DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 11/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 11/07/2023 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9 and 17:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the term “means” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation uses the term “means” for performing the claimed function; Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for passing in claim 1.
means for heating in claims 1, 2, 6, 8 and 17.
means for controlling in claim 1 and 6.
means for measuring the thickness in claim 3.
means for measuring the temperature in claims 4, 9 and 17.
means for determining in claim 17.
Claim limitations uses the term “means” but are NOT being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for heating in claims 1, 2, 6, 8 and 17. Claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function such as:
claim 1: plurality of first heating elements.
claims 2 and 8: means for heating…generates electric induction heating.
Claim 6: plurality of second heating elements is positioned.
Claim 17: means for heating at a selected position…to heat at the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller;
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may:
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim limitations uses the term “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
The term “means” is modified by functional language, and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The claim limitations as described above uses the term means for performing the claimed function such that means is modified by functional language as discussed below,
means for passing is modified by the functional language:
claim 1: for passing the sheet of electrode which is moving in a machine direction (MD) through a gap which is formed by a first rotating roll and a second rotating roll.
means for controlling is modified by the functional language:
claim 1: for controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied.
claim 6: for controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied.
means for measuring the thickness is modified by the functional language:
claim 3: for measuring the thickness of the electrode material along a cross direction, which is perpendicular to the MD, at a location that is downstream from the gap.
means for measuring the temperature is modified by the functional language:
claim 4: for measuring the temperature of the first rotating roll along its length.
claim 9: for measuring the temperature of the second rotating roll along its length.
claim 17: for measuring the temperature of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element.
means for determining is modified by the functional language:
claim 17: for determining the line load applied by the calender.
means for passing in claim 1:
being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “an upper metal roll 126 and a lower metal roll 128” described in the specification ¶30: FIG. 1 illustrates a calender device 132 that includes an upper metal roll 126 and a lower metal roll 128 which defines a nip or controlled gap through which continuous sheet of electrode material 122 passes.
means for measuring the thickness in claim 3:
being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “scanning sensor 130” described in the specification paragraph ¶30: A scanning sensor 130 measures one or more properties along the CD of the compressed electrode sheet 124. The measured properties can include, for instance, sheet thickness and temperature.
means for measuring the temperature in claims 4, 9 and 17:
being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “scanning sensor 130” described in the specification paragraph ¶30: A scanning sensor 130 measures one or more properties along the CD of the compressed electrode sheet 124. The measured properties can include, for instance, sheet thickness and temperature.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function:
The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims 1, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Please see the 35 U.S.C. 112 section below.
means for controlling.
means for determining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure:
Claims 1 and 6:
Claim limitation “means for controlling” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied and controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied is performed by regulating alternating current to drive induction coils. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the claimed function of controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied and controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied. The use of the terms regulating the ac power to drive the induction coils is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied and controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the term regulating ac power to drive induction coils can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which controller structure/structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17:
Claim limitation “means for determining” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of determining the line load applied by the calender is performed by program executed by the processor. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the claimed function of determining the line load applied by the calender. The use of the terms program executed by the processor is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of determining the line load applied by the calender.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the term program executed by the processor can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which controller structure/structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Insufficient antecedent basis:
Claim 16:
The limitation “the second heating elements” includes insufficient antecedent basis.
For the examination purpose, in broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is construed as, second heating elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2-10:
Based on their dependencies in claim 1, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 18-20:
Based on their dependencies in claim 17, claims 18-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons.
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure:
Claims 1 and 6:
Regarding claim limitation “means for controlling,” as described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied and controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-6:
Regarding claim limitation “means for determining,” as described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of determining ON/OFF of a smoothing processing function and determining setting the smoothing processing function to OFF and ON, performing provisional smoothing processing, calculating a provisional smoothing curve, and calculate a curvature of the provisional smoothing curve. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2-10:
Based on their dependencies in claim 1, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 18-20:
Based on their dependencies in claim 17, claims 18-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU et al. (US20230411582A1) [hereinafter QU] and further in view of Kinouchi et al. (US20080118262A1) [hereinafter Kinouchi].
Regarding claim 1:
QU discloses, An apparatus, for controlling the thickness of an electrode material layer on a moving sheet of electrode which includes a metal substrate that is coated on at least one side with an electrode material layer, that comprises: [¶6: “an electrode plate extension device, comprising: a first roller,” “and a second roller,” “wherein the first roller and the second roller are arranged in parallel, a gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate is formed between the first roller and the second roller,””… ¶61: “When the electrode plate is fed between the first roller and the second roller, the uncoated region may be subjected to plastic deformation under the combined action of the protrusion and the groove so as to flatten folds of the uncoated region. Moreover, the uncoated region is extended, so that the extension rate of the uncoated region is consistent with or approximatively consistent with that of the coated region.”… ¶58: “By roller coating is meant that a rotating roller serves as a carrier of the active material, the active material forms a wet film with a certain thickness on a surface of the rotating roller, and then the surface of the current collector is coated with the active material by means of contact of the rotating roller with the current collector during rotating.”];
means for passing the sheet of electrode which is moving in a machine direction (MD) through a gap which is formed by a first rotating roll and a second rotating roll; [¶65: “The first roller 10 and the second roller 20 are arranged in parallel. A gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate 100 is formed between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20. The protrusion 12 is positioned corresponding to the groove 22, and the protrusion 12 is configured to press against an uncoated region 101 of the electrode plate 100 to cause a plastic deformation of the uncoated region 101.”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.];
means for heating the first rotating roll at a selected position along the length of the first rotating roll… first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roll [¶107: “heating portion 30 being part of the structure of the first roller 10” “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10”… ¶127: “The protrusions 12 are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first body 11 and extend in a circumferential direction of the first body 11.” “the heating portion 30 can heat the first body 11 and the protrusions 12.”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.];
means for controlling the intensity of the heating in the first rotating roll and the position along the length of the first rotating roll where the heating is applied. [¶101: “The heating portion 30 is a component capable of producing heat to heat the uncoated region 101.”… ¶107: “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10 and/or the second roller 20”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations and 35 USC 112 rejections of the limitation “means for”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
KINOUCHI discloses, ….a plurality of first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roll; [¶32: “An induction heating coil 50 to heat the metal conductive layer 20 c of the heat roller 20 through a specified gap is provided at the outer periphery of the heat roller 20.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporating the plurality of first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roll in order to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change taught by KINOUCHI to the first roller of QU with the system taught by QU as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change [KINOUCHI: ¶49: “temperature drop of the heat roller 20 can be reduced” “the roller control temperature of the heat roller 20 by the control system 70 is adjusted, so that a rapid temperature change does not occur at a part of the heat roller 20,”].
Regarding claim 2:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 1, and
QU further discloses, wherein the means for heating the first rotating roll generates electric induction heating. [¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”].
Regarding claim 4:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 1, and
KINOUCHI further discloses, comprising means for measuring the temperature of the first rotating roll along its length. [¶32: “a first and a second infrared sensors 56 a and 56 b of a thermopile system, which are temperature sensors to detect the surface temperature of the heat roller 20,”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.].
Regarding claim 6:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 1, and
QU further discloses, means for heating the second rotating roll at a selected position along the length of the second rotating roll [¶107: “the heating portion 30 being part of the structure of the second roller 20;” “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20”… ¶127: “the heating portion 30 located in the first body 11 and/or the second body 21 heats the uncoated region 101 by heating the protrusion 12 on the first body 11 or the groove 22 in the second body 21,”];
means for controlling the intensity of the heating in the second rotating roll and the position along the length of the second rotating roll where the heating is applied. [¶107: “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10 and/or the second roller 20”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations and 35 USC 112 rejections of the limitation “means for”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
KINOUCHI further discloses, …wherein a plurality of second heating elements is positioned along the length of the second rotating roll; and [¶32: “a first and a second infrared sensors 56 a and 56 b of a thermopile system, which are temperature sensors to detect the surface temperature of the heat roller 20,”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporating the plurality of second heating elements is positioned along the length of the second rotating roll taught by KINOUCHI to the second roller of QU with the system taught by QU and KINOUCHI as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 6, and
QU further discloses, wherein the means for heating the second rotating roll generates electric induction heating. [¶108: “the heating portion 30 located in the first body 11 and/or the second body 21 heats the uncoated region 101 by heating the protrusion 12 on the first body 11 or the groove 22 in the second body 21,”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”].
Regarding claim 9:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 6, and
KINOUCHI further discloses, means for measuring the temperature of the second rotating roll along its length. [¶32: “a first and a second infrared sensors 56 a and 56 b of a thermopile system, which are temperature sensors to detect the surface temperature of the heat roller 20,”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.].
Regarding claim 10:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 6, and
KINOUCHI further discloses, wherein the metal substrate is coated on a first side with a first electrode material layer and on a second side with a second electrode material. [¶57: “The positive electrode plate comprises a positive current collector and a positive active material layer, a surface of the positive current collector is coated with the positive active material layer,”…“The negative electrode plate comprises a negative current collector and a negative active material layer, a surface of the negative current collector is coated with the negative active material layer,”].
Regarding claim 11:
QU discloses, A method of controlling the thickness of a continuous sheet of electrode that moves in a machine direction (MD) wherein the sheet of electrode comprises a metal substrate that is coated on at least one side with an electrode material, which comprises: [¶6: “a first roller,” “and a second roller,” “wherein the first roller and the second roller are arranged in parallel, a gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate is formed between the first roller and the second roller,””… ¶61: “When the electrode plate is fed between the first roller and the second roller, the uncoated region may be subjected to plastic deformation under the combined action of the protrusion and the groove so as to flatten folds of the uncoated region. Moreover, the uncoated region is extended, so that the extension rate of the uncoated region is consistent with or approximatively consistent with that of the coated region.”… ¶58: “By roller coating is meant that a rotating roller serves as a carrier of the active material, the active material forms a wet film with a certain thickness on a surface of the rotating roller, and then the surface of the current collector is coated with the active material by means of contact of the rotating roller with the current collector during rotating.”];
advancing the sheet of electrode through a gap which is defined by a first rotating roller and a second rotating roller… first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roller [¶65: “The first roller 10 and the second roller 20 are arranged in parallel. A gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate 100 is formed between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20. The protrusion 12 is positioned corresponding to the groove 22, and the protrusion 12 is configured to press against an uncoated region 101 of the electrode plate 100 to cause a plastic deformation of the uncoated region 101.”];
applying heat at a selected position along the length of the first rotating roller to heat the first rotating roller to regulate its diameter. [¶107: “heating portion 30 being part of the structure of the first roller 10” “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10”… ¶127: “The protrusions 12 are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first body 11 and extend in a circumferential direction of the first body 11.” “the heating portion 30 can heat the first body 11 and the protrusions 12.”
Examiner notes that, one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that heating the roller will cause expansion in the roller causing change in diameter], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
KINOUCHI discloses, …. wherein a plurality of first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roller; [¶32: “An induction heating coil 50 to heat the metal conductive layer 20 c of the heat roller 20 through a specified gap is provided at the outer periphery of the heat roller 20.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporating the plurality of first heating elements is positioned along the length of the first rotating roller in order to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change taught by KINOUCHI to the first roller of QU with the method taught by QU as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change [KINOUCHI: ¶49: “temperature drop of the heat roller 20 can be reduced” “the roller control temperature of the heat roller 20 by the control system 70 is adjusted, so that a rapid temperature change does not occur at a part of the heat roller 20,”].
Regarding claim 12:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The method of claim 11, and
QU further discloses, wherein the first heating elements are electric induction heaters. [¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”].
Regarding claim 14:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The method of claim 11, and
QU further discloses, applying heat at a selected position along the length of the second rotating roller to heat the second rotating roller to regulate its diameter [¶107: “the heating portion 30 being part of the structure of the second roller 20;” “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20”… ¶127: “the heating portion 30 located in the first body 11 and/or the second body 21 heats the uncoated region 101 by heating the protrusion 12 on the first body 11 or the groove 22 in the second body 21,”
Examiner notes that, one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that heating the roller will cause expansion in the roller causing change in diameter].
Regarding claim 15:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The method of claim 14, and
KINOUCHI further discloses, wherein the metal substrate is coated on a first side with a first electrode material layer and on a second side with a second electrode material [¶57: “The positive electrode plate comprises a positive current collector and a positive active material layer, a surface of the positive current collector is coated with the positive active material layer,”…“The negative electrode plate comprises a negative current collector and a negative active material layer, a surface of the negative current collector is coated with the negative active material layer,”].
Regarding claim 16:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 14, and
QU further discloses, wherein the second heating elements are electric induction heaters. [¶108: “the heating portion 30 located in the first body 11 and/or the second body 21 heats the uncoated region 101 by heating the protrusion 12 on the first body 11 or the groove 22 in the second body 21,”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”
Examiner notes the 35 USC 112b antecedent basis issues of the limitation the second heating elements].
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU and KINOUCHI and further in view of Bolza-Schünemann (US20250108400A1) [hereinafter Bolza-Schünemann].
Regarding claim 3:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 1, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Bolza-Schünemann discloses, means for measuring the thickness of the electrode material along a cross direction, which is perpendicular to the MD, at a location that is downstream from the gap. [¶201: “a measuring device 806 is provided, by way of which a thickness d, for example layer thickness d, of the material layer 003; 003′ conveyed on the roller 103; 103′ can be determined. In a first approximation, the thickness d003, for example layer thickness d003, generally at any location over the width b003; b003′ of the material layer 003; 003′”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretations section].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the means for measuring the thickness of the electrode material along a cross direction, which is perpendicular to the MD, at a location that is downstream from the gap in order to achieve end product with fewer defects by utilizing the measurement of the thickness and thereby having a continuous and reliable production taught by Bolza-Schünemann with the system taught by QU and KINOUCHI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to achieve end product with fewer defects by utilizing the measurement of the thickness and thereby having a continuous and reliable production [Bolza-Schünemann: ¶25: “comprising an active material layer that is as even as possible and/or subject to few defects, can be continuously and reliably produced by means of the device or machine.”].
Regarding claim 13:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The method of claim 11, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Bolza-Schünemann discloses, comprising determining the thickness of the electrode material along the cross direction, which is perpendicular to the MD, after the sheet of electrode exits the gap. [¶201: “a measuring device 806 is provided, by way of which a thickness d, for example layer thickness d, of the material layer 003; 003′ conveyed on the roller 103; 103′ can be determined. In a first approximation, the thickness d003, for example layer thickness d003, generally at any location over the width b003; b003′ of the material layer 003; 003′”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretations section].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Bolza-Schünemann with the method taught by QU and KINOUCHI for the same reasons as described above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU and KINOUCHI and further in view of Chirico et al. (US20090255925A1, applicant admitted and listed in the IDS filled on 11/07/2023) [hereinafter Chirico].
Regarding claim 5:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 1, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Chirico discloses, wherein the first rotating roll expands in response to being heated. [¶27: “Arrays of induction heating workcoils 120 heat the surfaces of various ones of these rolls 119. As each roll surface locally heats up, the roll diameter is locally expanded and hence increases nip pressure,”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the expansion capability of rotating rollers in response to being heated in order to improve the sheet’s preferred thickness by compensating for any variations of the sheet properties from desired targets taught by Chirico with the system taught by QU and KINOUCHI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to improve the sheet’s preferred thickness by compensating for any variations of the sheet properties from desired targets [Chirico: ¶28: “a supercalender (for improving the paper sheet's thickness, smoothness, and gloss) or one or more coating stations”… ¶30: “help to compensate for any variations of the sheet properties from desired targets, which may help to ensure the quality of the sheet 108.”].
Regarding claim 7:
QU and KINOUCHI disclose, The apparatus of claim 6, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Chirico further discloses, wherein the second rotating roll expands in response to being heated. [¶27: “Arrays of induction heating workcoils 120 heat the surfaces of various ones of these rolls 119. As each roll surface locally heats up, the roll diameter is locally expanded and hence increases nip pressure,”].
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU and KINOUCHI and further in view of Stephenson et al. (US20240372056A1) [hereinafter Stephenson].
Regarding claim 17:
QU discloses, A controller for controlling the thickness of an electrode material layer on a moving sheet of electrode which includes a metal substrate that is coated on at least one side with an electrode material layer exiting a calender [¶6: “an electrode plate extension device, comprising: a first roller,” “and a second roller,” “wherein the first roller and the second roller are arranged in parallel, a gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate is formed between the first roller and the second roller,””… ¶61: “When the electrode plate is fed between the first roller and the second roller, the uncoated region may be subjected to plastic deformation under the combined action of the protrusion and the groove so as to flatten folds of the uncoated region. Moreover, the uncoated region is extended, so that the extension rate of the uncoated region is consistent with or approximatively consistent with that of the coated region.”… ¶58: “By roller coating is meant that a rotating roller serves as a carrier of the active material, the active material forms a wet film with a certain thickness on a surface of the rotating roller, and then the surface of the current collector is coated with the active material by means of contact of the rotating roller with the current collector during rotating.”];
having a first rotating roller and a second rotating roller which define a gap through which the sheet of electrode passes, [¶65: “The first roller 10 and the second roller 20 are arranged in parallel. A gap for allowing the passage of an electrode plate 100 is formed between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20. The protrusion 12 is positioned corresponding to the groove 22, and the protrusion 12 is configured to press against an uncoated region 101 of the electrode plate 100 to cause a plastic deformation of the uncoated region 101.”];
wherein at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller has a heating element that is positioned along its length, comprising: [Examiner notes that only one of the optional claim limitations separated by “or” statement is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶107: “heating portion 30 being part of the structure of the first roller 10” “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10”… ¶127: “The protrusions 12 are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first body 11 and extend in a circumferential direction of the first body 11.” “the heating portion 30 can heat the first body 11 and the protrusions 12.”];
(d) means for heating at a selected position along the length of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller to heat at the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller to regulate its diameter; [Examiner notes that only one of the optional claim limitations separated by “or” statement is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶101: “The heating portion 30 is a component capable of producing heat to heat the uncoated region 101.”… ¶107: “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10 and/or the second roller 20”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”… ¶127: “The protrusions 12 are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first body 11 and extend in a circumferential direction of the first body 11.” “the heating portion 30 can heat the first body 11 and the protrusions 12.”
Examiner notes that, one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that heating the roller will cause expansion in the roller causing change in diameter.
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.];
(v) provide an output coupled to control application of the heat along the length of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element. [Examiner notes that only one of the optional claim limitations separated by “or” statement is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶101: “The heating portion 30 is a component capable of producing heat to heat the uncoated region 101.”… ¶107: “when the electrode plate 100 passes between the first roller 10 and the second roller 20, the uncoated region 101 can be heated by the first roller 10 and/or the second roller 20”… ¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”… ¶127: “The protrusions 12 are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first body 11 and extend in a circumferential direction of the first body 11.” “the heating portion 30 can heat the first body 11 and the protrusions 12.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
KINOUCHI discloses, (b) means for measuring the temperature of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element; [¶32: “a first and a second infrared sensors 56 a and 56 b of a thermopile system, which are temperature sensors to detect the surface temperature of the heat roller 20,”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations of the limitation “means for” as described in the claim interpretation section.];
(ii) receive an input comprising the temperature of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element; [¶32: “a first and a second infrared sensors 56 a and 56 b of a thermopile system, which are temperature sensors to detect the surface temperature of the heat roller 20, and a thermostat 57 to detect abnormality of the surface temperature of the heat roller 20 and to cut off heating are provided at the outer periphery of the heat roller 20.” “The first infrared sensor 56 a monitors the temperature of substantially the center part of the heat roller 20, and the second infrared sensor 56 b monitors the temperature of the edge part of the heat roller 20.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of measuring and receiving temperature of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element in order to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change taught by KINOUCHI with the system taught by QU as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to achieve higher product quality of the temperature dependent product by having highly accurate temperature control by reducing temperature drop of the heat roller and preventing rapid temperature change [KINOUCHI: ¶49: “temperature drop of the heat roller 20 can be reduced” “the roller control temperature of the heat roller 20 by the control system 70 is adjusted, so that a rapid temperature change does not occur at a part of the heat roller 20,”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Stephenson discloses, (c) means for determining the line load applied by the calender; [¶46: “The coated foil 12 is then passed through a weight measurement unit 22 a, 22 b, for example a Beta-Gauge, that inspects the loading level of the wet coating”… ¶47: “the loading level of the dried coating is measured by a weight measurement unit 29 a, 29 b, for example a Beta-Gauge.”
Examiner notes the claim interpretations and 35 USC 112 rejections of the limitation “means for”];
(a) processor; (e) a memory device coupled to the processor and comprising a readable program for execution by the processor to: [¶32: “control arrangement 50 comprises at least one processor 51 and memory 52. In general, the control arrangement 50 is configured to perform all embodiments of the method described herein. This might e.g., be achieved by the processor 51 executing software ‘P’ stored in the memory 52.”];
(i) receive an input comprising the thickness of an electrode material layer exiting the calender; [¶51: “the width and/or thickness of the coated foil 12 may be measured. The coating width is measured by an image sensor 23, for example a camera. The thickness of the coated foil 12 is measured using a thickness gauge 47”… ¶68: “obtaining S2 monitoring data from one or more of the electrical components,” “the monitoring data is indicative of one or more of weight, thickness, width and defects.”];
(iii) receive an input comprising the line load applied by the calender; [¶46: “The coated foil 12 is then passed through a weight measurement unit 22 a, 22 b, for example a Beta-Gauge, that inspects the loading level of the wet coating”… ¶47: “the loading level of the dried coating is measured by a weight measurement unit 29 a, 29 b, for example a Beta-Gauge.”… ¶68: “if a foil collector motor 36 consumes more power than usual, it is an indication that the load on the foil collector motor 36 is greater than usual, e.g., that the coating layer is too thick and therefore is heavier to push. If the foil collector motor 36 consumes less power than usual, it is an indication that the load is smaller, e.g., that the coating layer is too thin”];
(iv) process a model of the calender; and [¶80: “The coating quality criteria may repeatedly or continuously be updated based on a result of the evaluating and/or new inspections of secondary cells where better quality has been found.” “the method comprises S5 updating the coating criteria based on one or more of the evaluating S3 and data from testing of secondary cells. The developing S0 may also comprise developing a power consumption signature of the coating process comprising individual reference values for power consumption for a plurality of the one or more electrical components at the same time instance”… ¶68: “if a foil collector motor 36 consumes more power than usual, it is an indication that the load on the foil collector motor 36 is greater than usual, e.g., that the coating layer is too thick and therefore is heavier to push. If the foil collector motor 36 consumes less power than usual, it is an indication that the load is smaller, e.g., that the coating layer is too thin”
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation, model can be any model/calculation/determination related to calender.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the determining and receiving the line load applied by the calender; receiving the thickness of an electrode material layer exiting the calender; and processing a model/determination/calculation in order to enable continuous coating quality monitoring and control to improve coating quality by continuously adjusting coating related criteria by utilizing the monitored information taught by Stephenson with the system taught by QU and KINOUCHI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to improve coating quality by continuously adjusting coating related criteria by utilizing the monitored thickness and line load information [Stephenson: ¶80: “coating quality criteria may repeatedly or continuously be updated” “the deviation limit(s) may be made more narrow in an effort to further improve the coating quality” ¶54: “thereby enabling continuous coating quality monitoring and control”].
Regarding claim 18:
QU, KINOUCHI and Stephenson disclose, The controller of claim 17, and
Stephenson further discloses, wherein the input further includes operating point data comprising electrode material composition, electrode coating weight, maximum electrode coat density, initial electrode coat thickness, temperature of at least one of the first rotating roller or the second rotating roller that has a heating element, and line load. [Examiner notes that only one of the optional claim limitations separated by “or” statement is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Stephenson discloses, input further includes operating point data such as electrode coating weight.
¶68: “obtaining S2 monitoring data from one or more of the electrical components,” “the monitoring data is indicative of one or more of weight, thickness, width and defects.”].
Regarding claim 19:
QU, KINOUCHI and Stephenson disclose, The controller of claim 18, and
Stephenson further discloses, wherein the controller is tuned whereby the process gain from line load to final thickness is automatically calculated at a specified operating point defined by the operating point data. [¶80: “The coating quality criteria may repeatedly or continuously be updated based on a result of the evaluating and/or new inspections of secondary cells where better quality has been found. if the coating continuously is evaluated to have a quality within the most narrow deviation limits, the deviation limit(s) may be made more narrow in an effort to further improve the coating quality. In other words, the method comprises S5 updating the coating criteria” “the method comprises S5 updating the coating criteria based on one or more of the evaluating S3 and data from testing of secondary cells. The developing S0 may also comprise developing a power consumption signature of the coating process comprising individual reference values for power consumption for a plurality of the one or more electrical components at the same time instance”… ¶54: “cause the computer or control arrangement 50 to carry out the method according to any of the embodiments as described herein. The method is typically performed continuously during the coating and/or calendaring processes. The method is typically performed at least partly as an in-line method, where in-line is defined as a method that is performed directly in the process and monitors the coating quality of all products passing through the process, thereby enabling continuous coating quality monitoring and control.”].
Regarding claim 20:
QU, KINOUCHI and Stephenson disclose, The controller of claim 18, and
QU further discloses, wherein the heating element comprises an induction coil. [¶116: “The magnetic induction heating portion 30 heats the uncoated region 101 based on the principle of magnetic induction heating.” “The heating mode of the magnetic induction heating portion 30 or the far infrared heating portion 30 is an existing conventional heating mode,”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
HILGERS et al. (US20250040000A1) - Induction heater for calendar roller:
¶31: To manage and control the temperature and, consequently, the thermal crowning of calendar rollers, oil circuits in heaters can be employed. These systems circulate thermal oil through the rollers, maintaining a consistent temperature across the roller's surface.
Brcka (US20070036198A1) - Method and apparatus for determining a specific energy consumption of belt conveyors:
¶6: method and apparatus monitor and measure conductive layer (metal) thickness based upon changes in temperature change due to the amount of heat generated within a deposited conductive layer.
Nakajima et al. (US20190152210A1) - Roll press method and roll press system:
¶12: a roll gap measuring step for measuring a roll gap between an outer peripheral surface of the first roll and an outer peripheral surface of the second roll at one or more positions in a width direction of the first roll while rotating the first roll and the second roll; and a roll press step for adjusting, according to the rotation angles, a position in the facing direction of the first roll by the adjustment mechanism such that the roll gap is kept within a predetermined variation range with respect to a target value and pressurizing the work by using the first roll in which positions are adjusted in accordance with the rotation angle and the second roll.
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116