Garmin Instinct Tutorials (“Garmin Instinct Tutorials”) (available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=zKg3OUA63W0, dated Dec 3, 2018), Baier (DE102006042630A1) (machine translation attached), and Hwang (KR 20120028664 A) (machine translation attached).
Re claims 1 and 8, Chang discloses a washing machine (¶ [0001], see fig. 1) comprising:
a storage (ref. 54 memory);
a controller (ref. 50);
a control panel (ref. 30) including:
at least one display (refs. 30, 34) configured to, when the washing machine is in an editing mode in response to a command input by a user to the washing machine to enter the editing mode (¶ [0012] “user selects the ‘entire list’”…“the user can select up to eight desired laundry lists from the entire laundry list in consideration of the fact that eight laundry lists are provided in the 'Laundry by Mom' [Laundry by theme] menu”),
simultaneously display a plurality of washing modes of the washing machine in a sequence in which the washing mode of the washing machine are arranged, and
an inputter (ref. 32; see also figs. 7-8) that is operable by the user to select at least one washing mode among a plurality of washing modes that are currently being displayed by the a display in the editing mode (¶ [0012] “the user can select up to eight desired laundry lists from the entire laundry list in consideration of the fact that eight laundry lists are provided in the 'Laundry by Mom' menu”), and to deselect at least one washing mode among the plurality of washing modes that are currently being displayed by the display in the editing mode (¶ [0012] “the control unit 50 changes the selected laundry list for each category selected and stores it in the memory 54”; Examiner finds the ability to change and reselect the laundry list to satisfy “deselect”. Nonetheless, to any extent “change” is unclear as to “deselect”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to enable the touchscreen for a second touch of a selected item to be deselected, i.e. a toggleable selection common in most selection interfaces, especially on touchscreen), to thereby provide a washing mode list that includes each washing mode that was selected by operation of the inputter and that excludes each washing mode that was deselected by operation of the inputter (¶ [0012] “Laundry by Mom” menu; see also “changed laundry lists”),
wherein, after the editing mode has ended,
the display (ref. 34) configured is configured to sequentially display each washing mode included in the washing mode list based on sequential inputs by a user (¶ [0012] “laundry list for each category”; see also “eight laundry lists are provided in the ’Laundry by Mom’ menu”…”feeds back to step S106, At this time, the changed laundry lists are provided on the Laundry by theme”), respectively, and, for each washing mode included in the washing mode list as the washing mode is displayed by the display, to display washing options for the washing mode (¶ [0012] “optimum recommended laundry course information for the laundry list selected by the user is displayed”).
Chang further discloses an input unit (ref. 32) appears to contain conventional buttons (¶ [0012] “control the button for editing the laundry list…user can easily select and change the course) and rotary knob such to enable selection of information displayed on the display. Here, the use of “sequential inputs by the user” is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the use of washing machines whether by use of the buttons or the rotary knobs plus a selection press/button.
Chang further discloses “subdivide the laundry list frequently used or required by the user” (¶ [0012], as such, the user selection may be “based on a number of times the washing mode was previously selected”, i.e. frequently used).
Chang does not explicitly disclose in the editing mode, simultaneously display a plurality of, but not all of, washing mode of the washing machine; and after the editing mode has ended, to sequentially display, only one at a time, each washing mode included in the washing mode list; and with a washing mode included in the washing mode list that was most frequently selected by the user being positioned first in the washing mode list and, in response to more than one washing mode included in the washing mode list being the most frequently selected by the user by being selected a same number of times, a washing mode that was last selected by the user of the more than one washing mode being positioned first in the washing mode list and the other washing modes of the more than one washing mode being sequentially positioned in the washing mode list after the washing mode that was last selected in order of recency of selection; and such that each washing option of the washing options that has been identified by the controller as having been modified from a set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than a predetermined number of times for the washing mode is displayed as the modified washing option and each washing option of the washing options that has not been identified by the controller has having been modified from the set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than the predetermined number of times is displayed as the set value for the washing option, wherein the predetermined number of times is greater than one, as claimed.
Regarding sequentially display, one at a time, Coffman discloses it is known in the washing machine user interface art (abstract) to provide an editing mode (¶ [0106] Edit Favorites icon (not shown)…, one or more options or commends may be presented on the display portion 200 for being selected by the user in response to which one or more of the favorite wash cycles (and their associated icons) are cleared or deleted from the saved group of favorite wash cycles), to sequentially display, one at a time, each washing mode included in the washing mode list (see e.g. figs. 2-4, 9 and 27-28, each sequential touch will sequentially display/highlight one washing mode and it’s detail; and as seen in fig. 27-28 the “favorites” list is customizable/editable).
Examiner notes that in regards to the “editing mode”, Coffman further in general discloses it is known in the user interface art to simultaneously display, a plurality of, but not all of, washing mode of the washing machine (see figs. 2-4 and 6 showing a plurality of cycles/modes, but not entirety of available cycles/modes and require horizontal scrolling by touch fig. 6 or edge scrolling figs. 2-3). As such, although Coffman does not explicitly disclose how it’s editing mode is structured, Examiner considers the use of a partial list when in editing mode, as opposed to showing the entire list as seen in Chang to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface design, in order to enable sufficient viewing size for each washing mode.
Nonetheless, regarding the editing mode and “only one at a time”, Examiner explicitly cites Garmin Instinct Tutorials for teaching it is known in the user interface selection art, to provide “widgets” (Garmin’s equivalent to a quick select/favorites menu) that are displayed “only one at a time” (Timestamp 0:12 to 0:24) and during an editing mode/Add Widget mode displays a plurality of, but not all of, the widgets of the device are simultaneously displayed in the sequence (Timestamp 1:03 to 1:25).
Add Widget / Editing Mode above showing 2 or 3 widgets for adding/editing/removing but not all available widgets.
Widget sequentially displayed After Editing Mode above, showing only one widget at a time.
Regarding ordering by “most frequently selected”, Baier discloses it is well-known in the washing machine interface art (abstract) to provide with a washing mode included in the washing mode list that was most frequently selected by the user being positioned first in the washing mode list (the most frequently selected option ( 17 . 117 . 217 ) or operating parameter is displayed first or lifted out for a selection by an operator, see Claims) and, in response to more than one washing mode included in the washing mode list being the most frequently selected by the user by being selected a same number of times, a washing mode that was last selected by the user of the more than one washing mode being positioned first in the washing mode list and the other washing modes of the more than one washing mode being sequentially positioned in the washing mode list after the washing mode that was last selected in order of recency of selection (recent choices are more heavily weight, so for the scenario of same number of times, the newer choices will be weighted to the front and the older choices will be weighted to the back, see “older choices are less are heavily weighted as recent choices since these rather correspond to the current selection behavior of the operator”; see also “You can also yet with a further weighting by the time of selection a choice be provided. This means that older choices are less are heavily weighted as recent choices since these rather correspond to the current selection behavior of the operator. The difference may be, for example, a factor of 1.5 and 3. As a result, an adaptation to a changed user behavior can be achieved become.”).
Regarding “modified washing option…equal to or more than a predetermined number of times for the washing mode…the set value…wherein the predetermined number of times is greater than one”, Hwang discloses it is well-known in the washing machine interface art (abstract) to have each washing option of the washing options that has been identified by the controller as having been modified from a set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than a predetermined number of times for the washing mode is displayed as the modified washing option (“when the user washing course is stored more than a predetermined number of times (S50) may be configured to include the step of setting the user washing course as the initial washing course (S60)”) and each washing option of the washing options that has not been identified by the controller has having been modified from the set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than the predetermined number of times is displayed as the set value for the washing option (“On the other hand, if the user's laundry course is stored less than a predetermined number of times, washing is performed according to the selected washing course without changing the existing initial washing course”), wherein the predetermined number of times is greater than one (“stored five or more times in the memory”).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Chang to further sequentially display, one at a time, as suggested by Coffman, in order to provide larger visual icons and additional detailed information for each selectable washing mode; and to further modify the editing mode to display a plurality of, but not all of, washing modes, as suggested by both Coffman and Garmin Instinct Tutorial, in order to enable customization of a menu list with reasonably sized selection icon display but too many to display all at once on limited display space; and to further modify the after editing mode to display only one washing mode at a time, as suggested by Garmin Instinct Tutorial, in order to maximize display space for each icon/mode; and to further modify the menu list to display the most frequently selected mode first, as suggested by Baier, in order to provide a very user-friendly and easy-to-understand selection possible; and to further further display the modified washing option as the set value when modified by equal or more than a predetermined number of times greater than one, as suggested by Hwang, in order to confirm user convenience and recommendation . It being simply a matter of obvious engineering design choice to choose different icon sizes and enabling scrolling for additional display of the list.
Re claims 11-12, Regarding “wherein, for each washing mode included in the washing mode list, when a washing option of the washing options for the washing mode has been identified by the controller as having been modified from the set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than the predetermined number of times, the controller stores the modified washing option in the storage as the set value for the washing option, so that a next identification by the controller of whether the set value for the washing option has been modified by equal or more than the predetermined number of times starts from the modified washing option stored as the set value”, Hwang discloses setting the washing course as the initial washing course if stored more than a predetermined number of times ( If it is determined that the user washing course is stored in the memory more than a predetermined number of times, the controller sets the user washing course as the initial washing course). Regarding “wherein, for each washing mode included in the washing mode list, when a washing option of the washing options for the washing mode has been identified by the controller as having been modified from the set value for the washing option stored in the storage by equal or more than the predetermined number of times, the controller stores the modified washing option in the storage as the set value for the washing option, so that a next identification by the controller of whether the set value for the washing option has been modified by equal or more than the predetermined number of times starts from the modified washing option stored as the set value”, the duplication of most frequently selected washing options for each wash mode, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the same purpose of providing user convenience and predicting user selections.
Re claim 3, Chang further discloses communication circuitry configured to communicate with an external server, wherein the plurality of washing modes includes a washing mode downloaded to the washing machine from the external server through the communication circuitry (¶ [0012] “a customized laundry program on an Internet server is disclosed in which a laundry program optimized for preferences is downloaded through the Internet”).
Re claim 5, Regarding “wherein the inputter includes: a first inputter operable by a user to power on the washing machine, a second inputter operable by a user to select at least one washing mode among the plurality of washing modes that are currently being displayed by the display in the editing mode, and to deselect at least one washing mode among the plurality of washing modes that are currently being displayed by the display in the editing mode, and a third inputter operable by a user to start a washing mode displayed by the display after the editing mode has ended, wherein the first inputter, the second inputter, and the third inputter are each centered on a horizontal line”, Chang discloses a plurality of inputters centered on a horizontal line (see fig. 1 ref. 32). Here, the rearrangement of the power button (S100), the touchscreen (s124, s126, s128) and the “Laundry by theme” menu in the provided initial screen (s104) all centered on a horizontal line is a simple aesthetic design choice or rearrangement of parts, for the purpose of space utilization and ease of access, e.g. left to right selection mechanism. See MPEP 2144.06(VI)(C) and 2144.04(I). See also displays as shown by Coffman figs. 2-9.
Re claim 9, Independent claim 9 reads as a combination of limitations rejected above except as to “without displaying washing options” in editing mode. Here, Coffman and Garmin Instinct Tutorial have displays without the details of washing options/details of the selection icon (Coffman see fig. 6 with slider bar showing only the name and icon for each washing mode or Fig. 5 only icon, and it further being simply obvious to omit display information, if the display information is not desired, e.g. details are not necessary during editing a menu because it takes up additional screen space or confuses the interface with too much detail; Garmin Instinct Tutorial in editing mode only shows text field and not additional information).
Re claim 10, Regarding “wherein the display includes a first display area configured to display a washing mode, and a second display area configured to display washing options”, Coffman discloses the first display area and second display area, as claimed (see figures 2-4 and 9, see annotated fig. 2 below as example).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as shown in the rejection above.
Conclusion
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711