DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 07/19/2026, in response to the non-final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 49, 81, 83-85 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49, 81, 83-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 49 recites “the unit dosage soft gel does not contain any active agent that elicits a biological response, other than the said (a), (b), or (c)” and the applicant does not have support for this in the originally filed application. If the applicant wishes to not allow specific components in the composition the applicant can use “consisting of” or “consisting essentially of” claim language which would not allow the inclusion of other active components in the composition, however claiming the composition to not include broad, specific, or particular components would need that specific teaching in the originally filed application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49, 81, 83-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (Fish Oil supplementation: Evidence for health benefits, Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine, Vol 71, No 3, March 2004), Yan (Berberine promotes recovery of colitis and inhibits inflammatory responses in colonic macrophages and epithelial cells in DSS-treated mice, Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol, Mar 1, 2012; 302(5): G504-G514) and Morris (WO2015034984A1). This rejection is maintained due to the arguments and amendments filed on 07/19/2026.
Harris general disclosure is a report on the benefits of fish oil supplementation (see abstract).
Harris teaches that Omega-3 fatty acids have shown benefits in treating Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis (see page 218, Are Omega-3 Oils beneficial in noncardiac conditions). Both of these are inflammatory bowel diseases.
Harris also teaches that fish oil supplements are available as a triglyceride-based form or as a methyl or ethyl ester form and that there is little justification for choosing one formulation over the other but that Omega-3 products in the methyl ester or ethyl ester form are usually more concentrated than triglyceride forms: i.e., fewer capsules per day are required to achieve target intakes (see page 218, Is One Fish Oil Formulation Better Than Another?).
Harris also teaches generally 1 g of EPA and DHA per day would be an ideal amount for daily (see page 217, How Much Fish? How Many Capsules) is recommended (also see The AHA recommends 1 g of EPA/DHA per day, page 216, left side). Harris teaches the EPA/DHA to be in capsule form (see table 2).
Harris does not specifically teach wherein the composition comprises berberine pharmaceutical acceptable salt thereof.
Yan’s general disclosure is a scientific report on berberine promoting recovery of colitis and inhibiting inflammatory responses in the colon (see abstract).
Yan teaches “Berberine, an alkaloid derived from plants, is an alternative medicine for treating bacterial diarrhea and intestinal parasite infections. Recent studies suggest that berberine exerts several other beneficial effects, including inducing anti-inflammatory responses. Berberine ameliorated DSS-induced body weight loss, myeloperoxidase activity, shortening of the colon, injury, and inflammation scores. DSS-upregulated proinflammatory cytokine levels in the colon, including TNF, IFN-γ, KC, and IL-17 were reduced by berberine. Berberine decreased DSS-induced disruption of barrier function and apoptosis in the colon epithelium. Furthermore, berberine inhibited proinflammatory cytokine production in colonic macrophages and epithelial cells in DSS-treated mice and promoted apoptosis of colonic macrophages. In summary, berberine promotes recovery of DSS-induced colitis and exerts inhibitory effects on proinflammatory responses in colonic macrophages and epithelial cells. Thus, berberine may represent a new therapeutic approach for treating gastrointestinal inflammatory disorders” (see abstract).
Yan also teaches berberine chloride (Sigma-Aldrich, St. Louis, MO) was administered through gavage at 100 mg·kg body wt−1·day−1 for the 3-day recovery after 4-day DSS treatment or 2-, 4-, and 6-day recovery after 7-day DSS treatment.
Morris teaches dietary formulations which comprise berberine (see claim 14) and an omega-3 fatty acid, or esters thereof (see claim 1) and wherein the composition can be useful for treating small bowel inflammation (see claim 19), specifically Chron’s disease (see page 58, line 15). Morris additionally teaches using berberine salt forms such as chloride and sulfate (see page 19, lines 27-30).
Morris also teaches using soft gels (see page 45, line 15) and the use of vitamin E, A, D and K (see claim 1, part c) and claims 4-5) and teaches calcium (see page 20 lines 13-30), and berberine (see pages 18, line 23, 19, line 2, page 32 lines 14-32, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date to combine one or more omega-3 fatty acids and berberine for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease or related disease or condition, because Harris teaches that EPA and DHA have an increasing benefit in doing so and Yan teaches that berberine has many benefits for treating IBD, specifically inhibiting inflammation, ameliorated body weight loss, shortening of the colon etc. It is further obvious to include vitamins in the formulation as Morris teaches including these in soft gel formulations along with berberine and/or different salts thereof for treating Chron’s disease. Selecting these components would have been prima facie obvious given the prior art and with the knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art.
It would also been obvious to use the ethyl ester formulations of EPA and DHA because they are more concentrated than the free form and would cost less to utilize in the composition and/or require fewer doses and when compared to the other formulations there appears to be no difference in formulations.
It would further have been obvious to comprise these components into a unit dosage from, a soft gel capsule with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or a kit, and in the ratios of the instant invention because Harris teaches the EPA/DHA recommendations should be at 1 g and Yan teaches the berberine being administered at 100 mg, thus this would equal a ratio of 1: 10 which is within the amount being claimed. Providing instructions in a kit does not make the kit, product or composition patentably distinct from the prior art and would have been obvious before the effective filing date. It would have also been obvious to include only the active ingredients discussed in the above rejection for creating a composition for treating inflammatory bowel disease because these are the active components known for having such an activity.
Double Patenting
Claims 49, 81, 83-85 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18-20 and 76 of U.S. Patent No. US11865106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to a composition comprising of the same active components berberine, EPA and DHA ethyl esters which when considered can be the same as the instantly claimed omega-3 fatty acids or esters thereof, within the same ratios and for the same purpose (same patient population). Selecting EPA and DHA as the omega-3 fatty acids or ethyl esters thereof would have been prima facie obvious as these are some of the most commonly studied omega-3 fatty acids. Additionally, it would have been obvious to not include additional active components for the reasons described in the above obviousness type rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Belluzzi, which is a reference cited by Harris teaches a fish oil preparation with enteric coatings and does not disclose any preparation of non-enteric coatings. The applicant then argues reference number 40 in Harris for disclosing studies pertaining to fish oil supplements with prednisone and sulfasalazine administered at the same time. As previously pointed out to the applicant in the response filed on 02/23/2026; If it is the intent of the applicant to rely on additional references, the applicant should provide them in an IDS and submit the reference, not merely make statements in their argument directing the Office’s attention to those teachings. Those arguments pertaining to art not relied upon are not being taken into consideration at this point. Furthermore, Belluzzi’s art and the additional reference in Harris are not relied upon to make the current obviousness type rejection.
The applicant argues that Yan only teaches of berberine and not the other claimed components. The Office relies not on an anticipatory rejection, but on an obviousness style rejection wherein other references make obvious the inclusion of the remaining components.
The applicant argues that Morris does not provide working examples that provides evidence as to which exemplary formulation would be suited for any of the alleged beneficial uses. Morris does not need to supply an exemplary formulation to require their teachings to be enabling or to give support for their teachings. The applicant argues that the Formulation 30 taught by Morris, incudes many ingredients such as MCT, coenzyme Q, folinic acid, Creon, magnesium citrate and Selenium and does not attempt to indicate which of the formulations was used to generate the alleged effect for apraxia syndrome. Morris’s general disclosure is to nutritional formulas and uses for treating or preventing a gastrointestinal condition and it can be expected with a reasonable expectation of success that the formulations listed will treat symptoms of GI conditions as this is what the disclosure is specifically taught to do.
The applicant argues that there is no reason to combine the relied upon art. As argued above and made obvious in the motivational statement: “It would have been obvious at the effective filing date to combine one or more omega-3 fatty acids and berberine for the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease or related disease or condition, because Harris teaches that EPA and DHA have an increasing benefit in doing so and Yan teaches that berberine has many benefits for treating IBD, specifically inhibiting inflammation, ameliorated body weight loss, shortening of the colon etc. It is further obvious to include vitamins in the formulation as Morris teaches including these in soft gel formulations along with berberine and/or different salts thereof for treating Chron’s disease”.
The applicant argues that the disclosure of the double patenting rejection cannot be used as prior art and that the art in question has the same priority filing date so thus cannot be subject to double patenting rejections. This argument is not persuasive because the applicant cannot have two inventions which are not patentably distinct from another. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655