Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 – 11 pertaining to “Particularly, on pages 2 and 3 of the Office Action, the Examiner made a correspondence between Abbott's plurality of sensors 530 and the presently claimed at least one acceleration sensor and, on page 3 of the Office Action, the Examiner made a correspondence between Abbott's same plurality of sensors 530 and the presently claimed rotary encoder. Thus, the Examiner is considering the plurality of sensors 530 of Abbott as including both a rotary encoder and also an acceleration sensor. A thorough review of Abbott reveals that Abbott considers the plurality of sensors 530 together as a general group throughout the disclosure and includes no teaching or suggestion of one type of sensor in relation to another type of sensor. Moreover, Fig. 5A of Abbott just includes a single indication of the general sensors without indicating how any of the sensors may be arranged with respect to one another: On page 3 of the Office Action, with regard to newly-cancelled claim 18, the Examiner stated that Abbott discloses "wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) of the rotary encoder." However, looking at Abbott's Fig. 5A above, it is clear that sensors 530 are not shown as being supported by anything (particularly, since Fig. 5A is a representational block diagram, not even showing any type of physical connection between sensors 530 and the motor)”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Abbot discloses a plurality of sensors (Fig. 5A, sensors 530). Abbot further discloses an acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers) for detecting an acceleration of the motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 100 motor acceleration), and a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530) for continuously or intermittently detecting an angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position). Newly-amended independent claim 16 recites: "wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component of the rotary encoder." Newly-amended independent claim 29 recites: "wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component of the rotary encoder, or the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated in the rotary encoder." Newly-inserted independent claim 34 recites: "wherein the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated in the rotary encoder." The limitations of “fastened” and “integrated” means that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together. Abbott discloses that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together (¶ 21 a sensor supported by the housing). The housing is the component of the rotary encoder that the acceleration sensor and electronic unit are fastened to and integrated in.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “further, as discussed above, the Examiner considers both the rotary encoder and the acceleration sensor to both be part of block 530; i.e., they are both in the general group of sensors 530. As discussed above, Abbott is entirely silent with regard to the positioning or placement of one type of sensor of the group of sensors 530 relative to another type of sensor of the group of sensors 530. Abbott neither teaches nor suggests that one type of sensor is connected or attached to a component of another type of sensor, nor does Abbott teach or suggest that one type of sensor is integrated into another type of sensor.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Abbott discloses that the position and placement of the sensors is being physically coupled to the housing. Abbott discloses that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together (¶ 21 a sensor supported by the housing). The housing is the component of the rotary encoder that the acceleration sensor and electronic unit are fastened to and integrated in.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “There is no such showing in Fig. 5A, nor does Abbott discuss or even suggest, how one type of sensor in sensors 530 is connected or otherwise located or oriented to another type of sensor in sensors 530. Abbott neither teaches nor suggests that one type of sensor is connected or attached to a component of another type of sensor, nor does Abbott teach or suggest that one type of sensor is integrated into another type of sensor.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The limitations of “fastened” and “integrated” means that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together. Abbott discloses that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together (¶ 21 a sensor supported by the housing). The housing is the component of the rotary encoder that the acceleration sensor and electronic unit are fastened to and integrated in.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 – 12 pertaining to “Additionally, neither Abbott nor Rengel et al., when taken alone or in combination, provide for: " ... wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component of the rotary encoder, or the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated in the rotary encoder", as recited by newly-amended independent claim 29. Further, neither Abbott nor Rengel et al., when taken alone or in combination, provide for: " ... wherein the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated in the rotary encoder", as recited by newly-inserted independent claim 34.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Rengel to disclose, " ... wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component of the rotary encoder, or the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated in the rotary encoder". The Examiner relies on Abbott. Abbott discloses that the acceleration sensor, the electronic unit, and rotary sensor are physically coupled together (¶ 21 a sensor supported by the housing). The housing is the component of the rotary encoder that the acceleration sensor and electronic unit are fastened to and integrated in.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 21 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2021/0240145 A1) (herein after Abbott).
Regarding Claim 16, Abbott Fig 5A discloses, Claim 16 (currently amended): A sensor system for monitoring a motor (Fig. 5A, power tool 500, motor 505) that drives a machine arrangement (Fig. 5A, clutch ring 501) via a rotating motor shaft, wherein a machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 one or more specific tasks) is given by a periodic movement pattern of the machine arrangement and/or of the motor shaft, the sensor system comprising: at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers) for continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 100 motor acceleration); an electronic control unit (Fig. 5A, electronic processor 550) that is in signal connection with the at least one acceleration sensor and that is configured, for a wear recognition (Fig. 5A, ¶ 193 wear conditions), to carry out a comparison of the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 and comparisons of the sensor) with at least one predefined threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 calculated values with threshold) and to consider the machine cycle in the comparison; and a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530) for continuously or intermittently detecting an angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position), — and wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) of the rotary encoder.
Abbott Fig. 5A fails to disclose, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —
In analogous art, Abbott Fig. 10 discloses, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern (Fig. 5A, ¶ 188 utilize the learned common targets during configuration, repeat that on a subsequent use) in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbott Fig. 5A by combining the sensor system for monitoring with the electronic control unit disclosed by Abbott Fig. 5A with a sensor system for monitoring with an electronics control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor; taught by Abbott Fig. 10 for the benefit of operating the sensor system for monitoring system with reduced costs and improved efficiencies [Abbott Fig. 10: ¶ 102 Such tailoring can reduce costs and improve efficiencies].
Regarding Claim 21, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to store the machine cycle in a memory (Fig. 5A, ¶ 74 memory storing instructions) after the automatic recognition.
Regarding Claim 22, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, The sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to output a maintenance and/or warning signal (Fig. 5A, Table 5: warning to user for over/under/unknown output) if the acceleration exceeds the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 95 maintenance threshold).
Regarding Claim 23, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 determines adjustable thresholds) in dependence on the automatically recognized machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 detects conditions).
Regarding Claim 24, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out the automatic recognition of the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 87 automatically selects an operating mode) repeatedly or continuously (Fig. 5A, ¶ 177 continuously process sensor data).
Regarding Claim 25, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to recognize changes in the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 137 pattern recognition information may be included on machine learning controllers 540) over time.
Regarding Claim 26, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine at least one piece of information (Fig. 5A, ¶ 88 – 89 operation parameters and thresholds) relating to the machine cycle.
Regarding Claim 27, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to associate the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 motor's position) of the motor with a respective simultaneously detected angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 motor's position, velocity, and acceleration).
Regarding Claim 28, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define a plurality of threshold values that are associated with respective points in time (Fig. 5A, ¶ 127 thresholds specified by the selected mode) within the automatically detected machine cycle, and to carry out a separate comparison (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 comparisons of the sensor data or calculated values with threshold) for each threshold value.
Regarding Claim 29, Abbot discloses, Claim 29 (currently amended): A method for monitoring a motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 103 The method 600 is described with respect to power tool 500; Fig. 5A, power tool 500, motor 505) that drives a machine arrangement (Fig. 5A, clutch ring 501) via a rotating motor shaft, wherein a machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 one or more specific tasks) is given by a periodic movement pattern of the machine arrangement and/or of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 rotational output, reciprocating output motion) and, the method comprising: continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the motor by means of at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers); performing a comparison of the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 and comparisons of the sensor) with at least one predefined threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 calculated values with threshold), the comparison considering the machine cycle and being performed for a wear recognition (Fig. 5A, ¶ 193 wear conditions), the comparison being performed by means of an electronic control unit (Fig. 5A, electronic processor 550) which is in signal connection with the at least one acceleration sensor, continuously or intermittently detecting an angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position) by means of a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530), — and wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) of the rotary encoder, or the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) in the rotary encoder.
Abbott Fig. 5A fails to disclose, — wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —
In analogous art, Abbott Fig. 10 discloses, — wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern (Fig. 5A, ¶ 188 utilize the learned common targets during configuration, repeat that on a subsequent use) in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbott Fig. 5A by combining the method for monitoring a motor disclosed by Abbott Fig. 5A with a method for monitoring a motor, wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor; taught by Abbott Fig. 10 for the benefit of operating the sensor system for monitoring system with reduced costs and improved efficiencies [Abbott Fig. 10: ¶ 102 Such tailoring can reduce costs and improve efficiencies].
Regarding Claim 30, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position) is continuously or intermittently detected by means of a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530).
Regarding Claim 31, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 29, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the method according to claim 29, wherein the angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position) is continuously or intermittently detected by means of a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530).
Regarding Claim 32, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 23, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 determines adjustable thresholds) in dependence on the automatically recognized machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 detects conditions) during the putting into operation of the sensor system.
Regarding Claim 33, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 26, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 26, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the machine cycle comprises the length of the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 112 predetermined period of time has elapsed), the maximum acceleration within the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 49 operational information acceleration) and/or the number of extreme values within the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 121 operational thresholds, maximum speed).
Regarding Claim 34, Abbott Fig 5A discloses, Claim 34 (new): A sensor system for monitoring a motor (Fig. 5A, power tool 500, motor 505) that drives a machine arrangement (Fig. 5A, clutch ring 501) via a rotating motor shaft, wherein a machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 one or more specific tasks) is given by a periodic movement pattern of the machine arrangement and/or of the motor shaft, the sensor system comprising: at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers) for continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the (Fig. 5A, ¶ 100 motor acceleration) motor; an electronic control unit (Fig. 5A, electronic processor 550) that is in signal connection with the at least one acceleration sensor and that is configured, for a wear recognition (Fig. 5A, ¶ 193 wear conditions), to carry out a comparison of the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 and comparisons of the sensor) with at least one predefined threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 calculated values with threshold) and to consider the machine cycle in the comparison; and a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530) for continuously or intermittently detecting an angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position), wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, and wherein the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) in the rotary encoder.
Abbott Fig. 5A fails to disclose, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —
In analogous art, Abbott Fig. 10 discloses, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern (Fig. 5A, ¶ 188 utilize the learned common targets during configuration, repeat that on a subsequent use) in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor, —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbott Fig. 5A by combining the sensor system for monitoring with the electronic control unit disclosed by Abbott Fig. 5A with a sensor system for monitoring with an electronics control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor; taught by Abbott Fig. 10 for the benefit of operating the sensor system for monitoring system with reduced costs and improved efficiencies [Abbott Fig. 10: ¶ 102 Such tailoring can reduce costs and improve efficiencies].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2021/0240145 A1) (herein after Abbott) in view of RENGEL et al (US 2024/0057754 A1) (herein after Rengel).
Regarding Claim 20, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot fails to disclose, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle.
In analogous art, Rengel discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation (Fig. 1A, ¶ 56 autocorrelation) of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle (Fig. 1A, ¶ 56 sensors 32, such as an IMU, autocorrelation of a periodic signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbot by combining the sensor system for monitoring with the electronic control unit disclosed by Abbot with a sensor system for monitoring with an electronics control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle; taught by Rengel for the benefit of using autocorrelation to perform sensor monitoring using a low-cost method [Rengel: ¶ 58 methods which are implemented on a less expensive microcontroller].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0352679 A1) teaches, a sensor system for monitoring a motor that drives a machine arrangement via a rotating motor shaft (Fig. 3, abnormality diagnosis device 40, machine tool 1), at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 3, acceleration sensor 38) for continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the motor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/21/2026