DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/13/26 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
"and." should be "and", please remove extra period [Claim 11, line 19].
Appropriate correction is required. Further, in an effort to practice compact prosecution, each of these limitations has been interpreted similarly as in the provided recommendation for each limitation, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abiprojo (US 2015/0362207).
Regarding claim 1, Abiprojo discloses:
A system for identifying and classifying airflow cycle types, the system comprising: an airflow system configured to receive air via a return air pathway and supply air via a supply air pathway ([0005], [0045]-[0047]);
a first sensor disposed proximate to the supply air pathway of the airflow system and configured to, in an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, collect supply airflow data associated with the supply air pathway, wherein the supply airflow data includes at least a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway ([0089] A supply air sensor 232 is located in a supply air plenum 236. The supply air sensor 232 may measure air temperature and may also measure mass airflow. The supply air sensor 232 may include a thermistor that is multiplexed to measure both temperature and, as a hot wire sensor, mass airflow. In various implementations, such as is shown in FIG. 2A, the supply air sensor 232 may be located downstream of the evaporator 144 but upstream of any bends in the supply air plenum 236);
a second sensor disposed proximate to the return air pathway of the airflow system and configured to, in the airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, collect return airflow data associated with the return air pathway, wherein the return airflow data includes at least a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway ([0088] A return air sensor 224 is located in a return air plenum 228. The return air sensor 224 may measure temperature and may also measure mass airflow. In various implementations, a thermistor may be multiplexed as both a temperature sensor and a hot wire mass airflow sensor. In various implementations, the return air sensor 224 is upstream of the filter 104 but downstream of any bends in the return air plenum 228);
and an electronic device including one or more processors communicatively coupled to a memory storing one or more instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to: receive airflow system data representative of at least the supply airflow data and the return airflow data ([0088]-[0089] measuring return air temperature and airflow and supply air temperature and airflow);
analyze the airflow system data to generate airflow system cycle data associated with the airflow cycle and based at least on the supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway; classify, based on the airflow system cycle data, a plurality of airflow cycle according to which the airflow system operates over a period of time ([0175] In the example shown in FIG. 6, the table is not predefined, and is instead constructed by the monitoring system. Therefore, at 644, control infers the mode corresponding to the current, which has been determined to not be present in the operational table. For example, this mode may be inferred based on temperature measurements. If an outside ambient air temperature is above a certain threshold, it is likely that a cooling mode has been initiated. If the outside ambient temperature is below a certain threshold, it is likely that a heating mode has been enabled [0176] Further, the supply air temperature may indicate whether heating or cooling is being performed. And specifically, a difference between the supply air temperature and the return air temperature indicates whether heat is being added or removed to circulating air. In situations where the supply air and return air temperatures differ by only a small amount, an air flow sensor may be able to determine whether the fan-only mode is engaged. Meanwhile, when the supply air and return air temperatures differ by only a small amount and there is an indication that minimal air flow is occurring (such as from an airflow sensor), the system is likely in an idle state [0178] system current data (i.e., the measured currents from current sensors 216 and 264) can be used to infer the operating mode of the HVAC system);
and generate, based on the plurality of airflow cycle types, a cycle type data object representative of operation of the airflow system over the period of time ([0173], [0175], [0180] After the mode is inferred, control continues at 648, where the current level and mode are added to the operational table).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
wherein the return airflow data further includes at least a static pressure of the air received via the return air pathway and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the static pressure of the air received via the return air pathway ([0090] A differential pressure reading may be obtained by placing opposite sensing inputs of a differential pressure sensor (not shown) in the return air plenum 228 and the supply air plenum 236, respectively. For example only, these sensing inputs may be collocated or integrated with the return air sensor 224 and the supply air sensor 232, respectively. In various implementations, discrete pressure sensors may be placed in the return air plenum 228 and the supply air plenum 236. A differential pressure value can then be calculated by subtracting the individual pressure values).
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
wherein the supply airflow data further includes at least a relative humidity level of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the relative humidity level of the air supplied via the supply air pathway ([0049] The air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules monitor operating parameters of associated components of the HVAC system. For example, the operating parameters may include power supply current, power supply voltage, operating and ambient temperatures of inside and outside air, refrigerant temperatures at various points in the refrigerant loop, fault signals, control signals, and humidity of inside and outside air) and the humidity level of air supplied is the humidity of the inside air.
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
wherein: the system further comprises a space sensor configured to collect space data associated with an area in which the space sensor is disposed, including at least one of (i) an air temperature associated with the area or (ii) a relative humidity of the area; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least one of (i) the air temperature associated with the area or (ii) the relative humidity of the area ([0088]-[0089] sensors inside each of the return and supply air plenum measuring temperature and mass airflow).
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
wherein the airflow system cycle data includes at least one of: (i) a rate of change of the supply temperature, (ii) a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway relative to outside air conditions, (iii) a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway relative to outside air conditions, (iv) an airflow pressure fluctuation, (v) a temperature difference between the supply temperature and an return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway, (vi) a trend of the temperature difference over time, or (vii) a relative value of the supply temperature against a predefined threshold ([0087]-[0089]).
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
the cycle type data object is a cycle type table and the memory further stores instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to: cause a user device to display the cycle type table to a user ([0180] After the mode is inferred, control continues at 648, where the current level and mode are added to the operational table. Control then continues at 640. At 640, control reports the operational mode that is determined from the table. The reported operational mode may be reflected on the contractor portal 328 or the customer portal 332 of the remote monitoring system 304).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
further comprising a hub data aggregation device configured to aggregate at least the supply airflow data and the return airflow data and transmit the airflow system data to the server ([0054] A collection of servers may together operate to receive and process data from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules of multiple buildings [0094] The air handler monitor module 200 may transmit frames of data corresponding to periods of time. For example only, 7.5 frames may span one second (i.e., 0.1333 seconds per frame). Each frame of data may include voltage, current, temperatures, control line status, and water sensor status [0114] The remote monitoring system 304 includes a monitoring server 308 that receives data from the air handler monitor module 200 and the thermostat 208 and maintains and verifies network continuity with the air handler monitor module 200, [Fig. 2A]).
As per claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated, Abiprojo further discloses:
wherein the hub data is configured to perform a preprocessing operation on the supply airflow data and the return airflow data to generate the airflow system data ([0054] A collection of servers may together operate to receive and process data from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules of multiple buildings [0094] The air handler monitor module 200 may transmit frames of data corresponding to periods of time. For example only, 7.5 frames may span one second (i.e., 0.1333 seconds per frame). Each frame of data may include voltage, current, temperatures, control line status, and water sensor status [0114] The remote monitoring system 304 includes a monitoring server 308 that receives data from the air handler monitor module 200 and the thermostat 208 and maintains and verifies network continuity with the air handler monitor module 200, [Fig. 2A]).
Regarding claim 11, Abiprojo discloses:
A method for identifying and classifying an airflow cycle type, the method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, airflow system data representative of at least supply airflow data collected by a first sensor disposed proximate to a supply air pathway of an airflow system and return airflow data collected by a second sensor disposed proximate to a return air pathway of the airflow system, wherein: the supply airflow data includes at least a supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway collected during an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system, and the return airflow data includes at least a return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway collected during an airflow cycle facilitated by the airflow system ([0005], [0045]-[0047]; [0088] A return air sensor 224 is located in a return air plenum 228. The return air sensor 224 may measure temperature and may also measure mass airflow. In various implementations, a thermistor may be multiplexed as both a temperature sensor and a hot wire mass airflow sensor. In various implementations, the return air sensor 224 is upstream of the filter 104 but downstream of any bends in the return air plenum 228 [0089] A supply air sensor 232 is located in a supply air plenum 236. The supply air sensor 232 may measure air temperature and may also measure mass airflow. The supply air sensor 232 may include a thermistor that is multiplexed to measure both temperature and, as a hot wire sensor, mass airflow. In various implementations, such as is shown in FIG. 2A, the supply air sensor 232 may be located downstream of the evaporator 144 but upstream of any bends in the supply air plenum 236;
analyzing, by the one or more processors and based at least on the supply temperature of the air supplied via the supply air pathway and the return temperature of the air received via the return air pathway, the airflow system data to generate system cycle data associated with the airflow cycle; classifying, by the one or more processors and based on the airflow system cycle data, a plurality of airflow cycle types according to which the airflow system operates over a period of time ([0175] In the example shown in FIG. 6, the table is not predefined, and is instead constructed by the monitoring system. Therefore, at 644, control infers the mode corresponding to the current, which has been determined to not be present in the operational table. For example, this mode may be inferred based on temperature measurements. If an outside ambient air temperature is above a certain threshold, it is likely that a cooling mode has been initiated. If the outside ambient temperature is below a certain threshold, it is likely that a heating mode has been enabled [0176] Further, the supply air temperature may indicate whether heating or cooling is being performed. And specifically, a difference between the supply air temperature and the return air temperature indicates whether heat is being added or removed to circulating air. In situations where the supply air and return air temperatures differ by only a small amount, an air flow sensor may be able to determine whether the fan-only mode is engaged. Meanwhile, when the supply air and return air temperatures differ by only a small amount and there is an indication that minimal air flow is occurring (such as from an airflow sensor), the system is likely in an idle state [0178] system current data (i.e., the measured currents from current sensors 216 and 264) can be used to infer the operating mode of the HVAC system);
and generating, by the one or more processors and based on the plurality of airflow cycle types, a cycle type data object representative of operation of the airflow system over the period of time ([0173], [0175], [0180] After the mode is inferred, control continues at 648, where the current level and mode are added to the operational table).
Claims 12-13, 15-19 recite similar claim limitations as the system of claims 2-3, 5-9, except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, they are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiprojo (US 2015/0362207) in view of Arensmeier (US 2014/0266755).
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo fails to disclose “wherein: the system further comprises a third sensor disposed proximate to the airflow system and configured to collect moisture data associated with the airflow system, including at least a temperature of an area proximate to the airflow system; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least the temperature of the area proximate to the airflow system”
However, Arensmeier teaches the above limitation ([0234] Radar sensors may be used to measure fan speed. Capacitive moisture sensors can be used to detect moisture in a pan in which the air handler unit is installed, in a condensate tray, on the floor, in a pump basin, in a sump pump, etc. A float switch may measure water level either on a continuum or in a binary fashion for various locations, including a tray, a tray pump basin, and a sump pump, [0225]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Arensmeier into the teaching of Abiprojo because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Abiprojo to further include the collection of moisture data as in Arensmeier in order to gain more specific HVAC data for increased control and efficiency.
As per claim 14, claim 11 is incorporated, Abiprojo fails to disclose “wherein: the system further comprises a third sensor disposed proximate to the airflow system and configured to collect moisture data associated with the airflow system, including at least a temperature associated with the airflow system; and the airflow system cycle data is further generated based on the at least the temperature associated with the airflow system”
However, Arensmeier teaches the above limitation ([0234] Radar sensors may be used to measure fan speed. Capacitive moisture sensors can be used to detect moisture in a pan in which the air handler unit is installed, in a condensate tray, on the floor, in a pump basin, in a sump pump, etc. A float switch may measure water level either on a continuum or in a binary fashion for various locations, including a tray, a tray pump basin, and a sump pump, [0225]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Arensmeier into the teaching of Abiprojo because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Abiprojo to further include the collection of moisture data as in Arensmeier in order to gain more specific HVAC data for increased control and efficiency.
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abiprojo (US 2015/0362207) in view of Mao (US 2019/0353377).
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Abiprojo fails to disclose “wherein the first sensor is a first wireless self-install sensor and the second sensor is a second wireless self-install sensor”
However, Mao teaches the above limitation ([0032] wireless sensors are becoming a viable alternative to wired sensors. The portability of the wireless sensors allow users to place the sensors at many spots in a home).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mao into the teaching of Abiprojo because the references similarly disclose HVAC systems. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the system as in Abiprojo to further include the wireless sensors data as in Mao because “by using multiple portable wireless sensors to detect temperatures at different spots, the HVAC system may be able to adjust temperatures more accurately, providing a more comfortable environment to users” (Mao, [0032]).
Claim 20 recites similar claim limitations as the system of claim 10, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a method and, as such, it is rejected for the same reason as applied hereinabove.
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the amendment filed on 05/13/26.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM P BARTLETT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169