DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gianni (WO 2017/163219, newly cited).
Gianni is directed to a sealing composition comprising at least one diene elastomer (claimed solid rubber), 0.1-6 phr of a peroxide crosslinking agent, 20-200 phr of at least one tackifying resin (e.g. hydrocarbon resin), 10-200 phr of a plasticizer (oil or liquid), and 1-40 phr of a reinforcing filler (e.g. carbon black or silica) (Pages 8-14). While Gianni fails to expressly teach a sealing composition that satisfies the claimed invention, there is a substantial overlap in loadings between the claimed invention and that taught by Gianni- one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form a single sealing composition with the claimed combination of materials and loadings absent a conclusive showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 7, Gianni teaches a plurality of peroxide materials that correspond with those disclosed as being inventive by Applicant (Page 11 of Gianni). As such, it reasons that the claimed 10-hour half-life temperature and molecular weight would be present in the peroxides of Gianni.
With respect to claim 4, Gianni teaches rubber materials that satisfy the claimed invention (Page 10, Lines 1+).
As to claim 5, Gianni specifically teaches a plasticizer in the form of an oil or liquid.
Regarding claim 6, a multitude of hydrocarbon resins disclosed by Gianni (Page 11) are consistent with the hydrocarbon resins taught by Applicant and as such, it reasons that the softening point of the hydrocarbon resins in Gianni would satisfy the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 8, the sealing composition of Gianni includes a peroxide crosslinking agent and is devoid of a sulfur system (sulfur and accelerator).
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gianni as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Naito (US 2016/289400, newly cited).
As detailed above, Gianni teaches a sealing composition including a peroxide crosslinking agent. On Page 11, Gianni discloses a plurality of exemplary peroxide materials. While Gianni fails to disclose any of the claimed peroxide materials, said materials are recognized as being consistent with those that are commonly used in tire compositions, as shown for example by Naito (Paragraph 56). It is emphasized that Gianni teaches a plurality of exemplary peroxide materials- one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use any number of known peroxide materials that are commonly used in the tire industry, including those required by the claimed invention. Also, Applicant has not provided a conclusive showing of unexpected results for the claimed peroxide materials.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Justin Fischer
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749 March 13, 2026