DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Kondo US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0195295 A1) hereinafter referred as Kondo, in view of Bhat et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0416751 A1) hereinafter referred as Bhat.
For claim 1, Kondo discloses a radio frequency module comprising:
a power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) configured to amplify a transmit radio frequency signal and including an output having a first output impedance (Paragraph [0072], lines 1-8); and
an antenna switch module (53 FIG. 1A) coupled to the output of the power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) and configured to connect at least a first antenna (54 FIG. 1A) OR (54A FIG. 22A) (Paragraph [0214], lines 1-7) and second antenna (54B FIG. 22A). However, Kondo disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance as recited in claim 1.
Bhat from the same or analogous art teaches the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance as taught by Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo.
The having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance can be modify/implemented by combining the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo. As disclosed in Bhat, the motivation for the combination would be to use two antennas in parallel is to get the maximum power delivery efficiency and reduce signal reflection from the source to a load adjusting the effective load impedance to help the communication to be more effective and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, wherein the power amplifier is configured to adaptively adjust its power capability when an impedance of a load on the radio frequency module changes (Paragraph [0104], lines 13-18)- (Paragraph [0105], lines 5-8).
For claim 3, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, further comprising a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna (Paragraph [0070], [0098] and [0102], lines 1-12).
For claim 4, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, wherein performance of the radio frequency filter is invariant with respect to a changing impedance at an output of the radio frequency filter (Paragraphs [0072] [0104], [0105], [0126] and [0131], lines 4-13).
For claim 5, Kondo discloses a radio frequency module comprising:
a power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) configured to amplify a transmit radio frequency signal and including an output having a first output impedance (Paragraph [0072], lines 1-8);
an antenna switch module (53 FIG. 1A) coupled to the output of the power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) and configured to connect at least a first antenna (54 FIG. 1A) OR (54A FIG. 22A) (Paragraph [0214], lines 1-7) and second antenna (54B FIG. 22A). However, Kondo disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel connection of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance; a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna; and a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range as recited in claim 5.
Bhat from the same or analogous art teaches the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel connection of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-15); a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna (Paragraph [0039], lines 1-9)- (Paragraph [0040], lines 1-13); and a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust [[the]]an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range (Paragraph [0045], lines 8-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel connection of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance; a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna; and a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range as taught by Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo.
The having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel connection of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance; a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna; and a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range can be modify/implemented by combining the having a first input impedance in parallel with at least a second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel connection of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance; a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna; and a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo. As disclosed in Bhat, the motivation for the combination would be to use placing a radio frequency (RF) filter between the power amplifier (PA) and the first antenna, followed by a tunable matching network to adjust the output impedance within a predefined range, offers several key benefits in RF transmitter design and the two antennas in parallel is to get the maximum power delivery efficiency and reduce signal reflection from the source to a load adjusting the effective load impedance to help the communication to be more effective and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 6, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, wherein the antenna switch module is implemented between the power amplifier and the radio frequency filter, the radio frequency filter being configured as a duplex filter (Paragraph [0006], lines 1-11) and (Paragraphs [0070]-[0071], lines 1-5).
For claim 7, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, further comprising a phase shifting circuit configured to phase shift the transmit radio frequency signal when the at least one second antenna is concurrently connected in parallel with the at least one first antenna (Paragraph [0232], lines 1-6).
For claim 8, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, wherein the phase shifting circuit is implemented in the antenna switch module and configured as an adjustable phase shifting network (Paragraphs [0232] and [0240], lines 1-4).
For claim 9, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, wherein the phase shifting circuit is implemented between the antenna switch module and each of the at least one first and the at least one second antennas, the phase shifting circuit being configured as a low-loss phase shifting network (Paragraphs [0147] - [0148], lines 1-11).
For claim 10, Kondo discloses the radio frequency module, further comprising a low noise amplifier (51 fig 1B) coupled to the antenna switch module (53 fig 1B) and configured to receive a receive radio frequency signal (Paragraph [0070], lines 1-7) and (Paragraph [0074], lines 1-12).
For claim 11, Kondo disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the radio frequency module, wherein the radio frequency module is configured as a front end module as recited in claim 11.
Bhat from the same or analogous art teaches the radio frequency module, wherein the radio frequency module is configured as a front end module (Paragraph [0006], lines 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the radio frequency module, wherein the radio frequency module is configured as a front end module as taught by Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo.
The radio frequency module, wherein the radio frequency module is configured as a front end module can be modify/implemented by combining the radio frequency module, wherein the radio frequency module is configured as a front end module with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo. As disclosed in Bhat, the motivation for the combination would be to use an RF front-end module (FEM) is a compact, integrated assembly of RF component that sit between the antenna and the baseband modem. It manages the transmission and reception of RF signals, ensuring optimal performance, efficiency, and reliability for a better communication.
For claim 12, Kondo discloses a wireless communication device comprising:
at least one first antenna configured to transmit a first transmit radio frequency signal to a first base station via a first uplink and to receive a first receive radio frequency signal from the first base station via a first downlink (Paragraph [0077], lines 7-9);
at least one second antenna configured to transmit a second transmit radio frequency signal to a second base station via a second uplink and to receive a second receive radio frequency signal from the second base station via a second downlink (Paragraph [0077], lines 9-11); and
a radio frequency module coupled to the at least one first antenna and the at least one second antenna (54 FIG. 1A) OR (54A and 54B FIG. 22A) (Paragraph [0214], lines 1-7), the radio frequency module including a power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) configured to amplify the first and second transmit radio frequency signals and including an output having a first output impedance (Paragraph [0079], lines 1-12), and an antenna switch module (53 FIG. 1A) coupled to the output of the power amplifier (50 FIG. 1A) and configured to connect the at least one first antenna (54 FIG. 1A) OR (54A FIG. 22A) (Paragraph [0214], lines 1-7). However, Kondo disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of having a first input impedance in parallel with the at least one second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance as recited in claim 12.
Bhat from the same or analogous art teaches the having a first input impedance in parallel with the at least one second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the having a first input impedance in parallel with the at least one second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance as taught by Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo.
The having a first input impedance in parallel with the at least one second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance can be modify/implemented by combining the having a first input impedance in parallel with the at least one second antenna having a second input impedance to the output of the power amplifier so that a parallel impedance of the first and second input impedances matches the first output impedance with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo. As disclosed in Bhat, the motivation for the combination would be to use placing a radio frequency (RF) filter between the power amplifier (PA) and the first antenna, followed by a tunable matching network to adjust the output impedance within a predefined range, offers several key benefits in RF transmitter design and the two antennas in parallel is to get the maximum power delivery efficiency and reduce signal reflection from the source to a load adjusting the effective load impedance to help the communication to be more effective and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 13, Kondo discloses the wireless communication, wherein the power amplifier is configured to adaptively adjust its power capability when the impedance of a load on the radio frequency module changes (Paragraph [0104], lines 13-18)- (Paragraph [0105], lines 5-8).
For claim 14, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein the radio frequency module further includes a radio frequency filter implemented between the power amplifier and the first antenna(Paragraph [0070], [0098] and [0102], lines 1-12).
For claim 15, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein performance of the radio frequency filter is invariant with respect to a changing impedance at an output of the radio frequency filter Paragraphs [0072] [0104], [0105], [0126] and [0131], lines 4-13).
For claim 16, Kondo disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of radio frequency module further includes a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range as recited in claim 16.
Bhat from the same or analogous art teaches the radio frequency module further includes a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module (Paragraph [0039], lines 1-9)- (Paragraph [0040], lines 1-13) , the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range (Paragraph [0045], lines 8-16) and (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the radio frequency module further includes a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range as taught by Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo.
The radio frequency module further includes a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range can be modify/implemented by combining the radio frequency module further includes a tunable matching network coupled between the radio frequency filter and the antenna switch module, the tunable matching network configured to adjust an output impedance of the radio frequency filter in a predefined range with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bhat into the transmit/receive module of Kondo. As disclosed in Bhat, the motivation for the combination would be to use placing a radio frequency (RF) filter between the power amplifier (PA) and the first antenna, followed by a tunable matching network to adjust the output impedance within a predefined range, offers several key benefits in RF transmitter design and the two antennas in parallel is to get the maximum power delivery efficiency and reduce signal reflection from the source to a load adjusting the effective load impedance to help the communication to be more effective and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 17, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein the antenna switch module is implemented between the power amplifier and the radio frequency filter, the radio frequency filter being configured as a duplex filter (Paragraph [0006], lines 1-11) and (Paragraphs [0070]-[0071], lines 1-5).
For claim 18, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein the radio frequency module further includes a phase shifting circuit configured to phase shift at least one of the first and second transmit radio frequency signal signals when the at least one second antenna is concurrently connected in parallel with the at least one first antenna (Paragraph [0232], lines 1-6).
For claim 19, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein the phase shifting circuit is implemented in the antenna switch module and configured as an adjustable phase shifting network (Paragraphs [0232] and [0240], lines 1-4).
For claim 20, Kondo discloses the wireless communication device, wherein the phase shifting circuit is implemented between the antenna switch module and each of the at least one first antenna and the at least one second antenna, the phase shifting circuit being configured as a low-loss phase shifting network (Paragraphs [0147] - [0148], lines 1-11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642