DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed provisional application 63/448,387 is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date and the effective filing date of claims 1-20 is 2/27/2023.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figure 2M, Item 258e. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 2M, Item 258. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
These two objects seem to be from a singular issue of a typo in paragraph [0039], line 12 of the specification where 258e is used instead of merely 258.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite a method, and system for computational drug discovery. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because while claims 1-20 attempt to integrated the exception into a practical application, said application is either generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea or it is insignificant extra solution activity and merely implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer elements only store and retrieve information in memory as well as perform basic calculations that are known to be well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions as recognized by the decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Framework with which to Analyze Subject Matter Eligibility:
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a category of stator subject matter (a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? [see MPEP § 2106.03]
Claims are directed to statutory subject matter, specifically a method (Claims 1-13), and a system (Claims 14-20).
Step 2A Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon? [see MPEP § 2106.04(a)]
The claims herein recite abstract ideas, specifically mental processes and mathematical concepts.
With respect to the Step 2A Prong One evaluation, the instant claims are found herein to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes and mathematical concepts.
Claims 1 and 14: Determining a computation experiment to be conducted, and conducting the computation experiment are processes of identifying, selecting, calculating, and comparing/contrasting information that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes. The computational experiment including the specified information, and the feedback including the specified information are merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. Performing the calculation is a verbal articulation of a mathematical process, which is an abstract idea, specifically a mathematical concept.
Claims 3 and 16: Initiating an additional run of the computational experiment is a process of calculating and comparing/contrasting information that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and is therefore an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claims 4 and 17: The representation depicting the original and additional runs as described is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 5: The change to the pose calculation or free energy calculation including the specified parameter is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claims 6 and 18: The free energy calculation including a RBFE calculation, the feedback including a graphical representation, and the graphical representation including the specified data is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. The free energy calculation including an RBFE calculation is a verbal articulation of a mathematical process, which is an abstract idea, specifically a mathematical concept.
Claims 8 and 19: Determining that corresponding atoms of two or more ligands have been selected and establishing a mapping between the atoms are processes of identifying, selecting, calculating, and comparing/contrasting information that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and are therefore abstract ideas, specifically mental processes. The RBFE calculation being performed based on the established mapping is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claims 9 and 20: Simulating respective interactions between the receptor and each of the ligands is a process of calculating and comparing/contrasting information that can be done via pen and paper or within the human mind and is therefore an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. The feedback further including an indication of the respective interactions is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 10: The feedback including the specified information is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 11: The feedback including the specified information is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 12: The feedback including the specified information is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Claim 13: The MD trajectory movie including the specified information is merely further limiting the data itself which is an abstract idea, specifically a mental process.
Step 2A Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under prong one, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application? [see MPEP § 2106.04(d) and MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c) & (e)-(h)]
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
The following claims recite the following additional elements in the form of non-abstract elements:
Claims 1 and 15: Obtaining a dataset and providing feedback are insignificant extra solution activities, specifically mere data gathering and necessary data outputting (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)]. A system and computing devices are generic and nonspecific elements of a computer that do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described herein [See MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP § 2106.05(d)].
Claims 2 and 15: Receiving one or more user inputs is an insignificant extra solution activity, specifically mere data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)].
Claims 3 and 16: Receiving an indication of a change is an insignificant extra solution activity, specifically mere data gathering (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)].
Claims 4 and 17: Providing a representation of the status of the computational experiment is insignificant extra solution activity, specifically necessary data outputting (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)].
Claim 7: Providing a 3D representation of the two ligands connected by the selected edge is insignificant extra solution activity, specifically necessary data outputting (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)].
Step 2B: If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept? [see MPEP § 2106.05]
Because the additional claim elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are further examined under Step 2B, which evaluates whether the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself by providing an inventive concept.
The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that are generic, conventional or nonspecific. These additional elements include:
The additional elements of a system and computing devices are all generic and nonspecific elements of a computer that are well-understood, routine and conventional within the art and therefore do not improve the functioning of any computer or technology described therein (Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values), and Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
The additional elements of obtaining a dataset, providing feedback, receiving one or more user inputs, receiving an indication of a change, providing a representation of the status of the computational experiment, and providing a 3D representation of the two ligands connected by the selected edge are insignificant extra solution activities, specifically mere data gathering and necessary data outputting that are conventional within the art (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering), Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and Determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis)) [See MPEP § 2106.05(g)]. Therefore, taken both individually and as whole, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by providing an inventive concept.
Therefore, claims 1-20, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(I) as being anticipated by Bieniek et al. (Communications chemistry (2022) 1-9).
Claim 1 is directed to a method of computational drug discovery using a ligand dataset and the calculation of free energy and pose to provide 3D representations, and free energies of the ligands/receptors.
Claim 14 is directed to a system of computational drug discovery using a ligand dataset and the calculation of free energy and pose to provide 3D representations, and free energies of the ligands/receptors.
Bieniek et al. teaches in the abstract “we introduce the open-source FEgrow workflow for building user-defined congeneric series of ligands in protein binding pockets for input to free energy calculations. For a given ligand core and receptor structure, FEgrow enumerates and optimizes the bioactive conformations of the grown functional group(s), making use of hybrid machine learning/molecular mechanics potential energy functions where possible. Low energy structures are optionally scored using the gnina convolutional neural network scoring function, and output for more rigorous protein–ligand binding free energy predictions. We illustrate use of the workflow by building and scoring binding poses for ten congeneric series of ligands bound to targets from a standard, high quality dataset of protein–ligand complexes. Furthermore, we build a set of 13 inhibitors of the SARS-CoV-2 main protease from the literature, and use free energy calculations to retrospectively compute their relative binding free energies”. Bieniek et al. teaches on page 3, column 1, paragraph 2 “The first task is to define the receptor and the ligand core, along with an attachment point for growth (currently only growth from hydrogen atoms is supported). Users may download receptor and ligand structures directly from the protein databank (PDB), or upload preprepared structures”, reading on obtaining a dataset, wherein the dataset includes information regarding a plurality of ligands. Bieniek et al. teaches on page 3, column 1, paragraph 4 “The constrained conformer generation described above aims to enumerate all accessible, physically reasonable conformers of the added R-group (and any other flexible regions) in vacuum. However, most of these conformations will be incompatible with the protein binding site. Hence, a 3D filter and geometry optimizer aims to find the bioactive conformers of the designed ligands”, on page 5, column 1, paragraph 4 “The root-mean-square error between gnina CNN affinities (converted to free energies) and experiment is quite acceptable (Table S4), ranging from 0.9 kcal/mol (BACE(P2)) to 1.7 kcal/mol (Jnk1), which indicates that the CNN scoring function is able to predict the affinity range of most of these series”, on page 6, column 1, paragraph 2 “Hence, relative binding free energies were computed using the SOMD software30, starting from the structures output by the FEgrow workflow in complex with the receptor”, and on page 6, column 1, paragraph 3 “We have introduced here FEgrow, an open-source molecular builder and free energy preparation workflow. Taking as input a receptor and ligand core structure, FEgrow aims to build a user defined library of chemical functional groups of the sort that would typically be used to explore structure-activity relationships with free energy calculations”, reading on determining a computational experiment to be conducted using the dataset, wherein the computational experiment includes a free energy calculation and a pose calculation, wherein the free energy calculation is to determine respective binding free energies between a receptor and the plurality of ligands, and wherein the pose calculation is to determine respective manners in which the plurality of ligands binds with the receptor that result in the binding free energies, and conducting the computational experiment by performing at least the free energy calculation and the pose calculation. Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, in Figure 4 “Comparison between experimental and predicted structures of SARS-CoV-2 main protease (Mpro) inhibitors”, and in Figure 5 “Comparison between free energy calculations and experiment. Binding free energies of 13 analogues of the uracil-based Mpro inhibitors, relative to compound 10”, reading on providing feedback regarding the computational experiment, wherein the feedback includes a three- dimensional (3D) representation of the respective manners in which one or more of the plurality of ligands bind with the receptor, the feedback further including an indication of the respective binding free energies between the receptor and the one or more of the plurality of ligands.
Claim 2 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies receiving a user input that indicates the dataset and the receptor associated with the computational experiment.
Claim 15 is directed to the system of claim 14 but further specifies receiving a user input that indicates the dataset and the receptor associated with the computational experiment.
Bieniek et al. teaches on page 3, column 1, paragraph 2 “The first task is to define the receptor and the ligand core, along with an attachment point for growth (currently only growth from hydrogen atoms is supported). Users may download receptor and ligand structures directly from the protein databank (PDB), or upload preprepared structures. In this study, we used the Open Babel software33 for parsing input structure files and ligand protonation (at pH 7). Merging the ligand core with a new R-group requires that both the linking atom on the template core and on the attachable R-group are specified. The merging is carried out with the RDKit editable molecule32. RDKit is further used to generate 3D conformers using the ETKDG method34. The generated conformers are aligned, and energy minimized using the Universal Force Field”, reading on further comprising receiving one or more user inputs that indicate the dataset and the receptor associated with the computational experiment.
Claim 3 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies receiving a change to the pose calculation or energy calculation and doing an additional run of the experiment.
Claim 16 is directed to the system of claim 14 but further specifies receiving a change to the pose calculation or energy calculation and doing an additional run of the experiment.
Bieniek et al. teaches on page 4, column 1, paragraph 2 “The lowest energy optimized conformer, and all conformers within 5 kcal/mol, are output as PDB/SDF files for further analysis and scoring…Once the geometry optimization is completed, the remaining (low energy) conformers are scored…Here, we use gnina only for re-scoring the output ligand 3D structures, using the ‘score_only’ flag and the default ensemble of CNN scoring models. Gnina CNNaffinity scores (predicted pK) are output, and compared with experimental”, and in column 2, paragraph 2 of the same page “For each target, modelled structures of the protein in complex with a congeneric series of ligands are provided as starting points for free energy calculations”, reading on after initiating an original run of the computational experiment, receiving an indication of a change to the pose calculation or the free energy calculation, and initiating an additional run of the computational experiment based on the change while maintaining the original run of the computational experiment.
Claim 4 is directed to the method of claim 3, and thus claim 1, but further specifies depicting the graphical representation of the original and additional runs as two forked branches.
Claim 17 is directed to the system of claim 16, and thus claim 14, but further specifies depicting the graphical representation of the original and additional runs as two forked branches.
Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, where (d) is “PTP1B with force field optimization” and (e) is “PTP1B using ML/MM optimization”, here the use of a specific design does not fundamentally alter the information being presented nor the preceding limitations and therefore does not have a functional relationship, thereby reading on further comprising providing a graphical representation of a status of the computational experiment, wherein the graphical representation depicts the original run and the additional run of the computational experiment as two forked branches.
Claim 5 is directed to the method of claim 3, and thus claim 1, but further specifies the change to the calculations including a change to a parameter of the calculations.
Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, where (d) is “PTP1B with force field optimization” and (e) is “PTP1B using ML/MM optimization”, it would be inherent to the use of a different optimization that a different set of parameters would be used, thereby reading on wherein the change to the pose calculation or the free energy calculation includes a change to a parameter of the pose calculation or the energy calculation.
Claim 9 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies the calculation of interactions between the ligand and receptor and the inclusion of said interactions within the feedback.
Claim 20 is directed to the system of claim 14 but further specifies the calculation of interactions between the ligand and receptor and the inclusion of said interactions within the feedback.
Bieniek et al. teaches on page 2, column 2, paragraph 2 “we employ a hybrid machine learning/molecular mechanics (ML/MM) approach to optimisation, whereby the ligand is (optionally) described by the ANI neural network potential, and non-bonded interactions with the static protein are described by traditional force fields”, in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, in Figure 4 “Comparison between experimental and predicted structures of SARS-CoV-2 main protease (Mpro) inhibitors”, and in Figure 3(b) “X-ray crystal structure of 4 in complex with the protease, with discussed binding pockets labelled”, reading on further comprising simulating, as part of the computational experiment, respective interactions between the receptor and each of the plurality of ligands, wherein the feedback further includes an indication of the respective interactions between the receptor and each of the plurality of ligands.
Claim 10 is directed to the method of claim 9, and thus claim 1, but further specifies the output as including a comparison of the patter in which interactions occur between the receptor and multiple ligands.
Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, which includes the pattern of binding within the binding pocket of the receptor for 5 different ligands and 2 of the same ligand under different computational methods, thereby reading on wherein the feedback includes a comparison of the pattern in which the interactions occur between the receptor and a first ligand, and the pattern in which the interactions occur between the receptor and a second ligand.
Claim 11 is directed to the method of claim 9, and thus claim 1, but further specifies the use of a heatmap to depict the patterns between ligands.
Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, which includes the pattern of binding within the binding pocket of the receptor for 5 different ligands and 2 of the same ligand under different computational methods, furthermore the use of a specific design here does not fundamentally alter the information being presented nor the preceding limitations and therefore does not have a functional relationship, thereby reading on wherein the feedback includes one or more heat maps that compare the patterns in which interactions occur between the receptor and each of the plurality of ligands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bieniek et al. (Communications chemistry (2022) 1-9) as applied to claims 1-5, 9-11, 14-17, and 20 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (Journal of computer-aided molecular design (2013) 755-770).
Claim 6 is directed to the method of claim 1 but further specifies that the calculation include a relative binding free energy calculation, and the output includes a graphical representation where nodes are respective ligands and edges are the RBFE calculations.
Claim 18 is directed to the system of claim 14 but further specifies that the calculation include a relative binding free energy calculation, and the output includes a graphical representation where nodes are respective ligands and edges are the RBFE calculations.
Bieniek et al. teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 14 as described above.
Bieniek et al. teaches on page 6, column 1, paragraph 2 “relative binding free energies were computed using the SOMD software”, reading on wherein the free energy calculation includes a relative binding free energy (RBFE) calculation associated with at least a subset of the plurality of ligands.
Bieniek et al. does not teach that the output includes a graphical representation where nodes are respective ligands and edges are the RBFE calculations.
Liu et al. teaches on page 759, column 2, paragraph 4 “Our main goal, then, is to construct a undirected graph where each node (or vertex) is a compound of interest and each edge (or arc) a relative free energy computation for the two flanking compounds”, reading on wherein the feedback further includes a graphical representation of the subset of the plurality of ligands, the graphical representation including nodes and edges, each node representing a respective ligand, each edge representing a respective RBFE associated with two ligands connected by the edge.
It would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of Bieniek et al. for the method and system of claims 1 and 14, with the teachings of Liu et al. for the construction of an undirected graph such as described, as the latter teaches on page 767, column 2, paragraph 3 “LOMAP provides an automatic way to plan relative binding free energy calculations, which has been one major hurdle hampering more widespread application of these calculations to problems in drug discovery…the approach presented here will provide the foundation a systematic approach to looking at efficiency as a function of transformation type, and we are beginning some new work in this direction”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Liu et al. teaches on page 768, column 1, paragraph 3 “Since we hope this will be the foundation for much further development in the area, our code is open source, under the BSD license. We have designed the graph planning algorithm itself to be modular, taking a set of arbitrary similarity scores as input, so that the planning component can be easily modified and extended. Also, our rule engine is designed to allow easy incorporation of additional rules, and/or replacement of existing rules with new ones”, allowing for the simple substitution of one part of their method with another method such as those described in Bieniek et al. for claims 1 and 14. Therefore it would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of each and to be successful.
Claim 7 is directed to the method of claim 6, and thus claim 1, but further specifies providing a 3D representation wherein the representation indicates corresponding atoms of the two ligands that are mapped.
Bieniek et al. teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 14 as described above.
Bieniek et al. teaches in Figure 2 “Overlay of experimental and predicted protein-ligand benchmark dataset structures”, and in Figure 4 “Comparison between experimental and predicted structures of SARS-CoV-2 main protease (Mpro) inhibitors”, reading on in response to receiving a user input that indicates a selection of an edge in the graphical representation, providing a 3D representation of the two ligands connected by the selected edge, wherein the 3D representation indicates corresponding atoms of the two ligands that are mapped during the RBFE calculation.
Claim 8 is directed to the method of claim 6, and thus claim 1, but further specifies the establishing of a mapping between corresponding atoms of the ligands and that the RBFE calculation is performed based upon said mappings.
Claim 19 is directed to the method of claim 18, and thus claim 14, but further specifies the establishing of a mapping between corresponding atoms of the ligands and that the RBFE calculation is performed based upon said mappings.
Bieniek et al. teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 14 as described above.
Bieniek et al. teaches on page 6, column 1, paragraph 2 “relative binding free energies were computed using the SOMD software”.
Bieniek et al. does not teach the establishing of a mapping between corresponding atoms of the ligands and that the RBFE calculation is performed based upon said mappings.
Liu et al. teaches on page 765, column 1, paragraph 1 “Another important result of these calculations is the common substructure for each planned calculation, and the mapping of ligand atoms onto this common substructure, which is also an output. This information makes it simple to set up what we call ‘‘single topology, explicit intermediate’’ binding free energy calculations (Fig. 4). In these calculations, each ligand is perturbed to the common substructure, both in the binding site and in solution. From the difference in free energies one can obtain the relative binding free energy”, reading on further comprising determining that corresponding atoms of two or more ligands have been selected and establishing a mapping between the corresponding atoms, wherein the RBFE calculation is performed based on the established mapping.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bieniek et al. (Communications chemistry (2022) 1-9) as applied to claims 1-5, 9-11, 14-17, and 20 above, and further in view of Guillory et al. (Journal of the American Chemical Society (2021) 13495-13500).
Claim 12 is directed to the method of claim 9, and thus claim 1, but further specifies the outputting of a molecular dynamics trajectory movie.
Bieniek et al. teaches the method and system of claims 1 and 14 as described above.
Bieniek et al. does not teach the outputting of a molecular dynamics trajectory movie.
Guillory et al. teaches in supplementary movie 1 a stepwise molecular dynamics simulation trajectory, depicting time-dependent conformational changes, flexible movements, and stable interaction frames between the ligand and receptor, reading on wherein, for each of the plurality of ligands, the feedback includes a molecular dynamics (MD) trajectory movie that depicts the interactions between the receptor and the ligand.
It would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of Bieniek et al. for the method and system of claims 1 and 14, with the teachings of Guillory et al. for the use of a molecular dynamics trajectory movie as the latter taches in the abstract “X-ray crystal structure elucidation of this supramolecular directed assembly provides unique molecular insight into the binding mode and fully aligns with Molecular Dynamics (MD) simulations. This new supramolecular chemical biology concept opens the path to novel chemical tools for studying PPIs”. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that this would merely be the inclusion of a known method (molecular dynamics simulation in movie format) for outputting expected information (how the receptor and ligand are binding), and Bieniek et al. specifically includes Monte-Carlo-based simulation of molecular dynamics. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of first filing to have modified the teachings of each and to be successful.
Claim 13 is directed to the method of claim 12, and thus claim 1, but further specifies that the movie includes multiple frames with each frame depicting steps in the interaction.
Guillory et al. teaches in supplementary movie 1 a stepwise molecular dynamics simulation trajectory, depicting time-dependent conformational changes, flexible movements, and stable interaction frames between the ligand and receptor, reading on wherein the MD trajectory movie includes multiple frames, each frame corresponding to a step in the simulation and depicts the interactions between the receptor and the ligand during the step.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/LARRY D RIGGS II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1686