DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-9 are directed to a method, claim 10-15 are directed to using a frequency converter to perform the method. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Regarding claim 1:
A method for harmonic detection, comprising:
acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage;
acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component;
acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component;
acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase; and
acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component.
Step 2A Prong 1:
“acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage” is directed to math because the ripple voltage is calculated using the total voltage and the average DC component through formulas. The DC bus voltage ripple, often caused by non-linear loads or power electronic switching, is analyzed using Fourier expansion to determine the amplitude and frequency of constituent harmonics. Active compensation of the ripple involves calculating a counter-voltage based on differential equations to modulate the AC-side current.
“acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component” is directed to math because the process involves transforming a time-domain voltage signal into the frequency domain to identify, calculate, and isolate specific harmonic orders. Mathematical models are established to analyze the relationship between circuit parameters and resulting voltage ripple amplitude, allowing for calculation of individual harmonics.
“acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component” is directed to math because a quadrature signal is treated as a two-dimensional signal represented by a complex number with a real part (in-phase) and an imaginary part (quadrature). The quadrature component act as the imaginary axis in a Cartesian plane, creating an orthogonal relationship with the in-phase harmonic component.
“acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase” is directed to math because the relationship between the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component is based on the following: in-phase and quadrature decomposition, calculating phase using the mathematical formula, orthogonality, and using a Hilbert transform, which is a mathematical convolution in the time domain or a 900 phase shift in the frequency domain.
“acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” is directed to math because a harmonic component is generally defined by two signals in quadrature, meaning they are sinusoidal and separated by 90 degree phase difference. In-phase and quadrature components act as Cartesian coordinates for the signal vector. To find the voltage amplitude of a harmonic component from its In-phase and quadrature components, use the Pythagorean theorem, which is a fundamental geometric formula.
Each limitation recites in the claim is a process that, under BRI covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic “ripple component and quadrature component” which is a mere indication of the field of use. Nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Further, the claim recites the step of "acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage; acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component; acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component; acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase; and acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” which as drafted, under BRI recites a mathematical calculation. The grouping of "mathematical concepts” in the 2019 PED includes "mathematical calculations" as an exemplar of an abstract idea. 2019 PEG Section |, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. Thus, the recited limitation falls into the "mathematical concept" grouping of abstract ideas. This limitation also falls into the “mental process” group of abstract ideas, because the recited mathematical calculation is simple enough that it can be practically performed in the human mind, e.g., scientists and engineers have been solving the Arrhenius equation in their minds since it was first proposed in 1889.
Note that even if most humans would use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper, a slide rule, or a calculator) to help them complete the recited calculation, the use of such physical aid does not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See October Update at Section I(C)(i) and (iii).
Additional Elements:
Step 2A Prong 2:
“acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase” does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” is directed to insignificant activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim is merely selecting data, manipulating or analyzing the data using math and mental process, and displaying the results.
This is similar to electric power: MPEP 2106.05(h) vi. Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
The claim as a whole does not meet any of the following criteria to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2B:
“acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. This additional element is merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
“acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” is directed to insignificant activity and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception in the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g) and 2106.05(d)(ii), third list, (iv).
The claim is therefore ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 10 is similar to claim 1 but recites a frequency converter comprising: a rectifier configured to be connected to a direct-current bus; an inverter configured to be connected to the direct-current bus and a motor; a memory; a processor; and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, cause the processors to perform operations comprising steps as in claim 1. These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and do not add significantly more to the judicial exception. These elements are generic computing devices that perform generic functions. Using generic computer elements to perform an abstract idea does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. See 2019 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55. Moreover, “the mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.” Alice, 573 U.S. at 223; see also FairWarninglP, LLCv. latric SysInc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (citation omitted) (“[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter”).
On the record before us, we are not persuaded that the hardware of claim 10 integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Nor are we persuaded that the additional elements are anything more than well-understood, routine, and conventional so as to impart subject matter eligibility to claim 10.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein acquiring the harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component comprises: obtaining a first harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage by filtering, using a notch filter, the ripple component; obtaining a second harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage by acquiring a difference between the ripple component and the first harmonic component” is directed to math because designing the notch filter to target the first harmonic requires defining a transfer function with zeros at that specific frequency, typically implemented using Laplace transforms (analog) or z- transforms (digital). Obtaining the second harmonic by finding the “difference between the ripple component and the first harmonic component” is direct application of subtraction in the time domain. This is used to isolate the specific distortion component.
Regarding claim 3, “wherein: the characteristic parameter further comprises a frequency; and acquiring the harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component comprises: acquiring, using the notch filter, a first gain in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a frequency of a second harmonic component in a kth detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer; and obtaining a first harmonic component of a direct-current bus voltage in the (k+1)th detection cycle by filtering, using the notch filter, a harmonic component of the (k+1)th detection cycle based on the first gain in the (k+1)th detection cycle” is directed to math.
Regarding claim 4, “wherein acquiring the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component comprises: acquiring, by a second-order generalized integrator, the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component” is directed to math because the second-order generalized integrator is defined by mathematical transfer functions in the frequency domain, which are used to generate the in-phase and quadrature signals. The second-order generalized integrator is a second -order linear filter derived from solving differential equations that govern its dynamic response. The second-order generalized integrator transfer functions are converted from the continuous domain to the discrete domain using mathematical transformations.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, “wherein: the characteristic parameter further comprises a frequency; and acquiring the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component comprises: acquiring, by a second-order generalized integrator, a second gain in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a frequency of a harmonic component in a kth detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer; and acquiring, by the second-order generalized integrator, a quadrature component of a harmonic component in the (k+1)th detection cycle based on the second gain in the (k+1)th detection cycle and the harmonic component in the (k+1)th detection cycle” is directed to math.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, “wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component” is directed to math because the process transforms time-domain signal components into useful parameters through mathematical operations. The quadrature component and in-phase component are used to calculate the magnitude and phase of the signal. Mathematical models are used to analyze the stability and performance of the phase-locked loop in isolating these components.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, “wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, a characteristic parameter of a harmonic component in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a phase of a harmonic component in a kth detection cycle and a quadrature component in the (k+1)th detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer” is directed to math.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, “wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” is directed to math because the quadrature component itself is often generated mathematically using a Hilbert transform or by utilizing second-order generalized integrator, which calculate the orthogonal signal for harmonic detection. The feedback regulator involves mathematical algorithms that use the calculate amplitude to minimize the error between the measured harmonic amplitude and a target reference, often requiring dynamic control equations.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, “wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, a voltage amplitude of a harmonic component in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a voltage amplitude of a harmonic component in a kth detection cycle, a quadrature component in the (k+1)th detection cycle, and a phase of the harmonic component in the (k+1)th detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer” is directed to math.
Hence the claims 1-15 are treated as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non- statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to signals per se.
Claim 16 recites “a computer readable storage medium” and Applicant's specification fails to narrowly define a computer readable storage medium to specifically exclude transitory propagating signals. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium includes transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable storage medium, which are non-statutory subject matter. Further, in the recitation of “having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising the steps ...,” the computer program, when executed by a processor, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising the steps ...” recited as a condition precedent, wherein the instructions being executed by the computing device is not positively recited as necessarily being performed in the claim, and for this reason, the computing device is outside the scope of the claim. As a result, these claims must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007). In order to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, the Office recommends amending the claims so that they recite only non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea similar to claim 1. The additional elements (i.e., A computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising the steps as in claim 1) are recited at a high level of generality, necessary, routine, or conventional to facilitate the application of the abstract idea. When considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the abstract idea. See Alice Corp. and 2014 Interim Guidance.
Regarding claim 17, “wherein: the characteristic parameter further comprises a frequency; and acquiring the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component comprises: acquiring, by a second-order generalized integrator, a second gain in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a frequency of a harmonic component in a kth detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer; and acquiring, by the second-order generalized integrator, a quadrature component of a harmonic component in the (k+1)th detection cycle based on the second gain in the (k+1)th detection cycle and the harmonic component in the (k+1)th detection cycle” is directed to math.
Regarding claim 18, “wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component” is directed to math because the process transforms time-domain signal components into useful parameters through mathematical operations. The quadrature component and in-phase component are used to calculate the magnitude and phase of the signal. Mathematical models are used to analyze the stability and performance of the phase-locked loop in isolating these components.
Regarding claim 19, “wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, a characteristic parameter of a harmonic component in a (k+1)th detection cycle based on a phase of a harmonic component in a kth detection cycle and a quadrature component in the (k+1)th detection cycle, wherein k is any positive integer” is directed to math.
Regarding claim 20, “wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component” is directed to math because the quadrature component itself is often generated mathematically using a Hilbert transform or by utilizing second-order generalized integrator, which calculate the orthogonal signal for harmonic detection. The feedback regulator involves mathematical algorithms that use the calculate amplitude to minimize the error between the measured harmonic amplitude and a target reference, often requiring dynamic control equations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Zhu Gangwei et al. (“A Novel DC-link Voltage Control Method for Comprehensive Power Quality Compensation Inverters", 2020 IEEE).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Zhu Gangwei et al. disclose a frequency, computer program and method for harmonic detection (page 2857; fig. 2), comprising:
acquiring a ripple component of a direct-current bus voltage (page 2857, section A. The First Loop);
acquiring a harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage based on the ripple component (page 2857, section A. The First Loop: "the k-th harmonic of the de-bus voltage ripple is detected'');
acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component (page 2857, section A. The First Loop: "It is known that after the inverse Park transformation on two mutually orthogonal k-th sine signals, the (k+1)-th positive-sequence signal can be obtained. In order to create two mutually orthogonal signals, the proposed controller uses a second-order generalized integrator (SOGI) to generated the 90° phase lag." and "when the k-th harmonic of the de-bus voltage is detected, the proposed controller passes it through PR controllers and SOGls. Then, the orthogonal signals generated by SOGls are subjected to the inverse park transformation.'');
acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase (page 2856, section C.); and
acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (page 2857, section C.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu Gangwei et al. disclose acquiring the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component (page 2857, section A. The First Loop: "It is known that after the inverse Park transformation on two mutually orthogonal k-th sine signals, the (k+1)-th positive-sequence signal can be obtained. In order to create two mutually orthogonal signals, the proposed controller uses a second-order generalized integrator (SOGI) to generated the 90° phase lag." and "when the k-th harmonic of the de-bus voltage is detected, the proposed controller passes it through PR controllers and SOGls. Then, the orthogonal signals generated by SOGls are subjected to the inverse park transformation.'') comprises: acquiring, by a second-order generalized integrator, the quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component (fig.2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Rozman et al. (US 5,218, 520).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Rozman et al. disclose a frequency, computer program and method for harmonic detection (figs. 2, 3), comprising:
acquiring a ripple component of a DC bus voltage (figs. 2, 3: 68);
acquiring a harmonic component of the DC bus voltage based on the ripple component (figs. 2, 3: 46, 88, 90);
acquiring a quadrature component of the harmonic component based on the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3: 46, 88, 90);
acquiring a characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component, the characteristic parameter comprising a phase (figs. 2, 3: line 82, phase of the AC ripple); and
acquiring and outputting a voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, amplitude of the AC ripple).
Regarding claim 2, Rozman et al. disclose obtaining a first harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage by filtering, using a notch filter, the ripple component (fig.2); obtaining a second harmonic component of the direct-current bus voltage by acquiring a difference between the ripple component and the first harmonic component (Acquiring a difference between the ripple component and the first harmonic component is an alternative, simplified way to detect the second harmonic if other harmonics are not of interest and can be neglected).
Regarding claim 6, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, phase of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (fig.6).
Regarding claim 8, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, amplitude of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 12, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, phase of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (fig.6).
Regarding claim 14, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, amplitude of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 18, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, phase of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring, by a phase-locked loop, the characteristic parameter of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component (fig.6).
Regarding claim 20, Rozman et al. disclose wherein acquiring and outputting the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3: line 82, amplitude of the AC ripple) comprises: acquiring and outputting, by an amplitude feedback regulator, the voltage amplitude of the harmonic component based on the quadrature component and the phase of the harmonic component (figs. 2, 3, 6).
Other Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rozman et al. (US 10,541,598) disclose a system (100) has a controller (160) including a voltage regulator in communication with a current regulator. The voltage regulator provides a compensated reference current to the current regulator. The controller includes an electrical angle estimator in communication with a permanent magnet generator (PMG) (101) and the current regulator. The voltage regulator is set in communication with the electrical angle estimator, and provides quadrature components of harmonics of a direct current (DC) bus feedback voltage at a boost converter (120) to the current regulator, where the quadrature components of the feedback voltage output harmonics are based on the estimated electrical angle of the PMG and the feedback voltage. The PMG is a three-phase generator.
Li et al. (US 9,036,382) disclose a method for detecting phase loss associated with AC input power to a power conversion system, the method comprising: sampling a voltage of a DC bus of the power conversion system; obtaining a sixth harmonic of a fundamental frequency of the AC input power in the sampled voltage of the DC bus; obtaining at least one of a second harmonic and a fourth harmonic of the fundamental frequency of the AC input power in the sampled voltage of the DC bus; obtaining a ratio of one of the second harmonic and the fourth harmonic to the sixth harmonic; and detecting phase loss associated with the AC input power if the ratio exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Contact Information
/JOHN H LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857