Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GERMANY 102022130278.4, filed on November 16, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2024, June 13, 2024, May 21, 2025, and July 23, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 – 19, 21 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2021/0240145 A1) (herein after Abbott).
Regarding Claim 16, Abbott Fig 5A discloses, a sensor system for monitoring a motor (Fig. 5A, power tool 500, motor 505) that drives a machine arrangement (Fig. 5A, clutch ring 501) via a rotating motor shaft, wherein a machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 one or more specific tasks) is given by a periodic movement pattern of the machine arrangement and/or of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 rotational output, reciprocating output motion) and the sensor system comprises the following: at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers) for continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 100 motor acceleration); and an electronic control unit (Fig. 5A, electronic processor 550) that is in signal connection with the at least one acceleration sensor and that is configured, for a wear recognition (Fig. 5A, ¶ 193 wear conditions), to carry out a comparison of the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 and comparisons of the sensor) with at least one predefined threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 calculated values with threshold) and to consider the machine cycle in the comparison, —.
Abbott Fig. 5A fails to disclose, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor.
In analogous art, Abbott Fig. 10 discloses, — wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern (Fig. 5A, ¶ 188 utilize the learned common targets during configuration, repeat that on a subsequent use) in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbott Fig. 5A by combining the sensor system for monitoring with the electronic control unit disclosed by Abbott Fig. 5A with a sensor system for monitoring with an electronics control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to automatically recognize the machine cycle based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor; taught by Abbott Fig. 10 for the benefit of operating the sensor system for monitoring system with reduced costs and improved efficiencies [Abbott Fig. 10: ¶ 102 Such tailoring can reduce costs and improve efficiencies].
Regarding Claim 17, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the sensor system comprises a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530) for continuously or intermittently detecting the angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position).
Regarding Claim 18, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 17, wherein the at least one acceleration sensor is fastened to a component (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) of the rotary encoder.
Regarding Claim 19, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 17, wherein the at least one acceleration sensor and the electronic control unit are integrated (Fig. 5A, a sensor supported by the housing) in the rotary encoder.
Regarding Claim 21, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to store the machine cycle in a memory (Fig. 5A, ¶ 74 memory storing instructions) after the automatic recognition.
Regarding Claim 22, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, The sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to output a maintenance and/or warning signal (Fig. 5A, Table 5: warning to user for over/under/unknown output) if the acceleration exceeds the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 95 maintenance threshold).
Regarding Claim 23, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 determines adjustable thresholds) in dependence on the automatically recognized machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 detects conditions).
Regarding Claim 24, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out the automatic recognition of the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 87 automatically selects an operating mode) repeatedly or continuously (Fig. 5A, ¶ 177 continuously process sensor data).
Regarding Claim 25, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to recognize changes in the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 137 pattern recognition information may be included on machine learning controllers 540) over time.
Regarding Claim 26, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine at least one piece of information (Fig. 5A, ¶ 88 – 89 operation parameters and thresholds) relating to the machine cycle.
Regarding Claim 27, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to associate the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 motor's position) of the motor with a respective simultaneously detected angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 motor's position, velocity, and acceleration).
Regarding Claim 28, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, the sensor system according to wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define a plurality of threshold values that are associated with respective points in time (Fig. 5A, ¶ 127 thresholds specified by the selected mode) within the automatically detected machine cycle, and to carry out a separate comparison (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 comparisons of the sensor data or calculated values with threshold) for each threshold value.
Regarding Claim 29, Abbot discloses, a method for monitoring a motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 103 The method 600 is described with respect to power tool 500; Fig. 5A, power tool 500, motor 505) that drives a machine arrangement (Fig. 5A, clutch ring 501) via a rotating motor shaft, wherein a machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 one or more specific tasks) is given by a periodic movement pattern of the machine arrangement and/or of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 81 rotational output, reciprocating output motion) and, in the method, - by means of at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 5A, sensors 530, accelerometers), an acceleration of the motor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 100 motor acceleration) is continuously or intermittently detected, and - by means of an electronic control unit (Fig. 5A, electronic processor 550), which is in signal connection with the at least one acceleration sensor, a comparison of the detected acceleration (Fig. 5A, ¶ 130 and comparisons of the sensor) with at least one predefined threshold value is carried out for a wear recognition (Fig. 5A, ¶ 193 wear conditions) and the machine cycle is considered in the comparison, —.
Abbott Fig. 5A fails to disclose, — wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor.
In analogous art, Abbott Fig. 10 discloses, — wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern (Fig. 5A, ¶ 188 utilize the learned common targets during configuration, repeat that on a subsequent use) in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbott Fig. 5A by combining the method for monitoring a motor disclosed by Abbott Fig. 5A with a method for monitoring a motor, wherein the machine cycle is automatically recognized based on a periodically occurring pattern in the time development of the detected acceleration of the motor; taught by Abbott Fig. 10 for the benefit of operating the sensor system for monitoring system with reduced costs and improved efficiencies [Abbott Fig. 10: ¶ 102 Such tailoring can reduce costs and improve efficiencies].
Regarding Claim 30, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position) is continuously or intermittently detected by means of a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530).
Regarding Claim 31, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 29, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the method according to claim 29, wherein the angular position of the motor shaft (Fig. 5A, ¶ 89 a pulse related to the motor's position) is continuously or intermittently detected by means of a rotary encoder (Fig. 5A, sensors 530).
Regarding Claim 32, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 23, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to define the at least one threshold value (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 determines adjustable thresholds) in dependence on the automatically recognized machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 45 detects conditions) during the putting into operation of the sensor system.
Regarding Claim 33, Abbot disclose the limitations of claim 26, which this claim depends on.
Abbot further discloses, the sensor system according to claim 26, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the machine cycle comprises the length of the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 112 predetermined period of time has elapsed), the maximum acceleration within the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 49 operational information acceleration) and/or the number of extreme values within the machine cycle (Fig. 5A, ¶ 121 operational thresholds, maximum speed).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2021/0240145 A1) (herein after Abbott) in view of RENGEL et al (US 2024/0057754 A1) (herein after Rengel).
Regarding Claim 20, Abbot discloses the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Abbot fails to disclose, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle.
In analogous art, Rengel discloses, the sensor system according to claim 16, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation (Fig. 1A, ¶ 56 autocorrelation) of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle (Fig. 1A, ¶ 56 sensors 32, such as an IMU, autocorrelation of a periodic signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abbot by combining the sensor system for monitoring with the electronic control unit disclosed by Abbot with a sensor system for monitoring with an electronics control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to carry out an autocorrelation of the time development of the detected acceleration for an automatic recognition of the machine cycle; taught by Rengel for the benefit of using autocorrelation to perform sensor monitoring using a low-cost method [Rengel: ¶ 58 methods which are implemented on a less expensive microcontroller].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YAMAMOTO et al (US 2015/0352679 A1) teaches, a sensor system for monitoring a motor that drives a machine arrangement via a rotating motor shaft (Fig. 3, abnormality diagnosis device 40, machine tool 1), at least one acceleration sensor (Fig. 3, acceleration sensor 38) for continuously or intermittently detecting an acceleration of the motor.
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/10/2026