DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Matthias et al. WO-2024089116-A1.
Regarding claim 1, Matthias et al. teaches a carbon capture device represented by air cleaning device 100 (Fig. 1, pg. 14). The air cleaning device 100 comprises of the following elements of the claimed invention:
A direct air capture unit is represented by air fan 12 which supplies environmental air 14 to the adsorber bed module 1 (Fig. 1, pg. 14).
The specification does not define what a “filter” is. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a “filter” is interpreted as being a piece of material. The direct air capture unit comprises of a carbon dioxide filter represented by adsorbing material 5 wherein “the adsorbing material may be any material that is capable of binding CO2 molecules from air” (Fig. 1, pg. 3).
An induction heating unit represented by an induction coil 6 which “heat[s] the adsorbing material 5 by induction heating” (Fig.1, pg. 15, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Matthias et al. teaches the direct air capture unit configured to use temperate vacuum swing adsorption represented by “the CO2 gas is desorbed from the adsorbing material in a PTSA (Pressure Temperature Swing Adsorption) process” (pg. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonner et al. US-11874018-B1 in view of Matthias et al. WO-2024089116-A1.
Regarding claim 3, the specification fails to define what an “HVAC system” is. Under broadest reasonable interpretation an “HVAC system” is interpreted as any cooling or heating system.
Bonner at al. teaches an HVAC system represented by water harvesting system 120 (Fig. 1A, [18]). The water harvesting system 120 includes a desiccant unit represented by a MOF coated desiccant wheel 104 (Fig. 1A, [18]).
Bonner et al. does not teach a carbon dioxide capture device including a direct air capture unit having a carbon dioxide capture device including a direct air capture unit having a carbon dioxide filter, and an induction heating unit coupled with the direct air capture unit.
Matthias et al. teaches a carbon dioxide capture device represented by air cleaning device 100 (Fig. 1, pg. 14). The air cleaning device 100 comprises of the following elements of the claimed invention:
A direct air capture unit is represented by air fan 12 which supplies environmental air 14 to the adsorber bed module 1 (Fig. 1, pg. 14).
The specification does not define what a “filter” is. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a “filter” is interpreted as being a piece of material. The direct air capture unit comprises of a carbon dioxide filter represented by adsorbing material 5 wherein “the adsorbing material may be any material that is capable of binding CO2 molecules from air” (Fig. 1, pg. 3).
An induction heating unit represented by an induction coil 6 which “heat[s] the adsorbing material 5 by induction heating” (Fig.1, pg. 15, Abstract).
The carbon dioxide capture device 100 is beneficial to “counteract the increasing CO2 concentration in the atmosphere” (Matthias et al. pg. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bonner et al. with the teachings of Matthias et al. to incorporate the carbon dioxide capture device as it helps reduce the amount of CO2 in the atmosphere.
Regarding claim 4, Bonner et al. teaches the desiccant unit 104 including a desiccant wheel as the desiccant unit 104 is a “MOF coated desiccant wheel” (Fig. 1A, [18]).
Regarding claim 5, Bonner et al. teaches the desiccant wheel 104 comprising of one of MOFS, Activated Carbon, or Zeolites represented by “the desiccant wheel coating can be any type of hygroscopic substance, such as any type of metal -organic framework (MOF)” (Fig. 1A, [20]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonner et al. US-11874018-B1 in view of Matthias et al. WO-2024089116-A1 and in further view of Younas et al.: Feasibility of CO2 adsorption by solid adsorbents: a review on low-temperature systems. Int. J. Environ. Sci. Technol. 13, 1839–1860 (2016).
Regarding claim 6, Bonner et al. in view of Matthias et al. teaches all the claim limitations of claim 5.
Bonner et al. in view of Matthias et al. does not teach the heat induction unit operating at about 12° C.
Younas et al. teaches the heat induction unit operating at about 12° C by critically analyzing “low-temperature (<100° C) adsorption processes for C02 capture” (Abstract). Younas et al. found that “MOFs adsorption is high at low temperature (<40° C)” (pg. 12). Therefore, it would be beneficial to operate the heating induction unit 6 at about °12 C to promote high adsorption of the MOFs.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bonner at al. in view of Matthias et al. with the teachings of Younas et al. to incorporate operating the heating induction unit 6 at about 12° C to promote high adsorption of the MOFs.
Conclusion
/AMMAD W BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776