DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-24 and 26-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,895,475 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases disclose a blood pump for insertion within a body of a patient comprising a rotor which is radially compressible and expandable and having a hub and at least one impeller blade disposed on the hub. A housing which is radially compressible and expandable by an axial stretching or axial compression and a control body passing through the hub and a housing wall. Wherein the control body is coupled to the housing distal to the rotor and comprises at least one of a distal abutment body at a distal end of the control body and a proximal abutment body on a proximal side of the housing wall. Additionally, both cases disclose wherein the distal abutment body is configured to exert a compressive force in a longitudinal direction onto the housing wall on retraction of the control body in a proximal direction and the proximal abutment body is configured to exert an axial expansion force onto the housing wall when the proximal abutment body is pushed in a distal direction.
Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of Toellner et al U.S. Patent No. 9,895,475 in view of Scheckel US Pub. 2012/0234411A1.
Toellner et al disclose all the structural limitations as claimed and mentions that the abutment bodies are deformable, therefore, they are also compressible, however, does not disclose that the abutment bodies are made of a foam material.
Scheckel discloses that the blood pump, including the housing and the rotor can be made of a foam material for the purpose of bringing the implant to the original state when compressed.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the abutment bodies of the Toellner et al reference with compressible foam materials in order to bring the implant to the original state when compressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 16, 26, 28, 30 and 31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Khanal US Patent 7,878,967B1.
Khanal discloses a blood pump (20) for insertion within a body of a patient comprising a rotor (28) which is radially compressible and expandable (see Figs. 1 and 2) and having a hub (30) and at least one impeller blade (74) disposed on the hub (30). A housing (36) which is radially compressible and expandable by an axial stretching or axial compression and a control body (114) passing through the hub (30) and a housing wall (the perimeter of element 36). Wherein the control body (114) is coupled to the housing (36) distal to the rotor (see figure below) and comprises at least one of a distal abutment body (110) at a distal end of the control body (114) and a proximal abutment body (32) on a proximal side of the housing wall.
Regarding claim 26, the invention discloses a plurality of wires.
Regarding claim 28, the reference discloses that element 114 is a guide pin.
Regarding claim 30, col. 3, lines 1-26 discloses that the control body passes through a lumen of the hub (30) and that the only part that rotates are the hub, the blades and the rotary mover.
Regarding claim 31, see Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 6-8.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 2/18/26