Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 4, “arranged more on a back side” lacks an objective boundary and fails to particularly point out the location of the sensor electrode.
Claim 2, lines “from a back side” and “from the front side to the back side” lacks an objective reference and render the claim indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18286772 in view of Hotelling (US20080007539) and Tanemura (US20190064956).
Claim 1 of Application No. 18286772 is similar to the claims 1-2 of the present application (except minor terms difference such reception electrode vs detection electrodes), but missing a mesh shape and the electrode for reception having an area smaller than an area of the electrode for transmission. However, Hoteling teaches an electrode for reception 110 (paragraph 65-67) having an area smaller than an area of the electrode for transmission (Figs. 4-7 and paragraph 66), and Tanemura teaches a sensing electrode 120 which are formed in a mesh shape (see paragraph 59). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Tanemura and Hotelling in order to improve overall sensing performance across different operating conditions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotelling (US20080007539) in view of Reynolds (US20090033343) and Tanemura (US20190064956).
Regarding claim 1, Hotelling teaches a capacitive button comprising: an operation accepting body 102 which is formed of an insulator (106, 102, see paragraph 65); and a pair of sensor electrodes (110, 108) which are arranged more on a back side than the operation accepting body, wherein one of the pair of sensor electrodes is an electrode for transmission 108 and another one of the pair of sensor electrodes is an electrode for reception 110 (paragraph 65-67) having an area smaller than an area of the electrode for transmission (Figs. 4-7 and paragraph 66).
Hotelling does not teach sensor electrodes are formed in a mesh shape. However, Tanemura teaches a similar capacitive device that comprises a sensing electrode 120 which are formed in a mesh shape (see paragraph 59). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Tanemura in order to improve overall sensing performance across different operating conditions.
Hotelling does not teach a ground electrode which is arranged so as to surround the operation accepting body, and is grounded. However, Reynolds capacitive device that comprises an operation accepting body (111-115) that is grounded and surrounded by a ground electrode 120 (Fig. 1 and paragraph 19).It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Reynolds in order to reduce parasitic capacitance and noise and thereby improves the reliability of the capacitive device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotelling, Reynolds and Tanemura applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kirton (US. Pat. 5,235,217).
Regrading claim 3, Hotelling teaches the capacitive button using a pair of electrode (drive electrode 108 and sensing electrode 110) acting as excitation and detection electrodes (paragraphs 47-53); the electrode are connected to a controller and associated circuits including multiplexers, ADCs and signal processors (paragraphs 60-64), which implies electrical circuits for signal processing and control.
Hotelling does not explicitly teach connecting the sensor electrode via a resistor and suppressor to a microcomputer, regulator, and regulated power supply in a way to set a characteristic impedance to be electrically uniform with them. However, Kirton teaches a similar capacitive control system wherein the pair of sensor electrodes are connected to a circuit to which a microcomputer (col. 3, lines 65-67), a regulator and a regulated power supply are connected (col. 3, lines 60-65), via a resistor 220 and a suppressor 242 (capacitor as suppressor, see col. 4, lines 1-5), and are set such that a characteristic impedance is electrically uniform with the microcomputer, the regulator and the regulated power supply (the frequency-to-voltage converter and the threshold detector imply impedance control for stable operation, see col. 4, lines 1-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing circuit of Hotelling utilizing the teachings of Kirton to include resistors, and suppressor between the sensor electrodes and a circuit comprising a microcomputer, regulator, and regulated power supply to filter unwanted noise and improve circuit reliability and sensing accuracy.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotelling, Reynolds and Tanemura as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kirton (US. Pat. 5,235,217) and Shirokawa, et al. (US20090001074).
Regrading claim 4, Hotelling teaches the capacitive button using a pair of electrode (drive electrode 108 and sensing electrode 110) acting as excitation and detection electrodes (paragraphs 47-53); the electrode are connected to a controller and associated circuits including multiplexers, ADCs and signal processors (paragraphs 60-64), which implies electrical circuits for signal processing and control.
Hotelling does not explicitly teach connecting the sensor electrode via a resistor and suppressor to a microcomputer, regulator, and regulated power supply in a way to set a characteristic impedance to be electrically uniform with them. However, Kirton teaches a similar capacitive control system wherein the pair of sensor electrodes are connected to a circuit to which a microcomputer (col. 3, lines 65-67), a regulator and a regulated power supply are connected (col. 3, lines 60-65), via a resistor 220 and a suppressor 242 (capacitor as suppressor, see col. 4, lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing circuit of Hotelling utilizing the teachings of Kirton to include resistors, and suppressor between the sensor electrodes and a circuit comprising a microcomputer, regulator, and regulated power supply to filter unwanted noise and improve circuit reliability and sensing accuracy.
Hotelling does not explicitly teach the bypass capacitor connected at microcomputer’s VCC terminal. However, Shirokawa the use of bypass capacitor and connecting it to microcomputer VCC’s terminal for noise suppression. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing circuit of Hotelling utilizing the teachings of Shirokawa to use a bypass capacitor and connecting it to microcomputer VCC’s terminal for noise suppression.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed capacitive button comprising: a holding body which holds the pair of sensor electrodes and the operation accepting body from a back side; and a tactile switch which is provided on the back side of the holding body, and is pressed when the holding body is moved from the front side to the back side.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMED M SAEED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833