DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the insulating layer overlapping the photodiode" In lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “insulating layer between layers of the substrate and photodiode”, as recited in claim 1, seems to be positionally distinct from “the insulating layer overlapping the photodiode”, as recited in claim 6. Clarification requested.
Claim 7 is rejected by virtue of its dependence from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (CN 108701701) (cited by Applicant) (referred herein to WO 2017150295).
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches (Fig. 2) a detection device (100) comprising a substrate 1; a photodiode (9) in which a lower electrode (91), a semiconductor layer (92), and an upper electrode (93) are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a transistor (5) provided in the photodiode (9); an insulating layer (passivation film 6) provided between layers of the substrate (1) and the photodiode (9); and a planarizing layer (7) covering the insulating layer (6), wherein the insulating layer comprises a projecting portion (See annotated Fig. 2 below) that projects toward the photodiode in a direction orthogonal to the substrate (1), the planarizing layer (7) has a contact hole (21) provided in a position that is below the photodiode and overlaps the projecting portion of the insulating layer (6) (See annotated Fig. 2 below), the photodiode (9) is provided on an upper side of the planarizing layer (See Fig. 2) and is also provided so as to cover the contact hole, and the lower electrode of the photodiode is electrically coupled to the transistor at a bottom of the contact hole. (Page 6, lines 3-5 the lower electrode of the photodiode is connected to the drain electrode (source electrode 4) of the thin film transistor).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Projecting portion)]
Regarding claim 8, Ito illustrates a width of the projecting portion in a first direction parallel to the substrate (1) is larger than a width of the bottom of the contact hole (21) in the first direction. (See annotated Fig. 2 above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Yamada (US 20120038018) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 9, Ito does not teach “wherein a width of the bottom of the contact hole in a first direction parallel to the substrate is larger than a width of an inclined surface of the contact hole in the first direction.”
Yamada, in a related field of endeavor, illustrates (Fig. 14) wherein a width of the bottom of the contact hole (150c) in a first direction parallel to the substrate is larger than a width of an inclined surface of the contact hole in the first direction.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ito to teach “wherein a width of the bottom of the contact hole in a first direction parallel to the substrate is larger than a width of an inclined surface of the contact hole in the first direction” as taught by Yamada. Doing so provides a configuration that can improve the detection sensitivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Ito teaches a plurality of the insulating layers (6, 7, 11, 12); but does not teach “an overlapping conductive layer provided between the insulating layers and overlapping the contact hole of the planarizing layer in plan view, wherein the projecting portion is formed at a portion of at least one of the insulating layers that overlaps the overlapping conductive layer.”
Kato (US 4855802), in a related field of endeavor, teaches a contact type image sensor (Figs. 7a, 8a) comprising insulating layers (3, 10) an overlapping conductive layer (electrodes 1) provided between the insulating layers and overlapping the contact hole (11) of the planarizing layer (10) in plan view, but does not teach wherein the projecting portion (4) is formed at a portion of at least one of the insulating layers that overlaps the overlapping conductive layer.
Nakano (WO 2016195000), in a related field of endeavor, illustrates (Figs. 6E-6H) a plurality of the insulating layers (31, 33); and an overlapping conductive layer (23) provided between the insulating layers and overlapping the contact hole (CH3) of the planarizing layer (33) in plan view, but does not teach “wherein the projecting portion is formed at a portion of at least one of the insulating layers that overlaps the overlapping conductive layer”.
Claims 3-5 are allowable by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Doguchi (CA 2127297) teaches an opto-electronic integrated circuit device comprising a recessed portion provided in an area of the insulating layer overlapping the photodiode so as to surround the contact hole (Abstract; Figs. 16-17; Page 24, lines 8-15), however, it does not further teach “wherein the projecting portion is formed at a portion of the insulating layer surrounded by the recessed portion, and the planarizing layer is provided so as to cover the recessed portion.”
Claim 7 is allowable by virtue of their dependence from claim 6.
Conclusion
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791