DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 29 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are not distinct and that there would not be a serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct and a search burden would exist as set forth in the restriction requirement of 29 October 2025. That is, Invention I is drawn to a “child safety seat” including a seat body, while Invention II is drawn to a “seat base” that does not include a seat body, but does include details not present in Invention I. Thus, the inventions are distinct as combination and subcombination as the subcombination (the elected seat base) could be used with any other seat body or with no seat body at all. A serious search burden would exist based on the differing classification of the inventions (which, even if they were classed in the same general class 297, their classification in different subclasses would constitute such a burden), as well as the clear difference in scope (i.e. a child safety seat with an explicit seat body arrangement versus a seat base without such a seat, but including a separate latching structure).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 29 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minato et al. (US Patent Number 9421889).
Regarding claim 11, Minato discloses a seat base for a seat body of a child safety seat, comprising: a base portion (60); a pair of slide channels (along each member 64 and/or at portions 65, 66 for instance); a sled assembly (40) slidably coupled to the base portion via the slide channels, wherein the sled assembly is slidable relative to the base portion along a slide axis defined by the slide channels (this is the general manner of operation); and a slide lock (80) extendable between the base portion and the sled assembly and configured to selectively control sliding movement of the sled assembly relative to the base portion, wherein the sled assembly includes at least one latch (42, 44, and/or 100 for instance) configured to releasably attach the seat body to the sled assembly (these members control releasable motion of a seat body relative to the sled), wherein the slide channels are configured to effect a change in an incline orientation of the seat body relative to the seat base as the sled assembly slides relative to the base portion (this is the general manner of operation; see at least the fourth paragraph of column 4), and wherein the slide lock comprises at least one locking pin (82) movable between an extended position and a retracted position along an axis transverse to the slide axis, and wherein in the extended position the at least one locking pin locks the sled assembly to the base portion and restricts the sliding movement and the change in the incline orientation, and in the retracted position the at least one locking pin allows the sliding movement and the change in the incline orientation (this is the general manner of operation with 82 engaging 67, 68, 69 to lock the assembly at a particular incline and releasing to adjust; see at least the last paragraph of column 4).
Regarding claim 12, Minato further discloses a pair of side walls (64) parallel to the slide axis, and the slide lock includes a pin guide (at least 84 for instance) disposed between the side walls and configured to allow the at least one locking pin to slide between the extended position and the retracted position.
Regarding claim 13, Minato further discloses at least one of the side walls includes a plurality of locking holes (67, 68, 69), the at least one locking pin is captured by one of the locking holes when the at least one locking pin is disposed in the extended position, and the at least one locking pin is retracted from the locking holes when the at least one locking pin is disposed in the retracted position (much as explained above).
Regarding claim 14, Minato further discloses the incline orientation is variable amongst a plurality of incline angles, and each said locking hole maintains the incline orientation at a respective one of the incline angles when the at least one locking pin is captured by the respective locking hole (i.e. pin placement in 67, 68, 69 each provides a different incline).
Regarding claim 15, Minato further discloses an incline adjustment lever (at least a portion of 81) coupled to the pin guide and configured to urge the pin guide between a locked position and a released position, wherein the at least one locking pin is disposed in the extended position when the pin guide is disposed in the locked position and is disposed in the retracted position when the pin guide is disposed in the released position (this is the general manner of operation; see at least the first paragraph of column 5).
Regarding claim 16, Minato further discloses in the extended position the at least one locking pin extends between the sled assembly and the base portion via one of the slide channels (at least in that it is adjacent thereto).
Regarding claim 17, Minato further discloses the base portion includes the side walls, and the sled assembly includes the pin guide (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 18, Minato further discloses a first end of the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via one of the slide channels, a second end of the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via another of the slide channels (this is the general arrangement with either of the pairs of members 65, 66 forming the end couplings or one of each of 65, 66 for instance).
Regarding claim 19, Minato further discloses the sled assembly is slidably coupled to the base portion via a slide rod (61 or 62) extending between the base portion and the sled assembly and through the one slide channel.
Regarding claim 20, Minato further discloses the base portion includes the one slide channel, and the slide rod is anchored to the sled assembly via rod mounting holes (50) provided in the sled assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636