DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias et al. WO-2024089116-A1 in view of Bonner et al. US-11874018-B1 and in further view of Roberts US-20070137484 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Matthias et al. teaches a carbon capture device represented by air cleaning device 100 (Fig. 1, pg. 14). The air cleaning device 100 comprises of the following elements of the claimed invention:
The specification does not define what a “filter” is. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), a “filter” is interpreted as being a piece of material. The direct air capture unit comprises of a carbon dioxide filter represented by adsorbing material 5 wherein “the adsorbing material may be any material that is capable of binding CO2 molecules from air” (Fig. 1, pg. 3).
An induction heating unit that recovers carbon dioxide gas in a concentration stream represented by an induction coil 6 and “the regenerating phase” where in the induction unit “heat[s] the adsorbing material 5 by induction heating” and “[desorbs] the CO2 from the adsorbing material” creating a concentration stream (Fig.1, pg. 4-5, 15, Abstract). Furthermore, the induction heating unit heating the carbon dioxide free, dehumidified air is a functional only limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).The induction coil 6 of the reference could inherently heat the carbon dioxide free, dehumidified air.
A direct air capture unit configured to receive ambient air is represented by air fan 12 which supplies environmental air 14 to the adsorber bed module 1 (Fig. 1, pg. 14). The reference further teaches “the gas for which the air cleaning device is used may, for example, be ambient air…or a technical gas or any other gas containing CO2” (pg. 4-5).
Matthias et al. does not teach a solid desiccant unit that removes moisture from the ambient air to result in dehumidified air prior to the dehumidified air passing through the carbon dioxide filter.
Bonner et al. teaches a solid desiccant unit that removes moisture from the ambient air to result in dehumidified air represented by desiccant wheel 104 wherein “the heated air 103 passes through the process section 120 of the desiccant wheel 104 causing moisture to be adsorbed onto the desiccant that coats the desiccant wheel 104” (Fig. 1A, [18,24]). Furthermore, the reference teaches the desiccant wheel 104 may be coated with “any type of hygroscopic substance, such as any type of metal-organic framework (MOF) compounds. In other examples, the desiccant wheel can be coated with silica gel zeolite, or temperature-responsive hygroscopic polymer” [20]. It is well known in the art that metal organic frameworks and zeolites are solids, rendering the desiccant wheel 104 to be a solid desiccant unit. The desiccant unit of Bonner et al. is beneficial to help the “removal of moisture in an air conditioning system” [8].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matthias et al. with the teachings of Bonner et al. to incorporate the solid desiccant unit as it helps to remove moisture from the air.
Bonner et al. fails to teach the solid desiccant unit being upstream of the carbon dioxide filter.
Roberts teaches the solid desiccant unit being upstream of the carbon dioxide filter represented by “by having the desiccant upstream of the other filter mediums the efficacy of the other filter mediums one inhibits the water saturation of the filter mediums” (Fig. 4, [0026]). The reference clearly teaches the desiccant being upstream of a filter is beneficial to ensure “moisture is removed before it can adversely affect” the filter medium [0026].
Furthermore, arranging the solid desiccant unit to be upstream of the carbon dioxide filter is simply a design choice. The courts have previously ruled that matters of obvious engineering choice, such as rearrangement of parts, are valid rejections in re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP 2144.04). Arranging the solid desiccant unit to be upstream of the carbon dioxide filter would be beneficial for simplification of the device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matthias et al. in view of Bonner et al. with the teachings of Roberts to incorporate the solid desiccant unit being upstream of the carbon dioxide filter to maintain the efficacy of the filter medium and to ensure moisture is removed before it can adversely affect the filter medium.
Regarding claim 2, Matthias et al. teaches the direct air capture unit configured to use temperate vacuum swing adsorption represented by “the CO2 gas is desorbed from the adsorbing material in a PTSA (Pressure Temperature Swing Adsorption) process” (pg. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the specification fails to define what an “HVAC system” is. Under broadest reasonable interpretation an “HVAC system” is interpreted as any cooling or heating system.
Matthias et al. in view of Bonner et al teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Bonner at al. further teaches an HVAC system represented by water harvesting system 120 (Fig. 1A, [18]). It is well known in the art HVAC systems are beneficial to help regulate the temperature, air quality, humidity, etc. of a space.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matthias et al. with the teachings of Bonner et al. to incorporate the HVAC system as it helps to regulate the temperature, air quality, humidity, etc. of a space.
Regarding claim 4, Bonner et al. teaches the solid desiccant unit including a desiccant wheel represented by desiccant wheel 104 where in desiccant wheel 104 may be a “MOF coated desiccant wheel” (Fig. 1A, [18]).
Regarding claim 5, Bonner et al. teaches the desiccant wheel 104 comprising of one of MOFS, Activated Carbon, or Zeolites represented by “the desiccant wheel coating can be any type of hygroscopic substance, such as any type of metal -organic framework (MOF)” (Fig. 1A, [20]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias et al. WO-2024089116-A1 in view of Bonner et al. US-11874018-B1 and in further view of Roberts US-20070137484 A1 and in further view of Younas et al.: Feasibility of CO2 adsorption by solid adsorbents: a review on low-temperature systems. Int. J. Environ. Sci. Technol. 13, 1839–1860 (2016).
Regarding claim 6, Matthias et al. in view of Bonner et al. and in further view of Roberts teaches all the claim limitations of claim 5.
Matthias et al. in view of Bonner et al. and in further view of Roberts does not teach the heat induction unit operating at about 12° C.
Younas et al. teaches the heat induction unit operating at about 12° C by critically analyzing “low-temperature (<100° C) adsorption processes for C02 capture” (Abstract). Younas et al. found that “MOFs adsorption is high at low temperature (<40° C)” (pg. 12). Therefore, it would be beneficial to operate the heating induction unit at about °12 C to promote high adsorption of the MOFs.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bonner at al. in view of Matthias et al. and in further view of Roberts with the teachings of Younas et al. to incorporate operating the heating induction unit at about 12° C to promote high adsorption of the MOFs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1-6, the new ground rejection is necessitated due to amendments made by the Applicant. The amendments filed on August 5, 2026, additionally limit the carbon dioxide capture device. Therefore, a new ground rejection is made using 35 USC § 103. Matthias et al. as modified teaches all the limitations of the amended claim 1 and subsequently all amended dependent claims (claims 2-6).
Conclusion
/AMMAD W BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776