DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nigo et al. (US 2017/0110944 A1).
RE claim 1, Nigo teaches a rotor core 11 (Fig.2) comprising a rotor stack (laminated steel plate, see ¶ 33) including a plurality of pole parts (formed by magnet 19, see ¶ 34), each pole part having a magnet embedded hole 21 having a magnet 19 therein and at least one through hole 31a located between the magnet embedded hole 21 and an outer surface 5a of the each pole part, wherein the through hole 31a located between the magnet embedded hole 21 and the outer surface 5a of the each pole part is positioned to be inscribed in a circle inscribing the magnet 19 (see Fig.3).
According to the original specification ¶ 30, the term inscribe: “may mean drawing one shape inside another, just touching but not crossing sides”. Therefore, see Nigo’s Fig.3 for both of the holes 31a and the magnet 19 are inscribed by the circle of bridge structures 39, 11a
RE claim 2/1, Nigo teaches a motor (see title and abstract) comprising the rotor core 11 of claim 1.
RE claim 3/1, Nigo teaches the through hole 31a and the magnet embedded hole 21 are spaced apart from each other (Fig.3).
RE claim 4/1, Nigo teaches the at least one through hole 31a located between the magnet embedded hole 21 and the outer surface 5a of the each pole part comprises a pair of through holes 31a (Fig.3).
RE claim 5/4, Nigo teaches the pair of through holes 31a are symmetrical to each other with respect to a straight line (MC) connecting a center of the rotor stack and a center of the magnet embedded hole 21 (Fig.3).
RE claim 6/1, Nigo teaches the circle (formed by bridge 39, 11a) inscribing the through hole and the magnet is coaxial with the rotor stack (Figs.1-3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Nigo et al. (US 2016/0172912 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nigo’912).
RE claim 7/1, Ogawa has been discussed above. Ogawa does not teach a convex protrusion is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part.
Nigo teaches a convex protrusion 29 is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part (Fig.2 and ¶ 41). Thus, the effect of the magnetic resistance by the air holes can be alleviated, thereby being capable of attaining structure that less influences the performance in the magnetic path (¶ 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogawa by having a convex protrusion is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part, as taught by Nigo, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Andriamalala et al. (US 2021/0194301 A1).
RE claim 8/1, Nigo has been discussed above. Ogawa does not teach the circle inscribing the through hole and the magnet and is eccentric with respect to the rotor stack.
Andriamalala teaches the circle inscribing the through hole and the magnet and is eccentric with respect to the rotor stack (see annotated Fig.2 below), doing so minimize the noise by means of a process of optimization of the radius of curvature and the polar half-angle, but whilst maintaining the magnetic performance levels (¶ 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having the circle inscribing the through hole and the magnet and is eccentric with respect to the rotor stack, as taught by Andriamalala, for the same reasons as discussed above.
[AltContent: textbox (Through holes (H))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Magnet hole (MH))]
RE claim 9/8, Nigo has been discussed above. Nigo does not teach the circle inscribing both the through hole and the magnet is eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole, with respect to the rotor stack.
Andriamalala teaches the circle (center at Cc) inscribing both the through hole and the magnet 37 is eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole, with respect to the rotor stack 31 (see Figs.1, 2 for center Cc is eccentric with center X of rotor body), doing so minimize the noise by means of a process of optimization of the radius of curvature and the polar half-angle, but whilst maintaining the magnetic performance levels (¶ 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having the circle inscribing both the through hole and the magnet is eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole, with respect to the rotor stack, as taught by Andriamalala, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 10/1, Nigo has been discussed above. Ogawa does not teach the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is positioned to be inscribed in a circle inscribing the magnet and being eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole, with respect to the rotor stack, a convex protrusion is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part, and an interval between an outer surface of the convex protrusion and the circle inscribing both the through hole and the magnet is constant.
Andriamalala teaches the through hole (H) located between the magnet embedded hole (MH) (where magnet 37 inserted) and the outer surface 42 of the each pole part is positioned to be inscribed in a circle (center at Cc and between D1-D2) inscribing the magnet and being eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole (MH), with respect to the rotor stack 31, a convex protrusion 50 is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part 50, and an interval (D1-D2) between an outer surface of the convex protrusion 50 and the circle inscribing both the through hole and the magnet 37 is constant (Fig.2), doing so minimize the noise by means of a process of optimization of the radius of curvature and the polar half-angle, but whilst maintaining the magnetic performance levels (¶ 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is positioned to be inscribed in a circle inscribing the magnet and being eccentric, toward the magnet embedded hole, with respect to the rotor stack, a convex protrusion is formed on an outer surface of the each pole part, and an interval between an outer surface of the convex protrusion and the circle inscribing both the through hole and the magnet is constant, as taught by Andriamalala, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Yabe et al. (JP 2007181254 A, the machine translation of which has been provided).
RE claim 11/1, Nigo has been discussed above. Nigo does not teach the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole.
Yabe teaches the through hole (where fastening member 4 located, see Fig.24, 28) is connected to the magnet embedded hole (1a), doing so allows leakage of magnetic flux can be minimized (see translation page 8, 6th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole, as taught by Yabe, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 12, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0372550 A1).
RE claim 12/1, Nigo has been discussed above. Nigo does not teach a fixing member inserted in the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part, the fixing member having two opposite ends axially supported by the magnet.
Yu teaches a fixing member 4 inserted in the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part (Fig.5), the fixing member having two opposite ends 3 axially supported by the magnet 2 (Fig.3), doing so allows the fixing of the rotor assembly to have simple structure. The fixing mode is reliable, and can effectively prevent the detachment of the weighting materials from the grooves. The motor has simple structure, reliable fixing and high security (¶ 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having a fixing member inserted in the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part, the fixing member having two opposite ends axially supported by the magnet, as taught by Yu, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 14, Nigo teaches a rotor core 11 (Fig.2), comprising: a rotor stack including a plurality of pole parts (formed by magnet 19, see ¶ 34), each pole part having a magnet embedded hole 21 having a magnet 19 therein and at least one through hole 31a located between the magnet embedded hole 21 and an outer surface 5a of the each pole part; and
wherein the through hole 31a located between the magnet embedded hole 21 and the outer surface 5a of the each pole part is positioned to be inscribed in a circle inscribing the magnet 19 (see Fig.3).
According to the original specification ¶ 30, the term inscribe: “may mean drawing one shape inside another, just touching but not crossing sides”. Therefore, see Nigo’s Fig.3 for both of the holes 31a and the magnet 19 are inscribed by the circle of bridge structures 39, 11a.
Nigo does not teach a fixing member inserted in the through hole and axially supported by the magnet.
Yu teaches a fixing member 4 inserted in the through hole and axially supported by the magnet 2 (Fig.3), doing so allows the fixing of the rotor assembly to have simple structure. The fixing mode is reliable, and can effectively prevent the detachment of the weighting materials from the grooves. The motor has simple structure, reliable fixing and high security (¶ 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo by having a fixing member inserted in the through hole and axially supported by the magnet, as taught by Yu, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 15/14, Nigo in view of Yu has been discussed above. Nigo further teaches a motor (see title and abstract) comprising the rotor core 11 of claim 14.
RE claim 19/14, as discussed above, Yu teaches the fixing member 4 includes: a load member (3, 4) including a body portion 4 inserted in the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part, and a support 3 having a larger diameter than the body portion 4 (Fig.3) at one end of the body portion and supported by the magnet 2 (Fig.3).
RE claim 20/19, as discussed above, Yu teaches the fixing member 4 further includes a coupler 3 coupled to another end of the body portion 4 and supported by the magnet 2 (see Figs.2, 3 for fixing member 4 connected to both axial end of magnet via element 3).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Yu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yabe et al. (JP 2007181254 A).
RE claim 13/12, Nigo in view of Yu has been discussed above. Yu does not teach the fixing member inserted in the through hole has a non-magnetic body.
Yabe teaches the fixing member inserted in the through hole has a non-magnetic body (see translation page 6, 3rd and 6th ¶ for non-magnetic rivet), doing so allows the leakage of flux to be reduced (translation page 6, 6th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo in view of Yu by having the fixing member inserted in the through hole has a non-magnetic body, as taught by Yabe, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Yu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (JP 2010213553 A).
RE claim 16/14, Nigo in view of Yu has been discussed above. Yu does not teach the at least one through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part has a pair of through holes, and the fixing member is inserted in each of the pair of through holes.
Ogawa teaches the at least one through hole 35 (Fig.7) located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part has a pair of through holes 35, and the fixing member 36 is inserted in each of the pair of through holes 35 (Fig.7). Thereby, since the force acting on each rivet is reduced, the deformation amount of the rivet can be further reduced (see translation page 4, 2nd ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo in view of Yu by having the at least one through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part has a pair of through holes, and the fixing member is inserted in each of the pair of through holes, as taught by Ogawa, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigo in view of Yu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yabe et al. (JP 2007181254 A).
RE claim 17/14, Nigo in view of Yu has been discussed above. Nigo in view of Yu does not teach the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole, and the fixing member is supported by the magnet through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other.
Yabe teaches the through hole (where element 5 inserted, see Fig.28) located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole 1d, and the fixing member 4 is supported by the magnet 6 through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other (Fig.28), doing so allows leakage of magnetic flux can be minimized (see translation page 8, 6th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo in view of Yu by having the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole, and the fixing member is supported by the magnet through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other, as taught by Yabe, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 18/14, Nigo in view of Yu has been discussed above. Yu does not teach the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole, and the fixing member is press-fitted in the through hole and supported by the magnet through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other.
Yabe teaches through hole (where element 4 inserted) located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole 1d, and the fixing member 4 is press-fitted in the through hole and supported by the magnet 6 through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other (Fig.28), doing so allows leakage of magnetic flux can be minimized (see translation page 8, 6th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nigo in view of Yu by having the through hole located between the magnet embedded hole and the outer surface of the each pole part is connected to the magnet embedded hole, and the fixing member is press-fitted in the through hole and supported by the magnet through a portion where the through hole and the magnet embedded hole are connected to each other, as suggested by Yabe, for the same reasons as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834