DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) means for spatially combining (claim 1, line 6)
Means for spatially combining (claim 1, line 6) has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language
Means for spatially combining the individual blue lasers without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Means for spatially combining (claim 1, line 6) is the group consisting of alignment plane parallel plates and wedges (0017), polarization combiner (0017), collimator (0017), patterned mirror on a glass substrate (0017); Raman convertor (0020) of the published specification).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention since the structure of the terms interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112 6th paragraph/35 U.S.C. 112(f) are not described in the specification.
It is unclear from the specification which means for spatially combining; the group consisting of alignment plane parallel plates and wedges (0017), polarization combiner (0017), collimator (0017), patterned mirror on a glass substrate (0017); Raman convertor (0020) of the published specification) results in “the combined laser beam has a brightness equal to or greater than a respective brightness of each of the individual blue laser beams”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Goutain (US 2014/0086539) in view of Chann (US 2011/0216792).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Goutain teaches a laser system (Figs 5, 6, 10-12, 0012) for performing laser operations, the system comprising: a laser diode assembly (Figs 3-5, 10-13, laser diodes, 0013, 0036, 0074); the laser diode assembly comprising a plurality of laser diodes capable of producing an individual blue laser beam (Abstract, 0012, laser emitters, which emit red, green, or blue electromagnetic radiation) along a laser beam path; a means for spatially combining the individual blue laser beams to make a combined laser beam having a single spot in the far-field (Fig 9, 0082, optics combine individual lasers into one combined laser beam which would produce a single spot) that is capable of being coupled into an optical fiber (Fig 2, single fiber) for delivery to a target material; and the means for spatially combining the individual blue laser beams on the laser beam path and in optical association with each laser diode (Fig 9, shows optics align with the central laser path).
Goutain discloses the claimed invention except for the laser system comprising a plurality of laser diode assemblies; each laser diode assembly comprising a plurality of laser diodes; explicitly showing the means for spatially combining the individual lasers to make a combine laser having a single spot in the far field; and the combined laser beam has a brightness equal to or greater than a respective brightness of each of the individual blue laser beams.
However, Chann discloses the laser system (Figs 2A, 2B, cavity 200A, 0075) comprising a plurality of laser diode assemblies (Figs 2A, 2B, individual laser input modules 252, 0075); each laser diode assembly comprising a plurality of laser diodes (Figs 2A, 2b, laser elements 250 having at least 3 diodes with 3 output beams shown from each element 250, 0075, 0062); explicitly showing the means for spatially combining the individual lasers to make a combine laser (Fig 2A, transform optics 208, diffraction grating 214, 0075) having a single spot in the far field (Fig 2A, shows multiple beams combined into one single spot); and the combined laser beam has a brightness equal to or greater than a respective brightness of each of the individual blue laser beams (Fig 2B, 0077, 10 times more laser elements can be combined or roughly 10x brighter system) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the laser system of Goutain having a laser diode assembly comprising a plurality of laser diodes capable of producing an individual blue laser beam with the laser system comprising a plurality of laser diode assemblies; each laser diode assembly comprising a plurality of laser diodes; explicitly showing the mean for spatially combining the individual lasers to make a combine laser having a single spot in the far field of Chann for the purpose of providing a known laser system that divides stacks of emitters into individual modules with a smaller beam-input profile to allows for optical elements with a smaller numerical aperture to be used (0074). Additionally, the modularizing of the stacks allows for a system with greater flexibility that includes the ability to replace one module at a time, adding additional modules to a system when increased power is required (0074).
It would also have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the laser system of Goutain having a means for spatially combining with the combined laser beam has a brightness equal to or greater than a respective brightness of each of the individual blue laser beams for the purpose of providing a known laser system that has increased output power, as well as spatial and/or spectral brightness when utilizing or combining a plurality of lasers (Abstract).
Response to Amendments
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 1 is pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued on page 3-4 of the Remarks on 1014/2025 that Goutain in view of Chann fails to disclose the amended claim limitations of “the means for spatially combining the individual blue laser beams on the laser beam path and in optical association with each laser diode and wherein the combined laser beam has a brightness equal to or greater than a respective brightness of each of the individual blue laser beams”, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
From figure 2B and paragraph 0077, Chann discloses that 10 times more laser elements can be combined or roughly 10.times. brighter system, meaning that the combined brightness (10x) is equal to the an equal number of laser beam elements (10).
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 1/27/2026