DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minato et al. (US Patent Number 9421889).
Regarding claim 11, Minato discloses a seat base for a seat body of a child safety seat, comprising: a base portion (60); a pair of slide channels (along each member 64 and/or at portions 65, 66 for instance); a sled assembly (40) slidably coupled to the base portion via the slide channels, wherein the sled assembly is slidable relative to the base portion along a slide axis defined by the slide channels (this is the general manner of operation); and a slide lock (80) extendable between the base portion and the sled assembly and configured to selectively control sliding movement of the sled assembly relative to the base portion, wherein the sled assembly includes at least one latch (42, 44, and/or 100 for instance) configured to releasably attach the seat body to the sled assembly (these members control releasable motion of a seat body relative to the sled), wherein the slide channels are configured to effect a change in an incline orientation of the seat body relative to the seat base as the sled assembly slides relative to the base portion (this is the general manner of operation; see at least the fourth paragraph of column 4), and wherein the slide lock comprises at least one locking pin (82) movable between an extended position and a retracted position along an axis transverse to the slide axis, and wherein in the extended position the at least one locking pin locks the sled assembly to the base portion and restricts the sliding movement and the change in the incline orientation, and in the retracted position the at least one locking pin allows the sliding movement and the change in the incline orientation (this is the general manner of operation with 82 engaging 67, 68, 69 to lock the assembly at a particular incline and releasing to adjust; see at least the last paragraph of column 4).
Regarding claim 12, Minato further discloses a pair of side walls (64) parallel to the slide axis, and the slide lock includes a pin guide (at least 84 for instance) disposed between the side walls and configured to allow the at least one locking pin to slide between the extended position and the retracted position.
Regarding claim 13, Minato further discloses at least one of the side walls includes a plurality of locking holes (67, 68, 69), the at least one locking pin is captured by one of the locking holes when the at least one locking pin is disposed in the extended position, and the at least one locking pin is retracted from the locking holes when the at least one locking pin is disposed in the retracted position (much as explained above).
Regarding claim 14, Minato further discloses the incline orientation is variable amongst a plurality of incline angles, and each said locking hole maintains the incline orientation at a respective one of the incline angles when the at least one locking pin is captured by the respective locking hole (i.e. pin placement in 67, 68, 69 each provides a different incline).
Regarding claim 15, Minato further discloses an incline adjustment lever (at least a portion of 81) coupled to the pin guide and configured to urge the pin guide between a locked position and a released position, wherein the at least one locking pin is disposed in the extended position when the pin guide is disposed in the locked position and is disposed in the retracted position when the pin guide is disposed in the released position (this is the general manner of operation; see at least the first paragraph of column 5).
Regarding claim 16, Minato further discloses in the extended position the at least one locking pin extends between the sled assembly and the base portion via one of the slide channels (at least in that it is adjacent thereto).
Regarding claim 17, Minato further discloses the base portion includes the side walls, and the sled assembly includes the pin guide (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 18, Minato further discloses a first end of the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via one of the slide channels, a second end of the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via another of the slide channels (this is the general arrangement with either of the pairs of members 65, 66 forming the end couplings or one of each of 65, 66 for instance).
Regarding claim 19, Minato further discloses the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via a slide rod (61 or 62) extending between the base portion and the sled assembly and through the one slide channel.
Regarding claim 20, Minato further discloses the base portion includes the one slide channel, and the slide rod is anchored to the sled assembly via rod mounting holes (50) provided in the sled assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minato in view of Duncan et al. (US Patent Number 8186757). Minato discloses a seat as explained above but does not disclose latch details. Duncan discloses a related device including at least one latch (at least 212) rotatable between a closed position (as in Figures 11, 13) and an open position (as in Figures 12, 15), and a sled assembly further includes a release lever (140 and/or 148) coupled to the at least one latch and configured to rotate the at least one latch between the closed position and the open position (see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a latch as taught by Duncan in Minato’s device because this could provide a versatile means of securing the seat for improved user comfort and convenience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Minato does not disclose a latch configured to releasably attach the seat body to the sled. While it is acknowledged that the components of Minato that read on the latch of the claims may differ from the latch arrangement of the invention, it is maintained that they meet the limitations as currently set forth. That is, Minato’s 42, 44, and/or 100 serve to secure and releasably attach the seat body to the sled. In typical use the seat is fastened to the sled, while upon impact the latch components release the seat body from the sled. While Applicant’s assertion that a latch must “[allow] the seat body to be regularly separated from the sled assembly” is appreciated, this is based on only one, particular definition. Merriam Webster’s dictionary defines latch as “any of various devices in which mating mechanical parts engage to fasten but usually not to lock something” (citation attached). This is precisely what the relevant components of Minato serve to do.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636