DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: a) In claim 1 line 1, please change: "1. Apparatus for identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems" to --1. An apparatus for identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In view of the new 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019), the Examiner has considered the claims and has determined that under step 1, claims 1-7 are to a machine, claims 8-14 are to a process, and claims 15-20 are to an article of manufacture. Next under the new step 2A prong 1 analysis, the claims are considered to determine if they recite an abstract idea (judicial exception) under the following groupings: (a) mathematical concepts, (b) certain methods of organizing human activity, or (c) mental processes. The independent claims contain at least the following bolded limitations (see representative independent claims) that fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts and/or mental processes:
1. Apparatus for identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure comprising:
a controller configured to receive a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system and analyze the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer; and
if such characteristics are determined, transmit an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission.
8. A method of identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure comprising:
receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system;
analyzing the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer; and
if such characteristics are determined, transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the transmission.
15. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the processor to perform a method of identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure, the method comprising:
receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system;
analyzing the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer; and
if such characteristics are determined, transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the transmission.
The limitations of "identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure" amounts to a mental process or observation to perform data or attribute recognition for recognizing the presence of a DER system. The limitations of "analyzing the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer" amounts to a mental process to perform a data evaluation or comparison to recognize if a received PLC signal data has matching characteristics to a signature that indicates that the PLC was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer. Alternatively, the analysis could correspond to a mathematical concept if the analysis requires more additional mathematical models and calculations. It is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula."(see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I.). The limitations of "if such characteristics are determined" amount to a mental process or mathematical concept of recognizing/solving whether a data/mathematical result indicates characteristic data. Taken together, the bolded limitations describe an abstract idea data mental process evaluation or mathematical analysis of of measured PLC signal data to determine whether certain characteristics are present.
Next in step 2A prong 2, the independent claims are analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements or combination of elements that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, in order to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These limitations have been identified and underlined above, and are not indicative of integration into a practical application because: (1) the apparatus, controller, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the processor to perform a method, amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); (2) the receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)); and (3) the transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission amounts to insignificant post-solution outputting of the judicial exception analysis result (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Next in step 2B, the independent claims are considered to determine if they recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (“significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. Similar to the underlined sections above, the limitations of: (1) the apparatus, controller, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the processor to perform a method, do not add significantly more as they amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); (2) receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system does not add significantly more because it amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not describe the gathering of data using an unconventional physical arrangement; (3) the transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission does not add significantly more because it amounts to insignificant post-solution outputting of the judicial exception analysis result (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The MPEP states that when “Whether the limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output)”, the limitations can be mere data gathering or data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra- Solution Activity, in particular item (3)).
Dependent claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 contain additional limitations that fall under the abstract idea grouping of a mental process or mathematical concepts, as they describe data attributes of the PLC signal that are considered in the analysis. Dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 do not add an integration into a practical application or significantly more as the recitation of a database amounts to a generic component of a computing system, and thus such limitations amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Dependent claims 5-7, 12-14, and 19-20 describe the general environment of the distributed energy resource system upon which the analysis takes place without affecting any change into the operation or performance of such a system, and thus amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use of a plant, and is not indicative of integration into a practical application nor something significantly more than the recited judicial exception (see MPEP 2016.05(h)).
4. An invention is not rendered ineligible for patent simply because it involves an abstract concept. Applications of such concepts "to a new and useful end" remain eligible for patent protection (see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354 (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67)). However, "a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea" (see Synopsys v. Mentor Graphics Corp. _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q. 2d1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). There needs to be additional elements or combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception or render the claim as a whole to be significantly more than the exception itself in order to demonstrate “integration into a practical application” or an “inventive concept.” For instance, particular physical arrangements for actively obtaining the sensor data, or further physical applications using the determined recognition of characteristics to drive to drive a transformation, change in physical operation, or repair/maintenance of a technology or technical process (beyond mere data outputting) could provide integration into a practical application to demonstrate an improvement to the technology or technical field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0044378, hereinafter "Martinez") as modified by Bridges et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2011/0025556, hereinafter "Bridges").
In regards to claim 1, Martinez teaches apparatus for identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure (Martinez abstract, paragraphs [0008]-[0009], and paragraph [0056] teach an asset manager apparatus for carrying out a method of identifying a topology of distributed energy resource (DER) assets (i.e., how the assets are connected), where Martinez Fig. 1 and paragraph [0100] teach that the DERs are connected together and/or to a grid through network elements including transformers (such that any determination of a connection topology of DERs would include identifying locations of DER assets behind connecting transformers), comprising:
a controller configured to receive a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system and analyze the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer (Martinez paragraph [0009] teaches topology engine and/or centralized controller to receive a measured injected power signal transmitted by at least one other DER asset at a given frequency, and to perform an analysis to determine differences of the magnitude of voltage perturbations (as characteristics) for indicating the topology of the DERs system, where paragraph [0095] defines the power signals as power line communication (PLC) signals; Martinez Figs. 13-14 and paragraphs [0119]-[0122] and [0137] further teach determining perturbation voltage drop characteristic indicating that a power signal was transmitted from a DER behind a transformer). Martinez fails to expressly teach and, if such characteristics are determined, transmit an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission.
Bridges paragraph [0034] teaches a power aggregation system for distributed electric resources connected to a power grid, and paragraph [0139] teaches determining the electrical network location of a mobile electric resource within the power aggregation system. Bridges paragraph [0043] teaches where each electric resource has a remote intelligent power flow (IPF) module that controls the amount, direction, and timing of power being transferred into or out of a remote electric resource. Bridges paragraph [0149] teaches where each newly connected electric resource broadcasts a ping that is used by a central control server to approximate the physical location of the electric resource, and the remote IPF module of the electric resource learns that the ping is successful when it hears back from the central control server with confirmation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Bridges to include a return acknowledgement confirmation back to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission in order to allow the DER system to know that its original PLC transmission (ping) was successfully received. Therefore, additional two-way reliability between a controller and a located connected DER system can be achieved by having the remote DER system also receive acknowledgement that its signal was received.
In regards to claim 2, Martinez teaches the apparatus of wherein the characteristics comprises signal strength (Martinez paragraph [0008] teaches where the perturbation characteristics comprise a signal strength, where a larger perturbation in a first asset indicates that the first asset is closer).
In regards to claim 3¸ Martinez teaches the apparatus wherein the PLC signal comprises an identification of the DER system that transmitted the PLC signal (Martinez paragraph [0085] teaches where the PLC test signal has a given frequency that uniquely identifies the DER that transmitted the PLC test signal).
In regards to claim 5, Martinez teaches the apparatus wherein the DER systems comprise at least one energy source and/or at least one energy storage element (Martinez paragraph [0062] teaches where distributed energy resources (DERs) comprise at least generation devices (e.g., solar panels, wind turbines, diesel generators, etc.) as energy sources and/or at least one energy storage element (e.g., batteries, flywheels, etc.)).
In regards to claim 6, Martinez teaches the apparatus wherein DER systems identified as behind the transformer are adapted to exchange energy with one another (Martinez paragraph [0064] teaches where the DER assets (including behind the transformer) in the existing infrastructure are configured to distribute power between sources, storage devices, and loads (i.e., between each other)).
In regards to claim 7, Martinez teaches the apparatus wherein the PLC signal is attenuated when transmitted through a grid transformer (Martinez Fig. 14A-14B, paragraph [0108], paragraph [0119] and paragraph [0122] teach a voltage drop (attenuation) of the injected PLC test signal through the network element of a transformer).
In regards to claim 8, Martinez teaches a method of identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure (Martinez abstract, paragraphs [0008]-[0009], and paragraph [0056] teach a method of identifying a topology of distributed energy resource (DER) assets (i.e., how the assets are connected), where Martinez Fig. 1 and paragraph [0100] teach that the DERs are connected together and/or to a grid through network elements including transformers (such that any determination of a connection topology of DERs would include identifying locations of DER assets behind connecting transformers) comprising:
receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system (Martinez paragraph [0009] teaches receiving a measured injected power signal transmitted by at least one other DER asset at a given frequency, where paragraph [0095] defines the power signals as power line communication (PLC) signals);
analyzing the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer (Martinez paragraph [0009] teaches a topology engine and/or centralized controller to perform an analysis on the measured signals to determine differences of the magnitude of voltage perturbations (as characteristics) for indicating the topology of the DERs system, and Martinez Figs. 13-14 and paragraphs [0119]-[0122] and [0137] further teach determining perturbation voltage drop characteristic indicating that a power signal was transmitted from a DER behind a transformer). Martinez fails to expressly teach and if such characteristics are determined, transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the transmission.
Bridges paragraph [0034] teaches a power aggregation system for distributed electric resources connected to a power grid, and paragraph [0139] teaches determining the electrical network location of a mobile electric resource within the power aggregation system. Bridges paragraph [0043] teaches where each electric resource has a remote intelligent power flow (IPF) module that controls the amount, direction, and timing of power being transferred into or out of a remote electric resource. Bridges paragraph [0149] teaches where each newly connected electric resource broadcasts a ping that is used by a central control server to approximate the physical location of the electric resource, and the remote IPF module of the electric resource learns that the ping is successful when it hears back from the central control server with confirmation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Bridges to include a return acknowledgement confirmation back to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission in order to allow the DER system to know that its original PLC transmission (ping) was successfully received. Therefore, additional two-way reliability between a controller and a located connected DER system can be achieved by having the remote DER system also receive acknowledgement that its signal was received.
In regards to claim 9, Martinez teaches the method wherein the characteristics comprises signal strength (Martinez paragraph [0008] teaches where the perturbation characteristics comprise a signal strength, where a larger perturbation in a first asset indicates that the first asset is closer).
In regards to claim 10, Martinez teaches the method wherein the PLC signal comprises an identification of the DER system that transmitted the PLC signal (Martinez paragraph [0085] teaches where the PLC test signal has a given frequency that uniquely identifies the DER that transmitted the PLC test signal).
In regards to claim 12, Martinez teaches the method wherein the DER systems comprise at least one energy source and/or at least one energy storage element (Martinez paragraph [0062] teaches where distributed energy resources (DERs) comprise at least generation devices (e.g., solar panels, wind turbines, diesel generators, etc.) as energy sources and/or at least one energy storage element (e.g., batteries, flywheels, etc.)).
In regards to claim 13, Martinez teaches the method wherein DER systems identified as behind the transformer are adapted to exchange energy with one another (Martinez paragraph [0064] teaches where the DER assets (including behind the transformer) in the existing infrastructure are configured to distribute power between sources, storage devices, and loads (i.e., between each other)).
In regards to claim 14, Martinez teaches the method wherein the PLC signal is attenuated when transmitted through a grid transformer (Martinez Fig. 14A-14B, paragraph [0108], paragraph [0119] and paragraph [0122] teach a voltage drop (attenuation) of the injected PLC test signal through the network element of a transformer).
In regards to claim 15, Martinez teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the processor to perform (Martinez paragraph [0201] teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program product for use with a computer (processor) system) a method of identifying distributed energy resource (DER) systems that are located behind a transformer of a utility grid infrastructure, the method (Martinez abstract, paragraphs [0008]-[0009], and paragraph [0056] teach performing a method of identifying a topology of distributed energy resource (DER) assets (i.e., how the assets are connected), where Martinez Fig. 1 and paragraph [0100] teach that the DERs are connected together and/or to a grid through network elements including transformers (such that any determination of a connection topology of DERs would include identifying locations of DER assets behind connecting transformers) comprising:
receiving a power line communication (PLC) signal transmitted by at least one DER system (Martinez paragraph [0009] teaches receiving a measured injected power signal transmitted by at least one other DER asset at a given frequency, where paragraph [0095] defines the power signals as power line communication (PLC) signals);
analyzing the PLC signal to determine if the PLC signal has characteristics indicating that the PLC signal was transmitted from a DER system that is behind the transformer (Martinez paragraph [0009] teaches a topology engine and/or centralized controller to perform an analysis on the measured signals to determine differences of the magnitude of voltage perturbations (as characteristics) for indicating the topology of the DERs system, and Martinez Figs. 13-14 and paragraphs [0119]-[0122] and [0137] further teach determining perturbation voltage drop characteristic indicating that a power signal was transmitted from a DER behind a transformer). Martinez fails to expressly teach and if such characteristics are determined, transmitting an acknowledgement to the DER system that originated the transmission.
Bridges paragraph [0034] teaches a power aggregation system for distributed electric resources connected to a power grid, and paragraph [0139] teaches determining the electrical network location of a mobile electric resource within the power aggregation system. Bridges paragraph [0043] teaches where each electric resource has a remote intelligent power flow (IPF) module that controls the amount, direction, and timing of power being transferred into or out of a remote electric resource. Bridges paragraph [0149] teaches where each newly connected electric resource broadcasts a ping that is used by a central control server to approximate the physical location of the electric resource, and the remote IPF module of the electric resource learns that the ping is successful when it hears back from the central control server with confirmation. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Bridges to include a return acknowledgement confirmation back to the DER system that originated the PLC transmission in order to allow the DER system to know that its original PLC transmission (ping) was successfully received. Therefore, additional two-way reliability between a controller and a located connected DER system can be achieved by having the remote DER system also receive acknowledgement that its signal was received.
In regards to claim 16, Martinez teaches the computer readable medium wherein the characteristics comprises signal strength (Martinez paragraph [0008] teaches where the perturbation characteristics comprise a signal strength, where a larger perturbation in a first asset indicates that the first asset is closer).
In regards to claim 17, Martinez teaches the computer readable medium wherein the PLC signal comprises an identification of the DER system that transmitted the PLC signal (Martinez paragraph [0085] teaches where the PLC test signal has a given frequency that uniquely identifies the DER that transmitted the PLC test signal).
In regards to claim 19, Martinez teaches the computer readable medium wherein the DER systems comprise at least one energy source and/or at least one energy storage element (Martinez paragraph [0062] teaches where distributed energy resources (DERs) comprise at least generation devices (e.g., solar panels, wind turbines, diesel generators, etc.) as energy sources and/or at least one energy storage element (e.g., batteries, flywheels, etc.)).
In regards to claim 20, Martinez teaches the computer readable medium wherein the PLC signal is attenuated when transmitted through a grid transformer (Martinez Fig. 14A-14B, paragraph [0108], paragraph [0119] and paragraph [0122] teach a voltage drop (attenuation) of the injected PLC test signal through the network element of a transformer).
7. Claim 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2019/0044378, hereinafter "Martinez") as modified by Bridges et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2011/0025556, hereinafter "Bridges") as applied to claims 3, 10, or 17 above, and further in view of Banerjee (US Pat. Pub. 2023/0170694).
In regards to claim 4, Martinez teaches the apparatus as explained in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Martinez fails to expressly teach further comprising a database of DER systems that are determined to be behind the transformer.
Banerjee paragraph [0024] teaches evaluating reliability of an electrical network, and building a database comprising information associated with each node of the selected electrical network including distributed energy resources (DERS) and transformers along with their interconnection or topology. Banerjee paragraph [0039] teaches that building the database allows for the generation of a network-model of the electrical network to allow for evaluating source nodes and downstream connectivity-nodes up to a selected end-node, evaluation of network topology, and computation of reliability of individual connectivity-nodes and the network.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify a database in order to record the topology of all of the distributed energy resources and their connection behind a transformer. Therefore, such a stored database can be further used to provide for the generation of a network model and further evaluations of connectivities, network topologies, and computation of reliability of individual nodes and the network.
In regards to claim 11, Martinez teaches the method as explained in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Martinez fails to expressly teach further comprising storing the DER systems that are determined to be behind the transformer in a database.
Banerjee paragraph [0024] teaches evaluating reliability of an electrical network, and building a database comprising information associated with each node of the selected electrical network including distributed energy resources (DERS) and transformers along with their interconnection or topology. Banerjee paragraph [0039] teaches that building the database allows for the generation of a network-model of the electrical network to allow for evaluating source nodes and downstream connectivity-nodes up to a selected end-node, evaluation of network topology, and computation of reliability of individual connectivity-nodes and the network.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify a database in order to record the topology of all of the distributed energy resources and their connection behind a transformer. Therefore, such a stored database can be further used to provide for the generation of a network model and further evaluations of connectivities, network topologies, and computation of reliability of individual nodes and the network.
In regards to claim 18, Martinez teaches the computer readable medium as explained in the rejection of claim 17 above. Martinez fails to expressly teach further comprising storing the DER systems that are determined to be behind the transformer in a database.
Banerjee paragraph [0024] teaches evaluating reliability of an electrical network, and building a database comprising information associated with each node of the selected electrical network including distributed energy resources (DERS) and transformers along with their interconnection or topology. Banerjee paragraph [0039] teaches that building the database allows for the generation of a network-model of the electrical network to allow for evaluating source nodes and downstream connectivity-nodes up to a selected end-node, evaluation of network topology, and computation of reliability of individual connectivity-nodes and the network.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify a database in order to record the topology of all of the distributed energy resources and their connection behind a transformer. Therefore, such a stored database can be further used to provide for the generation of a network model and further evaluations of connectivities, network topologies, and computation of reliability of individual nodes and the network.
Pertinent Art
8. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
C. Alkuran et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2017/0363666) discloses Method and Apparatus for Energy Flow Visualization. D. Manikfan et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0247188) discloses Dynamic Non-Linear Optimization of a Battery Energy Storage System.
E. Zimmanck (Us Pat. Pub. 2017/0163037) discloses Method and Apparatus for Minimizing Circulating Currents in Microgrids.
Conclusion
/PAUL D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 2/5/2026