DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
"the humidity level" should be "the relative humidity level" [Claim 13, line 3].
Appropriate correction is required. Further, in an effort to practice compact prosecution, each of these limitations has been interpreted similarly as in the provided recommendation for each limitation, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillmen (US 2020/0132333).
Regarding claim 1, Gillmen discloses:
A system for identifying and classifying airflow cycle types, the system comprising: an airflow system configured to receive air via a return air pathway and supply air via a supply air pathway; a first sensor disposed proximate to the supply air pathway of the airflow system and configured to, in an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, collect supply airflow data associated with the supply air pathway, wherein the supply airflow data includes at least a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway; a second sensor disposed proximate to the return air pathway of the airflow system and configured to, in the airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, collect return airflow data associated with the return air pathway, wherein the return airflow data includes at least a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway ([0054] the HVAC system 150 may include other sensors. By way of example, a sensor 190 may be disposed near the intake 154, such as at the economizer 156, to detect a temperature of ambient air, return air, and/or a temperature of the air flow 152 entering the intake 154 [0072] In addition to monitoring the air temperature adjacent to the intake 154, the air temperature adjacent to the output 164 may also be monitored, as shown at block 304. For example, the sensor 188 monitors the air temperature adjacent to the output 164, which may be indicative of a temperature of supply air provided by the HVAC system 150 to the conditioned space);
and an electronic device including one or more processors communicatively coupled to a memory storing one or more instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to: receive airflow system data representative of at least the supply airflow data and the return airflow data ([0054], [0072]);
analyze the airflow system data to generate airflow system cycle data associated with the airflow cycle and based at least on the supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway ([0072] The low load mode of operation may be initiated or continued when the temperature of the air flow 152 at the outlet 164 is greater than a temperature threshold, such as 13° C. In some embodiments, the temperature threshold may be selected or set based on a desired performance of the HVAC system 150 to reduce wear);
and classify, based on the airflow system cycle data, an airflow cycle type of the airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system ([0073] When the respective air temperatures adjacent to the intake 154 and the output 164 are determined to be suitable for the low load mode, operation of certain HVAC system 150 components may be adjusted, as shown at block 306. In particular, operation of the compressor system 166 may be adjusted. As power may not be supplied to certain compressors 168, 170, and/or 172 in the low load mode of operation, such compressors 168, 170, and/or 172 may be disabled. For example, the first compressor 168 and the second compressor 170 may not be powered during the low load mode of operation [0074]-[0076]).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein the return airflow data further includes at least a static pressure of the air received via the return air pathway and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the static pressure of the air received via the return air pathway ([0053] the sensor 188 may be a static pressure switch and/or a piezometer configured to determine the pressure differential across the blower 162, a speed of the air flow 152 flowing through the blower 162, a temperature of the air flow 152 in the blower 162, another parameter, or any combination thereof).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein the supply airflow data further includes at least a relative humidity level of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the relative humidity level of the air supplied via the supply air pathway ([0054] sensors may be disposed downstream of the output 164 to determine a temperature of the air flow 152 exiting the HVAC system 150 or a pressure in the ducts, tubing, or piping coupled to the HVAC system 150.).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein: the system further comprises a third sensor disposed proximate to the airflow system and configured to collect moisture data associated with the airflow system, including at least a temperature of an area proximate to the airflow system; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least the temperature of the area proximate to the airflow system ([0022] HVAC system includes any number of components configured to enable regulation of parameters related to climate characteristics, such as temperature, humidity, air flow, pressure, air quality, and so forth, [0030], [0054], [0072]).
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein: the system further comprises a space sensor configured to collect space data associated with an area in which the space sensor is disposed, including at least one of (i) an air temperature associated with the area or (ii) a relative humidity of the area; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least one of (i) the air temperature associated with the area or (ii) the relative humidity of the area ([0054], [0072]-[0076]).
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein the airflow system cycle data includes at least one of: (i) a rate of change of the supply temperature, (ii) a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway relative to outside air conditions, (iii) a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway relative to outside air conditions, (iv) an airflow pressure fluctuation, (v) a temperature difference between the supply temperature and an return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway, (vi) a trend of the temperature difference over time, or (vii) a relative value of the supply temperature against a predefined threshold ([0060] To illustrate operation of the HVAC system 150 in accordance with present embodiments, FIG. 6 illustrates a flowchart of a method 250 for determining whether the HVAC system 150 should operate in a low load mode. At block 252, the HVAC system determines that cooling is desired. That is, it is determined that cooling is desired for the areas conditioned by the HVAC system 150. In some embodiments, the cooling operation is determined based on temperatures detected via the sensors of the HVAC system 150. For example, the HVAC systems 150 may be configured to operate in a cooling mode when a mixed air temperature, which may include return air from a space conditioned by the HVAC system 150 mixed with air from an external environment, detected by the sensor 190 is above a certain temperature threshold, such as 20° C, [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Gillmen discloses:
A method for identifying and classifying an airflow cycle type, the method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, airflow system data representative of at least supply airflow data collected by a first sensor disposed proximate to a supply air pathway of an airflow system and return airflow data collected by a second sensor disposed proximate to a return air pathway of the airflow system, wherein: the supply airflow data includes at least a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway collected during an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, and the return airflow data includes at least a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway collected during an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system([0054] the HVAC system 150 may include other sensors. By way of example, a sensor 190 may be disposed near the intake 154, such as at the economizer 156, to detect a temperature of ambient air, return air, and/or a temperature of the air flow 152 entering the intake 154 [0072] In addition to monitoring the air temperature adjacent to the intake 154, the air temperature adjacent to the output 164 may also be monitored, as shown at block 304. For example, the sensor 188 monitors the air temperature adjacent to the output 164, which may be indicative of a temperature of supply air provided by the HVAC system 150 to the conditioned space);
analyzing, by the one or more processors and based at least on the supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway, the airflow system data to generate system cycle data associated with the airflow cycle ([0072] The low load mode of operation may be initiated or continued when the temperature of the air flow 152 at the outlet 164 is greater than a temperature threshold, such as 13° C. In some embodiments, the temperature threshold may be selected or set based on a desired performance of the HVAC system 150 to reduce wear);
and classifying, by the one or more processors and based on the airflow system cycle data, an airflow cycle type of the airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system ([0073] When the respective air temperatures adjacent to the intake 154 and the output 164 are determined to be suitable for the low load mode, operation of certain HVAC system 150 components may be adjusted, as shown at block 306. In particular, operation of the compressor system 166 may be adjusted. As power may not be supplied to certain compressors 168, 170, and/or 172 in the low load mode of operation, such compressors 168, 170, and/or 172 may be disabled. For example, the first compressor 168 and the second compressor 170 may not be powered during the low load mode of operation [0074]-[0076]).
As per claim 14, claim 11 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein: the system further comprises a third sensor disposed proximate to the airflow system and configured to collect moisture data associated with the airflow system, including at least a temperature associated with the airflow system; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least the temperature associated with the airflow system ([0022] HVAC system includes any number of components configured to enable regulation of parameters related to climate characteristics, such as temperature, humidity, air flow, pressure, air quality, and so forth, [0030], [0054], [0072]).
Claims 12-13, 15-16 recite similar claim limitations as the system of claims 2-3, 5-6, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, they are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillmen (US 2020/0132333) in view of Dempsey (US 2024/0302064).
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen further discloses:
wherein the airflow cycle type is a first airflow cycle type of a plurality of airflow cycle types for a plurality of airflow cycles facilitated by the airflow system ([0022] An “HVAC system” is a system configured to provide such functions as heating, cooling, ventilation, dehumidification, pressurization, refrigeration, filtration, or any combination thereof, [0060]-[0062], [0066], [0068] and Fig. 6).
Gillmen fails to disclose “and the memory further stores instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to: generate a cycle type table representative of the plurality of airflow cycle types; and cause a user device to display the cycle type table to a user”
However, Dempsey teaches the above limitation ([0043] Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Dempsey into the teaching of Gillmen because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Gillmen to further include the table as in Dempsey in order to more efficiently track the HVAC data.
Claim 17 recites similar claim limitations as the system of claim 7, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, it is rejected for the same reason as applied hereinabove.
Claims 8-9, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillmen (US 2020/0132333) in view of Yoshida (US 2012/0197445).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen fails to disclose “further comprising a hub data aggregation device configured to aggregate at least the supply airflow data and the return airflow data and transmit the airflow system data to the server”
However, Yoshida teaches the above limitation ([0017]-[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yoshida into the teaching of Gillmen because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Gillmen to further include the acquiring of the sensor data as in the device of Yoshida in order “to provide an air-conditioner operation controlling device and method able to improve the efficiency of energy use in the air-conditioner and to decrease the amount of energy consumption” (Yoshida, [0005]).
As per claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated, Yoshida further discloses:
wherein the hub data is configured to perform a preprocessing operation on the supply airflow data and the return airflow data to generate the airflow system data ([0017]-[0018]).
Claims 18-19 recite similar claim limitations as the system of claims 8-9, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, they are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillmen (US 2020/0132333) in view of Mao (US 2019/0353377).
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Gillmen fails to disclose “wherein the first sensor is a first wireless self-install sensor and the second sensor is a second wireless self-install sensor”
However, Mao teaches the above limitation ([0032] wireless sensors are becoming a viable alternative to wired sensors. The portability of the wireless sensors allow users to place the sensors at many spots in a home).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mao into the teaching of Gillmen because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Gillmen to further include the wireless sensors data as in Mao because “by using multiple portable wireless sensors to detect temperatures at different spots, the HVAC system may be able to adjust temperatures more accurately, providing a more comfortable environment to users” (Mao, [0032]).
Claim 20 recites similar claim limitations as the system of claim 10, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, it is rejected for the same reason as applied hereinabove.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM P BARTLETT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169