DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged.
No claims are withdrawn because applicant cancelled claims 11-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the width of the main body part" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the user’ lips" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koehler (2012/0181348).
Regarding claim 1, Koehler A drinking straw device, comprising a tubular body (21) defining an elongated central opening therethrough (21 is a drinking straw so it has to have an opening) and having a main body part defining a distal end (10) and a widened proximal part defining a widened proximate end (20), wherein the main body part has a circular cross section (fig 1A), and the proximal part has a flat oval cross section (fig 3, 33), and wherein the proximal part has a pre-determined length extending from the proximate end toward the main body part (fig 2), and wherein the proximal part has a uniform cross-section along its length (fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the proximal part is formed by a pair of opposing flat walls joined by arcuate wall segments (33 is the cross section of 2 that shows a pair of opposing flat walls joined by arcuate wall segments).
Regarding claim 4, wherein a distance between the flat walls defines height of the proximate part, and wherein said height is smaller than diameter of the central opening in the main body part (shape 33 is defined in the specification as a thin slit [0024], meaning it is thinner than the cross-section shown as shape 31. Cross-section 31 is the same height as 10, so cross-section 33 must be thinner than that of 10).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the tubular body has a connecting part unitary connected to and positioned between the main body part and the proximal part, the connecting part comprising outwardly extending sidewalls (fig 2, the connecting part is the part were the straw widens).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the proximal part has a pre-determined width, which is greater than the width of the main body part (fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the proximal part is configured to define a widened outlet periphery which allows a user to form a seal around the periphery, when drinking a liquid, without puckering the user's lips (fig 2, [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koehler (2012/0181348).
Regarding claim 2, Koehler shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the length of the proximal part is between 5% and 25% of the total length of the tubular body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koehler to so that the length of the proximal part is between 5% and 25% of the total length of the tubular body, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 77 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In this case, the device of Koehler would not operate differently with the length of the proximal part being between 5% and 25% of the total length of the tubular body, since the straw of Koehler and the claimed straw are identical in every other way and changing the proportion of the proximal end will not affect the function of the straw. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Koehler shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 4, but fails to teach wherein the height of the proximal part is between 30% and 60% of the diameter of the central opening of the main body part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koehler to so that the height of the proximal part is between 30% and 60% of the diameter of the central opening of the main body part, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 77 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In this case, the device of Koehler would not operate differently with the height of the proximal part being between 30% and 60% of the diameter of the central opening of the main body part, since the straw of Koehler and the claimed straw are identical in every other way and changing the proportion of the proximal end will not affect the function of the straw. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality in the claimed range.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koehler (2012/0181348) in view of Diorio et al. (2017/0079453).
Regarding claim 7, Koehler shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the tubular body comprises a bent part unitary connected to and positioned downstream of the proximal part.
However, Diorio et al. teaches a straw with a bent portion (fig 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to add a bent portion to the straw of Koehler. in order to allow the user to drink from the straw without having to tilt their head or the beverage as taught by Diorio et al [0032].
Regarding claim 8, the examiner notes that the above combination does not explicitly teach wherein said bent part is positioned downstream of the connecting part.
However, from looking at figure 6 of Diorio et al. and figure 2 of Koehler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to locate the bent portion downstream of the connecting part, since it is the easiest place to locate the bent portion without effecting the shape of the proximal portion.
Additionally in Diorio et al. the bent portion appears to be located downstream of the portion where the users mothy touches the straw, which would be downstream of the connecting part.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 18 of copending Application No. 17411890 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current claim: Rejected by at least claims of 17411890:
1 10, 18
2 10
3 10, 18
4 10, 18
7 10,18
8 10, 18
9 10, 18
10 10, 18
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 3/11/2026