DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on November 12, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 and 5 are pending and amended in the application. Twenty-six pages of specification (sixteen pages marked up version and ten pages clean version) and two pages of drawings were received on November 12, 2025. The specification and the drawings are NOT acceptable because the concept of a “broken ring,” “first bump” and “second bump” were not disclosed in the original disclosure.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the broken ring as recited in line 14 of claim 1; and
the external irrigation hose is connected to the fixing sleeve by threading as recited in line 4 of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “movablely” in line 7, should read --movably.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 7, the recitation “an end of the pipe locking sleeve” appears to be a double inclusion of the “one end of the pipe locking sleeve” recited in line 10 of claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the slotting" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a plurality of slottings in the claim, it is unclear which particular “slotting” is referred by the Applicant in line 8. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the outer side wall of the pipe locking sleeve" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read -- the outer wall of the pipe locking sleeve.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The preamble of the claims fails to limit the structure of the claimed invention. If the claim preamble, when read in the context of the entire claim, recites limitations of the claim, or, if the claim preamble is ‘necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality’ to the claim, then the claim preamble should be construed as if in the balance of the claim. MPEP 2111.02. The preamble of the claims recites a “irrigation hose connector.” The recitation “irrigation” has been considered to merely indicate the intended use of the hose connector. Irrigation is not a positively recited limitation and fails to structurally limit the claimed invention. It is not necessary to give life, meaning, and vitality to the claim because the body of the claim, standing alone, fully describes the claimed invention. This interpretation applies to all pending claims.
Claims 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dehar (US 3724882).
With respect to claim 1, Dehar discloses an irrigation hose connector (Fig. 1-4) comprises a fixing sleeve (18), a limiting sleeve (24 of 17) and a pipe locking sleeve (mostly defined by 19); the limiting sleeve is integrally arranged at one (right) end of the fixing sleeve (Figs. 2 and 3), the limiting sleeve is provided with an activity space (space enclosed by 18 and space from 22 to 33 defined by 17) whose diameter gradually decreases (from 33 to 22 of 17); and the pipe locking sleeve is movablely arranged in the activity space of the limiting sleeve; a plurality of slottings (between fingers 19) are arranged at intervals on a (left) side wall of one (left) end of the pipe locking sleeve; the plurality of slottings are limited (restrained) in the activity space, a plurality of ribs (29) are arranged on an inner side of the pipe locking sleeve; each one of the plurality of ribs is arranged between two of the plurality of slottings; the plurality of ribs together forms a broken circle inside the pipe locking sleeve (Fig. 1. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); the plurality of ribs are made of elastic metal materials (stamped resilient metal. Col. 3, lines 21-22).
With respect to claim 2, Dehar discloses the irrigation hose connector according to claim 1, wherein a first bump (encircling 16) is arranged on an inner side wall of the limiting sleeve; a second bump (pointed by marker “31” and the slope on the right in Fig. 2), which is capable of fitting (coordinately connected) with the first bump to prevent the pipe locking sleeve from completely separating from the limiting sleeve, is arranged on an outer wall of the pipe locking sleeve and the second bump is located at an (left) end of the pipe locking sleeve near to an opening of the slotting.
With respect to claim 3, Dehar discloses the irrigation hose connector according to claim 2, wherein a limiting convex edge (33) with a diameter greater than an opening of the limiting sleeve is arranged on the outer side wall of the pipe locking sleeve; the limiting convex edge is located at an (right) end of the pipe locking sleeve away from the second bump, an activity (annular) slot is formed between the limiting convex edge and the second bump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobo et al. (US 9541228. Bobo hereinafter) in view of Dehar (US 3724882).
With respect to claim 1, Bobo discloses an irrigation hose connector (Fig. 1-16) comprises a fixing sleeve (18), a limiting sleeve (67, 40) and a pipe locking sleeve (70); the limiting sleeve is integrally arranged at one (inner) end of the fixing sleeve, the limiting sleeve is provided with an activity space (mostly occupied by 74 and 50) whose diameter gradually (in multiple steps of 67 and 48 of 50) decreases; and the pipe locking sleeve is movablely arranged in the activity space of the limiting sleeve; a plurality of slottings (between legs 72) are arranged at intervals on a (lower) side wall of one (lower) end of the pipe locking sleeve; the plurality of slottings are limited in the activity space.
Bobo fails to disclose a plurality of ribs are arranged on an inner side of the pipe locking sleeve; each one of the plurality of ribs is arranged between two of the plurality of slottings; the plurality of ribs together forms a broken circle inside the pipe locking sleeve; the plurality of ribs are made of elastic metal materials.
However, Dehar teaches an irrigation hose connector (Fig. 1-4) comprises a fixing sleeve (18), a limiting sleeve (24 of 17) and a pipe locking sleeve (mostly defined by 19); the limiting sleeve is integrally arranged at one (right) end of the fixing sleeve (Figs. 2 and 3), the limiting sleeve is provided with an activity space (space enclosed by 18 and space from 22 to 33 defined by 17) whose diameter gradually decreases (from 33 to 22 of 17); and the pipe locking sleeve is movablely arranged in the activity space of the limiting sleeve; a plurality of slottings (between fingers 19) are arranged at intervals on a (left) side wall of one (left) end of the pipe locking sleeve; the plurality of slottings are limited (restrained) in the activity space, a plurality of ribs (29) are arranged on an inner side of the pipe locking sleeve; each one of the plurality of ribs is arranged between two of the plurality of slottings; the plurality of ribs together forms a broken circle inside the pipe locking sleeve (Fig. 1. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); the plurality of ribs are made of elastic metal materials (stamped resilient metal. Col. 3, lines 21-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of adding a plurality of ribs on an inner side of the pipe locking sleeve, as taught by Dehar, to Bobo’s pipe locking sleeve, in order to provide a secure pipe connection (Col. 3, lines 6-15).
With respect to claim 2, Bobo’s irrigation hose connector modified by Dehar’s plurality of ribs, Bobo further discloses wherein a first bump (See Fig. 3 with additional annotations below) is arranged on an inner side wall of the limiting sleeve; a second bump, which is capable of fitting (coordinately connected) with the first bump to prevent the pipe locking sleeve from completely separating from the limiting sleeve, is arranged on an outer wall of the pipe locking sleeve and the second bump is located at an (lower) end of the pipe locking sleeve near to an opening of the slotting.
With respect to claim 3, Bobo’s irrigation hose connector modified by Dehar’s plurality of ribs, Bobo further discloses wherein a limiting convex edge (See Fig. 3 with additional annotations below) with a diameter greater than an opening of the limiting sleeve is arranged on the outer side wall of the pipe locking sleeve; the limiting convex edge is located at an (upper) end of the pipe locking sleeve away from the second bump, an activity (annular) slot is formed between the limiting convex edge and the second bump.
With respect to claim 5, Bobo’s irrigation hose connector modified by Dehar’s plurality of ribs, Bobo further discloses the irrigation hose connector according to claim 4, wherein a circular fixing (annular) slot is arranged on an inner side wall of the fixing sleeve.
Bobo fails to discloses an external irrigation hose is connected to the fixing sleeve by threading.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a threading pipe connection because these pipe connection methods are well known in the art. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the threading pipe connection because the selection of a known device based on its suitability for its intended purpose is sufficient since only the expected results would be attained. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the threading pipe connection because such a change is a mere alternative and functionally equivalent pipe connection method. And because such a change would only produce an expected result, i.e, connecting two pipes. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent pipe connection method would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the economics and availability of components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of referenced applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 December 25, 2025