DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 11/07/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 7 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yilmaz et al. (hereinafter “Yilmaz”) (Pub # US 2021/0298103 A1) in view of Choi et al. (hereinafter “Choi”) (WO 2023/047332 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Yilmaz discloses a method performed by a terminal (see UE 100 in FIGURE 9), the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (102 in FIGURE 9) configured to transmit and receive a signal; and
a controller (103 in FIGURE 9) configured to control the transceiver to:
configure a first signaling radio bearer (SRB) based on a first SRB (i.e., SRB1) configuration (i.e., measurement configuration IE) and a second SRB (i.e., SRB3) based on a second SRB configuration (see [0046], [0098], [0112]),
receive a first radio resource control (RRC) message via a first SRB (see [0041], [0045], [0054], [0067], [0100]), and
transmit a second RRC message via a second SRB (see [0114], [0118] for transmit a report on the defined SRB),
wherein the first RRC message comprises an indication and one or more measurement configurations (see [0092], [0103], [0116], [0118] for first measurement configuration field and second measurement configuration IE),
wherein the second RRC message is generated based on an measurement configuration of the one or more measurement configurations (see [0092], [0104], [0117], [0118] for extracting a measurement configuration information element, IE, for measurement, performing a measurement and transmitting a measurement report on the defined SRB),
wherein the second RRC message is generated based on the indication in the first RRC message (see [0098] for specified field is defined such that the field name could be an indicative how the measurement report),
wherein the first SRB configuration comprises a first information element (IE) and does not comprise a second IE, wherein the second SRB configuration comprises both the first IE and the second IE (see [0062] - [0066], [0098] for a first measurement configuration field received via an SRB1 bearer, and the first RRC message that is embedded in the second RRC message transmitted to the UE via the SRB1 bearer),
wherein the first IE indicates a first value, a second value, or a third value (see [0098] for SRB1/SRB2), and wherein the second IE indicates only a fourth value (see [0098] for SRB3).
Yilmaz does not disclose specifically transmit a segment of the second RRC message, and the measurement configurations are application layer measurement configurations.
In an analogous art, Choi discloses transmit a segment of the second RRC message, and the measurement configurations are application layer measurement configurations (see Choi, [0119] for MeasurementReportAppLayer message used for sending application layer measurement reports for streaming and MTSI services, see Fig. 8, [0141], [0159] for the UE determines the resulting size of the MeasurementReportAppLayer, if the size of the MeasurementReportAppLayer is larger than the maximum size of an RRC message of 9000 bytes, then the UE performs RRC message segmentation to ensure that the size of each segment is less than or equal to the RRC message size limit, and see Fig. 10, [0111], [0112], [0115], [0141], [0158], [0159], [0179] for the UE sends the QoE reports (i.e., #6, #4 and #3) in response to the QoE measurement configuration (which is included in the container “measConfigAppLayerContainer-rl5” in the DL RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) as segments in the ULDedicatedMessageSegment message to the network node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Yilmaz, and have transmit a segment of the second RRC message, and the measurement configurations are application layer measurement configurations, as taught by Choi (see Choi, [0112]) such that would provide efficient control of QoE measurement reporting in an NR radio access network, as suggested by Choi (see Choi, [0003]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Yilmaz in view of Choi disclose wherein the second SRB is released in case that a third TB is comprised in an RRC message, wherein the third TB indicates only a fifth value (i.e., SRB4) (see Choi, [0096], [0097], [0109] – [0112] for the RAN sends the deactivation indication in a DL RRC message to the UE AS layer to release the concerned QoE measurement configuration, and the UE stops the recording and reporting of the concerned QoE measurements, and transferring the QoE measurement report, the UE uses Signaling Radio Bearer (“SRB”) SRB4 and the UL RRC MeasurementReportAppLayer message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Yilmaz, in order to provide efficient control of QoE measurement reporting in an NR radio access network, as suggested by Choi (see Choi, [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Yilmaz in view of Choi disclose wherein the first value and the second value and the third value and the fourth value are different from each other (see Yilmaz, [0098] for SRB1, SRB2, SRB3,and see Choi, [0112], [0119] for SRB4 for the MeasurementReportAppLayer message used for sending application layer measurement reports for streaming and MTSI services). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Yilmaz, in order to provide efficient control of QoE measurement reporting in an NR radio access network, as suggested by Choi (see Choi, [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Yilmaz in view of Choi disclose wherein two or more segments are generated from the second RRC message in a first layer (i.e., application layer (AL) 910 in FIG. 9), wherein the two or more segments are stored in transmission buffer in a second layer (i.e., access layer (AS) 905 in FIG. 9) (see Choi, 925, 930 in FIG. 9, [0148], [0149] for the UE AL generates and sends a series of AT commands to the AS layer for stores in an RRC buffer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Yilmaz, in order to provide efficient control of QoE measurement reporting in an NR radio access network, as suggested by Choi (see Choi, [0003]).
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645